Heaven, Hell and the after-life...

zitanos

Heaven, Hell and the after-life...

Postby zitanos » April 27th, 2010, 9:52 pm

So I was having a discussion the other day with some ppl about religion and heaven etc., coming out of that I had a few unanswered questions. So I'm asking the religious folks in here to educate me if they have answers on any of these.

1. Where do babies go when they die?

2. If heaven, then do they age in heaven, or do we all remain the same age in heaven that we were when we died?

3. I understand Hindu's believe in reincarnation, how does this work?

4. Are animals allowed in heaven?

5. The 72 virgins concept. Is this true? If so, seems to be a good thing for the man. What does the woman get out of it? And for married muslims, when the man die, does he and his wife separate in heaven, considering she most likely is no longer a virgin? (if so what becomes of her)

6. For believers of heaven, is there 1 heaven? or 1 for each religion?
If there is only 1, does jesus, allah (pbuh), and whoever else live side by side as multiple gods in heaven?

7. I know some christians believe, if you don't worship Jesus, you're not getting into heaven. What about the tribes in the amazon, or a baby who dies at birth, who never had the privilege about knowing about Jesus. What happens to them?

8. If you don't believe in heaven, or God... and you don't believe in hell where do you go?

9. Can heaven exist without hell? If so, then is it possible when you die, the only place to go is heaven? If not, then Heaven needs hell to exist, hence, so does that mean believers, should be thankful that hell exists?

10. If hell needs to exist, for heaven to exist. Then we need "bad" people, or non-believers on earth, for believers to be-able to go to heaven.?

Someone once raised the question, why did God put us on earth for such a short period of time. Imagine Most of us will spend 60-80yrs on earth, some babies spend a few seconds. Considering the length of time eternity in heaven is, 60-80 years or even in the case of the baby (a few seconds) is just a drop in the barrel when we consider the length of time which constitutes eternity. Are we really here for such a short time on earth ... to go to heaven and relax for the rest of time? (if so, sounds like a steal of a deal).

NB: I am not trying to offend any religion here. If I did, please let me know, and I apologize in advance. I'm hoping those of you with more knowledge in the respective religions can help us clarify some of these questions.
[/list]

Postby SUPAstarr » April 27th, 2010, 9:54 pm

IN BEFORE EMOLOCK

Postby Damien » April 27th, 2010, 9:55 pm

religion is man made just like santa claus and the teethfairy :|

Postby Damien » April 27th, 2010, 10:02 pm

ok santa is real :|

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » April 27th, 2010, 10:04 pm

:? :?

zcarz

Re: Heaven, Hell and the after-life...

Postby zcarz » April 27th, 2010, 10:13 pm

zitanos wrote:So I was having a discussion the other day with some ppl about religion and heaven etc., coming out of that I had a few unanswered questions. So I'm asking the religious folks in here to educate me if they have answers on any of these.

How the fack should i know?

2. If heaven, then do they age in heaven, or do we all remain the same age in heaven that we were when we died?
Again, how the fack should i know.

Well if you understand it, you should be explaining to me.

No, they can't repent for their sins.

5. The 72 virgins concept. Is this true? If so, seems to be a good thing for the man. What does the woman get out of it? And for married muslims, when the man die, does he and his wife separate in heaven, considering she most likely is no longer a virgin? (if so what becomes of her)
Yes it is true. Yes it is a good thing for the man. The woman gets my massive err.. how do the young people say.. peni s. No, they don't separate in heaven, they most likely separate on earth, when one dies first since it is highly unlikely that both of them will die at exactly the same time.

If there is only 1, does jesus, allah (pbuh), and whoever else live side by side as multiple gods in heaven?
No. You are wrong.

7. I know some christians believe, if you don't worship Jesus, you're not getting into heaven. What about the tribes in the amazon, or a baby who dies at birth, who never had the privilege about knowing about Jesus. What happens to them?
They don't go to heaven. They haven't repented for not knowing about Jesus.

8. If you don't believe in heaven, or God... and you don't believe in hell where do you go?
Just because you don't believe in something doesn't mean it doesn't exist. Is level fiyah fuh yuh mc if you don't believe.

9. Can heaven exist without hell? If so, then is it possible when you die, the only place to go is heaven? If not, then Heaven needs hell to exist, hence, so does that mean believers, should be thankful that hell exists?
If you had a small .. object in your pants (I'm not saying you do..) just because there is probably noone else with a smaller object in their pants, doesn't mean that your object doesn't exist.

