The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby pete » June 29th, 2016, 9:47 am

Moto G4 releasing on the 12th July.

$200 for 16Gb, 2Gb RAM, 5.5" 1080p display. Amazon is also giving a $50 gift voucher if you pre-order I think..

Postby desifemlove » July 1st, 2016, 8:11 am

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/ ... CMP=twt_gu

Too much political correctness this time.... ent nougat a dessert or sweet food? like kit kats, eclairs, ice cream sandwiches, and the like? #fools

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » July 1st, 2016, 9:10 pm

^^ absurd

Archlord

Postby Archlord » July 19th, 2016, 7:17 am

Got a OnePlus 3. Phone is excellent! Really smooth

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 21st, 2016, 4:50 am

Is there anyway to have the edge screen on the s7 edge turn on automatically when a notification is received? Without root. Been looking everywhere, seems no one else cares for this when I thought it should be a main feature of the edge screen.

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » August 17th, 2016, 10:08 pm

Soooooo...has anyone brought down or purchased a ZTE Axon 7 as yet??? If so how is it?
In terms of performance and quality over all??

And how much did it cost in total from purchase to your hand?

Im very interested in purchasing one as well! But i dont want to bite the bullet first lol

Postby desifemlove » August 18th, 2016, 1:37 pm

Blackberry has a second Android phone. too little too late, should have done that five years ago.

Postby DVSTT » August 23rd, 2016, 1:50 pm

Anyone here rooted their moto x 1st gen? i found the files to do it online, but it's for att, verizon, rogers etc, my phone is an unlocked amazon variant so i'm not sure which to use

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » October 4th, 2016, 6:42 pm

[img]http://imgur.com/pJ7YC9e[/img]

wheelbarrow

Re: RE: Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby wheelbarrow » October 4th, 2016, 6:45 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:[img]http://imgur.com/pJ7YC9e[/img]

Postby ismithx » October 5th, 2016, 8:22 am

Lololololololol

Postby RASC » October 5th, 2016, 9:15 am

Googles pricing is suspect to say the least. The type of person who buys a pixel is the same type that explores unlocked phones the world over... Meaning they know about Huawei, Xaomi, and other brands that offer lightening performance at competitive prices.

Only Samsung can demand such prices unlocked and get the respect of the masses. I hope Google is prepared to open up flagship stores etc like apple and Samsung if they want to compete.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 5th, 2016, 2:44 pm

Replacement Samsung Galaxy Note 7 phone catches fire on Southwest plane
by Jordan Golson @jlgolson Oct 5, 2016, 1:15p
http://www.theverge.com/2016/10/5/13175000/samsung-galaxy-note-7-fire-replacement-plane-battery-southwest
Southwest Airlines flight 944 from Louisville to Baltimore was evacuated this morning while still at the gate because of a smoking Samsung Galaxy Note 7 smartphone. All passengers and crew exited the plane via the main cabin door and no injuries were reported, a Southwest Airlines spokesperson told The Verge.
vrg_note7_burn_02.0.0.jpg

More worryingly, the phone in question was a replacement Galaxy Note 7, one that was deemed to be safe by Samsung. The Verge spoke to Brian Green, owner of the Note 7, on the phone earlier today and he confirmed that he had picked up the new phone at an AT&T store on September 21st. A photograph of the box shows the black square symbol that indicates a replacement Note 7 and Green said it had a green battery icon.
IMG_0001blur-marked.jpg

Green said that he had powered down the phone as requested by the flight crew and put it in his pocket when it began smoking. He dropped it on the floor of the plane and a "thick grey-green angry smoke" was pouring out of the device. Green’s colleague went back onto the plane to retrieve some personal belongings and said that the phone had burned through the carpet and scorched the subfloor of the plane.

He said the phone was at around 80 percent of battery capacity when the incident occurred and that he only used a wireless charger since receiving the device.

Southwest Airlines canceled the flight and is rebooking passengers, including Green, on later flights. The Verge has been in contact with Samsung, but the company did not yet have a comment about the incident.

Green’s Note 7 is in the hands of the Louisville Fire Department’s arson unit for investigation. He has already replaced it with an iPhone 7.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 11th, 2016, 3:17 am

