WTK: Driver Permit expiration

Coppershot

WTK: Driver Permit expiration

Postby Coppershot » May 1st, 2010, 8:12 am

DP expiring tomorrow.
Could not make it to licensing office on friday cause my boss is special.

Is there a grace period where I can drive with it still?
My mechanic told me it's a week or two you can drive with it expired.
Just need confirmation?

I'm going monday to renew, just hate to travel.

Postby Hook » May 1st, 2010, 8:17 am

Well, in Lic. there's a thing about late renewal fees, while there won't be any late fee attached to YOUR renewal, the periods for the different fees indicate to me that it applies more to ppl whose permits expired while they were out of T&T for an extended period.

There is no "grace period" for ppl to drive on expired permits AFAIK. I suggest that you keep low this wknd.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » May 1st, 2010, 8:35 am

Thanks.
P2's on monday

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » May 1st, 2010, 9:11 am

you: im here to renew..i was coming friday, but..etc etc

officer: oh ok..np. *looks around* u parked inside the compound, right? it have traffic on the road.

you: yea, i jus park right there *points to car*

officer: so u drove with an expired permit.

*BOOM. HEADSHOT*

Re: WTK: Driver Permit expiration

Postby Ignorant Ignis » May 1st, 2010, 9:15 am

Coppershot wrote:DP expiring tomorrow.
Could not make it to licensing office on friday cause my boss is special.

Is there a grace period where I can drive with it still?
My mechanic told me it's a week or two you can drive with it expired.
Just need confirmation?

I'm going monday to renew, just hate to travel.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/dXhCkg_vOaA&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/dXhCkg_vOaA&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Postby buzz » May 1st, 2010, 10:43 am

KURMAman wrote:you: im here to renew..i was coming friday, but..etc etc

officer: oh ok..np. *looks around* u parked inside the compound, right? it have traffic on the road.

you: yea, i jus park right there *points to car*

officer: so u drove with an expired permit.

*BOOM. HEADSHOT*

once he didn't witness you driving on the compound :lol:

but yeah i don't think there's any extra charge for a 3 day late renewal

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » May 1st, 2010, 11:38 am

you will find out monday
new renewal fees in effect

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » May 1st, 2010, 12:54 pm

Hook wrote:Well, in Lic. there's a thing about late renewal fees, while there won't be any late fee attached to YOUR renewal, the periods for the different fees indicate to me that it applies more to ppl whose permits expired while they were out of T&T for an extended period.

There is no "grace period" for ppl to drive on expired permits AFAIK. I suggest that you keep low this wknd.

na i don't think so as my DP expired last year August and I wasn't able to renew it until i came down in January and wasn't charged any late fees, provided you can show proof I guess.

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » May 1st, 2010, 1:01 pm

TriniVdub you renewed your permit within the six months period, only if a person is renewing there license after that six months grace; they will have to pay a late fee.

d rasta

Postby d rasta » May 4th, 2010, 3:19 pm

walk with yuh $500... :?

link

Postby link » May 4th, 2010, 9:51 pm

kiamotors wrote:TriniVdub you renewed your permit within the six months period, only if a person is renewing there license after that six months grace; they will have to pay a late fee.

what grace period..... :?: :?:
expired & renewing under six months after - $500
and various increasing monies for stated periods after.........
notices posted in Lic Off for all
rgds

Postby SMc » May 5th, 2010, 2:40 am

My DP expire about 4 years now :( , any idea if it can be renewed without sheiting the test again or do I just have to take it in and pay lots of money?

Postby cinco » May 5th, 2010, 6:56 am

you can take it in and pay 1000 bux
well i dont know if that fee went up also

Postby SMc » May 5th, 2010, 10:35 am

fork dat.....any issues on driving in TT with a UK drivers permit for afew weeks?

krazeevic

Postby krazeevic » May 5th, 2010, 11:11 am

There is no charge for late renewal.
Mine was expired for 2 months and renewed it with no extra charges.
And its still $200 for a 3 year permit.. Not $500 as yet.

