HDMI question

stretch

HDMI question

Postby stretch » January 18th, 2010, 11:09 am

are there different types of HDMI cables for diff uses or can i buy one to use for camera and ps3?

Re: question

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 18th, 2010, 11:13 am

stretch wrote:are there different types of HDMI cables for diff uses or can i buy one to use for camera and ps3?

Buy 1 and Stretch it!

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 18th, 2010, 11:16 am

No, you can buy one but you'll just have to interchange it......

triniangie

Postby triniangie » January 18th, 2010, 11:23 am

pioneer wrote:Carnival monday night and yuh music truck shut dong...wha yuh go do?

Jumpstart it?

Pushstart it?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2010, 11:49 am

stretch wrote:are there different types of HDMI cables for diff uses or can i buy one to use for camera and ps3?

HDMI is HDMI
It will only be different if your camera has a mini HDMI port.
The PS3 and your TV will have standard Type A or Type B (19pin) HDMI ports.
A HDMI type C connector is the mini HDMI.

Here is a standard A or B connector on the left next to a HDMI C mini connector on the right

for the PS3 your will need a A to A cable or a B to B cable. For your camera (if it has a mini port) you will need a A or B to C cable.

pioneer wrote:But anyhow those $2.00USD HDMI cables on amazon do the same thing as the $900 ones from radioshack...HDMI is a standard across the board...

very true, dont buy expensive cables - unless the extra cheap cable really is crap and showing badly with drop frames and lil digital "sparkles" on the screen.
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on January 18th, 2010, 12:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cid

Postby Cid » January 18th, 2010, 12:02 pm

yea most camers have the HDMI mini, i know mine does ..........which is really expensive...
good info duane

stretch

Postby stretch » January 18th, 2010, 1:21 pm

thnx thnx

Postby Dave » January 18th, 2010, 1:41 pm

if on amazon, the reviews are your friend

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 18th, 2010, 2:19 pm

http://www.monoprice.com/home/index.asp

best place to get cables online at some of the best prices i came across. been buying from them religiously.

Postby Maserati » January 18th, 2010, 3:58 pm

ru$$ell wrote:http://www.monoprice.com/home/index.asp

best place to get cables online at some of the best prices i came across. been buying from them religiously.

yea ordered from them recently waiting in the HDMI cable to arrive
can't beat $7.70 USD shipped

Postby X_Factor » January 18th, 2010, 5:02 pm

gold plated, 1.3 cat, 6ft ,
i have one cable extra, who want it?
gimme 60$ and take it

Postby M_2NR » January 18th, 2010, 7:35 pm

*likes this*

i went bezerk last order. :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2010, 11:16 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:

*likes this*

yeah me too - Monster M1000 M Series HDMI cables.
Luckily I got them at a GREATLY reduced price, but still you hadda wonder who buys these things at the MSRP

Postby M_2NR » January 18th, 2010, 11:40 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:

*likes this*

yeah me too - Monster M1000 M Series HDMI cables.
Luckily I got them at a GREATLY reduced price, but still you hadda wonder who buys these things at the MSRP

So true. Gotta love their prices. I was always looking to get the smaller firewire (4pin?) cable to larger one (6pin?) and its <2usd. :wtf:
I wish they had a twitter page.

:offtopic:
another one u can check is mygearstore.com.
for all your apple needs. When they have a sale... they mean sale. 8)

Postby 16 cycles » January 19th, 2010, 9:47 am

I cringe at the Monster brand and their prices...

Audioquest it a good way to go as well...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2010, 12:02 pm

how about this HDMI cable for US$1,618.95

http://www.amazon.com/246-1ft-Hi-Speed- ... 19&sr=8-21

Postby 16 cycles » January 19th, 2010, 12:06 pm

^ they joining the ranks of the "audiophile" grade prices...

Postby X_Factor » January 19th, 2010, 4:47 pm

^^ thats still cheap
http://www.stealthaudiocables.com/produ ... indra.html

scroll down till u see the prices

"Suggested retail price for a 1 meter RCA-terminated Indra pair is $6,500.00, and $8.500 for balanced XLR version"

Postby X_Factor » January 19th, 2010, 4:48 pm

"Suggested retail price is $8,800 for a 2 meter pair, and $4,000 for each consecutive meter."

nagivate the site and u'd see!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2010, 4:56 pm

^ is it really worth it you think?

its damn sexy though!!!

Obtaining this unobtainium for audio use in an inspired fluke of providence and craftiness was one thing. Subsequently fashioning the ultra-thin alloy conductor into a reliable manufacturable commercial product meant more than a year's worth of research, beta-testing, gnarly assembly protocol and the development of a proprietary minimum-mass Carbon/Teflon/silver connector. What I currently have in my system is one of the first Indras with Serguei's new Stealth connectors that sport a thin-wall hollow silver pin with Teflon insert and a Carbon/Titanium body/barrel.

Being customarily wired with HMS Gran Finale, Crystal Cable Reference or Analysis Plus Solo Oval in the signal chain; and HMS, Crystal and ZCable Reference in the power delivery field of the BPT BP-3.5 Sig and Walker Audio Velocitor; I consider my system reasonably up to snuff in the cable arena.

Postby X_Factor » January 19th, 2010, 5:10 pm

well, i believe its more percieved

but who knows...i doubt i'll ever find out tho..

i've read online independant tests where they blindfolded 5ppl
said that they using the highend cable and to score the music

then said they using a really cheap cable and hav them score it

the one with the low end cable had lower scores

however, the cable was never changed!!

egas

Postby egas » January 19th, 2010, 5:17 pm

[quote]Q. What is the difference between a “Standardâ€

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 19th, 2010, 10:25 pm

excellent info, please sticky this cause the technology moving with us and its catching on with alot of people now and I certainly got some questions answered right here in this thread. Well done.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2010, 11:11 pm

^ it is stickied

actually what we did was we stickied ALL the threads in the WHOLE ole talk forum :lol:

did you check out the Official Home Theater thread?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 20th, 2010, 12:42 am

^^ :shock: nope, u have d link? thanks.. :mrgreen:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 20th, 2010, 12:54 am

Postby 16 cycles » January 20th, 2010, 6:58 am

On the subject of high end cables - your system has to be pretty good to determine if the cables match it or not - kind of like speaker /amp combos

Are there specific recommended HDMI cables for 240Hz televisions as opposed to 120Hz?

I've seen the monster brand market some 240Hz on the boxes but no idea if its a marketing gimmick or something that would be substantially noticed with a 240Hz tv?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 20th, 2010, 12:14 pm

^ once you buy HDMI 1.3B highspeed cables you have nothing to worry about -

newer plasma TV run at 600Hz and the same HDMI 1.3 highspeed cables work

Postby 16 cycles » January 20th, 2010, 12:56 pm

^ thanks - as i thought...