francis1979

WTK Tank or Tankless Water Heater

Postby francis1979 » March 21st, 2010, 10:25 am

WTK the pros and cons of tank vs. tankless water heater

Postby Rainman » March 21st, 2010, 10:26 am

to tank or not to tank, that is the question.

sorry, carry on.

sniper21

Postby sniper21 » March 21st, 2010, 10:30 am

i think the tankless dont work as good as the tank

I had a tank and it went through , so i bought a tankless , and long story short , i bought a tank again..

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » March 21st, 2010, 10:33 am

a tankless task this is... :|

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 21st, 2010, 10:37 am

I have a Tank less and no problems at all

Postby Damien » March 21st, 2010, 10:40 am

Dragist wrote:I have a Tank less and no problems at all

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2010, 10:40 am

with a tankless you need good 50amp electrical supply

the problem with tank is they dont sell sacrificial anode replacements down here
which is why water heaters only last a few years with our corrosive water.

you are supposed to change the anode every couple years or so and the whole thing will last a very long time

Postby buzz » March 21st, 2010, 10:40 am

badman doh use heater

we livin in trini 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 21st, 2010, 10:53 am

tank, stay away from tankless. I major benefit of tankless is lower power consumption.

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » March 21st, 2010, 11:29 am

the tank type heater will give you a higher temperature @ higher flows
(if you turn your hot water tap all the way open wit a tankless the temp will drop because the water is passin over the element @ such a speed that the heat is not transferred fast enough)
the initial cost of installation is a lot lower with a tank type
(most houses have a 220v/30amp supply already installed which is enough for a tank type, and as said before a normal tankless needs a 220v/50amp supply)
the down side of the tanktype is that ur capacity of hot water is dependant on how big ur heater is.
also the tanktype will use more electricity compared to the tankless,(the tanktype will remain on to heat back up the water used from it, which in some cases can be hours, and if ur tanktype's insulation is poor the heater will probably cycle on and off even though ur not using any hot water.

the tankless will only use power when you are using hot water and in some models will only use the amount of power needed to do heat the water being used, in some cases as little as 16amps.
the size of the tankless is also a plus they can fit in kitchen/bathroom cupboards and you don't have to worry about a leakin temp&pressure valve which has to be installed in a tank type.

the downside of tankless will be performance if you are used to the hot water flow from a tanktype a tankless will not do the same as the tank.
also intial cost is a bit high($2500 for a tankless to handle up to three outlets @ the same time, plus the cost of the electricals to power this heater)
the newer models tankless have alot of electronic circuit boards which help with the efficiency of the heater but with the power fluctuations in trini you will have to invest in a electrical protective device for the tankless if your area is prone to electrical problems

IMHO the tanktype is better because of the performance of the heater

the brand i use is 30 gallons and only uses 10amps when its on and is the only heater i've seen that i can remove the element and clean out the inside of the heater and i can replace the anode.

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » March 21st, 2010, 2:03 pm

.....go tank

Postby Kenjo » March 21st, 2010, 2:13 pm

two fish in a tank one say to the other you shoot and i will drive!!Very good info btw guys

Postby SR » March 21st, 2010, 4:14 pm

tankless

talk done

and dont buy the cheap ones

rotoplastic has a good german unit a bit pricy but has yet to fail on delivery of hot water and the tep setting can be adjusted very easiliy

costs less in the long run over a tank heater any day as the tank heater is always cycling on and off even when you are not using hot water
as well as tankless will never run out of hot water
also takes up much less space as it can be wall mounted

Marct

Postby Marct » March 21st, 2010, 4:39 pm

SR wrote:tankless

talk done

rotoplastic has a good german unit a bit pricy but has yet to fail on delivery of hot water and the tep setting can be adjusted very easiliy

costs less in the long run over a tank heater any day as the tank heater is always cycling on and off even when you are not using hot water

X2 the brand is Stiebel Eltron had it for over 5yrs never looked back, works excellently low on the power consumption too. Takes up wayyyyy less space than a tank (about the size of a shoe box)

