Penal/Debe residents told:Brace for more water woes

JoKeR1980

Penal/Debe residents told:Brace for more water woes

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 16th, 2010, 9:48 am

Tempers flared at the Penal/Debe Regional Corporation yesterday as officials of the Water and Sewage Authority advised residents to brace for more water woes in 2010. The warning came from South regional manager of WASA Collin Nym as he addressed councillors, residents and staff during a water-crisis meeting at the corporation. Nym said the outlook was bleak for 2010, because lower rainfall had exacerbated production constraints at the Caroni water treatment plant and the desalination plant in Point Lisas. He said most of the water distributed in south Trinidad came from the Caroni plant. “Production at this facility has been reduced as the season did not provide what we expected,â€

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 16th, 2010, 10:08 am

Its non-pnm areas so what do you expect ?

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 16th, 2010, 10:18 am

Remind me againg where the Navet Dam is?

The Navet Dam is one of the major reservoirs supplying potable water in Trinidad and Tobago. The dam was completed in 1962 and expanded in 1966 and 1976. It supplies San Fernando, Debe, Penal, Princes Town, Rio Claro, South Oropouche, La Brea Moruga, New Grant, Plaisance Park, La Romaine and Fyzabad.

The Navet Dam covers an area of 3.24 km² (800 acres) and has a capacity of 18,200,000 cubic metres (4,000 million imperial gallons). It supplies 86.4 m³ per day.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 16th, 2010, 10:31 am

exactly

Postby Damien » January 16th, 2010, 10:41 am

this day and age people still have water problems but we could spend ah billion dollars on the summits. great is the pnm

jjcp

Postby jjcp » January 16th, 2010, 1:25 pm

prozac have the whole history of the navet dey yes

Virus

Postby Virus » January 16th, 2010, 2:32 pm

jjcp wrote:prozac have the whole history of the navet dey yes

And all the facts are true big up zac

Now with that said tell me how the hell men cant get water still? i cant see that damn running low eva but yet still they speak of not having any

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » January 16th, 2010, 2:55 pm

Its amazing that countries such as Aruba & Curacao dont even have 10% of the rainfall that Trinidad have .. but they never suffer any water woes .. why ?? Desal Plants working wonders there .. so why cant the same be done in Trinidad ?? ... sigh !!

dreadman

Postby dreadman » January 16th, 2010, 4:01 pm

i agree with roodal monilal in d article........y dey still providing water for recreational purposes? imagine rite next to fun splash it have a WASA station there and tom funsplash havin a lime there........d amount of water dey does b using there

dreadman

Postby dreadman » January 16th, 2010, 4:04 pm

not forgettin there is the Mora dam in siparia too eh

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » January 16th, 2010, 4:59 pm

Dreadman you're right I forget about that one. Have some vicious caymans(men? lol) there boy.
There is also Hollis Reservioir and The Caroni-Arena Dam.

Pics courtesy Panoramio

Postby RASC » January 16th, 2010, 5:37 pm

This is exactly why we need property taxes, to ensure the local corp. actually have money to fix these minor issues. Big Gov't just too big and bloated. they can't even deal with these small issues. :|

Postby buzz » January 17th, 2010, 12:24 am

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:Remind me againg where the Navet Dam is?

The Navet Dam is one of the major reservoirs supplying potable water in Trinidad and Tobago. The dam was completed in 1962 and expanded in 1966 and 1976. It supplies San Fernando, Debe, Penal, Princes Town, Rio Claro, South Oropouche, La Brea Moruga, New Grant, Plaisance Park, La Romaine and Fyzabad.

The Navet Dam covers an area of 3.24 km² (800 acres) and has a capacity of 18,200,000 cubic metres (4,000 million imperial gallons). It supplies 86.4 m³ per day.

2020 we believe 8-)

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 17th, 2010, 10:18 am

RASC wrote:This is exactly why we need property taxes, to ensure the local corp. actually have money to fix these minor issues. Big Gov't just too big and bloated. they can't even deal with these small issues. :|

Local govt is even more corrupt than central govt...

And well i didn't even know penal/debe had water to begin with

Postby RASC » January 17th, 2010, 10:34 am

RASC wrote:This is exactly why we need property taxes, to ensure the local corp. actually have money to fix these minor issues. Big Gov't just too big and bloated. they can't even deal with these small issues. :|

Local govt is even more corrupt than central govt...

And well i didn't even know penal/debe had water to begin with

Exactly what you expect when you don't get payed properly and there is no formal infrastructure to ensure checks and balances.

Give them more money, more responsibility. better training and maybe ppl will start taking some pride in their jobs and realize this thing ain't no joke.

Postby eliteauto » January 17th, 2010, 10:53 am

these areas need to vote PNM, your failure to do so resulted in this

Want water..is UNC you must slaughter
Want to bathe....The PNM you must fraid

mafia generation

Postby mafia generation » January 17th, 2010, 11:08 am

wait ent penal does had water worries from before!?!?

jus cut down on the amount of times allyuh was dong the pimp mobile.............. :wink:

Emil

Postby Emil » January 17th, 2010, 11:11 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161531315

http://legacy.guardian.co.tt/archives/2 ... news6.html

http://guardian.co.tt/commentary/letter ... water-wasa

Hmmm, there was even an official apology to the people of laventille by WASA at the order of the Ministry.Will property tax pay apart in this?I doubt much people in laventille pay or will pay any property tax in the future under the means test.

Property tax is essential in running a country's local infrastructure, but discrimination is not.

Them people better don't block the roads in protest like Barracpore the other day, is army in dey waist. Army and police no better to stop the "peaceful" blocking off the Lady Young Road and Beetham Highway. They know to only call in Inspector Singh to negotiate....down south is buss head and lock up.

dreadman

Postby dreadman » January 17th, 2010, 12:57 pm

eliteauto wrote:these areas need to vote PNM, your failure to do so resulted in this

i am a resident of the penal debe area and the UNC did more for us dat d PNM......when UNC was in govt we got water almost every single day......as PNM took over water started subsiding slowly every single yr...from 7 days to 5 days den to 2 days.....now u have to b up late in d nite checkin ur taps for water. is this right?? other areas gettin paved roads y not us? other ares gettin water...y not us???
an one ting i dont understand is y dont d UNC fight d PNM like how dey fightin wit each other rite now???
BTW we get some water in d pipe dis mornin eh.... :lol:

Postby eliteauto » January 17th, 2010, 1:03 pm

dreadman, convince your constituents to vote PNM, it's necessary for the growth of the Empire

the UNC cannot fight what they don't understand, they would have to introduce puncheon, suppligen, ginseng etc to fight the PNM but the PNM is like Malta...Naturally Good

dreadman

Postby dreadman » January 17th, 2010, 1:07 pm

^^^^^^^^boi no matter how hard yuh try is ole indian it have here......dey go only vote UNC..if u give dem ah million dollars dey still votin UNC

Postby eliteauto » January 17th, 2010, 1:12 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: glad you caught the gist of my posts dreadman,

Postby Monk BANzai » January 17th, 2010, 1:16 pm

eliteauto wrote:these areas need to vote PNM, your failure to do so resulted in this

Tea and Crumpets anyone?

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » January 18th, 2010, 9:29 am

like water does flow northwards in this country? :?

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161583763

RESIDENTS of Sobo Village in La Brea, who have been without water for the past month, protested on Friday by blocking the road to bring attention to their plight.

Postby Greypatch » January 18th, 2010, 10:08 am

going on 7 weeks without water..

have been buying water

Postby Damien » January 18th, 2010, 7:03 pm

^ you still paying the water rate ?