*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby maj. tom » May 29th, 2023, 9:40 pm

Humes wrote:So I upgraded to the Denon S570BT.

My PC is connected via HDMI to the game port on the AVR, and my TV is connected to the AVR via the 120hz eARC port. I'm using these HDMI 2.1 cables, rated for 4K120.

I've set everything up, audio is working, but video at both 4K and 1440p is limited to 60hz.

The old Onkyo with HDMI 1.4 cables was able to do 1440p at 120hz. Main difference there was that I connected the PC directly to one of the TV's 120hz ports, then connected the receiver to the eARC port. (I upgraded because I was getting audio latency with some games.)

I've enabled Enhanced HDMI on the TV, and 8K Enhanced on the AVR.

I overlooking anything here?

HDMI Setup
>>HDMI Upscaler
>>Disable 8K upscaler

Video may not be output depending on the HDCP version of your player
and the TV.

HDCP Setup
>>2.3: Fixes the HDCP version of this unit to 2.3

Keep playing around with the HDMI settings or try the different HDMI inputs at the back, it bound to work with some specific setting on or off. Don't see a reason from what you described that 4k/120Hz should not work.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 30th, 2023, 5:53 am

Humes wrote:So I upgraded to the Denon S570BT.

My PC is connected via HDMI to the game port on the AVR, and my TV is connected to the AVR via the 120hz eARC port. I'm using these HDMI 2.1 cables, rated for 4K120.

I've set everything up, audio is working, but video at both 4K and 1440p is limited to 60hz.

The old Onkyo with HDMI 1.4 cables was able to do 1440p at 120hz. Main difference there was that I connected the PC directly to one of the TV's 120hz ports, then connected the receiver to the eARC port. (I upgraded because I was getting audio latency with some games.)

I've enabled Enhanced HDMI on the TV, and 8K Enhanced on the AVR.

I overlooking anything here?
Have the same issue, but it's due to the tv not able to enter "PC" mode as the PC is connected to the AVR and then the tv. If you force the tv to "PC" mode, then everything from the AVR will also go into that mode. Also you can check if the port you're using in the AVR has the enhanced mode on just like the tv, on my denon I have to enable 8k enhanced on that port to get 4k 120hz HDR VRR etc. that's different from the global 8K content upscale setting.

What is the bandwidth of the HDMI port from your PC? I don't think AVR's can do 1440P (gaming console nightmare). Your PC may need HDMI 2.0b output and up for 4k 120hz (if memory service me right)

Humes

Postby Humes » May 30th, 2023, 8:10 am

Connecting the PC directly to the TV via HDMI 2.1 enables 4K/120 and 1440/120 in the Nvidia Control Panel (which it couldn't do with older HDMI 1.4), so it's HDMI 2.0 capable.

This customer review on Amazon describes what's happening:

It will not go above 60 Hz in the PC gaming area, and the PC GPU receives it as a display instead of your display panel, in other words when looking through "Nvidia Control Panel" you're going to see the AVR as your display instead of your actual TV, it does not support VRR nor V-sync, as mentioned the max refresh rate you'll receive is 60Hz apposed to 120 or 144Hz.

I have to try maj. tom's recommendations, but how did you end up solving it?

Humes

Postby Humes » May 30th, 2023, 9:24 am

So from the looks of it, I got it fixed.

I had to use the resolutions listed under "PC" in the Nvidia Control Panel (instead of the same resolutions under "Ultra HD, HD, SD"). That might have been what I was overlooking. The resolutions under PC allow for 120hz, while some of the same resolutions in the list right abover it are limited to 60hz.

The only other setting I changed was the HDCP 2.3 in HDCP Setup (changed it to 2.3, although it was already set to Auto. 8K upscaler was already disabled.

Works as advertised now. Thanks again for the pointers.

Humes

Postby Humes » May 30th, 2023, 9:33 am

On to the next question :lol:

Does anywhere locally sell RCA to speaker wire adapters? The new receiver only takes an RCA subwoofer connection, but my subwoofer is a bare speaker wire type.

I ordered this screw-in adapter and this male plug to bare cable end, but I'm open to buying one locally.

(The other speakers can connect to the receiver via speaker cable, btw)

Postby paid_influencer » May 30th, 2023, 9:59 am

Humes wrote:So from the looks of it, I got it fixed.

