Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 1st, 2023, 3:37 pm

It looks pretty good for the price too

variable crossover an ting pa

you get through.... They might bull u with shipping tho,,, keep us updated . wanna see how much it would cost landed

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 1st, 2023, 7:19 pm

This is a slippery slope - center channel and satellites next.
I'm curious about shipping too

Postby paid_influencer » June 1st, 2023, 8:33 pm

true men does live in stereo

front tower speakers only
no sub

Humes

Postby Humes » June 1st, 2023, 9:23 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:You can go either way - add an amp to your existing sub if the sub and enclosure suit your needs OR get a powered sub.

If you get an amp for your existing sub then check the speaker and see what amplifier will suit it

You can look at one of these for around US$70
https://amzn.to/3C2UPYB
Screenshot 2023-05-30 at 8.19.40 PM.jpg

Last minute change of plans. I watching the size of the box in those review videos...I doh want any shipping cost surprises, and I like the idea of sticking with the sub I already know.

I was a little concerned about it causing latency between the AVR and the sub, but it looks like that's a non-issue.

This amp looks compact and simple to use. Once alyuh confirm that it will power this 130-watt passive, I will get it.

So what say alyuh?

Postby X_Factor » June 1st, 2023, 9:34 pm

yup, using a couple of the regular two channels and they work well
i also believe it is one of the better cost effective options you have.

My option would be bank your money for how long it takes to get a pro audio amp and at least a 12 inch

Postby Gladiator » June 1st, 2023, 9:35 pm

Humes wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:You can go either way - add an amp to your existing sub if the sub and enclosure suit your needs OR get a powered sub.

If you get an amp for your existing sub then check the speaker and see what amplifier will suit it

Last minute change of plans. I watching the size of the box in those review videos...I doh want any shipping cost surprises, and I like the idea of sticking with the sub I already know.

I was a little concerned about it causing latency between the AVR and the sub, but it looks like that's a non-issue.

This amp looks compact and simple to use. Once alyuh confirm that it will power this 130-watt passive, I will get it.

So what say alyuh?

Go with a trustworthy brand. Most likely the specs on that no-name amp are exaggerated. Check the Dayton Audio, their stuff is legit.

Postby paid_influencer » June 1st, 2023, 9:39 pm

why nor just use your onkyo amp why not

Postby nervewrecker » June 1st, 2023, 9:57 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Humes wrote:

So what say alyuh?

Go with a trustworthy brand. Most likely the specs on that no-name amp are exaggerated. Check the Dayton Audio, their stuff is legit.

https://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-SPA ... 13d670b6bc

Same price range

Humes

Postby Humes » June 1st, 2023, 9:59 pm

Gladiator wrote:Go with a trustworthy brand. Most likely the specs on that no-name amp are exaggerated. Check the Dayton Audio, their stuff is legit.

I doh know the brand, but the product looks well-regarded. Reviews on it are solid.

paid_influencer, I had a moment where I genuinely considered it today eh, but nah.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 2nd, 2023, 8:13 am

Now see Steve's put up this, $1850 for a 10inch

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=64 ... 0838558551

I still like the one from goldwood more than this though.

Postby X_Factor » June 2nd, 2023, 9:42 am

At $1850
Get a used pro audio amp for around 1500 and at least a 10 inch sub

Humes

Postby Humes » June 16th, 2023, 8:27 pm

Ay, folks. Picked up the amp today, hooked it up, back in business.

Had to change subwoofer output to LFE+Main in the AVR settings, which I guess has something to do with the sub being passive (will go read up on what it means). The bass extraction LPF is 80hz. Let me know if there's anything I should adjust for optimal safety/stability.

So...with that up and working...anyone interested in buying an Onkyo HT-S3400?

Postby mero » January 9th, 2024, 9:55 am

Morning,

In the market for a new tv. 60 inch LG I had about 7 years giving up, had a back up lg 65uh60 in storage but screen dead according to technician yesterday.

Looking for midrange top spec option nun less than 65", good refresh rate and 4k. Budget is about 9k.

Was looking locally but don't mind importing one.

So far the TCL q7 line and the lg c2 has my eye.

Not looking for any watered down third world spec ones

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 9th, 2024, 10:49 am

mero wrote:Morning,

In the market for a new tv. 60 inch LG I had about 7 years giving up, had a back up lg 65uh60 in storage but screen dead according to technician yesterday.

Looking for midrange top spec option nun less than 65", good refresh rate and 4k. Budget is about 9k.