10. If hell needs to exist, for heaven to exist. Then we need "bad" people, or non-believers on earth, for believers to be-able to go to heaven.?
Yes. (You limited my response to a yes or no response because of the wording of your question)

Someone once raised the question, why did God put us on earth for such a short period of time. Imagine Most of us will spend 60-80yrs on earth, some babies spend a few seconds. Considering the length of time eternity in heaven is, 60-80 years or even in the case of the baby (a few seconds) is just a drop in the barrel when we consider the length of time which constitutes eternity. Are we really here for such a short time on earth ... to go to heaven and relax for the rest of time? (if so, sounds like a steal of a deal).
Compared to eternity 100000000000000 years is an extremely short time. In fact it is an infinitely short time.

NB: I am not trying to offend any religion here. If I did, please let me know, and I apologize in advance. I'm hoping those of you with more knowledge in the respective religions can help us clarify some of these questions.
[/list]
Last edited by zcarz on April 27th, 2010, 10:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Damien » April 27th, 2010, 10:15 pm

btw where them 72 virgins from

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » April 27th, 2010, 10:16 pm

the aliens will be back

zcarz

Postby zcarz » April 27th, 2010, 10:20 pm

Damien wrote:btw where them 72 virgins from

virginia

zitanos

Postby zitanos » April 27th, 2010, 10:21 pm

considering the male to virgin female ratio on earth... it have enough supply?

d spike

Postby d spike » April 27th, 2010, 10:30 pm

zitanos wrote:So I was having a discussion the other day with some ppl about religion and heaven etc., coming out of that I had a few unanswered questions. So I'm asking the religious folks in here to educate me if they have answers on any of these.
What about us irreligious folks? Are we allowed to respond?

That depends on whether you bury, burn or flush them down the toilet.

We continue aging, unfortunately. (God has major shares in a wheelchair factory - as seen here by the quantity of car accidents.)

Depends a lot on the donations made by you in your previous life. Under 5,000USD could result in being a vagrant. Not sure what the value of a three-legged, mangy dog in a vegetarian society is, but it's around the same as a Bantu in Johannesburg in 1960.

Yes. That has more to do with the concept of idolatry than love of creatures. God has this mistaken belief that toilets are a type of idol. (Fellahs who piss on trees, etc. are lucky, for their heavenly reward is assured.)

5. The 72 virgins concept. Is this true? If so, seems to be a good thing for the man. What does the woman get out of it?
That's why it's called heaven.

And for married muslims, when the man die, does he and his wife separate in heaven, considering she most likely is no longer a virgin?
Of course. That's why it's called heaven.

(if so what becomes of her)
Married women hardly ever get to enter heaven. That's why Jesus never married, and Mohammed proved the point by marrying multiple times. (He kept trying to get it right.) These women are normally reincarnated as old dairy cattle or retired horses.

Quite correct. It's one big fetematch stadium up there... deities on one side, humans on the other. It's great fun mostly, except when a particular Atzec deity gets a chance to bowl - he has a wicked spin.

They get reincarnated until they get a TV, and listen to a televangelist.

They just blindfold you for eternity, and have a lot of fun at your expense. (Considering your unawareness due to the blindfold, it wouldn't matter to you where you are, would it?)

Hell has to exist. Heaven is a land overflowing with milk and honey... so you can guess what a diet of that does to one's digestive tract. Hell is where the sewage from heaven's toilets go. (Can't have that stuff polluting the universe, you know.)

Toilet/Sewerage workers are needed to shovel the stuff.

Not exactly. We are here to provide amusement for the higher beings. Soap opera, comedy, drama, tragedy, action... Earth channel has it all. Subscribe now.

[/list]

I hope I was of some assistance. :lol: :lol:

I will attempt serious discussion when I am in better control of my faculties.[/b]

Postby Rainman » April 27th, 2010, 11:18 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:IN BEFORE EMOLOCK

Thread is safe as long as we don't attack Muhammed or Sai Baba, Jesus is fair game though.

equality ftl

zitanos

Postby zitanos » April 27th, 2010, 11:21 pm

rainman wrote:
SUPAstarr wrote:IN BEFORE EMOLOCK

Thread is safe as long as we don't attack Muhammed or Sai Baba, Jesus is fair game though.

equality ftl

Is my post attacking any of them? If so, let me know and i'll edit it to leave out the names of the Gods and rephrase the questions.

