People who still have Flow Analog Cable and have an HDTV

onlystunna

People who still have Flow Analog Cable and have an HDTV

Postby onlystunna » May 15th, 2010, 9:37 pm

Yes folks so Im wondering if Im the only guy out there experiencing this problem. I have flow analog cable and a 52" Sony Bravia 1080p and basically, it shows like crap! Now I have seen people with digital cable who have fairly large HDTVs, i would say almost 40", and it shows great with the cable. I have NOT seen anyone who has an HDTV with analog cable, however. I have no idea when my area is going digital, I live in St. Helena, but I am beginning to question the integrity of the cable lines coming to my house. Anyone out there with a HDTV and who has flow analog cable and who also experiences quality issues for example.. a cloudy picture, faint lines moving across the screen, blurry images? Should the quality be this different on the analog system? :?

Re: People who still have Flow Analog Cable and have an HDTV

Postby wagonrunner » May 15th, 2010, 9:54 pm

i'm trying my best not to fack you up, but trust me, it's difficult.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-definition_television

High-definition television (or HDTV, or just HD) refers to video having resolution substantially higher than traditional television systems (standard-definition TV, or SDTV, or SD). HD has one or two million pixels per frame, roughly five times that of SD. Early HDTV broadcasting used analog techniques, but today HDTV is digitally broadcast using video compression.

onlystunna

Postby onlystunna » May 15th, 2010, 10:00 pm

i hear ya i get the point that analog is crappy as compared to digital, i knew that already, i was just trying to find out if its supposed to show that bad and hear from someone else who is in the same situation as me.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 15th, 2010, 10:16 pm

^ yes analog will show badly on an HDTV and the larger the tv the worst it shows.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 15th, 2010, 10:17 pm

Bottom line is HDTV and Analog cable WOFT

Postby Stephon. » May 15th, 2010, 10:18 pm

It didn't show that bad on my 32" before digital. But then again I mainly watched bluray, hardly watched TV.

onlystunna

Postby onlystunna » May 15th, 2010, 10:49 pm

haha nice thanx ppl, i very particular when it comes to my electronics, whether it be home setup or car audio, im sure a few of u wud understand, so im very glad to at least know there's nothing i can do about it more than sit and wait for digital.. lol

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 15th, 2010, 10:58 pm

I in the same boat

Postby wagonrunner » May 15th, 2010, 11:00 pm

now heres my dumb question?
knowing you have analog cable, you bought a 1080p TV, and expected.................... what?

onlystunna

Postby onlystunna » May 15th, 2010, 11:20 pm

well i have to agree with u, that IS a very dumb question.. i dont know if u heard, but word out on the street is that there are alot of devices that can be connected to a HDTV and allow you to play high resolution videos, starting with the dvd player (dont know if u ever heard about one), blu-ray players (i heard they are a top secret device being produced by the US government) and a few others, maybe i dont know, a PS3 and PS2 and being able to connect your laptop to the tv etc. Point is, u dont only buy a TV nowadays to simply watch cable.. GET IT? Or do I need to make it any clearer to you? Maybe you should forward your dumb questions to FLOW and ask them why indian dominated areas (central trinidad) are receiving digital cable last on the list... :O

Postby Trini Hookah » May 15th, 2010, 11:30 pm

onlystunna wrote:well i have to agree with u, that IS a very dumb question.. i dont know if u heard, but word out on the street is that there are alot of devices that can be connected to a HDTV and allow you to play high resolution videos, starting with the dvd player (dont know if u ever heard about one), blu-ray players (i heard they are a top secret device being produced by the US government) and a few others, maybe i dont know, a PS3 and PS2 and being able to connect your laptop to the tv etc. Point is, u dont only buy a TV nowadays to simply watch cable.. GET IT? Or do I need to make it any clearer to you? Maybe you should forward your dumb questions to FLOW and ask them why indian dominated areas (central trinidad) are receiving digital cable last on the list... :O

that's why everyone else on the forum has Digital and you don't, let me go enjoy my Digital Cable on my HDTV, g'nite folks :|

onlystunna

Postby onlystunna » May 15th, 2010, 11:43 pm

Just an obvious trend I am pointing out. I really sympathize with you if you want to live in this country and just let certain things past you by blindly. Fortunately I dont. Anyway i got my answer, apparently when u cant ask a genuine question on the forum anymore without ppl taking the initiative to try and mess you up. I really hope trinituner doesnt take that road eventually. Thanks for ur contributions Duane 3NE 2NR, hustla_ambition101 and Stephon.

