The Light Airplane Club hosts "Learn to Fly Day"

NorStar2K

The Light Airplane Club hosts "Learn to Fly Day"

Postby NorStar2K » May 16th, 2010, 5:10 am

The Light Airplane Club (LAC) together with Sun Islands Aviation (SIA), Airports Authority (AATT), Bristow hosted the event.

What was originally conceptualized as simply a small family day styled event for its members, quickly escalated into a full day of flights, demonstrations, education and fun as the word spread. Notice was short but it didn't seem to matter.

The LAC was on a new membership drive for new student pilots. From the crowds, I believe they must have achievement their goal.

There were light aircraft rides (quickly over-subscribed); Fixed-wing and Rotary aircraft on static display, including model helicopters; Flight Simulators from Professional Airline Training Solutions; Info booths from Bristow Flight Academy Training Information; UWI MSc Aviation Management program and The Military & Aviation Museum. The Red Bulls girls provided Red Bull drinks and a Rally Car arrived just around midday and was also placed on static display.

A Trini WWII RAF aviation celebrity, former Justice Ulric Cross, who flew on 80 bombing missions to Germany and occupied France during World War II, received a "Lifetime Achievement Award" from the LAC/SIA, for "sterling contribution, commitment and dedication, above and beyond, the pursuit of Aviation in Trinidad & Tobago". The award was presented by Alfred Bell (SIA). Mr. Bell was later interviewed by TV6's media celebrity John Victor of "The Inside Story" TV program on the days proceedings.

The Trinidad & Tobago Cadets and Air Cadets provided logistical and access controls together with the AATT Security Force. The Fire Service's Aircraft Rescue Fire Fighting (ARFF) unit was also on static display, but was called away for a real emergency!

Two of the highlights of the day's event was the Helicopter Ride door prize, on board a Bristow Bell 412EP. Needless to say the winners couldn't contain their excitement, which some of the 'winners' said the ride was more than they expected. The other was a high speed fly-by by a T&T Air Guard ' Air Guard 216' C-26 SAR/SR aircraft.

Congratulations to Alfred Bell (SIA), the pilots and the rest of those who contributed towards making this event a success.

The only disappointment, or at least what was missing to complete the event, was SAUTT's helicopters and Airship and any bird from National Helicopter Services.

(Any omissions are regretted)

ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage

NLVA200

Re: The Light Airplane Club hosts "Learn to Fly Day"

Postby NLVA200 » May 16th, 2010, 7:08 am

nice shots man.. i was there from about 10.30 to 12.30. not much buzz except around that time though. i expected briko to have a booth though, hoping to meet some old instructors. did they set up one at all?

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » May 16th, 2010, 10:44 am

aye star do you work airport authority?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 16th, 2010, 10:48 am

blacktriple_s wrote:nice shots man.. i was there from about 10.30 to 12.30. not much buzz except around that time though. i expected briko to have a booth though, hoping to meet some old instructors. did they set up one at all?

Thanks. They didn't have an actual booth but their enrollment info was available from inside the hangar. There were student Pilots and Instructors from Briko but they were mainly on the flight line assisting with the 'joy-rides' and marshaling etc.

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » May 16th, 2010, 11:05 am

norstar2k wrote:
blacktriple_s wrote:nice shots man.. i was there from about 10.30 to 12.30. not much buzz except around that time though. i expected briko to have a booth though, hoping to meet some old instructors. did they set up one at all?

Thanks. They didn't have an actual booth but their enrollment info was available from inside the hangar. There were student Pilots and Instructors from Briko but they were mainly on the flight line assisting with the 'joy-rides' and marshaling etc.

yea i only noticed 2 familiar faces there.

sittin down in the bristow chopper yesterday rekindled my desire to learn to fly rotary wing aircraft!

Jedi Master

Postby Jedi Master » May 16th, 2010, 12:24 pm

Sooooooooooooo When is the next event?????

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » May 16th, 2010, 2:26 pm

nice shots there padna!!!

Type Rated

Postby Type Rated » May 16th, 2010, 2:52 pm

I was there for a little bit and got a few of the Air Guard doing it's thing.
Great Idea for an event. Good work Sheldon hopefully next year will be bigger and better!
close.jpg
close.jpg (30.92 KiB) Viewed 6119 times
here it comes1.jpg
here it comes1.jpg (51.07 KiB) Viewed 6119 times
flyby.JPG
flyby.JPG (44.21 KiB) Viewed 6119 times

aidan

Postby aidan » May 16th, 2010, 3:33 pm

was there as well. but i forgot my camera home. Took some pics with my phone lol. had to do some processing to make them look good lol.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » May 16th, 2010, 4:42 pm

Aiadan, what the hell kinda phone you got bro????? O_o

Was this open to the public or members only?

aidan

Postby aidan » May 16th, 2010, 4:45 pm

pablo_tt wrote:Aiadan, what the hell kinda phone you got bro????? O_o

Was this open to the public or members only?

lol. a Nokia 5800 navigation edition. Camera on it is not bad for still shots.

I think it was open to the public, but it wasn't advertised much. My pardner pick me up and I didn't know where I was going until I reach lol.

aidan

Postby aidan » May 16th, 2010, 6:37 pm

one more:

Rensh

Postby Rensh » May 16th, 2010, 7:14 pm

i'm lucky i found out about this.. could've had some more planes and vehicles though. nice airshow too, breath of freshair from cars lol.

btw that phone rel bad!

