coming back home..wat u think?

ziig

coming back home..wat u think?

Postby ziig » March 8th, 2010, 9:10 pm

Well after 10 long lonley years..my wife and I have decided to return to trinidad!!
I have 5 good years experience in teching univeristy ....
mostly High Performance stuff....and I am really thinking of just gettin back to the warm and family...

I have some great ideas for things to do maybe a good business...and getting a job as a automotive instructor at UTT or JohnD....what do you guys think and any advice? I know some of you will say stay here...but really besides UK the US is out now..and I hated England really bad for the 5 yrs I was there...

ziig

Postby ziig » March 8th, 2010, 9:11 pm

ohh yea i forgot.....how much can i get a Miata shell for? I have to sell my project Miata and so I want to do one when I get back....LOL

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » March 8th, 2010, 9:16 pm

on the second question PM freelander- and you're in luck because he's in Trinidad for a few days.

Oh yes I just buss yuh files.

Postby Damien » March 8th, 2010, 9:38 pm

make sure and bring ah bullet proof vest when you coming back you will need it :|

Postby Rooki3 » March 8th, 2010, 9:44 pm

Damien wrote:make sure and bring ah bullet proof vest when you coming back you will need it :|

air wick

Postby air wick » March 8th, 2010, 9:48 pm

it's best that you remain where you're at... this place getting worse everyday...

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 8th, 2010, 9:55 pm

I strongly reccommend it! Trinidad and Tobago offers a great life if you have the money. Given your professional experience I think your transition will be a smooth one. Just make sure you have connections and reside amongst like-minded Trinbagonians. If you have children ensure they enroll in the top schools in the country. All the best and good luck!

Re: coming back home..wat u think?

Postby AllTrac » March 8th, 2010, 10:17 pm

ziig wrote:Well after 10 long lonley years..my wife and I have decided to return to trinidad!!
mostly High Performance stuff....and I am really thinking of just gettin back to the warm and family...

I have some great ideas for things to do maybe a good business...and getting a job as a automotive instructor at UTT or JohnD....what do you guys think and any advice? I know some of you will say stay here...but really besides UK the US is out now..and I hated England really bad for the 5 yrs I was there...

Trinidad has lots of opportunities when it comes to business owners, you just have to be smart about it, do your market research, invest properly and dont try to be greedy. I see stupid people making loads of cash every day, some of them i went to school with and they couldn't even pass common entrance.
I studied for a bit in England and I hated it every day, there were some good times, but i would always say, its good for education and vacation, but once u get into the workings of that cold gloomy place, you will miss home more and more.

ziig

Postby ziig » March 8th, 2010, 10:25 pm

Thanks for your comments guys , my wife and I have had numerous opinions some are positive some negative......But as abstract and alltrack have said....get a good job, or business, good schools for the kids etc..
especially staying with the right crowd....

I have some great ideas for business ranging from performance shops to holding clasess for such topics and engien blueprinting or transmissions etc...

Postby AllTrac » March 8th, 2010, 10:50 pm

ziig wrote:
I have some great ideas for business ranging from performance shops to holding clasess for such topics and engien blueprinting or transmissions etc...

seeing you are versed in all those areas, dont limit yourself to performance parts shop alone, there would be times when things would be slow and now everyone has an ebay account and skybox. If you go with a performace parts place, also offer classes, do rebuilds, lecture, tuning as you said blue printing, that way you would always have an income from different areas.

Postby Cjruckus » March 8th, 2010, 11:27 pm

Movvvveee ZIIIIGGGGG for great justice!

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » March 9th, 2010, 12:57 am

Pal...hear wah goin on eh!, i honestly think u shud stay there...and if u wanna open yur business...do that up there. Cuz right now, things hard, men cant get jobs, so every tom, dick and harry opening their own business...Markets are soo flooded right now its dotish! Take meh chupid advice and stay there, allyuh will come out of the recession when we goin to enter into one

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » March 9th, 2010, 1:59 am

U forsake trinidad for a better life, now things get tuff and u wanna come back? For those whos here, eeveryday day we contribute to the development of our country. good or bad, it is our country, so haul yuh MC and keep yuh phoqing self away from here.

Postby Chimera » March 9th, 2010, 8:00 am

gunsmoke wrote:U forsake trinidad for a better life, now things get tuff and u wanna come back? For those whos here, eeveryday day we contribute to the development of our country. good or bad, it is our country, so haul yuh MC and keep yuh phoqing self away from here.

errr...what kinda idiot would stay in Trinidad if they can go abroad for a better life?

