Solar Panels from Pricemart??

scabs

Solar Panels from Pricemart??

Postby scabs » April 25th, 2010, 8:19 pm

I see pricemart selling solar panels now. Anyone here tried them and if so how does it work?

Postby shogun » April 25th, 2010, 8:26 pm

What price per panel?

scabs

Postby scabs » April 25th, 2010, 8:37 pm

I was just passing through quickly so didn't really get to examine it but i saw 4 i believe 3 ft panels for around $2500 and 4 larger panels for $5000. Thats for the set of four.

Marct

Postby Marct » April 25th, 2010, 8:41 pm

if i remember power output is not much-cant recall how much

netsket

Postby netsket » April 25th, 2010, 8:46 pm

Marct wrote:if i remember power output is not much-cant recall how much

yep

can be used for small appliances only

like a laptop, radio, tv, etc.

to give u an idea of what they sell...not sure if its the exact thing though

http://www.pricesmart.com/Local/Shop/Pr ... ategoryID=

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 26th, 2010, 3:54 am

Interesting. I wonder how much the battery output is in cases of a "T&TEC special" at night.

Postby M_2NR » April 26th, 2010, 4:07 am

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 26th, 2010, 6:11 am

isnt this illegal?
i was of the idea that all power of this sort, belongs to t&tec.
otherwise it would have been instituted long ago?
just asking...

Postby Gem_in_i » April 26th, 2010, 6:23 am

^^^ I always hear people saying it illegal but no one can point me in the direction of the law tht says tht :?

xtech

Postby xtech » April 26th, 2010, 7:11 am

I keep saying it is not illegal i went all the way to the minister of energy an he said so as well. But what Pricemart selling is not high performance stuff a real solar panel would cost $1000USD

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » April 26th, 2010, 7:29 am

its LEGAL if its completely Separate of the main power supply in your house( Aka OFF GRID)

its ILLEGAL if you are planning to use it ON-GRID connected so that your electricity supply can be subsidized daily!

xtech

Postby xtech » April 26th, 2010, 7:41 am

evo-STI-k wrote:its LEGAL if its completely Separate of the main power supply in your house( Aka OFF GRID)

its ILLEGAL if you are planning to use it ON-GRID connected so that your electricity supply can be subsidized daily!

T&Tec/Powergen not buying back your excess power

benko

Postby benko » April 26th, 2010, 8:45 am

as far as I know it is only illegal to connect it to the electrical grid without their permission

Postby crazybalhead » April 26th, 2010, 9:12 am

So what would YOU use those panels for???

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » April 26th, 2010, 11:11 am

crazybalhead wrote:So what would YOU use those panels for???

tuh power up the piggy pounder jockamiter pouncamatic 3000

yuh have a better use for solar power cbh? :?

Postby crazybalhead » April 26th, 2010, 11:13 am

evo-STI-k wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:So what would YOU use those panels for???

tuh power up the piggy pounder jockamiter pouncamatic 3000

yuh have a better use for solar power cbh? :?

Take care yuh eh damage it permanently eh hoss!! :lol: :lol:

Postby Country_Bookie » April 26th, 2010, 11:16 am

So is it legal to import yuh own solar panels?

scabs

Postby scabs » April 26th, 2010, 9:38 pm

can be used for small appliances only

like a laptop, radio, tv, etc.

Is it really worth the cost then? How much is this gonna save me monthly?

xeon

Postby xeon » April 26th, 2010, 9:41 pm

saw it 2day, it looks decent for the price. 4 panels with all the wiring & inverter. battery not incl tho.

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 26th, 2010, 11:55 pm

the set up involves a battery and an inverter not so?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 27th, 2010, 12:04 am

How much money must I spend to power a 900 watts Air Conditioner?

How much watts can one panel deliver?

xeon

Postby xeon » April 27th, 2010, 7:37 am

netsket

Postby netsket » April 27th, 2010, 8:19 am

if someone changes the inverter to a more powerful one...will that work for bigger appliances?

just asking :?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 27th, 2010, 11:10 am

^^ No you need more panels. And well yeah bigger inverter.

To power 900 watts I believe you need to turn your entire house roof into solar panels.

You need plenty space for this and the thing is not all the time the sun gonna be delivering the full force. Hadda consider clouds etc. lol

They are developing a type of nano solar where it will come in the form of paint. So you can paint your house with solar cells. But this technology isn't available as yet.

Usually when a company is serious about developing cheap solar with better technology, the oil companies just buy them out to protect their profits.

Hence why we are in 2010 and still 100 years away from going completely solar. Also government can't really tax solar so easily therefore they don't want you using it.

Luckily for us everyone believes man made global warming is real and that we must go green ASAP. And nothing greener than solar so we have this to our advantage.

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » April 27th, 2010, 12:24 pm

^^^ good point...

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/1gKX9TWRyfs&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/1gKX9TWRyfs&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

eyephone

Postby eyephone » April 27th, 2010, 1:13 pm

Check out the link to the wind turbines. I see this one generating 400w.

http://www.sunforceproducts.com/product_details.php?PRODUCT_ID=72

Altec55

Postby Altec55 » April 27th, 2010, 3:24 pm

i researched solar panels alot recently. basically its not cost effective (YET) to purchase a system to run your a/c, it would cost around $7000 USD for a system to do that. high quality high efficiency solar panels are pretty expensive and yes, you basically need to cover your roof with panels if you wanna power your house.

a full system to power your house can easily be $20,000 USD.

i saw the system in pricesmart and its a decent price, $2500TT.
http://www.amazon.com/Sunforce-50044-60 ... 005&sr=8-1

that is the kit on amazon.

the other thing is that you need to purchase a deep cycle battery for use wiht the system (so a marine battery...something with a very large amount of amp hours so that you get good run time in the night) you can estimate another TT$1500 - $2000 for a battery.

in the end it may just be effective to run some flourescent lights around ur house in the night. but doubt you'd get ur money's worth.

typical solar power systems costs are recoverable over 10-15 years. would be worth it if we could have an on grid system and sell excess power back to powergen...but like someone said, we cant :(

Postby Sky » April 27th, 2010, 3:39 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:its LEGAL if its completely Separate of the main power supply in your house( Aka OFF GRID)

Soo err...
If you were to get good panels, not these mickey mouse panels.
And put them straight to your fridge and freezer. Stuff that's on 24/7 nah.
Wont that also be subsidized daily?

God!!! I swear this country have the dumbest laws. Is like we come out of an anime jed.

xtech

Postby xtech » April 27th, 2010, 4:36 pm

Sky wrote:

Soo err...
If you were to get good panels, not these mickey mouse panels.
And put them straight to your fridge and freezer. Stuff that's on 24/7 nah.
Wont that also be subsidized daily?

God!!! I swear this country have the dumbest laws. Is like we come out of an anime jed.

Minister said he does not see the need to invest OR bring in laws to promote the use of solar or wind power because................

WE HAVE ENOUGH GAS TO PRODUCE CHEAP POWER FOR THE NEXT 100 YEARS.....
:? :?

scabs

Postby scabs » April 27th, 2010, 5:03 pm

Good info there Altec55! Thats what i needed to know!