WTK Tank or Tankless Water Heater

Re: Personal Reviews on Tankless Electric Water Heater - STIEBEL ELTRON

Postby Ted_v2 » August 23rd, 2018, 5:20 am

i have a tank 30 gallon model, got from water source in cipero.

Cheap and does the job.

3 yr warrant on electricals, 6 years on tank

Re: Personal Reviews on Tankless Electric Water Heater - STIEBEL ELTRON

Postby adnj » August 23rd, 2018, 7:57 am

I have used Stiebel and Ecosmart for years with no problems. I have used gas and electric tank heaters with that need to be drained periodically but nothing bad other than that.

Tankless heaters use copper instead of steel and always seem to last longer. Tankless heaters start out at 30 amps and move up to 50 amps depending on how much hot water you want supplied. I would only mount my water heater indoors. I don't see outside installation as an advantage. It also wouldn't hurt to insulate your hot water pipes.

If you need a lot of hot water in a hurry and a lot of it, consider a 50 gallon, 30 amp electric. There are digital thermostats where you can set temperatures for certain times of the day.

Re: WTK Tank or Tankless Water Heater

Postby The_Honourable » September 17th, 2019, 4:28 pm

So tuners, looking for a tankless 120V water heater. Coming across 220V so far. What good brands out there? Stiebel Eltron & Ecosmart?

Better to import?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » September 17th, 2019, 4:29 pm

The_Honourable wrote:So tuners, looking for a tankless 120V water heater. Coming across 220V so far. What good brands out there? Stiebel Eltron & Ecosmart?

Better to import?

What you gonna use the heater for?

Postby The_Honourable » September 17th, 2019, 6:15 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:So tuners, looking for a tankless 120V water heater. Coming across 220V so far. What good brands out there? Stiebel Eltron & Ecosmart?

Better to import?

It's for a padna, he said it's just for a bathroom.

Postby adnj » September 17th, 2019, 6:59 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
wheelbarrow wrote:

Better to import?

Your friend will almost certainly need to rewire the bathroom for a tankless water heater. If there is an existing 30 amp, 115 volt, 4 mm^2 circuit, it only has the electrical capacity to supply either a shower heater or one of the smallest tankless units meant for hand washing only.

Modern electric has 30 amp/115 volt wall units at about $300. They are sometimes used for as a basin/shower hot water supply. If a shower heater works well enough, they will work well enough, too.

Otherwise, move up to a minimum 40 amp dual-pole, 230 volt, 6 mm^2 circuit.

Postby The_Honourable » September 17th, 2019, 7:31 pm

adnj wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
wheelbarrow wrote:

Better to import?

Your friend will almost certainly need to rewire the bathroom for a tankless water heater. If there is an existing 30 amp, 115 volt, 4 mm^2 circuit, it only has the electrical capacity to supply either a shower heater or one of the smallest tankless units meant for hand washing only.

Modern electric has 30 amp/115 volt wall units at about $300. They are sometimes used for as a basin/shower hot water supply. If a shower heater works well enough, they will work well enough, too.

Otherwise, move up to a minimum 40 amp dual-pole, 230 volt, 6 mm^2 circuit.

I believe he has the 30amp/115v connection. Agree with you on the 220/230v connection. He wants to avoid running a 40amp/230v as the panel is far away and lots of obstructions between the panel and the bathroom.

Postby adnj » September 17th, 2019, 9:31 pm

The only reasonable alternative is to install a larger heater closer to the panel and use it for more than a single bathroom.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 18th, 2019, 12:39 am

Who here can recommend a plumber to hook up a tankless system ?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 18th, 2019, 7:01 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Who here can recommend a plumber to hook up a tankless system ?
Call 3494094

25 to LIFE

Postby 25 to LIFE » September 18th, 2019, 5:38 pm

Go with a solar unit and cut down on your light bill. Prices came down a lot. Message me if interested.

Rota fan

Postby Rota fan » September 21st, 2019, 6:48 am

Peeps. Looking for a 20 gallon bradford white water heater. Anyone can direct me where i can get one at a good price?

Postby Dave » September 21st, 2019, 6:57 am

Hadco is the dealer. I bought directly from them many years ago.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 21st, 2019, 8:23 am

Rota fan wrote:Peeps. Looking for a 20 gallon bradford white water heater. Anyone can direct me where i can get one at a good price?