Postby wagonrunner » May 15th, 2010, 11:48 pm

:rofl: @ onlystunna
you were completely unable to understand my query. but made your point. :rofl:
15 more days, to the 165th anniversary, and the thinking has not evolved much, if any.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 15th, 2010, 11:56 pm

onlystunna wrote:Just an obvious trend I am pointing out. I really sympathize with you if you want to live in this country and just let certain things past you by blindly. Fortunately I dont. Anyway i got my answer, apparently when u cant ask a genuine question on the forum anymore without ppl taking the initiative to try and mess you up. I really hope trinituner doesnt take that road eventually. Thanks for ur contributions Duane 3NE 2NR, hustla_ambition101 and Stephon.

you do realise you posted in Ole Talk right?

but all that aside, i am from Central and althought Flow took some time to reach my area, my subscription was updated roughl 3-4 months ago i believe.

Postby Rainman » May 16th, 2010, 8:23 am

onlystunna wrote:Dear Notebook,
Today i got in an argument with wagonrunner and i'm pretty miffed at the situation. I hear he's white and a racist. I mean, he like, totally, like tried to insult me about my HDTV but i sure showed him when my response to his question totally answered everything but the actual question, totally hope that the ole talk forum does not take this road anymore. On another note, Joe tried to kiss me outside rookmin's parlour in Bhagoutie Trace this morning, he was wearing a cute last season original ed-hardy t-shirt, i'm sure he got it at Francis Fashions because he's a pretty classy guy it must have cost like a 100 dollars. We're going out later to the windball cricket match i hope he wears the white shirt with the rhinestone eagle on the back, all the girls will be jealous of me. See you tomorrow notebook, I'll be sure to have some juicy details for you *giggles*

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 16th, 2010, 9:07 am

Question though... wouldn't a signal booster assist in that situation?

Postby honda hoe » May 16th, 2010, 9:11 am

wtf

Postby Chimera » May 16th, 2010, 9:30 am

vrampersad14 wrote:
onlystunna wrote:well i have to agree with u, that IS a very dumb question.. i dont know if u heard, but word out on the street is that there are alot of devices that can be connected to a HDTV and allow you to play high resolution videos, starting with the dvd player (dont know if u ever heard about one), blu-ray players (i heard they are a top secret device being produced by the US government) and a few others, maybe i dont know, a PS3 and PS2 and being able to connect your laptop to the tv etc. Point is, u dont only buy a TV nowadays to simply watch cable.. GET IT? Or do I need to make it any clearer to you? Maybe you should forward your dumb questions to FLOW and ask them why indian dominated areas (central trinidad) are receiving digital cable last on the list... :O

that's why everyone else on the forum has Digital and you don't, let me go enjoy my Digital Cable on my HDTV, g'nite folks :|

I still have analog cable on the Main Road in St Mary's :(

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » May 16th, 2010, 10:00 am

rainman wrote:
Today i got in an argument with wagonrunner and i'm pretty miffed at the situation. I hear he's white and a racist. I mean, he like, totally, like tried to insult me about my HDTV but i sure showed him when my response to his question totally answered everything but the actual question, totally hope that the ole talk forum does not take this road anymore. On another note, Joe tried to kiss me outside rookmin's parlour in Bhagoutie Trace this morning, he was wearing a cute last season original ed-hardy t-shirt, i'm sure he got it at Francis Fashions because he's a pretty classy guy it must have cost like a 100 dollars. We're going out later to the windball cricket match i hope he wears the white shirt with the rhinestone eagle on the back, all the girls will be jealous of me. See you tomorrow notebook, I'll be sure to have some juicy details for you *giggles*

