What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2023, 10:00 am

now servicing my daikin, guy used to work for debideen
he says mine is one of the last that came from japan

he say the top unit in the world is mitsubishi which debideen also selling
nerve this is true ?

Postby nervewrecker » May 27th, 2023, 2:04 pm

pugboy wrote:now servicing my daikin, guy used to work for debideen
he says mine is one of the last that came from japan

he say the top unit in the world is mitsubishi which debideen also selling
nerve this is true ?
About $8k for a 12000 btu last I priced one.

Heard the same, some of the best units. There is a German built unit as well, very complex. Forgot the name. But not the standard mini split.

Trane ain't what it used to be also I heard. Has one at the republic bank security booth by south park. Pretty bad shape. Not sure if they using those harmful chemicals on the market and done it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 27th, 2023, 2:13 pm

Having a unit that well built is one thing, but also need to get parts easily - that's an important factor.

I had two Pansonics - great units and lasted long - even had oversized compressor on the 24K BTU.
But when it was time for parts - salt

Postby Chimera » May 27th, 2023, 2:40 pm

when costlow or costco or whatever it was in aranguez was closing down (its now the amalgamated building)

we bought about 10 of their black and decker 22,000 (yes 22,000) btu units that were on sale

never had any issues, still using 9 of them, one conk out the other day from abuse and couldnt get any parts for it at all,
rarely use to service them.....real quality units
nerve the unit you install in my store with the long copper run is one of the black and decker units

Postby nervewrecker » May 27th, 2023, 3:39 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Having a unit that well built is one thing, but also need to get parts easily - that's an important factor.

I had two Pansonics - great units and lasted long - even had oversized compressor on the 24K BTU.
I worked on a few here and there. You can fit other parts into it. But men won't tell you that. Classic case is how most of the units on the market are the same. They will go to a dealer for one brand and if they don't have a part like a motor or blower wheel or board they will tell you it don't have a replacement part, change the whole unit.

Postby nervewrecker » May 27th, 2023, 3:39 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:when costlow or costco or whatever it was in aranguez was closing down (its now the amalgamated building)

we bought about 10 of their black and decker 22,000 (yes 22,000) btu units that were on sale

never had any issues, still using 9 of them, one conk out the other day from abuse and couldnt get any parts for it at all,
rarely use to service them.....real quality units
nerve the unit you install in my store with the long copper run is one of the black and decker units
Seen a few around, they actually stood the test of time unlike the foil paper units I seeing these days.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 27th, 2023, 5:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Having a unit that well built is one thing, but also need to get parts easily - that's an important factor.

I worked on a few here and there. You can fit other parts into it. But men won't tell you that. Classic case is how most of the units on the market are the same. They will go to a dealer for one brand and if they don't have a part like a motor or blower wheel or board they will tell you it don't have a replacement part, change the whole unit.

I've noticed almost all of the units available locally are either Gree or Midea just rebranded

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » May 28th, 2023, 8:09 pm

What do you guys think about the Green Energy units? Are parts readily available?

Postby nervewrecker » May 28th, 2023, 10:35 pm

Jerry84 wrote:What do you guys think about the Green Energy units? Are parts readily available?
They are the same as the ching Chong or whatever they call it brand. Has a heap on the market right now.

Those will be the third brand on the market. Once sized properly they work well. The problem with those were the technicians. They were once the cheapest unit on the market coupled with the comfort star. Techs weren't evacuating the lines prior to opening the valves and all were failing as men looking to make a quick dollar. It's only when I started opening units to see what is what I found out a lot are the same and the common issue was the installer.

All units work fine once sized properly and they seem to not be taking weather.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 28th, 2023, 11:57 pm

My Green Energy unit is five years this year and never had any issues thus far. Just routine cleaning and it's been good.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » May 29th, 2023, 8:26 pm

What about multi zone units like those seen in the US? Basically you have multiple points of use (part that's inside) and one compressor (part that's outside).

How reliable are these locally?? Do they make sense for multiple room applications? Cost factor when compared to individual units?

Postby nervewrecker » May 30th, 2023, 11:43 am

Jerry84 wrote:What about multi zone units like those seen in the US? Basically you have multiple points of use (part that's inside) and one compressor (part that's outside).

How reliable are these locally?? Do they make sense for multiple room applications? Cost factor when compared to individual units?

by order only, prices hot.

not sure how they hold up but i know some lasted long, solenoid failure about 20 years later.

not everyone has access to them.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » May 30th, 2023, 6:55 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:what allyuh think about this from abel? on sale

Katashi Eco-Series
$3,474.73 (VI)
Katashi air conditioning units bring the latest in cooling solutions to you.
Sizes: 18,000BTU,
Supply only: Brackets and 10ft Trunking

this is without installation.

