Martial Arts School

luke skywalker

Martial Arts School

Postby luke skywalker » March 28th, 2010, 5:23 pm

Looking for a martial arts school to attend preferably a kung fu school. Located in south central Trinidad (San Fernando to Couva).

devrat

Postby devrat » March 28th, 2010, 6:03 pm

luke skywalker, :shock: dude just use your lightsaber and the force will be with you.

Seriously though, there was a place on coffee st close to KFC....dont know if it still there

Postby Trini Hookah » March 28th, 2010, 6:32 pm

there's a place in montrose, Al Hikmah School Of Kung Fu
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Chaguanas ... 2874748427

Postby Cjruckus » March 28th, 2010, 6:34 pm

There are a couple of Kung Fu men on this forum.. None of them asian though

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 28th, 2010, 6:42 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:there's a place in montrose, Al Hikmah School Of Kung Fu
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Chaguanas ... 2874748427

Al hikmah also has a place on coffee street, purple building on KFC side next to the Chinese restaurant.

Also there was a purple dragon located opposite from Al-hikmah.

Postby Cjruckus » March 28th, 2010, 6:45 pm

but luke skywalker dont need no kung fu

he has the force.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 28th, 2010, 6:47 pm

Cjruckus wrote:but luke skywalker dont need no kung fu

he has the force.

Defence?

Postby RBphoto » March 29th, 2010, 7:49 am

Purple Dragaon fighting style: ... Don jitsu ryu... named after Don Jacobs :|

Nuff said.

That whole school is a self glorification, black power venture by "Professor" Don Jacobs.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 29th, 2010, 10:22 am

Kool thread - I am looking for a place to enroll my son......

Who is better - purple dragon or Al hikmah?

Exact location of Al hikmah in Montrose?

Any contact #

Postby RBphoto » March 29th, 2010, 10:55 am

Purple dragon has good instructors, rigorous training, practical instruction. I left because
1) I pay a monthly fee, I hate all the raffle and donation they were asking for. I don't think donating my time to the club = charity work/ community service.
2) I think the glorification of "The Professor" stupid and childlike in everything they do. Sorry, I come to learn self defense, not pay homage to Don Jacobs
3) I found their tournament judges too biased. If you doing well and trying to be part of the "community", there was a clear bias towards you in the ring. Damnit, I kick off a man's headgear, and two judges say they did not see the point, one say point to me, and one say no point. Was too consistent with guys going up against "Favorites". Winning at sparing is for who could kick/ cuff harder and faster, not who much up to the sensei etc.

If you could deal with all of the political nonsense and pressure to "contribute" or actually like the club community kinda thing, you will reach far in there and probably become a great fighter.

Postby rollingstock » March 29th, 2010, 3:11 pm

Al Hikmah on Coffee street, really good instructor, the zen name is davanand, you won't be disappointed. Purple Dragon is overrated and the instructors do not teach how to be civility and humility, which are somethings i think you'll want your child to learn.

Obi-Wan

Postby Obi-Wan » March 29th, 2010, 4:06 pm

bess thing to learn my young padawan:

glock fu

run fu

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » March 29th, 2010, 4:26 pm

crossdrilled, Well Sai...You captured all the points. The one that pissed me off the most was the "glorification of firetruck don jacob" - If you meet the man in the streets in your normal clothers you hadda recognise him....and if you dont - discipline in yuh mudda kant in the dojo - too me thats a pack ah sheit - thats why i left.

Again - Well Said Crossdrilled

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 29th, 2010, 6:06 pm

purple dragon sounding ridiculous from what you guys said..

Ill check out al hikmah

Postby Damien » March 29th, 2010, 6:13 pm

Obi-Wan wrote:bess thing to learn my young padawan:

glock fu

run fu

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: ftw

Postby rollingstock » March 29th, 2010, 6:26 pm

Nigson wrote:purple dragon sounding ridiculous from what you guys said..

Ill check out al hikmah

the receptionist is a red girl name ayanna, she'll sort you out.