I went to Lic office in Point Fortin. Was done in 10 minutes.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » May 5th, 2010, 11:21 am

10 mins in Point....it usually takes me a half day in Arima. Once it even took
me 2 days.. :( :( :( ....last week i went for my certified copy spent an hour in the line and i received the old copy...they tell me i have to check the chief clerk to get the new owner name on the certified copy so that is a next couple of months again...... :( :( :( license office fail......

r p m

Postby r p m » May 5th, 2010, 11:34 am

krazeevic wrote:There is no charge for late renewal.

as of 03/05/2010 $500 pardna !

Postby rollingstock » May 5th, 2010, 12:53 pm

SMc wrote:fork dat.....any issues on driving in TT with a UK drivers permit for afew weeks?

none once you're in the country less than 3 months.

Postby SMc » May 5th, 2010, 1:09 pm

good good....I could quote you on that if PoPo want to fine meh? I only in TT every few years and just realise me DP expire about 5 years ago :( .

Postby crazybalhead » May 5th, 2010, 1:13 pm

link

Postby link » May 5th, 2010, 1:16 pm

r p m wrote:
krazeevic wrote:There is no charge for late renewal.

as of 03/05/2010 $500 pardna !

when did u renew yr permit ?? hadda be BEFORE 03May...correct ??

Postby rollingstock » May 5th, 2010, 1:34 pm

MV&RT Act Chapter 48:50 wrote:
56A. (1) Notwithstanding section 42(1) the holder of a valid
driving permit issued in any country referred to in subsection (2)
shall, whilst such permit remains valid, be exempted for a period
of three months from the date of his arrival in Trinidad and
Tobago from any requirement to hold a driving permit issued
under this Act to drive in Trinidad and Tobago; but he shall only be
entitled to drive in Trinidad and Tobago a motor vehicle of the
class for which he is authorised to drive by the permit of which he
is the holder.

For SMc.

Postby SMc » May 5th, 2010, 2:31 pm

fanks. 1000 is alot to pay for a few weeks on the road

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » May 5th, 2010, 6:39 pm

Ok. I went on Monday.
There is a list with the prices,
I wrote it down on a newspaper but I left it in the maxi.

I think it's 6 months and over expired, you pay around $500 - $800.
and up to 3 yrs you pay $1300-1800.
Anything more than that you have to retake the test.

I can't recall the exact prices. Maybe another tuner doing business there can post it.

BTW

Can the police charge you for the same offence twice in the same day?
Apparently a taxi driver there was talking about his friend, who had something illegal on his vehicle. The man got stopped in two separate road blocks and got fined for the same exact thing.

Postby Hook » May 5th, 2010, 6:41 pm

Did he produce the ticket at the second roadblock as proof that he was already ticketed for it?

If not, den fork he!

superhuman111

Postby superhuman111 » May 27th, 2014, 1:35 pm

so i got my learners sept 2012 we in 2014 i was busy with exams and thing
it expired but i past my regulations do i have to get a new learners or just pay to renew and just get a new drivers date knowing i pass my regulations please message me asap

Postby cinco » May 27th, 2014, 1:40 pm

save yuhself d headache
start over

Postby Spitfir3 » May 27th, 2014, 2:57 pm

superhuman111 wrote:so i got my learners sept 2012 we in 2014 i was busy with exams and thing
it expired but i past my regulations do i have to get a new learners or just pay to renew and just get a new drivers date knowing i pass my regulations please message me asap

like cinco said you would have to start over from scatch..normally if you miss the date they would just reschedule and give you a new date but considering how much time has past most likely your info is somewhere behind god back nowhere to be found...so yea

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 6th, 2014, 7:38 pm

So if your DP expired a year and a few months...its still $500? Or more than that?

Postby Trini Hookah » June 6th, 2014, 7:48 pm

Soul Collector wrote:So if your DP expired a year and a few months...its still $500? Or more than that?

It means eternal damnation bro.