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » March 21st, 2010, 6:23 pm

pugboy wrote:with a tankless you need good 50amp electrical supply

the problem with tank is they dont sell sacrificial anode replacements down here
which is why water heaters only last a few years with our corrosive water.

you are supposed to change the anode every couple years or so and the whole thing will last a very long time

yup mine was givin trouble till we swap out d breaker

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » March 21st, 2010, 7:45 pm

Got the Stiebel Eltron brand three years now my pops has it for two years still going strong never any let down paid about $2700 at the time,the best part its in a high cupboard on the other side of the wall in my bathroom hidden.

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » March 21st, 2010, 7:56 pm

SR wrote:tankless

talk done

^^^ What he said. The cheap Tankless is no good. The german one Rotoplastics selling is pricey, but worth it.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » March 21st, 2010, 8:38 pm

tank FTW....i like always having 60 gallons of hot water available no problem. Those water heaters u install on top the shower-head is trouble waiting to happen. Seen alot of times in apartments it short out..spoils within weeks..etc. As for replacement parts for tanks....we recently changed our hot water tank (bout 5 years ago)..and never gives problem..the one we had before lasted 23 years.

Postby Damien » March 21st, 2010, 8:39 pm

How much for the tankless heater from rotoplastic??

netsket

Postby netsket » March 21st, 2010, 9:31 pm

tankless is a waste of money...cheap ting no good....good ting no cheap

of all the tankless people here ask dem how much times they had tuh change it?!!!

Roy15

Postby Roy15 » March 21st, 2010, 9:32 pm

tank is expensive....tankless is very cheap and does basically the same thing

Rush

Postby Rush » March 21st, 2010, 9:51 pm

tankless working great...for years,
no problems with flow, or temp

once i had to do some minor cleaning due to some build up inside, (corrosion/debris)
but other than that...

its da bomb

Stiebel Eletron FTW

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » March 21st, 2010, 10:47 pm

KURMAman wrote:tank FTW....i like always having 60 gallons of hot water available no problem. Those water heaters u install on top the shower-head is trouble waiting to happen. Seen alot of times in apartments it short out..spoils within weeks..etc. As for replacement parts for tanks....we recently changed our hot water tank (bout 5 years ago)..and never gives problem..the one we had before lasted 23 years.

dem shower head ting u talkin bout is sheit.
dais just an electrocution waiting to happen.

slick

Postby slick » March 22nd, 2010, 12:25 am

buzz wrote:badman doh use heater

we livin in trini 0X 0X 0X 0X 0X

Postby MG Man » March 22nd, 2010, 12:44 am

badman doh bathe
we sweat :!:

Postby Monk BANzai » March 22nd, 2010, 12:45 am

MG Man wrote:badman doh bathe
we sweat :!:

wrong.... Chuck Norris Sweats...and then loans it to us for use....

Postby MG Man » March 22nd, 2010, 12:47 am

ninjas sweat because every time you say Chuck Norris' name, somewhere in Japan a ninja dies

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » March 22nd, 2010, 7:33 am

had a tank for 20 years b4 it gave out went tankless cause i couldn't get the anode to buy so sticking without it for the while

Dragist

Postby Dragist » March 22nd, 2010, 7:40 am

Rush wrote:tankless working great...for years,
no problems with flow, or temp

once i had to do some minor cleaning due to some build up inside, (corrosion/debris)
but other than that...

its da bomb

Stiebel Eletron FTW

Correcto that's the brand that I have

kieron83

Postby kieron83 » March 22nd, 2010, 10:05 am

Bradford White Tank Heater
6 YR Warranty on Tank

20 Gal- 2150
30 Gal- 2350
40 Gal- 2450

Stiebel Eltron
1 YR Warranty from Roto.

DHC-8 - 1425 (1 bathroom)

DHC-10 2300 (2 bath + 1 kitchen) (digital control with temp. gauge)

Prices +VAT