Honestly ziig, the only thing that should deter you from coming back is the crime situation.

Postby AllTrac » March 9th, 2010, 9:02 am

gunsmoke wrote:U forsake trinidad for a better life, now things get tuff and u wanna come back? For those whos here, eeveryday day we contribute to the development of our country. good or bad, it is our country, so haul yuh MC and keep yuh phoqing self away from here.

ROFL :lol: :lol: allyuh men brutal :lol:

Devin

Postby Devin » March 9th, 2010, 9:24 am

Ziig....Trinidad is full of endless Opportunities.There is money to be made down here...People from other countries coming and opening up businesses and make alot of cash....You just have to be focus, have a plan and be smart abt what you are doing.Oh And with your qulifications it should not be hard to get a job......If my Guyanese neighbour can get rich and buy a brand new NZe...anybody can make it.

Postby Rooki3 » March 9th, 2010, 9:37 am

errr...what kinda idiot would stay in Trinidad if they can go abroad for a better life?

a smart idiot!...................I was born in the USA & never spent more than 6months at a time, T & T to sweet, too bad a lot of ppl don't know, they leave & go to where the grass is greener, but like the grass ain't green no more!

Trinidad does not have it bad, i've seen what they call poverty in the trinidad & it ain't ready for what they call poverty in the US.

WE HAVE IT NICE :?

Postby Rooki3 » March 9th, 2010, 9:38 am

*likes* :lol: :lol:

sensiman

Re: coming back home..wat u think?

Postby sensiman » March 9th, 2010, 9:46 am

ziig wrote:Well after 10 long lonley years..my wife and I have decided to return to trinidad!!

you have kids? If you do then take your time and think about making a move.
Last edited by sensiman on March 9th, 2010, 10:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

genghis

Postby genghis » March 9th, 2010, 10:25 am

jhonD is under the UTT. but automotive is only offered at SFTI.

but good luck!

Yofoot

Postby Yofoot » March 9th, 2010, 10:31 am

I thinking of coming back home too yes, de cost of living in Montego Bay way to expensive, i didn't leave home to ketch meh arse.

It is a very good career move, but not at the expense of my family's well being.

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » March 9th, 2010, 10:31 am

Y WAS IT 10 LONELY YEARS????????

WHEY U WAS LIVING :shock:

AND U WAH COME BACK HERE AND GET SHOT BY MOVIE TOWN AH WA

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 9th, 2010, 10:56 am

ziig wrote:Thanks for your comments guys , my wife and I have had numerous opinions some are positive some negative......But as abstract and alltrack have said....get a good job, or business, good schools for the kids etc..
especially staying with the right crowd....

Do what makes you and your wife happy. If your heart is with your home country, then that is where you belong. Just make sure things are in place before your return which includes securing a job offer and having a place to stay. If you already have family down there I'm sure they will help with the finer details/transition process.

And please ignore the uncouth mannerisms and short-sighted advice in this thread. Your international experience will be invaluable to the current job market and it's a great pleasure to see professionals return to their homeland instead of running away from it. Welcome back. 8-)

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » March 9th, 2010, 11:06 am

as far as the business aspect goes, I'd say that Christmas 09 was fairly well patronized. Unfortunately, things have been quite slow across the board since then.

Valentines Day & Carnival coincided, leaving many merchants with a lot of dead V-Day stock

a good idea might be to hold off on starting a (retail) business during the year, and ready yourself up for the Christmas season.

Open your doors in late september, when sales start picking up.

That way, October, November & December sales will hopefully be good enough to establish you and help carry you through the lean months that follow.
Last edited by rodfarva on March 9th, 2010, 11:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 9th, 2010, 11:07 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:errr...what kinda idiot would stay in Trinidad if they can go abroad for a better life?

It's not necessarily "better", then again it depends on how one defines "better".

If "better" is defined as having to work longer hours without any job security, paying inflated prices for an education or health insurance that is not worth it, colder weather, racial profiling and redlining, paying for a home that has no backyard, frontyard or side yard and being lured into major debt (via credit card, mortgages, car notes) etc, then YES, I suppose going abroad is a better life for some, but not for the majority of us.

Trinidad may have its ups and major downs, but at the end of the day people are Trinidad live longer, healthier and happier lives that those in the USA. Even when wealth is attained, people are still so miserable here.

