Two accused ask to remain in YTC (Sean Luke case)

Postby janfar » April 21st, 2010, 3:12 am

Two youths charged with the murder of infant Sean Luke four years ago yesterday petitioned the High Court to be allowed to stay at the Youth Training Centre (YTC) although one was now over the age of 18.

Murder accused Akeel Mitchell, 17, and Richard Chatoo, 20, told Justice Carla Brown-Antoine in the San Fernando High Court they wanted to complete YTC-sponsored training courses.

Mitchell was 13 years old and Chatoo was 16 when they were arrested for the March 26, 2006 killing of Luke, whose body was found in a cane field near his home at Orange Valley, Couva, two days after he went missing.

An autopsy found that Luke died from internal bleeding caused when a cane stalk was inserted through the boy’s rectum.

The two accused made the unusual request when they appeared in the San Fernando Fourth Criminal Court for a trial date to be fixed.

Males under the age of 18 and denied bail on criminal matters are remanded in the custody of the YTC. Justice Brown-Antoine said, ’It is possible to remand someone over the age of 16 to YTC.’

State attorney Jeron Joseph said he had no objection to the request, the judge made no determination on the defence request and the accused were returned to YTC yesterday.

Joseph said the State was ready to proceed to trial.

Defence attorney Celeste Jules asked that the case be transferred to Port of Spain.

Jules held for defence attorney Wayne Sturge, who is representing Mitchell. Sturge has been appointed through legal aid.

Jules said should the matter be heard in San Fernando, Sturge will not be able to defend his client.

She said attorney Keith Scotland was approached to represent Chatoo, but this had not yet been formalised. Two legal aid attorneys had been appointed in the matter but, Jules said, legal aid is a problem, especially in San Fernando.

’There are many reasons why this matter has to be heard expeditiously,’ Jules said, as she made reference to both accused being minors at the time of the incident. Brown-Antoine adjourned to a yet to be determined date in June for another status hearing.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161636890

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 21st, 2010, 6:18 am

NO.

Take yuh jail like ah man now.
If it was up to me alyuh dead long time.

Postby buzz » April 21st, 2010, 7:59 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:NO.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 21st, 2010, 8:05 am

Oh GAWD...
I cringe and get sick to my stomach everytime we re-visit Sean's case.

Send them to Big man jail if they want to do Big man crime!!
Sick bastards!!

Postby buzz » April 21st, 2010, 8:09 am

what happen to teh akil chambers case ?

GSKA.

Postby GSKA. » April 21st, 2010, 8:11 am

actu, i wont be suprise if they got an award. its a trend now.
kill today , everybody forget tomoro , get an award in a few years, because u had no rit to suffer in jail. :|

Cooper

Postby Cooper » April 21st, 2010, 8:14 am

buzz wrote:

X 10000000..........

People, try your best to protect and treasure what you have, we have too many sick people out there.

Postby Sky » April 21st, 2010, 8:31 am

"they wanted to complete YTC-sponsored training courses."
Yea right. They know if they go big boy prison they will be dealt with for what they did. They rectums holding all kinda thing from day one.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 21st, 2010, 9:43 am

they should spend the remainder of their lives in JAIL
not no training program

Postby teems1 » April 21st, 2010, 9:47 am

Bezman wrote:they should spend the remainder of their lives in JAIL
not no training program

where they will be repeatedly sodomized and eventually murdered, or they commit suicide.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » April 21st, 2010, 10:45 am

Hell NO- throw their arses in JAIL and let them tek Bull and a beating every damn day whilst they in there!

Postby dougla_boy » April 21st, 2010, 10:48 am

i think ppl have the wrong idea of jail, it supposed to be a place for rehabilitation.........not suffering..........

Postby buzz » April 21st, 2010, 10:55 am

dougla_boy wrote:i think ppl have the wrong idea of jail, it supposed to be a place for rehabilitation.........not suffering..........

no jail is jail

there is a difference between jail and a rehabilitation detention certre AFAIK

open for corrections

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » April 21st, 2010, 11:00 am

jail SHOULD BE FOR suffering!!

