Coffee drinkers

Re: Coffee drinkers

Postby teems1 » April 17th, 2022, 9:58 pm

X_Factor wrote:Where u all get your beans from?
I enjoy doing a v60 from time to time when it comes to pour over
I usually get the medium roast stuff from Starbucks. Antigua Guatemala or Kenya.

Postby K74T » April 26th, 2022, 7:42 am

Saw Peppercorns posted these

FB_IMG_1650972809234.jpg
FB_IMG_1650972811851.jpg

Postby MaxPower » April 26th, 2022, 8:12 am

Hadda ease off my black coffee.

Getting some coffee stains in my teeth.

Postby X_Factor » April 27th, 2022, 9:44 am

Anyone here likes the v60 drip coffee?

originalbling

Postby originalbling » April 27th, 2022, 3:02 pm

X_Factor wrote:Anyone here likes the v60 drip coffee?

I use a dripper that has a lock off valve, so i usually leave it for about 3-4mins before I let it drain into the cup.
Was planning to get a Keurig K Express since that has a strong brew option.

Saw Vanilla Bean posted a few days ago they got Death wish coffee.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 27th, 2022, 3:44 pm

I won't be too hasty to purchase this. Before the pandemic when we traveled, I picked up a couple of bottles from Walmart. It does taste good, but the taste is strikingly similar to Nescafé Gold. I believe that Tasters Choice is the US version of Gold (open to correction), hence the similarity of taste. If anything, the Gold actually tastes better and has a stronger more roasted taste.

Tasters Choice is nice and by all means it's worth a shot if you've never had it. Just don't expect anything extraordinary.
K74T wrote:Saw Peppercorns posted these

FB_IMG_1650972811851.jpg
FB_IMG_1650972809234.jpg

Postby maj. tom » August 28th, 2022, 2:03 pm

I discovered quite a while ago that adding a tiny pinch of salt makes a huge difference in making coffee taste good. I'm by no means a coffee brewing filter pot kind of person, all I really drink is Nescafe instant flavours. But the salt is important to activate taste receptors and makes bitterness disappear. That's why sweet foods like caramel, milk chocolate, and even regular boiled sweetie has a tiny touch of salt in the formula. My coffee in the morning is very simple. I don't take sugar or milk or artificial creamers and sweeteners. For 200ml water, I add 1/2 tbsp. Nescafe Instant and a pinch of salt, like 1/2 gram. Makes a difference. Try it and see if you notice what I'm talking about.

Postby RedVEVO » August 28th, 2022, 5:04 pm

Why you wasting and overspending $$$ on coffee ?
Black and Brown people drink 3 in 1 coffee .

It's $2 per cup .
Kindly leave Starbucks $40 per cup for the 1%.

And RedVEVO .
She is such ah MF .. er :roll:

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 31st, 2022, 8:00 pm

maj. tom wrote:I discovered quite a while ago that adding a tiny pinch of salt makes a huge difference in making coffee taste good. I'm by no means a coffee brewing filter pot kind of person, all I really drink is Nescafe instant flavours. But the salt is important to activate taste receptors and makes bitterness disappear. That's why sweet foods like caramel, milk chocolate, and even regular boiled sweetie has a tiny touch of salt in the formula. My coffee in the morning is very simple. I don't take sugar or milk or artificial creamers and sweeteners. For 200ml water, I add 1/2 tbsp. Nescafe Instant and a pinch of salt, like 1/2 gram. Makes a difference. Try it and see if you notice what I'm talking about.
Learnt that from Alton Brown back in 2012. I think Nescafé put salt in theirs, it has a hint of salt.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 31st, 2022, 8:07 pm

Tried Jamaican High Mountain coffee today. Taste alot stronger than the Blue Mountain coffee, which taste more mellow, smooth. JHM coffee supposed to be cheaper than JBM coffee, but to me both damn expensive.

I rather the high mountain coffee.

Postby pugboy » August 31st, 2022, 8:55 pm

that coffee very good
and what i found was even using plenty in the machine didn’t make it taste bitter
flavor just got better

viedcht wrote:Tried Jamaican High Mountain coffee today. Taste alot stronger than the Blue Mountain coffee, which taste more mellow, smooth. JHM coffee supposed to be cheaper than JBM coffee, but to me both damn expensive.

I rather the high mountain coffee.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 31st, 2022, 10:38 pm

Is like part ah mih soul was missing.

Was living off Hong wing + hazelnut creamer from June, July because my go-to Pricesmart Folgers was evasive in gulf view branch for a while.

Now ah have to make a biannual trip to Jamaica wee.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 22nd, 2022, 8:39 am

To the chief coffee drinkers( if any at all); what de ehffffff wrong with alyuh taste buds?

