Vinyl wrapping an entire CAR rather than painting it?

evo-STI-k

Vinyl wrapping an entire CAR rather than painting it?

Postby evo-STI-k » May 28th, 2010, 8:30 am

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

would you trust anyone locally to do this to your car?

This car is warpped in FLAT BACK Avery A9 vinyl.

HAs anyone locally attempted such a thing? 8-)

metalgear2095

Re: Vinyl wrapping an entire CAR rather than painting it?

Postby metalgear2095 » May 28th, 2010, 8:34 am

hate those rims but it looks pretty nice otherwise

Postby foss » May 28th, 2010, 8:35 am

looks bess! yea it has been done i believe ... forester and something else

Postby eliteauto » May 28th, 2010, 8:36 am

been done a couple times locally

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 28th, 2010, 8:37 am

wasnt the forrester PAINTED? painting i can understand But VINYL wrapping?

Postby crazybalhead » May 28th, 2010, 8:38 am

Another vinyl pic.

Sheik

Postby Sheik » May 28th, 2010, 8:42 am

Saw some work from creative labs yesterday an they look capable!

However if u choose 2 spray it,Daryl's motor Worx is the place 2 go!

Kish

Postby Kish » May 28th, 2010, 8:55 am

i have the materials but i only did the sidemirrors, front and back emblems and door handles on my nze. looking for someone locally as well to do other parts of the car. the hardest part is getting the vinyl around complex curves

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 28th, 2010, 8:58 am

:D
crazybalhead wrote:Image

Another vinyl pic.
:D :D

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 28th, 2010, 9:45 am

them cars hadda go in a dust free room, lots of soapy water, heat gun, and reallll patience. but why do that?

Kish

Postby Kish » May 28th, 2010, 9:53 am

nos_specialist wrote:them cars hadda go in a dust free room, lots of soapy water, heat gun, and reallll patience. but why do that?

cheaper and the automotive grade vinyl will hold up to scratches better than paint. plus it looks nice. worth the trouble in the long run imho.

Postby ronsin1 » May 28th, 2010, 9:56 am

this can only be done properly with a straight body. Any little imperfections will show up when it it finished wrapped.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 28th, 2010, 9:58 am

nzeguy wrote:
nos_specialist wrote:them cars hadda go in a dust free room, lots of soapy water, heat gun, and reallll patience. but why do that?

cheaper and the automotive grade vinyl will hold up to scratches better than paint. plus it looks nice. worth the trouble in the long run imho.

Yup. and im sure the time factor as compared with a "paint job" is minimal.

Postby nervewrecker » May 28th, 2010, 10:39 am

did this a few times already but not with one color.

ther is a type of vinyl called oracle vinyl that goes on dry & is far easier to work with than the normal kind that you have to use soap water to install. the Oracle is also does not leave a tonne of glue when it is removed.
the surface is prepped by sanding down any rough spots that the vehicle might have (as much as a scratch or spec of dist in the clear coat then every edge of the vehicle is washed down throughly with water (even under the fenders) then the lights, grill, door handles, door rubbers & gas tank lid are removed. the vinyl is wrapped into the seams between the bumpers, doors & under the fender. we make sure you dont see any edges of paint anywhere, this is easy to accomplish because we print each piece seperate, line it up & fit in the excess around the corners. other guys print one whole sheet & apply.

feel free to examine the local jobs but there was a b14 (go ahead & laugh) that we did for car show demos with a transformers design, you can examine that one & the detail that we went into.
all those REM marketing panel vans are also vans that we did & Maska's flat bed wrecker.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » May 28th, 2010, 11:25 am

*walks into supermarket and ask cashier "Allyuh ha plastic wrap dey gyal? Ah wah wrap some rice"

JD......

Postby JD...... » May 28th, 2010, 12:48 pm

seen some interesting wraps, studdying to do my ranger in the future

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » May 28th, 2010, 2:29 pm

cost compared to painting? if it cheap everytime u think yuh car would look good in a nex color yuh just slap it on

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » May 29th, 2010, 1:20 am

Please google and download the instructional videos. No need to use soapy water, this is not the professional approach. I have studied the science and the art of installing wraps for cars. It is not difficult but having experience with the removal of bumpers and emblems is a plus. Having the right tools is also very important.

WRT the curves, a heat gun does the work for you.

masterofmindz

Postby masterofmindz » May 29th, 2010, 9:02 am

it have a white fugly subaru TS with gayple vinyl n grafiz that dus be in car shows n i believe it from princes town. this man will eventually wrap his car i feel becus 1/2 d car is vinyl...

yuck

anyhow, i love the matte black paint...hate vinyls
Last edited by masterofmindz on May 29th, 2010, 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » May 29th, 2010, 10:12 am

Looks badass

area6

Postby area6 » May 29th, 2010, 10:58 am

creativ labs is more than capable,,,,will try and get a number for you for the shop

saw some work he has done and pretty impressive......also you can check digital systems also the 2 businesses are capable

Postby nervewrecker » May 29th, 2010, 11:16 am

masterofmindz wrote:it have a white fugly subaru TS with gayple vinyl n grafiz that dus be in car shows n i believe it from princes town. this man will eventually wrap his car i feel becus 1/2 d car is vinyl...

those were one of the cars I was talking about. if you watch where the spaces between the doors & the fenders & the spaces between both doors you will see white paint. they cut the Vinyl on the doors surface on the outside.

compare that to this:

most vehicles have no continuity in their designs, its just bits & pieces of vinyl slapped together unto a surface. notice how the design flows from bonnet to fender to door to fender in that car?

what mr gear says is true, you can get the job done without using soap water, it can be applied dry (the oracle vinyl can be applied dry) & you need the heat gun to wrap the vinyl in places like around the door edges & between seams. it harder than t sounds wehn you wprking with a design, if you start from one end of the door & the vinyl stretches it wont line up with the next piece & images may distort.
most fellows dot wrap bumpers out here cuz its hard to do but notice the bumper is wrapped on the b14 :mrgreen:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 29th, 2010, 11:26 am

d red spiderman almera imho is d best most tastefully done vinyl wrap i have seen locally ....

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 29th, 2010, 8:15 pm

so again...how much would it cost to wrap an entire car in say black vinyl as shown in the first pic? supposedly cheaper and faster alternative to painting...

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » May 29th, 2010, 8:40 pm

Would the vinyl eventually start peeling and if so, within what sort of average timeframe ?

Postby sMASH » May 29th, 2010, 8:45 pm

Soundwave wrote:stinkin autobot...

optimus inferior, sound wave superior

Postby nervewrecker » May 29th, 2010, 10:00 pm

worksux101 wrote:so again...how much would it cost to wrap an entire car in say black vinyl as shown in the first pic? supposedly cheaper and faster alternative to painting...

cost should vary with quality of vinyl used.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 29th, 2010, 10:04 pm

ok can u give an idea of the price for different types...

zcrugby

Postby zcrugby » May 29th, 2010, 11:03 pm

anyone no the price range to paint/wrap a ek3 civic in matte black?