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

oh fack :lol: :lol:

Postby wagonrunner » May 16th, 2010, 11:12 am

rainman wrote:

oh fack man :rofl:.
keep yuh offshore behaviour, offshore nah. :rofl:

mishi
boosting a signal which doesn't have the information (compressed video to give you the HD resolution), won't help.
you'd be boosting nothing useful to the unit.
Last edited by wagonrunner on May 16th, 2010, 12:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Mark! » May 16th, 2010, 12:32 pm

blacktriple_s wrote:
rainman wrote:

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

oh fack :lol: :lol:

**dies

granctrl3

Postby granctrl3 » May 16th, 2010, 1:01 pm

This whole thread is kind of pointless. You have a TV that is designed to receive and display digital signals, but all you have access to is an analog signal. There is nothing short of digital cable that you could ever do to make the analog picture show better. My point is you just have to endure it until you get digital cable or stick to watching DVDs and BluRays.

red5FWD

Postby red5FWD » May 16th, 2010, 4:45 pm

He should get the HD-DVR supplied by Direct TV

Postby sharkman121 » May 16th, 2010, 5:20 pm

am in the same boat as well I also have a 56' sony bravia hdtv and digital tv not yet installed in this part of arima. Tv still shows pretty fine although i know its not being used to its full potential as yet. I have a hd pvr though.

Postby X2 » May 16th, 2010, 10:57 pm

Flow's 'digital' cable is not digital, you will not get an HD signal... it's no better than the old analog cable boxes IMHO either. I've had Flow digital since the earlys... 50% of the channels are bad enough that I'd rather watch my old 27" tube TV when watching cable.

Too much smack talk... you's all retards...

flame on...

jusme

Postby jusme » May 17th, 2010, 12:29 am

Good info in this thread. I was thinking about getting a 42 inch mainly for ps3ing. I also have analog cable and more than likely, unless i move, i'll always have analog. But i dont watch tv often (chelsea, milan and celtics games ftw) so i never thought about the quality. But seeing that my pops is ah western man, i may need to keep my 27'' tube. Anyone out there with a 42''? Is it ''watchable''?

jusme

Postby jusme » May 17th, 2010, 12:30 am

Good info in this thread. I was thinking about getting a 42 inch mainly for ps3ing. I also have analog cable and more than likely, unless i move, i'll always have analog. But i dont watch tv often (chelsea, milan and celtics games ftw) so i never thought about the quality. But seeing that my pops is ah western man, i may need to keep my 27'' tube. Anyone out there with a 42''? Is it ''watchable''?

Postby sharkman121 » May 17th, 2010, 4:25 am

^ i use my 56' mostly for gaming, seeing that gaming has nothing to do with analog or digital lines but the quality of the disc itself, i receive excellent picture and clarity thru the blu-ray discs in hd when playin ps3.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 17th, 2010, 5:05 am

i have digital cable in my bedroom and living room..and oddly enough they show differntly lol
but 1 tv is LED the other is LCD

Postby Rainman » May 17th, 2010, 7:01 am

jusme wrote:Good info in this thread. I was thinking about getting a 42 inch mainly for ps3ing. I also have analog cable and more than likely, unless i move, i'll always have analog. But i dont watch tv often (chelsea, milan and celtics games ftw) so i never thought about the quality. But seeing that my pops is ah western man, i may need to keep my 27'' tube. Anyone out there with a 42''? Is it ''watchable''?

Ok

jusme wrote:Good info in this thread. I was thinking about getting a 42 inch mainly for ps3ing. I also have analog cable and more than likely, unless i move, i'll always have analog. But i dont watch tv often (chelsea, milan and celtics games ftw) so i never thought about the quality. But seeing that my pops is ah western man, i may need to keep my 27'' tube. Anyone out there with a 42''? Is it ''watchable''?

Ok