Postby DFC » April 27th, 2010, 11:28 pm

they go to the creek or 6 feet under...death is part of life..accept it..and move on

heaven for most people is a place where u can eat, sleep, drink and f.uck without getting sick, or tired or getting old.

u die and either go heave, or hell, or not, or both, or u born back- 1 ina good home according to your past good deeds. 2- u born in a place of misery..like sudan or darfur..based again on past actions.
Karma works like Newton's Law of Motion,- to every action, there is an equal or opposite reaction. You are here on earth and u create actions, you make an impact...after you die..what about the reactions?..we as human beings are not free from this law.

some fellas (Goat_Destroyer) get their pleasure from bulling animals....and in some cultures sex is not limited to human beings..so heaven must be all inclusive. Thats my POV.
But from a Hindu viewpoint....when animals die, their soul has a progressive scale to go through. with worms and ants being the lowest and human beings being the highest....when an animal die..he will move up the chain.....starting from the bottom..until eventually he reaches human being..then as a human, based on Karma...he have his path.
Sometimes..almighty Optimus takes a soul...directly from an animal..and put them to a Human body...and that explais alot..in behaiviour.
Garud puran gives a long list..of animalistic tendencies and their root. All people who have come from animals....carrry with them some sort of animal tendencies. Some people on thsi earth are cold blooded killers, some are naturally inclined to be swimmers, some cannot control their eating, some have inhuman sexual desire....lol

but at the same time, some of us come directly from heaven or directly from another human birth and they seem to have ..a purer soul

72 virgins? lol.....in my heaven..if i spend 10,000 yrs there i want 10,000 women. but i cannot speak on this Muslim concept..i dunno

God is unlimited, infinite and boundless, do u think he would limit the whole universe to just one heaven?...there maybe millions of heavens....for God is Infinite.

Jesus was not a christian and he wne against the religion he was born into ;Judaism...so Jesus burning in two hells right now. A jewish one and a christian one

Altho i speak about God earlier...i am a believer in the SELF. Thas all we are sure to have and thats all we can depend on. I dont put my faith blindly in Some all powerful sleeping Being..rather i put faith in myself and try to make the best of what i have here. when i die..then i will see what happens. I cant wait for heaven when i die..i wanna try to make my life and this earth a paradise.

This is a physical world, and bound by physical laws. the is gravity, there is night, there is day, there is hot, there is cold. A pair of opposites must exist, so definitely If there is a heave, then a hell must exist

believers in what? this is a stupid question... there are good actions and bad actions. Good for me is anything that benefits Humanity on the whole. And you dont need bad people to do good.....what kinda sheep are you? Does destruction and carnage stir u to become good? .so what u were neutral before? People are innately pure and good. so it shoud be natural and not somethign that should be stirred outta you by bad

take that up with GOD...Reality is..you are here on earth with fellow human beings. You are born into a situation, so try to make the best outta it..and try to make ur world a better place. for it could be true also that this may be all u have.

vin123

Postby vin123 » April 27th, 2010, 11:30 pm

Heaven, or back to God.
According to the Hindu belief when a Baby dies it was just born into the world to "use up "whatever karma they had to. Some people see this as a very tragic loss when others view this as a blessing. I dunno.

I don't really know, I have conflicting views on heaven. Is Heaven a place similar where souls get to mingle around or are we just absorbed back in the light of god? If the soul is pure & doesn't experience pain,death, age I guess it may remain the same it was on earth? I dunno lol

I really dunno how to explain this one, I kinda sleepy, basically you reap what you sow. If you lived a bad life, you're "born again" (lol) to repay the bad/good actions of your previous karma. Some people believe that it isn't all about your good or bad actions but also a means of teaching & purifying your soul. I dunno?

I never really thought about it but I guess so, if all animals are made by god.

Erm I eh mean to offend any muslims eh but I dunno. I categorically state that I love all the good in all religions & yet dislike the bad. I'm not saying this is bad (in islam) but to me I don't understand it. Every religion has it own belief system.

The human mind will never truly be able to understand the true concept of god. Everyone has their own belief on what god "looks" like. I believe that there is ONE supreme being/consciousness/universe/god who has many different names/paths and forms. So I guess there should also be one heaven. I dunno, I could be wrong.