Just bought the 24000 BTU Katashi unit from ABEL.
It's a Midea unit
It cost $6300 and you get someone to install it.
It has wifi controls and comes with the WiFi dongle to plug into the AC included (a $300 value).
Works great with the Midea or NetHome app to control the AC even when you're not home
Anyone knows where sells these USB dongles locally for a Pioneer (Midea) unit? SK105 or 103 or I believe the model number is

Postby nervewrecker » May 30th, 2023, 8:12 pm

kerwinishere wrote:

Katashi Eco-Series
$3,474.73 (VI)

It's a Midea unit
It has wifi controls and comes with the WiFi dongle to plug into the AC included (a $300 value).
Works great with the Midea or NetHome app to control the AC even when you're not home
Anyone knows where sells these USB dongles locally for a Pioneer (Midea) unit? SK105 or 103 or I believe the model number is

Post pic of unit for verification on manufacturer, first set of pioneer were gree, then midea and the recent ones were gree.

you may have to import that but I will ask later, if I don't, remind me,

Postby pugboy » May 31st, 2023, 9:50 pm

$3500 for a 18k and 7yr warranty sounds like a steal

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 31st, 2023, 11:13 pm

kerwinishere wrote:

Katashi Eco-Series
$3,474.73 (VI)

It's a Midea unit

KoolMax Ltd in Chaguanas sells the Midea USB WiFi smart control dongle for around TT$300
Their number is 672-1469

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 1st, 2023, 6:58 am

kerwinishere wrote:

Katashi Eco-Series
$3,474.73 (VI)

It's a Midea unit

Post pic of unit for verification on manufacturer, first set of pioneer were gree, then midea and the recent ones were gree.

you may have to import that but I will ask later, if I don't, remind me,
Thanks nerve, Blower or compressor?
kerwinishere wrote:

Katashi Eco-Series
$3,474.73 (VI)

It's a Midea unit

KoolMax Ltd in Chaguanas sells the Midea USB WiFi smart control dongle for around TT$300
Their number is 672-1469
Ahhh, thank you

Amit

Postby Amit » June 1st, 2023, 8:25 am

Which inverter units are better, efficiency, parts , long term

Lg
Panasonic
Katashi

Postby maj. tom » June 1st, 2023, 12:40 pm

I see a place with the wifi dongle. Look a free ad too.

20230601_123926.jpg

Postby rollingstock » June 21st, 2023, 8:22 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Guys my air cond unit is throwing an EC code....thr compressor is not coming on.....its a comfee unit....
Any advice....is it the capacitor or refrigerant?

Thanks guys....
Where you located?
Its neither of the above.
Will need to know size of unit as well

Getting that same problem. What was the issue? 12k btu

Postby Dave » June 21st, 2023, 9:32 am

Had the same issue with same brand..older comfee about 5yrs old. 18k btu.
Was the capacitor. Just open the top of the condenser and see if the capacitor is swollen.
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Guys my air cond unit is throwing an EC code....thr compressor is not coming on.....its a comfee unit....
Any advice....is it the capacitor or refrigerant?

Thanks guys....
Where you located?
Its neither of the above.
Will need to know size of unit as well

Getting that same problem. What was the issue? 12k btu

Postby rollingstock » June 21st, 2023, 1:43 pm

Thanks I'll check that.

Postby rollingstock » June 21st, 2023, 6:58 pm

Cap looked normal. Got the wrong one from reficool, a 35 instead of a 40uf. Working now after some fiddling.
Will replace with correct cap tomorrow. Thanks Dave.

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2023, 7:12 pm

using a wrong value cap can cause it to oscillate and ketch fire

a cap is part of a system in conjunction with the motor windings inductance

Postby rollingstock » June 21st, 2023, 7:34 pm

A smaller value cap would work. Might just burn a little more electricity and can cause to motor to run hotter than normal but not to the point of catching fire.

Or so my knowledge would guide me. Frig that I have cold breeze tonight. If it burns, I'll just replace with another cheap unit. I got 10years out of my green energy, and about 7 so far from this comfee. These things disposable, minor parts like sensors caps etc I'll fix. Anything else discard and new unit.

Postby Dave » June 21st, 2023, 7:36 pm

No scene.
Popped caps is a good thing as that popping is better than the compressor getting the surge and that popping.
rollingstock wrote:Cap looked normal. Got the wrong one from reficool, a 35 instead of a 40uf. Working now after some fiddling.
Will replace with correct cap tomorrow. Thanks Dave.

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2023, 7:46 pm

yeah i figure once you get 6-7yrs it good

Postby maj. tom » June 21st, 2023, 8:15 pm

The Comfee are good units? I looking to get another 12k BTU unit and that's what Neil Kool selling right now for about $3000 with 10 foot installation.

Postby Dave » June 21st, 2023, 8:51 pm

So the guy who did mine and I would consider an expert on them says the older ones are much better than the newer ones.
I'm no AC expert by any means. His distinguishing feature between old and new would be led through the cover being newer and the led display board as the older.

Postby rollingstock » June 21st, 2023, 9:00 pm

I have the led through the cover. Bought from Neil cool about 7 years now. Just routine cleaning that I did myself. First time having an issue and I consider a bad cap minor.