The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby tr1ad » November 17th, 2016, 1:36 pm

which android device gives good battery life with a day of heavy use? emails, calls messaging?

Postby dougla_boy » November 17th, 2016, 1:50 pm

i could safely say the Huawei Mate S. wife uses it till bed time and then charges it. and she always on Pinterest, emails, whatsapp.

Postby dougla_boy » November 17th, 2016, 1:52 pm

Mr.Bollywood wrote:I currently have a Huawei for about 3 months now and its working absolutely fantastic, no lab, no heating problems ,no issues with battery (5+ hrs screen on time) , camera is amazing

Overall solid performer.

Only issue for me is the screen being scratched up and the body easily scratches.

Can't find any accessories locally and i tryna avoid bringing in items until next year.

which Huawei u have?

the place in Trincity Mall that does the protective covering, in the new wing by Digicel there, they do a great screen protector and protector for the whole phone. they even have pattern designs like carbon fibre or rattle snake for the back if u want.

Postby tr1ad » November 17th, 2016, 2:25 pm

how's the build quality on these Huawei devices?

Postby dougla_boy » November 17th, 2016, 2:46 pm

premium. has a premium feel to it. u could check out the reviews online. Huawei stepping up their game....

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 17th, 2016, 2:54 pm

Don't knw if it's just me but huawei seems to build phones with the user in mind. Make u feel like u have a bodyguard in the palm of ur hands when u always seeing notifications that it's protecting u from sneaky apps.

Postby dougla_boy » November 27th, 2016, 6:53 pm

Bought an S6 for bae, took her Huawei Mate S. Awesome phone. Hoping to get the P9 next year please God

Postby dougla_boy » November 27th, 2016, 6:54 pm

Side note, the new Amazon fire stick....that or the MX-Q Pro for Kodi and Mobdro or Sports devils? Any reviews on the new fire stick with either?? Buying it Monday if allyuh gimme some good news inno

Postby nervewrecker » November 28th, 2016, 9:53 am

The one plus x seems very similar to the huawei p8 and feels very nice to touch.

Been trying to make up my mind on a 5.5" screen phone. That s7 edge not in my budget and too much stuff I won't use on it.

Captain Awesome

Re: RE: Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Captain Awesome » December 2nd, 2016, 10:59 am

nervewrecker wrote:The one plus x seems very similar to the huawei p8 and feels very nice to touch.

Been trying to make up my mind on a 5.5" screen phone. That s7 edge not in my budget and too much stuff I won't use on it.

OnePlus 3t

Anton

Postby Anton » December 3rd, 2016, 8:52 pm

tr1ad wrote:which android device gives good battery life with a day of heavy use? emails, calls messaging?

The s7 active gives me a solid day and a half with moderate to heavy use. Get home with approximately 40% after a full charge in the am. This is with Bluetooth, wifi,and GPS on constantly. The battery is a beast.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » December 3rd, 2016, 10:37 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
Mr.Bollywood wrote:I currently have a Huawei for about 3 months now and its working absolutely fantastic, no lab, no heating problems ,no issues with battery (5+ hrs screen on time) , camera is amazing

Overall solid performer.

Only issue for me is the screen being scratched up and the body easily scratches.

Can't find any accessories locally and i tryna avoid bringing in items until next year.

which Huawei u have?

the place in Trincity Mall that does the protective covering, in the new wing by Digicel there, they do a great screen protector and protector for the whole phone. they even have pattern designs like carbon fibre or rattle snake for the back if u want.

Man i now see this post here, i have the Huawei P9 currently! Awesome phone! Also a friend took me to that booth my Wednesday gone actually.

Mobile Outfitters T&t , excellent service, great value for the money , nd their product holding up very well. Going back soon to get the entire body done in silver carbon fiber.

Postby nervewrecker » December 4th, 2016, 9:44 am

These fingerprint scanners suck. I don't really have fingerprints.

Postby dougla_boy » December 5th, 2016, 7:22 am

wah phone u using it on?

Postby nervewrecker » December 6th, 2016, 11:40 am

S7 edge.

Tried a second time and got the print scanned. It reads it now (for unlocking purposes). Havent had issues since and been using it regular to unlock the phone.

Bought the phone on a last minute decision.