Worst thing I ever taste, and I remember when H.wing use to put roast corn in de coffee

Postby maj. tom » November 22nd, 2022, 8:55 am

lol I only drink it very hot when I have to stay awake.
meh I eh really know about coffee

Postby eliteauto » November 22nd, 2022, 10:25 am

Seems most local (mass) coffee processors prefer a dark roast, and some end up with a burnt flavor, I dunno if the thinking is burnt=strong. Noir and Roastel do have some nice blends though, never tried Full Bloom

Postby pugboy » November 22nd, 2022, 10:28 am

it is a cop out to roast dark as it acts as a cover
one of the local social media ppl did a tour of blue mountrain and the guy there explained that same point.

full bloom buying mostly from a local supplier so their taste went down a bit.

if you want a real good tasting coffee try casalis pizza on ave, they using a bean from malabar farms,

eliteauto wrote:Seems most local (mass) coffee processors prefer a dark roast, and some end up with a burnt flavor, I dunno if the thinking is burnt=strong. Noir and Roastel do have some nice blends though, never tried Full Bloom

Skanky

Postby Skanky » November 22nd, 2022, 10:38 am

Bought skinnygirl ground coffee in a pink pouch when we last travelled. It has ginseng and health and good life and all kinda bs in it,but....

It's way better than it sounds. You will be surprised how good it actually is...if you like your coffee black of course.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » November 22nd, 2022, 10:49 am

Got a Mr Coffee espresso machine on Amazon Black Friday sale. Original price $460usd, paid $224 usd after taxes. Costing about $1000ttd to ship down so I shipped it to my cousin in florida and will collect it sometime next yr lol

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 22nd, 2022, 2:11 pm

Dark roast done right is the smoothest coffee you'll ever drink. The roast lowers/degrades the caffeine and acids, making it less bitter. That's really for those who like it though, I know medium roast is preferred by the masses, because who want a lowered caffeine coffee, especially when you looking for a pick-me-up, plus its suggested dark roast better paired with creamer and sweetener .
Dealing with this right now, and Peppercorns have Blue Mountain Jamaican coffee for anyone interested in two sizes.
IMG_20221122_140453.jpg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 22nd, 2022, 2:12 pm

Musical Doc wrote:Got a Mr Coffee espresso machine on Amazon Black Friday sale. Original price $460usd, paid $224 usd after taxes. Costing about $1000ttd to ship down so I shipped it to my cousin in florida and will collect it sometime next yr lol
I think I'll stick with my decade old press for now

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 22nd, 2022, 2:19 pm

eliteauto wrote:Seems most local (mass) coffee processors prefer a dark roast, and some end up with a burnt flavor, I dunno if the thinking is burnt=strong. Noir and Roastel do have some nice blends though, never tried Full Bloom

Nah this chief tasting like 5% coffee coffee mix with 80% washout sawdust and remainder is cocoa or something else

Postby pugboy » November 22nd, 2022, 3:43 pm

yeah if you want to buy a machine, now is the time
i bought a kcup machine half price few years ago

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 16th, 2023, 6:22 am

Are these good grinders? From Homeland Furnishings I think
cafgr.jpg
grcbo.jpg

willilin

Postby willilin » January 16th, 2023, 1:14 pm

viedcht wrote:Are these good grinders? From Homeland Furnishings I thinkgrcbo.jpgcafgr.jpg

No these are terrible.
If you are looking for high quality coffee equipment, you'll most likely need to order via Amazon etc and good hand grinders start from $100 USD+. https://www.amazon.com/stores/1Zpresso/ ... f_=ast_bln
Check out Full Bloom Cafe, they have locally roasted high quality beans etc.

Postby X_Factor » January 16th, 2023, 3:22 pm

viedcht wrote:Are these good grinders? From Homeland Furnishings I think
grcbo.jpg
cafgr.jpg
If u interested in a shardor burr grinder lmk
400.00 i wanna upgrade

Postby matr1x » January 16th, 2023, 3:28 pm

My chemex and Hong wing is a match made in heaven

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2023, 4:39 pm

starlite south park has baratza grinders at good price, old price before things went up post covid online

viedcht

Postby viedcht » January 16th, 2023, 8:28 pm

Thank you for the advice fellas I was looking for electric one locally and find those online. Will check starlite

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 8th, 2023, 12:54 pm

For Xmas I got an amazing gift of an Atlas Box with Coffee from around the world.
https://atlascoffeeclub.com

So I bought me a Bialetti Moka pot to brew 'em.
Finally got it and made my first batch today. mmmmmmmmm, coffee is good again. Nescafe could take a rest.

Postby K74T » March 22nd, 2023, 8:25 am

Peppercorns new stock

FB_IMG_1679486874660.jpg
FB_IMG_1679486882838.jpg