http://money.cnn.com/2016/10/10/technol ... -turn-off/

Samsung tells users: Turn off your Galaxy Note 7 phone NOW

By Jose Pagliery October 10, 2016 22:50PM EDT
Samsung issued an alert to customers on Monday, asking users to immediately turn off their Galaxy Note 7 smartphones -- which have been spontaneously catching fire.
The unprecedented move comes one day after Samsung halted production of the dangerously glitchy devices.
In a corporate statement, Samsung said it will also "ask all carrier and retail partners globally to stop sales and exchanges of the Galaxy Note 7" while it investigates the cause of the fires.
It also said, "Consumers with either an original Galaxy Note 7 or replacement Galaxy Note 7 device should power down and stop using the device."
Related: Samsung halts production of troubled Galaxy Note 7 phone
It's a major setback for the South Korean electronics manufacturer. The company's stock plunged more than 5% Tuesday morning in Seoul.
Samsung (SSNLF) released the 5.7-inch Galaxy Note 7 device in August in anticipation of Apple's new iPhone 7. But customers immediately started complaining that their phones were catching fire.
The company explained that faulty lithium-ion batteries were overheating the device and causing it to ignite. In early September, Samsung recalled 2.5 million devices worldwide.
Samsung offered replacement phones -- but those burst into flames too.
In the past week, an American user reported his replacement phone caught fire, even though it wasn't plugged in. And on Wednesday, smoke started billowing from a replacement Galaxy Note 7 aboard a Southwest Airline plane before it departed, prompting the flight's cancellation.
Related: Samsung won't be the last to have exploding batteries
The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission is investigating the incident on the plane.
U.S. safety regulators and Samsung urged Galaxy Note 7 customers in early September to "immediately stop using and power down" the original Note 7 phones. Now, Samsung is issuing a similar warning for the replacement devices that were supposed to be safe.
On Monday, Consumer Product Safety Commission Chairman Elliot F. Kaye said Samsung made "the right move."
"No one should have to be concerned their phone will endanger them, their family or their property," Kaye said in a statement.
The Federal Aviation Administration issued a warning to air travelers last month, asking them to keep their Galaxy Note 7 phones turned off, not to charge them and "not to stow them in any checked baggage." It updated its warning on Monday, saying it applies to the replacement devices, too.
Samsung said that customers who shut down their phones can "take advantage of the remedies available." According to U.S. federal regulators, consumers are entitled to "a full refund."
-- Jethro Mullen contributed to this report.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 23rd, 2016, 8:24 am

Need to purchase a tablet, anything worth buying? i had a tab 2 and it was decent but internal memory was failure. Hows the tab 3?

not really to keen on apple stuff. Im going to be downloading stuff straight to my tablet, to view and delete. 32GB internal or 8Gb with external should suffice .

Postby maj. tom » October 23rd, 2016, 9:45 am

Sony Xperia, new one Z4.
http://www.sonymobile.com/global-en/pro ... z4-tablet/

Well it depends on your budget of course, but you mentioned Apple. So I guess you were looking for that price?

Re: RE: Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Trini Hookah » October 23rd, 2016, 1:56 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Need to purchase a tablet, anything worth buying? i had a tab 2 and it was decent but internal memory was failure. Hows the tab 3?

not really to keen on apple stuff. Im going to be downloading stuff straight to my tablet, to view and delete. 32GB internal or 8Gb with external should suffice .

Ive seen you make this exact post atleast 3 times.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 23rd, 2016, 2:42 pm

Yeah but almost 2 years apart

Postby pete » October 23rd, 2016, 2:51 pm

8" tablets to me are the perfect size. Now they are around $110us. Lg ones seem to have built in USB ports so that could be an advantage.

Postby Trini Hookah » October 23rd, 2016, 6:31 pm

My last tab was a Tab Pro 8.4, was a beast. Somehow no matter what it never is a necessity for me to have a tab, unless travelling and I could do with my movies.

Postby nervewrecker » October 23rd, 2016, 7:47 pm

Nokia N1 maybe

Postby RASC » October 28th, 2016, 11:36 pm

Postby RASC » October 28th, 2016, 11:40 pm

... And they also dropped this beauty. Damn Xiaomi

Postby nervewrecker » October 29th, 2016, 4:30 pm

But the price.

Postby nervewrecker » October 29th, 2016, 5:50 pm

I'd quicker buy the s7 edge

Postby RASC » November 16th, 2016, 6:00 pm

Phones becoming so good now... It's almost impossible to get a "HORRIBLE" Phone.
Even Blu has stepped their game up big time.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 16th, 2016, 6:19 pm

^True I quicker buy a huawei over iPhone and Samsung.

Postby RASC » November 17th, 2016, 3:46 am

Ent. Saw a friend rocking the Honor 5X (I think it's called the GR5 locally)
Looked more than competent for daily usage and light gaming.

Postby dougla_boy » November 17th, 2016, 12:40 pm

racedriverpro wrote:^True I quicker buy a huawei over iPhone and Samsung.

agreed...

gonna get a Huawei end of this month...not sure which one as yet...but yeah, definitely gonna get one

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » November 17th, 2016, 1:11 pm

I currently have a Huawei for about 3 months now and its working absolutely fantastic, no lab, no heating problems ,no issues with battery (5+ hrs screen on time) , camera is amazing

Overall solid performer.

Only issue for me is the screen being scratched up and the body easily scratches.

Can't find any accessories locally and i tryna avoid bringing in items until next year.