STOP smoking

ray_S.T.R.A_man

STOP smoking

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » May 5th, 2010, 4:45 am

I trying to stop smoking for a few years now. I pick up this bad habit in uwi nah. so what is the best method to stop smoking.
like to hear your methods....

alphadogrock

Postby alphadogrock » May 5th, 2010, 5:23 am

Cold turkey.
Srsly.

If yuh really serious bout quitting, that is.

I failed my first two or three attempts but it worked eventually.

I still have a blend now and then if I drinkin but other than that...nicotine free... 0X

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 5th, 2010, 6:27 am

alphadogrock wrote:I failed my first two or three attempts but it worked eventually.

I still have a blend now and then if I drinkin but other than that...nicotine free... 0X

It hasn't worked. You still have failed to stop.

I don't know what's so difficult about stopping. I smoked for about 5 years and then one day told myself I was going to stop and...I stopped.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 5th, 2010, 6:39 am

I smoked for almost 14 years.
My first serious attempt at stopping failed.

My second attempt was successful. Cold turkey. No sleep for 2 weeks, jittery, irritable and bitchy for about a month. The nicorette gum was worthless. Coffee helped a bit. I probably gained a few pounds as well.

Good luck, it is a pain in the ass, but with support from friends and family, you can pull thru.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 5th, 2010, 6:46 am

i stop smoking since august of last year - i went cold turkey - trick is to take one day at a time - stop for the first day then go for the second - just keep in your mind if you smoke you will lose a day - then two then a week - and before you know it you stop and you don't have the cravings anymore.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 5th, 2010, 6:48 am

i gained some weight too - best thing to do - join a gym and work out the cravings..

alphadogrock

Postby alphadogrock » May 5th, 2010, 6:52 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
alphadogrock wrote:I failed my first two or three attempts but it worked eventually.

It hasn't worked. You still have failed to stop.

I don't know what's so difficult about stopping. I smoked for about 5 years and then one day told myself I was going to stop and...I stopped.

I don't have a problem with a couple blends every 3 or 4 months; I've come to terms with this...compared to a pack a day...

But srsly, cold turkey ftw...once u get thru the first couple wks, u good to go...

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 5th, 2010, 7:11 am

cold turkey only works if you have the motivation and determination.
I was almost at 2 packs per day. :shock:

Mini

Postby Mini » May 5th, 2010, 7:14 am

cold turkey.... it's all in the mind... the first few days are the hardest....

don't even crave now...

January 2nd 2008

Postby Sky » May 5th, 2010, 7:20 am

Cold turkey is best.
If a day you wake up and just not feelin for one, don't smoke just because it's routine.
And run with that.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » May 5th, 2010, 7:23 am

E-cig ftw!

Postby buzz » May 5th, 2010, 7:25 am

cold turkey is really best

but since i've bought an e-cig i've stopped smoking with little effort (and i hardly use the e cig as well)

hell i can't even find my e-cig for 2 days now :lol: :lol: :lol:

ah well 8-)

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 5th, 2010, 7:55 am

i have a pardner who is now on the patch.it works to an extent - he smokes much less cigs a day now.

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » May 5th, 2010, 7:57 am

Hey i smoked for a little over 9 years up to a pack a day, i had my son last year september and i stopped. I tried a blend abt a week after and it was hard... NOT ENJOYABLE AT ALL... So i stopped again, its been 8 months and no cigs, however i must admit, i still miss it everyday but then i think abt my little son and the example i want to set for him, LOVE MY SON MORE THAN THAT DAMN CIGS. Good Luck. :D
Last edited by tripplediamond on May 5th, 2010, 8:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Damien » May 5th, 2010, 7:58 am

What is cold turkey ? i trying to stop as well i stopped for 1.5 yrs and start back even harder

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 5th, 2010, 8:09 am

Damien wrote:What is cold turkey ?

but seriously, cold turkey means just quitting one day. no patches, no cutting down, no nothin'! just sheer will power

it is said to be the most effective way to quit (i've tried all the others, still at a pack a day)...

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 5th, 2010, 8:57 am

did the cold turkey thing
was smoke free for about 4 years

started back by having a smoke while drinking...and it eventually built up from there.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 5th, 2010, 9:13 am

a pack a day wtf..
a pack wud last me up to 2 days sumtimes :|

Postby Damien » May 5th, 2010, 9:21 am

ScenE I did the cold turkey thing once and it worked guess I have to try it again sigh...

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » May 5th, 2010, 9:31 am

I tried to stop........about 8 times now.......always had some stress that caused me to take a pull.....and well start back again. I don't have the dedication to go cold turkey, and honestly I don't want to right now, cause when you drinking a cold beer....you need a cig.

I am down to 2-3 cigs a day now, mainly due to this smoking law. I dont smoke during the day outside the building because I dont want to offend anyone, and actually I dont miss it at all. You can try cutting down if you can't stop all together, but if that is what you want to do, you need to change alot of habits, first being to stop liming in places and with people that you smoke with and around for a while.

kl122

Postby kl122 » May 5th, 2010, 9:42 am

heres wat worked for me, i gradually reduced d amount i smoked until i got to the point where half pack would last me a week, then i stopped buying packs n would only buy 2 a day, one on the way to work, one on the way from work, then i realised that i was forming a habit of buying that one every morning cuz i wud pass the vendor on my way to the carpark, so i start taking a different route to the car park avoiding the vendor.....jus learn to break the habit, if u cant do it in one day, do it gradually...now n den i may feel for one, n i bum from my padner, who smokes dunhill mentol, which makes me wanna vomit, so after 2 pulls i done...most places now band smoking, so when i liming i jus dont smoke,so that law is a bit helpful as well.

Postby wagonrunner » May 5th, 2010, 9:43 am

cold turkey, a long time ago.
loved swimming a lot more than i loved smoking.

Postby tr1ad » May 5th, 2010, 10:28 am

i got my hands on the ecig

powerseller ECIGTT or www.ecigtt.com

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 5th, 2010, 12:24 pm

pimptacular wrote:a pack a day wtf..

Different people... I smoke 1 - 1 1/2 packs per day on average, if drinking heavily 2 - 3 packs a night not including my usual daily usage.

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 5th, 2010, 1:05 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:
pimptacular wrote:a pack a day wtf..

Different people... I smoke 1 - 1 1/2 packs per day on average, if drinking heavily 2 - 3 packs a night not including my usual daily usage.

Postby DFC » May 5th, 2010, 1:07 pm

imagine a cigarette is a dick..and u wont wanna put it in your mouth anymore..
but then again./.... :? :?

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 5th, 2010, 1:11 pm

That explains why you like the c0(k soo much.... :shock: :lol: :lol:

Postby DFC » May 5th, 2010, 1:14 pm

DrunkenMaster16, nah sorry i not on them batty scenes...

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » May 5th, 2010, 2:22 pm

1ecig.

Talk done.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » May 5th, 2010, 3:26 pm

DFC wrote:DrunkenMaster16, nah sorry i not on them batty scenes...

DFC wrote:imagine a cigarette is a dick..and u wont wanna put it in your mouth anymore..
but then again./.... :? :?

I beg to differ.

1bullaman