This is one aspect of Christanity I dislike.My dad told me about a time when I was younger I used to go Sunday school. One evening I came home crying, why? Because the Sunday school teacher told me that If I didn't accept Christ as my Lord and Saviour I would go to hell, I was 5yrs old. I don't believe that, even before Christ was around who were these people praying to?

I dunno, I believe that everyone ultimately goes back to God. Everyone is here for a purpose, a prostitute was put here to be a prostitute, a janitor a janitor, an atheist an atheist so I hope I answered your question.

This is a nice question, which I have wondered about long time now. There must be a balance in life, ying & yang, night & day, good & evil, heaven & hell. I never used to "believe in" hell but I think that hell & heaven is right here on earth. If you mean in a literal hell with demons & hellfire, no I don't. I'm confused on my understanding of this one cuz its a question that has "both ways" to it. Some religions believe in the different ages where good reigns all the time, then less good & less good until eventually there is only evil & the cycle starts back over. Some people call it the divine dichotomy.

I think my answer for question 8 can work here?

I believe somewhere in the bible I read that man is supposed to live way longer than our current life span. Somewhere in Hinduism I also read the same thing.

I also hope I didn't offend anyone with my responses & if I did I am truly sorry.
[/list]

oh, what a good break from studying lol

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 27th, 2010, 11:31 pm

in before delete

d spike

Postby d spike » April 27th, 2010, 11:42 pm

wow. Fellahs getting serious. I'm too tired to be serious, so I'll attempt some 'theo' tomorrow.

If tomorrow comes...
If the thread isn't locked by then...

vin123

Postby vin123 » April 27th, 2010, 11:54 pm

d spike wrote:wow. Fellahs getting serious. I'm too tired to be serious, so I'll attempt some 'theo' tomorrow.

If tomorrow comes...

why it go get lock?
post something nah, I tired to but I still post up, just doh go too much into it lol
Anyhow, take yuh time & give a good response. I always look forward to hear your thoughts on matters like this!

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 28th, 2010, 1:34 am

lets see how long those mods take to lock this one seeing that it doesnt pertain to the hindu religion :roll: :roll:

zitanos

Postby zitanos » April 28th, 2010, 7:14 am

It pertains to all of the major religions.
fyi, according to

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reincarnation
and
http://www.hinduwebsite.com/reincarnation.asp

the belief in heaven exists for hindu's as well.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » April 28th, 2010, 7:21 am

zitanos, Are u a person who likes to read???
If so the best advice i could give you and im not joking is to read a book called The Problem Of Pain by C.S.LEWIS. Hopefully u will read it. An internet forum is really not the best place to get answers on the Religon...especially 2nr :|

zitanos

Postby zitanos » April 28th, 2010, 7:27 am

trini mk5 wrote:zitanos, Are u a person who likes to read???
If so the best advice i could give you and im not joking is to read a book called The Problem Of Pain by C.S.LEWIS. Hopefully u will read it. An internet forum is really not the best place to get answers on the Religon...especially 2nr :|

Ok thanks ill check out the book.
And yeah, I don't expect 2nr to be my only place to get answers. It was merely one forum where I know alot of trini's hang out, hence, I was interested in seeing the point of views from the wider 2nr community.

FYI, I will ask these to more religions folks (pastor's/imam's/pundits etc) in person. Since I believe they may probably be more knowledgeable on the matters.

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » April 28th, 2010, 8:39 am

5. The 72 virgins concept. Is this true? If so, seems to be a good thing for the man. What does the woman get out of it? And for married muslims, when the man die, does he and his wife separate in heaven, considering she most likely is no longer a virgin? (if so what becomes of her)[/code]

^^^^

The other day on NGC it had a great documentary on Islam from the extremists point of view to the non violent muslim views on Islam.
Yes and the talk about the virgins was that it was misinterpreted wrong in the
Qauran the word virgin was infact the word grapes yes the fruit. Grapes was the prophets guilty pleasure he just loved them. So the
Imam's said its 72 grapes you get in heaven not 72 virgins..... :cry: The Imams said the extremist just use that to chain up gullible young men head to commit jihad.

And they Imam said that jihad is not a true muslim way of life because the prophet himself said the greatest sin is to kill another person any muslim that does that goes to hell. Jihad is just a next chain up talk them extremists does use.

