Is NIKE Superior or do you simply pay for the Brand Name?

RadeonHD

Is NIKE Superior or do you simply pay for the Brand Name?

Postby RadeonHD » April 21st, 2010, 7:23 pm

Discuss.

Half of the people I spoke with say Nike shoes is just as good as any payless and you simply pay for the tick.
And other half say it is better than payless.

I don't really buy nike or any expensive brand name clothing.
However I admit I am guilty of spending excess of $700 TT and more on a single NIKE shoes. (I do not wear Jordans)

And the nike that I do wear are running shoes. So I can have it to go out also.

I bought a pair of Air Max for running on evenings now. However one friend of mine told me the New balance would have been cheaper and better.

I am thinking of maybe purchasing a pair of New Balance next time since I heard they are more comfortable than NIKE. Also cheaper.

Would like to find out from fellow tuners where do they purchase their running gear. And what shoes they use that are comfortable, and good price.

oxidation

Postby oxidation » April 21st, 2010, 7:27 pm

had 3 pairs of nike cant really remember the actual type but they never lasted........

ohh yea i had them presto and them.............. boy that wasssssssss soo comfy

puma and addidas lasted much longer

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » April 21st, 2010, 7:28 pm

that's nice :|

Re: Is NIKE Superior or do you simply pay for the Brand Name

Postby foss » April 21st, 2010, 7:31 pm

Alpine wrote:And the nike that I do wear are running shoes. So I can have it to go out also.

at least i know i will never bounce you up in a club :|

but ent pios day all d nike in tdad is fakes?
but i really doh find nike lasting long at all.. had a addidas for 6yrs
nike does last 2/3yrs max

Picasso

Postby Picasso » April 21st, 2010, 7:33 pm

Never had a problem with Nike footware.. All my Nikes last more than 3 years and I beat the shyte out of them. If yuh Nike ( authentic ) last you only a year den yuh have cutlass feet and buying Timberland boots should be an option instead. :|

Postby sharkman121 » April 21st, 2010, 7:36 pm

men jus paying for the brand name, guess am also guilty of that. Can anybody claim they have a nike that they wearing continuously for more than 4 years.

foss i have a reebok going strong for 6 also.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 21st, 2010, 7:38 pm

Comfort is relative, as can be duration...alot depends on how you run/walk, how often you use, and the fit of the shoe in relation to the size of your foot (for example a wide foot in a narrow fit is always going to be uncomfy and tear quickly)

My last 3 pairs of cleats have been Nike...have preferred them to previous brands i've used such as Adidas and Umbro
For running i've always used adidas...no reason in particular, but was happy with the first pair so just kept using it...
For hiking i use Merrel...if you want a shoe to last, get that..they've got some designed for running as well i believe :lol:

Postby foss » April 21st, 2010, 7:41 pm

worksux101 wrote:For hiking i use Merrel...if you want a shoe to last, get that..they've got some designed for running as well i believe :lol:

that sounding like a breed of snake :lol:

haterforever

Postby haterforever » April 21st, 2010, 7:42 pm

k-swiss is very comfortable and lasts very long. had one that a threw away recently after six years only because i used it as a substitute for football boots

xeon

Postby xeon » April 21st, 2010, 8:18 pm

Puma FTW, Presto was the most comfortable, TN was the nicest & well the shox never worked :? ......The Classic black with AIR written on the side was pretty cool too.

Postby tr1ad » April 21st, 2010, 8:27 pm

foss wrote:
worksux101 wrote:For hiking i use Merrel...if you want a shoe to last, get that..they've got some designed for running as well i believe :lol:

that sounding like a breed of snake :lol:

yuh eh kno bout dat white boy brand or wah

silver racer

Postby silver racer » April 21st, 2010, 8:50 pm

i have alot of nike slippers as well as shoes. an it last vry long. way mre dan 4yrs wearing continuously.

but all of them were bought frm the factory outlets in long island..

Postby foss » April 21st, 2010, 8:53 pm

silver racer wrote:i have alot of nike slippers as well as shoes. an it last vry long. way mre dan 4yrs wearing continuously.

but all of them were bought frm the factory outlets in long island..

well guess u got original shoes :|

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » April 21st, 2010, 8:56 pm

xeon wrote:Puma FTW, Presto was the most comfortable, TN was the nicest & well the shox never worked :? ......The Classic black with AIR written on the side was pretty cool too.

presto really was the most comfy shoe ever...

i have a drift cat puma and it going more than 3 years strong..does wear it pretty much everyday and i never wash it :oops:

had a monster shox...lasted about 3 years, wore it everyday and sometimes use to play football and cricket in it too...stop wearing it cuz the sole of the shoe came off. :roll: but i find it was real comfy too...never wash that too :lol: and it still looking clean.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 21st, 2010, 8:57 pm

bought a pair of Total 90 football boots, the sole cracked and the merchant wouldn't replace it.......they just offered to stick it with some contact cement :roll:
thinking i got unlucky, i bought another pair of Total 90's, but a different model and from a different store....i looked it up online and it was authentic.......in a few weeks the entire sole of the left foot fell off and the right was not far behind........i had a pair of Shox sometime after that.........the sole in that was peeling off after a year........that was about 5 or 6 years ago.......i never bought Nike after that........

