power button blinking amber light for dell dimension 4300

gencon

power button blinking amber light for dell dimension 4300

Postby gencon » November 24th, 2009, 6:45 pm

power button is usually green when system is running, however it has been cutting of on its own and rebooting spontaneously for the past few weeks, since yesterday not powering up at all only seeing a blinking amber power button light, been googling to find some answers, is it a bad power supply? no diagnostics lights coming on at the back.
Last edited by gencon on November 24th, 2009, 7:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby foss » November 24th, 2009, 6:48 pm

so i guess you are threedead now ? :o

Postby r3iXmann » November 24th, 2009, 6:53 pm

could be bad power supply or motherboard

i suspect the former though

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » November 24th, 2009, 6:57 pm

People doh use google again?
First thing you go look to do when u have a problem is create a new thread on tuner?
Steups.

Postby pugboy » November 24th, 2009, 6:57 pm

correct, i had similar problem recently
either way if you dont have warrantee coverage you in a mess
as dell power supplies are proprietary as well as motherboards
so will be cheaper for you to buy a case/mb and move your cpu/memory/hd to it

Postby wagonrunner » November 24th, 2009, 7:05 pm

pugboy wrote:correct, i had similar problem recently
either way if you dont have warrantee coverage you in a mess
as dell power supplies are proprietary as well as motherboards
so will be cheaper for you to buy a case/mb and move your cpu/memory/hd to it

not anymore. for the smaller cases, sure. the larger ones for the most part, run on any el cheapo business.

gencon

Postby gencon » November 24th, 2009, 7:16 pm

pugboy & reixmann thanks

Postby buzz » November 24th, 2009, 7:22 pm

overheating then power supply gorne tru possibly as reix said

Postby buzz » November 24th, 2009, 7:23 pm

Captainzaak wrote:People doh use google again?
First thing you go look to do when u have a problem is create a new thread on tuner?
Steups.

and like most tuners allyuh doh read d man post before trin to fack im up

he say he google :?

Postby skylinechild » November 24th, 2009, 7:24 pm

check your power supply and if all is ok check your ram..remove it clean it clean the slots and reseat....

well since is a dell and you cleaning out the ram slots you might as well clean out the WHOLE casing..cause you done kno inside them dell casing REAL REAL CRAMPED up.......remove EVERYTHING...brush it out use can of air if necessary and assemble it back.....

if same issues...change RAM
Last edited by skylinechild on November 24th, 2009, 7:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Emil

Postby Emil » November 24th, 2009, 7:27 pm

Yeah, the mobo and power supply is most likely it, try reseating the RAM as skylinechild says and see if it helps.

gencon

Postby gencon » November 24th, 2009, 8:01 pm

ok thanks folks

Postby buzz » November 24th, 2009, 8:32 pm

oh yeah i forgot about chip creep :oops:

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » November 24th, 2009, 8:56 pm

skylinechild wrote:check your power supply and if all is ok check your ram..remove it clean it clean the slots and reseat....

well since is a dell and you cleaning out the ram slots you might as well clean out the WHOLE casing..cause you done kno inside them dell casing REAL REAL CRAMPED up.......remove EVERYTHING...brush it out use can of air if necessary and assemble it back.....

if same issues...change RAM

its a dell..change the whole damn computer