IF YOU COMMINT THE CRIME BE PREPARED TO DO THE TIME!

iM A FIRM BELIEVER IN PUNISHMENT!

WHIP THEIR ARSES TILL THEY BLEED! LETS SEE IF YOU WILL COME OUT AND DO THE SAME sheit AGAIN!

Postby dougla_boy » April 21st, 2010, 11:08 am

no but thats is the purpose of jail itself, to be a place where criminals can rehabilitate themselves, not all criminals are vicious murderers and they not going and stay in jail for the rest of their lives, people who make jail for stealing, and things like that, jail is to rehabilitate them so they can be released back into the society, not suffering.

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 21st, 2010, 12:10 pm

hope the judge did not forget the details of the case......anyhow...who the fk would wnat them bak in society i sorry for them if they coem out here

coltspeed

Postby coltspeed » April 21st, 2010, 4:11 pm

dougla_boy wrote:no but thats is the purpose of jail itself, to be a place where criminals can rehabilitate themselves, not all criminals are vicious murderers and they not going and stay in jail for the rest of their lives, people who make jail for stealing, and things like that, jail is to rehabilitate them so they can be released back into the society, not suffering.

What if someone shoved a piece a cane up your relatives ass*0*??!!!
Oh and it's someone from rite around your area! Sure u'd be really glad to their faces again!!!!

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » April 21st, 2010, 4:29 pm

YTC or Big Jail still safer than if they come back into society because the amount of people it have waiting for them out here is nuh even a joke! Buh i doh understand criminals dem does do like if they have rights! WTF yuh in jail it not suppose to be comfortable! Take B&LL in yuh MC!

RawVoltage

Postby RawVoltage » April 21st, 2010, 5:02 pm

Next thing after the Trial the state give them bail is the family getting the money or the state getting richer by letting murderers free? All in all they should get life in there, if was me they never see daylight again, crix & water till dey ded! & right now it have water crisis so none for them.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 21st, 2010, 5:52 pm

Plenty man going to want to play "hide the cane stalk" on their arrival. Their a$$es done sell and buy already long time.

tripplediamond

Postby tripplediamond » April 21st, 2010, 8:46 pm

If they only come out eh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will deal with them myself for what they did to that little innocent child :snipersmile: :snipersmile: :snipersmile: :snipersmile: :2gunfire: :2gunfire: :2gunfire: :faint: :faint: :out:

Re: Two accused ask to remain in YTC (Sean Luke case)

Postby Greypatch » July 8th, 2010, 12:06 pm

4 years later and the case has NOT started

see page 18 Todays Newsday

the wheels of justice have ah blow out

Postby buzz » July 8th, 2010, 12:12 pm

dont have newsfail here

update ?

Postby Greypatch » July 8th, 2010, 1:01 pm

will be called on the 27th

IdleMind2504

Postby IdleMind2504 » July 8th, 2010, 1:19 pm

kill them both

RoTaRyBoYz

Re:

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 8th, 2010, 1:44 pm

buzz wrote:what happen to teh akil chambers case ?

Once yuh have paper, yuh free as a bird... My 2 cousins were going to Blackman's at the time of Akil's murder and they said that one of the fathers were very "friendly" with this lil boy. Same father that everyone suspected to the murder.

Boi if have to kill someone is best ah give dem ah free ticket to go Trini for vacation this bump off dey kant yes. Trinidad is a place where criminals roam the land without fear of the law 0X

Re:

Postby M_2NR » July 8th, 2010, 2:05 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Oh GAWD...
I cringe and get sick to my stomach everytime we re-visit Sean's case.

Send them to Big man jail if they want to do Big man crime!!
Sick bastards!!

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » July 8th, 2010, 2:28 pm

who gives a fack what you want??? did you give a fack what sean luke wanted???

Re:

Postby mitsu_chick941 » July 8th, 2010, 2:31 pm

life imprisionment no questions asked

damn sick bastards

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 9th, 2010, 5:57 pm

4 years already...wow!