Postby r3iXmann » March 29th, 2010, 6:32 pm

local kungfu schools have their own levels of politics eh..

which instructor doh like this one and who thief who style and all kinda tewtz :roll:

Postby Trini Hookah » March 29th, 2010, 6:42 pm

Nigson wrote:Kool thread - I am looking for a place to enroll my son......

Any contact #

Chaguanas, Trinidad and Tobago
Phone:
(868) 714-6067 or 296-6471
Mon - Tues:
4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Wed - Thurs:
4:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Postby rollingstock » March 29th, 2010, 6:55 pm

Nigson, the info i posted is for the branch located on coffee street, know the zen personally and can attest to his professionalism, don't have any info for the chag branch.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 29th, 2010, 7:09 pm

Thanks alot rollingstock I'll check them out....Thanks again man

luke skywalker

Postby luke skywalker » March 29th, 2010, 7:11 pm

Thanks guys. Want to learn new styles the jedi mind trick to always work on guntas, is only cut-ass they understand. :evil:

Postby De Dragon » March 30th, 2010, 7:06 am

Fineline Fight Club, Montrose.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » March 30th, 2010, 9:29 am

Nigson wrote:Kool thread - I am looking for a place to enroll my son......

Any contact #

Choose a martial arts school carefully. There are alot of frauds out there, and some people are not trained to teach children, or worse handle in-dojo- emergencies if they do arise.

Shop around, check out a few schools, sit in on a few classes with your son. If they instructor 'denies' access to observation, you definatly dont want that school.

Inquire, about the cost of gradings, uniforms, additional 'registration' fees, international fees etc, because like anything else dojos charge lots of hidden extra costs.

Try not to get an instructor that shouts/bawls at your kid, especially if he's young. I had a karate instructor when I was younger who was a mc , and in retrospect the training was brutal, abusive and overkill.

Always ask for qualifications. ANYONE who claims to be 9th/10th dan in Trinidad is someone that created their own style. Would you drive a car that I manufactured and started selling in tnt? I wouldn't.

Fighting is not equal to Martial Arts , I dont care what some people tell you.It's a state of mind, and there are alot of places that'll teach you to kick and punch effectively but very little that'll teach you it's not ok to fight.
Last edited by crazychinee on March 30th, 2010, 11:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 30th, 2010, 10:14 am

Thanks chinee ..I will be taking all of your advice....Especially if I cant sit in with my son then I will not be taking him there...........

Dont want him to get beaten up on lol.....will definitely take your advice..

toyoman

Postby toyoman » March 30th, 2010, 9:00 pm

use to go by irvin rosales for years.....don't know if he still teaches though....he teaches tai chi and shaolin gung fu.....in san fernando :mrgreen:

Postby Trini Hookah » March 30th, 2010, 9:12 pm

De Dragon wrote:Fineline Fight Club, Montrose.

De Dragon, do they offer kickboxing? If so, any contact for them?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » March 31st, 2010, 9:46 am

rollingstock wrote:Al Hikmah on Coffee street, really good instructor, the zen name is davanand, you won't be disappointed. Purple Dragon is overrated and the instructors do not teach how to be civility and humility, which are somethings i think you'll want your child to learn.

co-sign. you'll have a range of styles/options to choose from: kickboxing, tai-chi, aikido and kung-fu. believe they constructed a kickboxing ring as well a couple years back.

Postby rollingstock » March 31st, 2010, 9:52 am

Mitsu_Exec, ring being used this weekend at the pleasantville indoor arena for a mma event, amateurs mind you, i'm going who else.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » March 31st, 2010, 9:59 am

rollingstock wrote:Mitsu_Exec, ring being used this weekend at the pleasantville indoor arena for a mma event, amateurs mind you, i'm going who else.

date/time?

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » March 31st, 2010, 10:12 am

http://is-is.facebook.com/notes/nationa ... 3552342310

Check out this link. Met number 7 yesterday. Cool guy.

7. Golden Phoenix School of Martial Arts and Kickboxing-
Esperanza Village, California
Instructor - DARION JOSEPH
Style: Kickboxing
Contact -744-6781