Postby Chimera » March 9th, 2010, 12:02 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:errr...what kinda idiot would stay in Trinidad if they can go abroad for a better life?

It's not necessarily "better", then again it depends on how one defines "better".

If "better" is defined as having to work longer hours without any job security, paying inflated prices for an education or health insurance that is not worth it, colder weather, racial profiling and redlining, paying for a home that has no backyard, frontyard or side yard and being lured into major debt (via credit card, mortgages, car notes) etc, then YES, I suppose going abroad is a better life for some, but not for the majority of us.

Trinidad may have its ups and major downs, but at the end of the day people are Trinidad live longer, healthier and happier lives that those in the USA. Even when wealth is attained, people are still so miserable here.

My response was really for gunsmoke ,

U forsake trinidad for a better life, now things get tuff and u wanna come back? For those whos here, eeveryday day we contribute to the development of our country. good or bad, it is our country, so haul yuh MC and keep yuh phoqing self away from here.

Why would someone want to stay in Trinidad just due to the fact that they are Trinidadians and should "contribute to the development of Trinidad", if they can secure a better life abroad.

Loyalty to Trinidad should not ever hold you back from going to another country if you can live better.

Postby buzz » March 9th, 2010, 12:11 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

My response was really for gunsmoke ,

Why would someone want to stay in Trinidad just due to the fact that they are Trinidadians and should "contribute to the development of Trinidad", if they can secure a better life abroad.

Loyalty to Trinidad should not ever hold you back from going to another country if you can live better.

ditto

and the fact that he wants to TEACH and bring the knowledge he attained abroad should benefit T&T right ?

sigh

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 9th, 2010, 12:11 pm

ziig seeing as you haven't lived here for a while you really need to think long and hard about coming back to TT.....this may not be the Trinidad you remember so fondly...things have really gone to the dogs...first and foremost think of your family's safety....nowhere in Trinidad is safe....then health....much better in the UK or Canada....education system in Trinidad is failing and the conveniences and niceties you're used to living ina developed country will not be here for you

Think long and hard about this ... if you don't like the UK then US if you have great business ideas or Canada....but really Trinidad is like the wild west now....one serious lawless country

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 9th, 2010, 12:25 pm

ek4ever wrote:....nowhere in Trinidad is safe....

The same applies to anywhere you go, even the 'burbs of the US/UK/Canada.

ek4ever wrote:then health....much better in the UK or Canada....

Health ailments are much more prominent in these countries leading to the need for medication, treatment or surgery given poor diets. Many of the ailments could be avoided if people took better care of themselves.

ek4ever wrote:education system in Trinidad is failing

Depends on where you go.

ek4ever wrote:and the conveniences and niceties you're used to living ina developed country will not be here for you

Point taken, but as they say "all that glitters is not gold". These niceties and conveniences surely cannot buy happiness.

ek4ever wrote:Think long and hard about this ... if you don't like the UK then US if you have great business ideas or Canada....but really Trinidad is like the wild west now....one serious lawless country

Did you really just reccommend the good ol' Uncle Sam? Really? :?

sensiman

Postby sensiman » March 9th, 2010, 12:52 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
ek4ever wrote:....nowhere in Trinidad is safe....

The same applies to anywhere you go, even the 'burbs of the US/UK/Canada.

really, even "the burbs" in Canada is not as bad as most of Trinidad
ek4ever wrote:then health....much better in the UK or Canada....

Health ailments are much more prominent in these countries leading to the need for medication, treatment or surgery given poor diets. Many of the ailments could be avoided if people took better care of themselves.

Sorry but that statement is pure nonsense, the issue is healthcare, not health ailments. Even where I live in "the burbs' I receive a pretty decent quality of healthcare. I assume you never had to rely on the public health system in Trinidad, especially in an emergency situation.

ek4ever wrote:education system in Trinidad is failing

Depends on where you go.

ek4ever wrote:and the conveniences and niceties you're used to living ina developed country will not be here for you

Point taken, but as they say "all that glitters is not gold". These niceties and conveniences surely cannot buy happiness.

Niceties and convenience obviously cannot buy happiness, they make your quality of life better and therefore make you more comfortable and happy. Sure there are some measures of happiness that cannot be compared, but really now

ek4ever wrote:Think long and hard about this ... if you don't like the UK then US if you have great business ideas or Canada....but really Trinidad is like the wild west now....one serious lawless country

Did you really just reccommend the good ol' Uncle Sam? Really? :?