prefab houses

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 5th, 2010, 9:22 am

fellow tuners who know a thing or two about construction and houses,

whats your take on prefab houses?
i've been dping some research - there's a local provider who claims that their pre-fab structures can withstand hurricane force winds and strong earthquakes with minor damage - see link below:

http://www.tiahco.com/testimonials.asp

the pre-fab units are made with panels which consist of a foam (yeah, styrofoam) core, a welded wiremesh exoskeleton (they claim the mesh is stronger than grade 60 steel) and then portlend cement concrete that is shotcreted (with a hose thingy) on the panel.

what are the pros and cons of these units?

apparently a lot of people are building using this method now. are these units really stronger than traditional brick and mortar structures?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 5th, 2010, 12:08 pm

used allot in the US, I actually have had an architect partner of mine help me do some fantastic plans for a house using prefabbed modules from a company that does log/wood houses..

good luck..

wall

Postby wall » March 5th, 2010, 12:33 pm

very very very efficient in terms of heating and cooling.

Postby cinco » March 5th, 2010, 1:23 pm

that whole new development in lange park was done with those
my question was how do you go about remodeling that or even adjusting a wall?
do you have to tear the whole thing down and start over?

Postby Hook » March 5th, 2010, 1:24 pm

I often wondered since they went up near Kay Donna some years ago. In terms of structural integrity, how are those houses holding up?

Postby Hook » March 5th, 2010, 1:25 pm

cinco wrote:that whole new development in lange park was done with those
my question was how do you go about remodeling that or even adjusting a wall?
do you have to tear the whole thing down and start over?

Get a jigsaw and a MIG welding plant yo!

Postby cinco » March 5th, 2010, 1:26 pm

but who goin an redo the shotcrete on an interior wall after you move in dat is real commess

Postby Hook » March 5th, 2010, 1:30 pm

DIY with copious amounts of Bondo.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » March 5th, 2010, 1:31 pm

Call Agostini Industries Limited in Macoya, they have a concrete system that is stronger than pre-fab and meets international construction standards.

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » March 5th, 2010, 1:32 pm

even if they are in fact earthquake and hurricane resistant, are they soundproof?

Postby Hook » March 5th, 2010, 1:42 pm

And can I hang paintings in my living room?

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 5th, 2010, 2:34 pm

^^ that is the question. because basically the concrete is what 1/4 inch thick...so if you drill deeper than that you drilling styrofoam....

Postby tr1ad » March 5th, 2010, 2:42 pm

what the cost looking like so

Postby cinco » March 5th, 2010, 3:08 pm

well for the hanging stuff i figured you just treat it like drywall there must be studs in the wall to keep it rigid right?

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » March 5th, 2010, 5:49 pm

what about cost in relation to traditional materials?

varung

Postby varung » March 11th, 2010, 1:16 pm

i looking into this myself, i met a guy who is the grandson of the owner of this company, i am yet to get a quote from him, but he swears by the techonology of this construction so much so that he's building his house with it too

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » March 11th, 2010, 2:47 pm

docs engineering in couva doing this all over de place,
1. its very economical in terms of cost
2. modules have the advantage over conventional home building systems in that all is required the foundation to be built and then its just a matter of erecting and connecting.
3. its earthquate resistant and has a longer fire rating than plaster and blocks
the only negative thing i could possibly say is that these homes were not designed to be renovated

Postby tr1ad » March 11th, 2010, 2:50 pm

so u just need the land, t&c approval and foundation and they come build it?

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 11th, 2010, 2:54 pm

i found out that there are a couple systems in the world that other company replicate under licence from the original manufactuer.

varung, i think you should find out wether it's a licened system they using or whether they just doind what they see others are doing..

cuz it easy to just go and buy a couple of machines and say you are a prefab building manufacturer after that - no real adherence to international standards etc..

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 11th, 2010, 3:01 pm

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » March 12th, 2010, 6:23 am

tr1ad wrote:so u just need the land, t&c approval and foundation and they come build it?

that's basically it.......

christopherwilliams2

Re: prefab houses

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 16th, 2010, 7:54 am

anyone with an update or a review on these types of homes offered by docs or tiacho?

i would really appreciate any reviews on how these things have been going for you.

http://www.tiahco.com/impac.asp
http://docseng.net/index.html

demented

Postby demented » August 16th, 2010, 8:07 am

No T&C approval as yet on these houses.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 16th, 2010, 8:32 am

demented wrote:No T&C approval as yet on these houses.

what???
do you mean that the house type is not approved or what?

varung

Re:

Postby varung » August 16th, 2010, 9:04 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:i found out that there are a couple systems in the world that other company replicate under licence from the original manufactuer.

varung, i think you should find out wether it's a licened system they using or whether they just doind what they see others are doing..

cuz it easy to just go and buy a couple of machines and say you are a prefab building manufacturer after that - no real adherence to international standards etc..

the company i was referring to is TIACHO. see a post above with the website.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » August 16th, 2010, 10:41 am

Check with Omega Building Systems Limited, formerly Agostini Industries Limited, Trincity Drive
Trincity Industrial Estate, Trinidad W.I, Phone: (868)-662-3196 or 663-2347. They have a similar system but using concrete slabs/ tiles.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 16th, 2010, 10:46 am

cost quickly becomes the only problem ... that and remodeling ....and pray a pipe doh leak inside the wall ... or an electrical outlet needs moving.

most of these projects started off very well .... then the price of steel skyrocketed and they became far less cost effective. steel has gone back down ..... so i really not sure what the fesability on them are now. these prfab housing systems are good for housing developments and condos......
if i was building a 2m+ home in a nice area with complicated architecture ... then this ent for u.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » August 16th, 2010, 11:22 am

So anyone have an idea or price as to what a standard version 3 bedroom house would cost using this method?
Anyone had one of these built and has an idea of the cost?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 16th, 2010, 1:16 pm

it comes down to cultural and socio-economics more than construction technology or implementation.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 16th, 2010, 10:10 pm

nice read