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » May 16th, 2010, 7:28 pm

I would like to go to one whenever next it has one, looks very very interesting!

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 16th, 2010, 8:53 pm

I'm sorry y'all, I should have posted it here. It was via internal communique and direct invite to those within the estate and associated with the club and airport support services.

AATT was supposed to 'spread the word'.

It worked out the way it was supposed to I guess, cuz the carpark was almost full and the AASF already had their hands-full with the influx of people, and the weather of course. The hangar was filled with people when the rains came.

minipresident

Postby minipresident » May 16th, 2010, 9:13 pm

aaah.....the infamous PONY mobile
not exactly an aircraft, but i'm sure that bonnet scoop has sucked in a bird or two during flight :lol: :lol: :lol:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 16th, 2010, 11:44 pm

Left Crown Point this evening & sounded like it developed engine trouble as it was going down the runway. Did a 2nd attempt and took off although the engine sounded as it it was laboring slightly...

I wonder who was flying...

Remy9

Postby Remy9 » May 17th, 2010, 12:25 am

interesting would love to learn how to fly in the future.. thinkin about workin with SAUTT when i reach required age, anyway great post!

geodude

Postby geodude » May 17th, 2010, 2:02 am

would of loved to be there just to get some info on flight school, i always had the desire to get my light aircraft paper work,

hopefully next time there is an expo i will be able to attend,

Star if one wanted to learn to fly for recreation purposes where would one start??

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » May 17th, 2010, 2:11 am

What a great post..u guys need to some advertising for these sort things.

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » May 17th, 2010, 9:26 am

I was there from around 11-1pm spoke to a few people and go the info i required. I aslo spoke to an instructor from "Airline Solutions" i think thats the company name will have correct that. He informed me that when they launch they would be the first company to have a sim in the caribbean.

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » May 17th, 2010, 9:42 am

geodude wrote:would of loved to be there just to get some info on flight school, i always had the desire to get my light aircraft paper work,

Star if one wanted to learn to fly for recreation purposes where would one start??

Check Briko Air Services.

You'll need 40hrs minimum instruction time before you can take a flight test. Also you need to pass some written and oral exams prior to your flight test. When I did it in 2005, they were Air Law (written), Navigation (written), Radio Telephony, (oral and written) Engine & Airframe (written), Theory of Flight (written) and Meterology (written). I think they wanted to add on Human Factors a couple months after that though.

It's pretty easy though but a little costly. You can solo a light aircraft in an average of 10-15 hrs.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » May 17th, 2010, 2:52 pm

^^Ballpark Price?

sexylopez

Postby sexylopez » May 17th, 2010, 3:26 pm

The show was great ! I wonder why SAUTT did not part take :(
I just love those grey/green Helicopters

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 17th, 2010, 4:57 pm

geodude wrote:would of loved to be there just to get some info on flight school, i always had the desire to get my light aircraft paper work,

What blacktriple_s said!

cincuanta wrote:What a great post..u guys need to some advertising for these sort things.

I promise to do so next time! :oops:

eekipoo wrote:I was there from around 11-1pm spoke to a few people and go the info i required. I aslo spoke to an instructor from "Airline Solutions" i think thats the company name will have correct that. He informed me that when they launch they would be the first company to have a sim in the caribbean.

Professional Airline Training Solutions.

That will take awhile. They need TTCAA approval and ACTT accreditation first.
Aviation Simulators Limited tried it over 10 years ago, but with very very limited success.

If you want sim training, try Flight Safety International (USA).

sexylopez wrote:The show was great ! I wonder why SAUTT did not part take :(
I just love those grey/green Helicopters

Those aircraft won't go on public display (yet) because of the array of 'specialized' equipment fitted. And, they're matt grey (not green) :)

geodude

Postby geodude » May 17th, 2010, 9:39 pm

thanks be onto you Mr blacktriple_s i will look into it as soon as possible

Fuzz Master

Postby Fuzz Master » May 18th, 2010, 9:20 am

sweet pics

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 18th, 2010, 6:41 pm

Imagine if you could get your PPL via GATE and HELP?! Wouldn't that be great?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 18th, 2010, 7:16 pm

Around $35k for your PPL @ Briko if I recall correctly.

Rocketraz1982

Postby Rocketraz1982 » May 20th, 2010, 4:47 pm

Hi, sorry if this has been answered i havent read all the post's...
To anyone that has their PPL, do you know if the exams are the same as the European CAA PPL..I know Airlaw would be different as that would take in for local issues but what about the rest??? Reason I ask is I had completed all my ground school books and did most of the exams minus Navigation and Flight Performance, had a few hours in the log book then had to emigrate with the wife. Would really like to get the licence sorted. Sadly the 24 month period for exam entitlement has just elapsed so would have to retake the whole lot :cry:

I've emailed Briko a few times with no replies, I brought over all my study books from the UK inc Pratt, Thom, Confuser ETC but is there a local set of training manuals that you guys use??? or is it mainly class room based lessons that you do, then you take the test when your ready??? I did all my exams self study and to be honest most was boring as hell!!!!! wish i did a ground school with a few other guys...The real problem with the UK CAA system is they are only really interested in Pliots that want to go on and do the ATPL exams not much use for the weekend warrior!!!!!!

I think if i went home now i would just finish my gliders licence 75% cheaper and is real good fun..2000ft in a few seconds from a winch launch!!!!...Or would head to the US and do the FFA PPL like a few friends of mine

Any info would be great.