And one last thing too..... the veils that muslim women wear the burqua
or what u call them...the older folks said that those were forced onto them
by the radical leaders because they never wore those garments in their life. It was after the Ayatollah of Iran came into power, that they start to
restrict women rights in the society.

Was a real good documentary showcasing the real muslim communities in Pakistan..... Iran and.... Palestine. And translations of the Quaran by the real elder Imams who know what they talkin about.

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » April 28th, 2010, 9:21 am

Soundwave wrote:
Damien wrote:religion is man made just like santa claus and the teethfairy :|

take that back, santa is real, you big stupidy...

d spike

Postby d spike » April 28th, 2010, 9:23 am

Damned good advice there. I was planning on asking the OP why he chose here to pose these questions... what sort of conversation he had in the first place to come up with these queries...

... and most importantly, what sort of religious background (if any) he has... for it is based on questions like these that Man came up with "religion".

d spike

Postby d spike » April 28th, 2010, 9:28 am

zitanos wrote:

Ok thanks ill check out the book.
And yeah, I don't expect 2nr to be my only place to get answers. It was merely one forum where I know alot of trini's hang out, hence, I was interested in seeing the point of views from the wider 2nr community.
Oh really? So this post is really meant to "stimulate discussion"? Have fun, I'll sit out on this one.

FYI, I will ask these to more religions folks (pastor's/imam's/pundits etc) in person. Since I believe they may probably be more knowledgeable on the matters.
Yuh t'ink? (Although I never thought of these people as 'religions folks'. :lol:)

d spike

Postby d spike » April 28th, 2010, 9:32 am

lostboys crew wrote: and the talk about the virgins was that it was misinterpreted wrong in the
Qauran the word virgin was infact the word grapes yes the fruit. Grapes was the prophets guilty pleasure he just loved them. So the
Imam's said its 72 grapes you get in heaven not 72 virgins...

Yuh mean Robin Williams (Mork from Ork) was right? :shock: He said this in one of his stand-up routines. Good grief, I'll have to pay more attention to what that guy says from now on... :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » April 28th, 2010, 9:34 am

vin123 wrote:
d spike wrote:wow. Fellahs getting serious. I'm too tired to be serious, so I'll attempt some 'theo' tomorrow.

If tomorrow comes...

why it go get lock?
post something nah, I tired to but I still post up, just doh go too much into it lol
Anyhow, take yuh time & give a good response. I always look forward to hear your thoughts on matters like this!

For someone who really wants to know... yes.
For someone who just wants to stir the pond to see what floats up... no.

Postby MG Man » April 28th, 2010, 9:36 am

1. Where do babies go when they die? in the ground / bonfire
2. If heaven, then do they age in heaven, or do we all remain the same age in heaven that we were when we died? depends on your connections

3. I understand Hindu's believe in reincarnation, how does this work? When you die, you are reincarnated

4. Are animals allowed in heaven? only if spayed and neutered

5. The 72 virgins concept. Is this true? yes If so, seems to be a good thing for the man. What does the woman get out of it? depends on if she into carpet lickingAnd for married muslims, when the man die, does he and his wife separate in heaven, considering she most likely is no longer a virgin? (if so what becomes of her) that's why there's harems in heaven

If there is only 1, does jesus, allah (pbuh), and whoever else live side by side as multiple gods in heaven? there's one heaven but it's got different levels, kinda like Zen, but with lame music

7. I know some christians believe, if you don't worship Jesus, you're not getting into heaven. What about the tribes in the amazon, or a baby who dies at birth, who never had the privilege about knowing about Jesus. What happens to them? Jesus hates them and they get to have red hot iron spikes run thru their rectums by Jimmy Swaggart

9. Can heaven exist without hell? If so, then is it possible when you die, the only place to go is heaven? If not, then Heaven needs hell to exist, hence, so does that mean believers, should be thankful that hell exists? they are boutht he same place....listeninig to jesus talk about peace and love while eating dry bread and fish is hell for many of us
no it just means the devil is really, REALLY bored

Someone once raised the question, why did God put us on earth for such a short period of time. Imagine Most of us will spend 60-80yrs on earth, some babies spend a few seconds. Considering the length of time eternity in heaven is, 60-80 years or even in the case of the baby (a few seconds) is just a drop in the barrel when we consider the length of time which constitutes eternity. Are we really here for such a short time on earth ... to go to heaven and relax for the rest of time? (if so, sounds like a steal of a deal). most people never read the fine print. Please refer to your warranty card

[/list]