Puma is quite good and lasts very long.....but almost everyone has a Puma casual shoes :|

recently bought a pair of Adidas Predator football boots......they needed a bit of break-in but they are comfortable now and are much lighter ,give better control and power delivery over the Nike football boots i owned previously....
i also own one of those Adidas shoes with the "Good Year" logo and those are quite comfortable and are going strong.......

i've got a pair of Reebok running shoes that i use to mountain bike.......those see quite a lot of mud, water(fresh and salt) and abrasion....but they are going strong as well............

Postby mero » April 21st, 2010, 9:01 pm

new balance 574 ftw... have mine 4 years and it still going strong....

Postby foss » April 21st, 2010, 9:01 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:bought a pair of Total 90 football boots

thought u meant in total and got them in taiwan :|

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » April 21st, 2010, 9:09 pm

since we on this topic of sport shoes, I looking for some sport shoes that are between medium and wide in front, this real hard for me to get since normal does be too tight and wide shoes does be too wide..

What would you all recommend!
Last edited by nareshseep on April 21st, 2010, 9:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

townman

Postby townman » April 21st, 2010, 9:10 pm

Yeah Puma is the ish but Nike sold out big time in the early 2000's with their sh***y quality retros only get their stuff on sale.

P.s Nike is best for B-Ball type Shoes

Postby Damien » April 21st, 2010, 9:15 pm

I buy mine at detour at original price

Freelander

Postby Freelander » April 21st, 2010, 9:32 pm

i never have a problem with brand name shoes.

i take care of my shoes and use them for what they are designed for.

only bad experiences with nike i had was when a thumb tack went into my air bubble

Postby pugboy » April 21st, 2010, 9:43 pm

asics is the shoe of choice for most of them marathoners
you have to be careful as a lot of the nike shoes are meant for consumer bling

Postby Trini Hookah » April 21st, 2010, 9:56 pm

no Clarks, no care :|

cacasplat3 wrote:bought a pair of Total 90 football boots, the sole cracked

recently bought a pair of Adidas Predator football boots

my Total 90 almost making 2 years, however this replaced my Predator...that, i HOPE was not authentic, because the way that boots burst...the whole side was ripped and the entire sole came off in a game :shock: , really made me reconsider buying another Adidas boots again...well, besides a Copa that is :wink:

WRT sneakers, Puma is king 8-)

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 21st, 2010, 10:24 pm

really made me reconsider buying another Adidas boots again...well, besides a copa that is

ahh boy...ah man knows his stuff :wink: 8) They're too narrow for me though :cry:
Question..how did the side of the predator rip? The predator i had about 3 years ago has two separate outsoles, front and back...

cacasplat3, which total 90's exactly? I'm on my second pair of Laser II's...the first lasting about a year with some serious playing time on all kinda different surfaces...

nareshseep wrote:I looking for some sport shoes that are between medium and wide in front

I've got the same problem...if you're referring to running shoes then the only one i can reccomend is adidas...they work for me because of the significant amount of padding their higher lines of running shoes have on the outstep...
If you're referring to football boots/tugs/cleats...Kelme is supposed to have wide fronts...i saw somewhere selling them in trincity mall...plan to try those next!

Postby De Dragon » April 21st, 2010, 10:58 pm

My Shox making a 4 years now. I have a pair of ACG sandals that making 8 years.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 21st, 2010, 11:03 pm

Question..how did the side of the predator rip? The predator i had about 3 years ago has two separate outsoles, front and back...

There was a small tear on the hole for my laces at the ankle and the tore quite considerably when was mashed...and as i said the entire sole came off so the damage was done...have no regrets with my Total 90, but crossing with that Predator was sweeeeeeet :D
Next boots...black Mercurial, trying to go light and Adidas isn't making anything impressive anymore...their best boots to this day will always be the Copa..Kangaroo Leather FTW

If you're referring to football boots/tugs/cleats...Kelme is supposed to have wide fronts...i saw somewhere selling them in trincity mall...plan to try those next!

Kelme and Patrick boots as well, Kenny's in west mall has them.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 21st, 2010, 11:04 pm

Kelme and Patrick boots as well

Yea but Patrick is rubbish...Kelme is pretty well known around the world :lol:

I'm afraid of getting stepped on with those Mercurials...that and they're too narrow :lol:

masterofmindz

Postby masterofmindz » April 21st, 2010, 11:06 pm

ah wey yuh get that new CLARKS deh dawdie????

clarks, hush puppies, luis vuitton ftw

Postby Trini Hookah » April 21st, 2010, 11:08 pm

worksux101 wrote:
Kelme and Patrick boots as well

Yea but Patrick is rubbish...Kelme is pretty well known around the world :lol:

I'm afraid of getting stepped on with those Mercurials...that and they're too narrow :lol:

That HURTS...but have you ever been stepped on by a Mercurial? That hurts alot more :lol:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 21st, 2010, 11:09 pm

the heel especially :| :lol:
the front isn't too bad because the studs are low...