FLOW SPEEDS

dragaholic

FLOW SPEEDS

Postby dragaholic » May 25th, 2010, 9:08 pm

This is getting to be rediculous now. 2mb package

And the dick head tech is telling me about bandwith and they have no control over outside servers. bullsheit. Last week I had no problem.
I cant even watch a 2 min you tube clip without it lagging.

Re: FLOW SPEEDS

Postby M_2NR » May 25th, 2010, 9:32 pm

hoss... same thing. About 3 days now my ping was going crazy. U getting a best initial ping but my stutter at times was 200ms. :wtf:
watch this:
Initially posted here
this was just now
and they expect me to play MW2 on that. :?

Postby teems1 » May 25th, 2010, 9:41 pm

mine is more ridiculous

i pay for 10mb down and 1mb up

CocaineMachine

Postby CocaineMachine » May 25th, 2010, 9:54 pm

since lastweek thurs. i havin this prob. i think i destroyed my wireless for no reason

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 25th, 2010, 9:59 pm

Postby 3stagevtec » May 25th, 2010, 10:04 pm

My test results looking better but I still having problems to load youtube vids... maybe it is related to the weather??
Last edited by 3stagevtec on May 25th, 2010, 10:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » May 25th, 2010, 10:06 pm

repost: this goin on months now... since before elections i have not been able to stream inshan

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » May 25th, 2010, 10:22 pm

Postby M_2NR » May 25th, 2010, 10:24 pm

streaming has always been an issue. Only since the beginning of the month i was finally able to enjoy a youtube video. Not again :(

I'm complaining since november 09. it's may 2010. Some work was done but it went back :(

ND!!!!

IslandShack

Postby IslandShack » May 25th, 2010, 10:32 pm

I thought I was the only one, I switch from Blink 2 because I was not happy with their service, but now FLOW does not appear to be much better.

I am supposed to be getting 10 Mbps and getting 40Kbps. :(

It did work good for the first week, its only from Last Friday the speed dramatically dropped

I'm from Chaguanas, don't know if its a problem in th area or if its people in other areas as well.

If I use it @ 3:00 AM in the morning I will get like 3-4 Mbps so there is definitely some issues.
If they saying that this connection is normal then I'll just go back to blink yes, at least I had toll free to their customer service and the would send a technician.

Postby Morpheus » May 25th, 2010, 11:11 pm

2MB package. Looks ok

IslandShack

Postby IslandShack » May 25th, 2010, 11:38 pm

Morpheous, try it with the server in Florida that would give you a more realistic reading as most of the sites that we visit are actually hosted away, not on Flow servers in POS.

Postby M_2NR » May 25th, 2010, 11:58 pm

but my speed:

(bandwidth yay, ping stuttering, nay)
i am also using a widget to test ping to google.tt, i get around 54 but instances it goes to 200 and null as well. LOTS of lost packets :(

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » May 26th, 2010, 12:33 am

2mb package

IslandShack

Postby IslandShack » May 26th, 2010, 12:34 am

M_2nr, you on a 2MB package? If so is best I stick with a 2MB as well, makes no sense paying for 10 and can only download at a much lower speed.

Postby M_2NR » May 26th, 2010, 12:37 am

yup. I took 10mbit for the month of January when Flow was even worst. I never got more than 1.6mbit during the day and my pings were horrible. at night after 3am, 10Mbit then kicked in :(

TBH, it was MUCH worst eh, i can actually stream 360p ok now thankfully but i wish it was like before

IslandShack

Postby IslandShack » May 26th, 2010, 12:58 am

Thanks for the info M_2nr.

Well I didn't close my blink account yet, so I guess I might just stick with blink then, cause even though they went down a bit, I used to still get close to the 2Mbps during the day.

I never thought I would see the day that I said blink was better than something else..lol, but I guess Flow just proved me wrong.

Postby Morpheus » May 26th, 2010, 1:18 am

IslandShack wrote:Morpheous, try it with the server in Florida that would give you a more realistic reading as most of the sites that we visit are actually hosted away, not on Flow servers in POS.

^^Ok will do

DJames

Postby DJames » May 26th, 2010, 1:39 am

It looks like it is a problem with all internet providers in Trinidad. My 2.5mb connection from Cariblink is atrocious, it was always bad, but for more or less this month its been unbearable.

Postby Morpheus » May 26th, 2010, 1:47 am

All done 1 after the next

Postby M_2NR » May 26th, 2010, 1:52 am

IslandShack, no scene 8)

LegalDiva, i was thinking that too. But what's weird is that Flow's Fspot's have some epic pings at times.

IslandShack

Postby IslandShack » May 26th, 2010, 1:55 am

So I did some research on ADSL vs Cable for broadband internet. The main difference is while cable usually offers a higher speed, its shared amongst users while the ADSL is not.
So if you have many users in your area with cable internet then your speed will decrease and sometimes dramatically.
Source : http://www.satelliteinsight.com/dsl.html

I am not saying this is what is causing the issue, but if all of us are from certain areas then that maybe a clue to it, because late at night I do get the full 10Mbps sometimes. So I guess for what I wanted the 10Mbps for (downloads, torrents, streaming video) then it probably does not make sense to pay for it cause I wont have access to the full 10Mbps most of the time.

Before I decided to try out Flow I asked many people about the service and they said Flo was really good, so I am wondering if I am just in a really high usage area, and since I am relatively close to a telephone exchange I guess I may have to stay with blink.

Postby M_2NR » May 26th, 2010, 2:15 am

The main issue with flow is balancing the nodes (or so they say). It's an ongoing issue. Lets hope it changes for the better. The bad thing about blink is if u live far from the exchange, you in sheit.

IslandShack

Postby IslandShack » May 26th, 2010, 2:53 am

I guess we will have to wait and see, I could live with 5-7Mbps during the day if I paying for 10Mbps, but 30kbps is just ridiculous by any measure. On top of that for the past three days they said they will get the flow phone running in 1/2 hour each time, up to now it isn't working, so I have to use my cell to call them.