teak trees

nissanforever

teak trees

Postby nissanforever » January 17th, 2010, 6:32 pm

Thinking of buying some cheap land and planting some teak. Any advice on:

1) How old the tree must be before it can be sold for wood?

2) Selling price of teak trees that are approximately 10 years old?

3) How hard is it to grow?

Halfbreed07

Re: teak trees

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 17th, 2010, 6:42 pm

nissanforever wrote:Thinking of buying some cheap land and planting some teak. Any advice on:

1) How old the tree must be before it can be sold for wood?

2) Selling price of teak trees that are approximately 10 years old?

3) How hard is it to grow?

thats an oxymoron if ever there was one

Postby Gem_in_i » January 17th, 2010, 7:41 pm

Can't sell 10yr old teak for nothing else besides fence post etc.
Good size wud be abt 25-30yrs

Teak spoils the soil and nothing else wud grow well there after.

You have to get the coppice plants to start or seeds. With the seeds you wud need to grow them in a temp nursery outdoors, can't stick a seed in a bag to grow.
And you wud have to find your source of seedlings or coppice plants.

Planting trees for sale is a long term investment, 20-30yrs.

Postby gt4tified » January 18th, 2010, 2:41 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Can't sell 10yr old teak for nothing else besides fence post etc.
Good size wud be abt 25-30yrs

Teak spoils the soil and nothing else wud grow well there after.

You have to get the coppice plants to start or seeds. With the seeds you wud need to grow them in a temp nursery outdoors, can't stick a seed in a bag to grow.
And you wud have to find your source of seedlings or coppice plants.

Planting trees for sale is a long term investment, 20-30yrs.

With the exception of cedar. Cedar has a relatively higher turnover (10 yrs, 15 yrs max), does not spoil the soil like teak and fetches a pretty penny on the market.

Get the local type though, cuz its far superior to anything native to south america. Local cedar is also very limited in supply and demand is high, so you know what that means for price. :wink:

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » January 18th, 2010, 4:23 pm

Gem_in_i, so true!

I have some teak trees and they were planted about 25 yrs ago and they now start to get some nice size!

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2010, 5:17 pm

plant palms and black olive trees
one woodbrook place transplanted a bunch of black olives and most died

landscape quality palms are like gold
not the regular crappy little palms, but nice ones like what you see in florida
and if possible red palms which are rare and grow slowly

Postby Gem_in_i » January 18th, 2010, 5:30 pm

The Columbian cedar tht everyone was so gung ho abt yrs ago is not proving to be profitable, yet.
They said 10-12yrs for maturity for the Columbian cedar but even at tht age most don't have good girth.
Also people wary of the Columbian cedar and still prefer the local cedar.
Since last couple of yrs people have been turning away from the Columbian cedar and going back to the local cedar.
Btw, the local cedar does not take 10-15yrs, don't mix up :shock:

When you plant these trees you gotta take care of them. Don't expect to plant them and leave them and come back yrs later to find a big tree ready to sell.

Postby gt4tified » January 18th, 2010, 7:06 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:The Columbian cedar tht everyone was so gung ho abt yrs ago is not proving to be profitable, yet.
They said 10-12yrs for maturity for the Columbian cedar but even at tht age most don't have good girth.
Also people wary of the Columbian cedar and still prefer the local cedar.
Since last couple of yrs people have been turning away from the Columbian cedar and going back to the local cedar.
Btw, the local cedar does not take 10-15yrs, don't mix up :shock:

When you plant these trees you gotta take care of them. Don't expect to plant them and leave them and come back yrs later to find a big tree ready to sell.

Do you want me to SHOW YOU some local cedar at 12 years old? Don't mouth off if you don't know. :roll:

Postby Gem_in_i » January 18th, 2010, 8:10 pm

Sure, I wud luv to see some pics. :). No need to get offended.

Postby Gem_in_i » January 18th, 2010, 8:13 pm

Oh, I just remembered, there is someone on here who has a sawmill or runs one.
If he sees this thread am sure he wud be able to give some prices.

Postby gt4tified » January 19th, 2010, 7:27 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Sure, I wud luv to see some pics. :). No need to get offended.

Pics? :lol:

No ma'am, I want you to come down Moruga and meet me and see for yourself what we have going orn over there.
Last edited by gt4tified on January 19th, 2010, 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Gem_in_i » January 19th, 2010, 8:50 pm

Sorry, can't take up tht offer.
Am female btw :)

You shud make use of the incentive programe tht Forestry Div offers, if you already haven't done so.

Postby gt4tified » January 19th, 2010, 9:33 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Sorry, can't take up tht offer.
Am female btw :)

You shud make use of the incentive programe tht Forestry Div offers, if you already haven't done so.

:oops: sorry, previous post fixed. :lol:

The only incentive programme that I want from forestry is to pay me well, and pay me on time, when I ready to cut and sell! :)

Postby Gem_in_i » January 20th, 2010, 12:16 am

You wud want the samiller or woodworker to buy from you and pay you well when you ready :lol:

Make sure you research the selling price before you sell becos you can be ripped off with price with most of those people.

Postby Chimera » August 14th, 2023, 12:39 pm

13 year bump

is there anyone that i can hire to cut down and mill/cut a single teak tree on private land on site?

its a tree my father planted 30 years ago and i want to keep the wood for personal use when we cut it down rather than sell it to a saw mill or anything like that

ruskie

Postby ruskie » August 14th, 2023, 1:57 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:13 year bump

is there anyone that i can hire to cut down and mill/cut a single teak tree on private land on site?

its a tree my father planted 30 years ago and i want to keep the wood for personal use when we cut it down rather than sell it to a saw mill or anything like that
I'd like to know too. Some years ago, Had a guy come and cut 4 trees, got paid for 2. ....and it is someone I know, steupes..

Postby nervewrecker » August 14th, 2023, 7:29 pm

What price teak selling for?

Postby 88sins » August 14th, 2023, 8:22 pm

Did you check the saw mill? I would think they would probably be your best bet, but it would probably cost a lot (transport to the site and back to the mill, storage charges, processing cost, then transport back to you)

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 14th, 2023, 8:35 pm

If you cutting and boxing it on site you could get away with it, but if you transporting it to sawmill you need to check with forestry.

Postby Chimera » August 14th, 2023, 9:38 pm

Daz wha I wanna know. On YouTube you does see ppl with portable sawmills that they using on their chainsaw and milling the trees on site

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 14th, 2023, 10:18 pm

You need to check forestry division st Joseph (assuming you're central) to get permission to transport it. Milling on site is no issue.

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2023, 10:29 pm

yeah need a forestry stamp, possibly some grease

i think it needs to dry first before cutting

Postby sMASH » August 14th, 2023, 11:36 pm

Not a lumber guy but cut a lot of trees and cut them into pieces, snd they warp a lot.
Because of the variability of moisture and tissue,

Might be better to cut, cure, and after it will nkt dry any more, then to, mill, to keep them in goood shape