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2016, 1:54 pm

If the screen was ever changed you might get fingerprint issues

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » December 6th, 2016, 2:15 pm

what would u say is the best all.round smartphone atm...android...camera etc?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 6th, 2016, 3:24 pm

If anyone looking for a Samsung gear s3 frontier smartwatch, have one to sell, will be in the country on the 23rd Dec. PM if interested.

ksamuel

Postby ksamuel » December 6th, 2016, 3:35 pm

[URL]A A aAz
[/URL]

Postby nervewrecker » December 6th, 2016, 10:00 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:If the screen was ever changed you might get fingerprint issues

Its bnib from a reputable seller.

I normally dont have prints. All scanners does have issues with me. Does see trouble to pick up stuff too.
My last phone slipped out my hands and the screen cracked.

Postby dougla_boy » December 7th, 2016, 2:32 pm

u ah alien awa? d fok

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 7th, 2016, 6:55 pm

Anyone ever notice their camera shutter randomly switching on/off? Today I noticed a small on screen window open and close really quickly. The image I can recall seem to be consistent with what the front camera would have seen.

Postby nervewrecker » December 7th, 2016, 9:02 pm

dougla_boy wrote:u ah alien awa? d fok

Anyone ever spend time around me will notice i have grown the nails on a finger on each hand. Is to scrape up stuff with to pick it up.
Police had to take my prints a time. T'was fun.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 20th, 2016, 9:02 pm

Today i declare the motorola z force to be the best fone in the world.

Postby ismithx » December 20th, 2016, 9:17 pm

motorola forever!

Postby desifemlove » December 20th, 2016, 9:37 pm

where fixes screens? i have a mid-range samsung and the screen keeps flickering. it broke a while ago, and it keeps jumping.

Postby maj. tom » December 29th, 2016, 8:55 am

wtf Cyanogenmod shutdown. it dead! went looking for a mod today and discovered this.

then i found the report on arstechnica.com.

http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2016/12/cyanogen-inc-shuts-down-cyanogenmod-in-christmas-bloodbath/

Cyanogen Inc., the company built around the CyanogenMod open source Android OS ROM project, declined a acquisition offer by Google two years ago as it sought a $1 billion valuation. Now, the company has shut down its namesake open source development project and all its related services. Defiant CyanogenMod developers have now seized the project and relaunched it under the name LineageOS.

On December 23, a Cyanogen Inc. spokesperson posted a notice on the company’s blog:

As part of the ongoing consolidation of Cyanogen, all services and Cyanogen-supported nightly builds will be discontinued no later than 12/31/16. The open source project and source code will remain available for anyone who wants to build CyanogenMod personally.

The move came just a week after the CyanogenMod development community released the final versions of CyanogenMod 13.0 and on the heels of the departure of Cyanogen Inc. co-founder and the founder of the development project itself, Steve “cyanogen” Kondik. The shutdown is essentially a death sentence for the CyanogenMod project, since the project’s infrastructure was supported by the services being shut down.

But CyanogenMod isn't going to just vanish. On December 24, a group of CyanogenMod contributors announced in a joint post on the CyanogenMod blog that they would be “forking” the OS and continuing its development. Shortly after the post was published, Cyanogen Inc.’s management had the DNS for cyanogenmod.org shut down, but the contributors' blog post (for now) remains in Google’s cache:

CM has always been more than the name and more than the infrastructure. CM has been a success based on the spirit, ingenuity and effort of its individual contributors...Embracing that spirit, we the community of developers, designers, device maintainers and translators have taken the steps necessary to produce a fork of the CM source code and pending patches. This is more than just a ‘rebrand’. This fork will return to the grassroots community effort that used to define CM while maintaining the professional quality and reliability you have come to expect more recently. We will take pride in our Lineage as we move forward and continue to build on its legacy.

The LineageOS project has been set up on GitHub, and members of the team have created a placeholder project website at lineageos.org. As soon as it was clear that the fork had been launched, Cyanogen Inc. shut down all of CyanogenMod’s infrastructure.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » December 29th, 2016, 9:03 am

Yup. Greed and short sightedness led to the company's demise.

Postby A172 » January 23rd, 2017, 6:45 pm

Jonathan_337

The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Jonathan_337 » February 1st, 2017, 8:42 pm

Anyone selling a Z2 screen ? Or how much will someone here charge to replace ?

Also, does anyone know how to install gapps on the SM-G6000?

This is a Galaxy On7. Cannot find info for it anywhere at all. It's a Chinese Samsung phone that came without any gapps by default.