Pricesmart.
Helped someone install a 85” LG about 6 months ago that was bought at pricesmart for around $13K.
Great deal for that brand and size imo.
I like the interface and functionality. They also got a LG soundbar with sub that works seemlessly with it also at pricesmart.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 9th, 2024, 12:28 pm

Sorry
Last edited by PariaMan on January 9th, 2024, 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby mero » January 9th, 2024, 1:39 pm

mero wrote:Morning,

Pricesmart.
Helped someone install a 85” LG about 6 months ago that was bought at pricesmart for around $13K.
Great deal for that brand and size imo.
I like the interface and functionality. They also got a LG soundbar with sub that works seemlessly with it also at pricesmart.
85" would be real Bess eh but I think that's overkill for the room rn and budget. Still need to upgrade my surround centre channel and eventually whole receiver.

Would take a look around Pricesmart and local importers.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 9th, 2024, 1:58 pm

^ I didnt say buy a 85"
Just saying to check pricesmart for your 65"

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 9th, 2024, 1:59 pm

PariaMan wrote:A40807"is~~

Red flag?
I have a panasonic 55" from Pricesmart about 10 years now - bought in their black friday sale (yeah I went and line up) and it still going

Postby gastly369 » January 9th, 2024, 3:28 pm

Also just headup if have gaming console ps5 or the xbox series x... Make sure the hdmi port is hdmi 2.1 to get the full experience 120hz hdr dolby vision etc

Got a LG 65 4k 120hz 2 years ago on sale in wizz for $5500 with wall mount lol (living room gaming tv)

Bedrooms have 2 sony 55s from pricemart about 5 years now works good no issues

Postby paid_influencer » January 9th, 2024, 6:10 pm

i got the lg c2 55" and am p. satisfied w it.

it comes with a duckfoot stand which imo is a big deal since it allows more flexible placement

the only con is that out the box, the thing not color calibrated at all. like horrible. the beauty of the tv hidden. all the presets bad. white balance not white at all on any of the presets.

i invested in a colorimeter (spyder) and did my own calibration and it looks boss now. it fairly easy to get something looking accurate once you have the tools. without the tools god help yuh.

sony does come well calibrated out the box from my experience. but imo better to buy a colorimeter and get whatever tv you want calibrated

Zim

Postby Zim » January 11th, 2024, 12:20 am

paid_influencer wrote:true men does live in stereo

front tower speakers only
no sub

Fr eh
Though a good properly tuned sub really btings out they system as well removing strain from the amp :)

Zim

Postby Zim » January 11th, 2024, 12:23 am

X_Factor wrote:At $1850
Get a used pro audio amp for around 1500 and at least a 10 inch sub

This guy gets it :)

Zim

Postby Zim » January 11th, 2024, 12:26 am

gastly369 wrote:Also just headup if have gaming console ps5 or the xbox series x... Make sure the hdmi port is hdmi 2.1 to get the full experience 120hz hdr dolby vision etc

Got a LG 65 4k 120hz 2 years ago on sale in wizz for $5500 with wall mount lol (living room gaming tv)

Bedrooms have 2 sony 55s from pricemart about 5 years now works good no issues

Funny u mention them. I gone what day and nobody there knows what a refresh rate is, nor what the 60 Hz or 120 Hz denote.

*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby j.o.e » January 11th, 2024, 1:09 pm

Bought a 65 inch TCL(the higher specced one forgot the code) at Courts around Christmas. Happy with it so far of course can’t vouch for longevity

Postby rollingstock » January 11th, 2024, 2:35 pm

I does buy them cheap JVC in pricesmart.

Postby gastly369 » January 11th, 2024, 4:47 pm

j.o.e wrote:Bought a 65 inch TCL(the higher specced one forgot the code) at Courts around Christmas. Happy with it so far of course can’t vouch for longevity
Took extended warranty?

Postby pugboy » January 11th, 2024, 5:43 pm

good luck with them jvc
lot of them have screen issues on the edges

the tcl are proving to be decent reliability

rollingstock wrote:I does buy them cheap JVC in pricesmart.

Postby rollingstock » January 11th, 2024, 6:01 pm

I poor, that's where my money can reach. At least I not watching the neighbour 32" through his window anymore.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 11th, 2024, 6:41 pm

j.o.e wrote:Bought a 65 inch TCL(the higher specced one forgot the code) at Courts around Christmas. Happy with it so far of course can’t vouch for longevity

Once you buying from courts, take the extended warranty. You won't regret it.

Postby mero » January 15th, 2024, 11:25 am

paid_influencer wrote:i got the lg c2 55" and am p. satisfied w it.

it comes with a duckfoot stand which imo is a big deal since it allows more flexible placement

C2 is a nice tv, bought locally or shipped in?
Trying to gauge an estimate for skybox