Can try R and Z electrical on Royal Road in San Fernando just before the gas station

Rota fan

Postby Rota fan » September 21st, 2019, 7:55 pm

Thanks alot

QM

Postby QM » September 21st, 2019, 10:29 pm

Tank, cheaper electrical bill in the long term. Better for high flows.

Postby adnj » September 22nd, 2019, 1:33 am

QM wrote:Tank, cheaper electrical bill in the long term. Better for high flows.
Tankless is less expensive because water is not kept at high temperature when not being used.

Tank for many simultaneous users but only for a short time.

Tank is typically less expensive to purchase but uses much more space.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » September 22nd, 2019, 6:33 am

Island Roofing has a good quality tankless unit. Got one back in 2016 and still going strong ( comes with 5 years warranty ) . Usage for shower, bathroom vanities and kitchen tap ( never really used the kitchen one but provisions are in place in the event I need warm water running thru my kitchen tap )

src1983

Postby src1983 » October 22nd, 2019, 8:23 pm

Any tankless waterheater experts here?

I have a stiebel eltron DHC-E, its getting power but giving no hot water

Any advise?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » October 22nd, 2019, 8:23 pm

src1983 wrote:Any tankless waterheater experts here?

Any advise?

Flow Sensor failed

Postby pugboy » October 22nd, 2019, 8:40 pm

Crud can also stick it
A padna own had pieces of pvc when they cut with hacksaw sticking it

wheelbarrow wrote:
src1983 wrote:Any tankless waterheater experts here?

Any advise?

Flow Sensor failed

Reamos DC5

WTK Tank or Tankless Water Heater

Postby Reamos DC5 » April 27th, 2021, 8:45 am

Morning Tuners,

Stiebel Eltron DCE 10 Trend (Tankless Water Heater)

Any reviews?

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » April 27th, 2021, 9:22 am

Postby Habit7 » April 27th, 2021, 12:24 pm

Reamos DC5 wrote:Morning Tuners,

Any reviews?

I bought one and trusted the german engineering. Piece of crap.

It requires a specific gauge of wire and voltage to work properly. If not, it will fail constantly. I used to regularly have to carry it back to Water Source to service because it was always breaking down. After the 3rd time I cant remember if I told them to keep it or I throw it away.

I bought an EcoSmart tankless water heater, simple set up and it is chugging along well. I have it for about 4yrs now and never had to touch it.

rebound

Postby rebound » April 27th, 2021, 12:42 pm

Try Westinghouse, works great..I purchased them by Ramlagans

Any reviews?

Reamos DC5

Postby Reamos DC5 » April 27th, 2021, 2:59 pm

Thanks/Thanking all in advance....appreciate it alot.

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2021, 3:10 pm

stiebel parts expensive

Postby teems1 » April 27th, 2021, 3:15 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Any reviews?

It requires a specific gauge of wire and voltage to work properly. If not, it will fail constantly. I used to regularly have to carry it back to Water Source to service because it was always breaking down. After the 3rd time I cant remember if I told them to keep it or I throw it away.

I bought an EcoSmart tankless water heater, simple set up and it is chugging along well. I have it for about 4yrs now and never had to touch it.

Did you have the correct wire diameter and 240v 50 amp breaker?

If not then it's your fault. You can't expect something to work as designed if the requirements are not met.

Postby adnj » April 27th, 2021, 3:22 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Any reviews?

Stiebel Eltron does not have any unorthodox power supply requirements for any of their tankless heaters.

What I see quite often is the installation of water heaters and other resistive loads that demand more power than is available from the circuit breaker panel and associated wiring.

A building owner buys a 240V 7 kw heater that recommends a 30 amp breaker and does not take into account the local 230V supply. That voltage difference causes repeated tripping of the breaker or intermittent operation of the appliance. The building owner actually needs to move up in breaker and wire size.

The SE DCE 10 requires a minimum 10 kw power supply. The OP will be required to install a 50 amp, 2-pole breaker with two 10 mm^2 single/single supply cables.
Last edited by adnj on April 27th, 2021, 3:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2021, 3:27 pm

less than optimal wiring should not affect the working of the unit or cause it to breakdown

it can however cause the wiring to overheat and be a fire hazard which is a totally different issue