[BLOG]: Welcome to TriniTuner version3.0!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 10th, 2010, 5:58 pm

This is a blog post. To read the original post, please click here »

First of all, to all our regular users, thank you for your patience!

TriniTuner started as an automotive and motorsport website around this same time in 2000. In 2010 we are at another milestone as we celebrate our 10th Anniversary.

To keep up with our ever growing online community we have developed TriniTuner 3.0 which takes advantage of open source content management and more robust forums. We have managed to tie the two together to keep things more cohesive and easier to navigate.

You can now log in from the homepage or any page and you can comment on events and articles using your username just as you usually would in the forums. We have also integrated popular social sites like Facebook and Twitter and you can communicate and chat with friends via our communication bar at the bottom of every page.

Development of Version 3.0 on a 10 year old site with this much content was no easy task and I would like to take this opportunity to thanks first and foremost Aaron Besson aka Bezman for the incredible work and unreal level of patience and dedication to this task. Richard “Dry” Williams, without whom TriniTuner would not be running. Ryan Olton for some fantastic creative work and Daren Dhoray for his usual great technical support. All the moderators, old and new and the users that make this site what it is. THANKYOU!

We invite you to browse around and try out all the new features. We have a lot more in store to be added in the coming weeks.

Not all the features of version 3.0 are operational at this time. We will implement more features in the coming weeks. For example, images and videos previously posted may not show properly. You can choose to edit your old posts to fix this or wait until it is fixed across the site.

The server is still carrying out some conversion in the background and so you may find things may get slow from time to time. We WILL experience some hiccups as we settle into this new platform and hundreds and thousands of users start logging in every day.

Thank you for staying Tuned in and Tuned on to TriniTuner.com!

zcarz

Re: [BLOG]: Welcome to TriniTuner version3.0!

Postby zcarz » May 10th, 2010, 11:07 pm

GREAT!! :)

ragzinc

Postby ragzinc » May 10th, 2010, 11:12 pm

so can i try by best to break it? :D

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 10th, 2010, 11:16 pm

Excellent.

Postby Rooki3 » May 10th, 2010, 11:17 pm

well done, reminds me of http://forum.pgmfi.org/ , but waty better yo!!!

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » May 10th, 2010, 11:22 pm

i like it.....some nice additions, but it still feels like the tuner we love.......

i like the little black dot by the post title to let me know i posted in that thread before......and the layout is easy on the eyes...........well done!

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 10th, 2010, 11:23 pm

woohoo! looking good!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 10th, 2010, 11:28 pm

Looking good, just to tie up the loose ends that were 'lost in translation'.

Coincidently my 100th 'post' was my 1st on v3.0. lol
Last edited by SRASC on May 10th, 2010, 11:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » May 10th, 2010, 11:31 pm

NICE ! looks good, big props. loving the banners at the top of the page along with the facebook chat thingy

neoise

Postby neoise » May 10th, 2010, 11:38 pm

1sighofrelief ....... finally tuner back up :-)

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » May 10th, 2010, 11:51 pm

we need to get that auto resizing image thing for when posting images.
plus .. new rules for sigs? pics allowed ?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 10th, 2010, 11:56 pm

i just had to turn on sigs, should be fixed

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 10th, 2010, 11:58 pm

cant seem to embed youtube vids the usual way...

Postby M_2NR » May 11th, 2010, 12:02 am

and spoiler broken as well :(
all in due time i hope

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » May 11th, 2010, 12:22 am

Loving the layout.. WP is da bomb!! Easy to use, looks great, full of plug-ins and can customize the layout with some simple php know how.

I've been around this place since the beginning and I'm happy to see it going stronger than ever. Many have came, but few have lasted this long and succeeded to the level of 3NE2NR. Duane, yuh have an incredible thing going here. Keep up the good work and god(s) speed into the future.

Ps. Whoever is responsible for the animated header, can you please shoot me a PM. I'm interested in doing something similar on my site. Thanks

Aaron
InsaneRotaries.com
Blog.InsaneRotaries.com

crotch rocket

Postby crotch rocket » May 11th, 2010, 12:28 am

nice to bad

theblitz

Postby theblitz » May 11th, 2010, 12:30 am

Midnight_Demon wrote:we need to get that auto resizing image thing for when posting images.
plus .. new rules for sigs? pics allowed ?

had to turn on bbcode while editing sig for pics to display using [img]

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 11th, 2010, 12:31 am

mitch wrote:cant seem to embed youtube vids the usual way...

i created a post just for this (title is misleading)
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=311792

we will have a pretty good FAQ and How To up by the end of the week once we get all the bugs sorted out.

theblitz

Postby theblitz » May 11th, 2010, 12:33 am

Just noticing, techpost count dropped to 5xx from 7xx... my concern is not the post count but if the threads they contributed to disappeared. Was a cleanup on the forum done deleting some threads?

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » May 11th, 2010, 12:37 am

thumbs up the sight looks great

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » May 11th, 2010, 12:38 am

all my posts still there :|

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » May 11th, 2010, 12:39 am

Can we have 2 counters?

One for regular posts and the other for tech posts

Also if we had regular post count that would be a massive bonus for trinituner.

As a forum with people making like 20,000 posts etc says a lot about the user activity.

Lets make this V3.0 one well worth its weight in gold. :)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 11th, 2010, 12:43 am

Bezman wrote:
mitch wrote:cant seem to embed youtube vids the usual way...

i created a post just for this (title is misleading)
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=311792

we will have a pretty good FAQ and How To up by the end of the week once we get all the bugs sorted out.

ahh...got it!

Postby SUPAstarr » May 11th, 2010, 12:55 am

good work guys

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 11th, 2010, 12:59 am

in case anyone didnt notice
this thread title has [Blog] as a prefix

this means that this was originally posted as an article on the homepage and it is mirrored here on the forums (especially for those who dont visit the homepage etc)

the otehr cool feature is that all your replies here, automatically show as comments to that article

check it out
http://www.trinituner.com/v3/2010/05/10 ... -version3/

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » May 11th, 2010, 1:04 am

Waz de scene, know this is kinda off topic but was wondering why my sent PM's are staying in my Oubox and not being sentk.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 11th, 2010, 1:23 am

theblitz wrote:Just noticing, techpost count dropped to 5xx from 7xx... my concern is not the post count but if the threads they contributed to disappeared. Was a cleanup on the forum done deleting some threads?

yea same with me i had a massive 35 posts before i lost about 7

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 11th, 2010, 2:20 am

^ yes we pruned out all the threads in the classifieds that have not been replied to in over 6 months.

Zeroman wrote:Waz de scene, know this is kinda off topic but was wondering why my sent PM's are staying in my Oubox and not being sentk.

When you send a PM, the message shows in your outbox. After the recipient clicks on the message to read it, it then shows in your sent box. If messages are still showing in your outbox, this simply means the the person you sent it to did not click the message to read it or chose not to read it.

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » May 11th, 2010, 2:27 am

Cool, cool. Thanks

BlackXT

Postby BlackXT » May 11th, 2010, 5:33 am

Congrats to the crew for all their hard work.