I had to use the resolutions listed under "PC" in the Nvidia Control Panel (instead of the same resolutions under "Ultra HD, HD, SD"). That might have been what I was overlooking. The resolutions under PC allow for 120hz, while some of the same resolutions in the list right abover it are limited to 60hz.

The only other setting I changed was the HDCP 2.3 in HDCP Setup (changed it to 2.3, although it was already set to Auto. 8K upscaler was already disabled.

Works as advertised now. Thanks again for the pointers.

this is what i suspected. haffi be a software setting

Postby maj. tom » May 30th, 2023, 12:13 pm

You can get the RCA connectors at Steve's Electronics or Gopauls or Montrose Electronics. The speaker wire too and just solder it up, insulate from each other and then secure with heat shrink before screwing back up the sleeve. Instructions on YouTube.

Postby paid_influencer » May 30th, 2023, 12:47 pm

bro i had some times today as today is a holiday and I did some checking on google for you

that sub you had before was from the Onkyo home theaters set (HT-S3400) right? I still had the booklet in my downloads and it saying your sub is "SKW-390," which is a 6-ohm 130 watts passive subwoofer. the receiver from the onkyo set amplified ALLL ALL the channels, including the subwoofers channel.

but that was an oddity. most receivers don't power the sub channel. including the one you did had buy (Denon AVR-S570BT). them does only has pre out for the subwoofer.

so you would need an amp or something to powers up the subwoofer. just running the jack probably won't work

Postby Gladiator » May 30th, 2023, 2:22 pm

paid_influencer wrote:bro i had some times today as today is a holiday and I did some checking on google for you

that sub you had before was from the Onkyo home theaters set (HT-S3400) right? I still had the booklet in my downloads and it saying your sub is "SKW-390," which is a 6-ohm 130 watts passive subwoofer. the receiver from the onkyo set amplified ALLL ALL the channels, including the subwoofers channel.

but that was an oddity. most receivers don't power the sub channel. including the one you did had buy (Denon AVR-S570BT). them does only has pre out for the subwoofer.

so you would need an amp or something to powers up the subwoofer. just running the jack probably won't work

Was now going to post this... the sub is a passive one most likely

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 30th, 2023, 2:25 pm

Yes the Denon will require an active sub

https://thehometheaterdiy.com/passive-v ... -subwoofer
Passive subwoofers require an additional power source like a receiver or amplifier. Active subwoofers include a built-in amplifier and power source and only need to receive an audio source.

Humes

Postby Humes » May 30th, 2023, 7:49 pm

Damn...was hoping to avoid that.

Well, recommendations on a subwoofer? Nutten fancy, and I fine buying used. The prices for standalones on Amazon not very friendly. Any good sellers locally?

paid_influencer wrote:so you would need an amp or something to powers up the subwoofer

The guys in Sham's in TCM were telling me that. What would that entail? I really hoping is something small.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 30th, 2023, 8:22 pm

You can go either way - add an amp to your existing sub if the sub and enclosure suit your needs OR get a powered sub.

If you get an amp for your existing sub then check the speaker and see what amplifier will suit it

You can look at one of these for around US$70
https://amzn.to/3C2UPYB
Screenshot 2023-05-30 at 8.19.40 PM.jpg
Screenshot 2023-05-30 at 8.19.40 PM.jpg (12.38 KiB) Viewed 1501 times

or a plate amp made for home theatre subwoofer enclosures - this one screws onto the back of the sub box
https://amzn.to/3IOFajh
Screenshot 2023-05-30 at 8.21.25 PM.jpg
Screenshot 2023-05-30 at 8.21.25 PM.jpg (23.6 KiB) Viewed 1501 times

Of course I don't know what is the rating on the speaker in your existing passive sub enclosure but you get the idea

Humes

Postby Humes » May 30th, 2023, 8:43 pm

Lemme put it this way: The Onkyo system was always great, but I rarely pushed the volume up to anywhere near max. So if I can find a way to keep this sub, cool.

But if getting a powered ~100 watts sub for similar or lower cost, even better.

Postby Gladiator » May 30th, 2023, 8:48 pm

Humes wrote:Lemme put it this way: The Onkyo system was always great, but I rarely pushed the volume up to anywhere near max. So if I can find a way to keep this sub, cool.

But if getting a powered ~100 watts sub for similar or lower cost, even better.

Get the plate amp and install it on the sub... cheapest, neatest option.

Postby maj. tom » May 30th, 2023, 8:53 pm

Check those same electronics stores I named above, Humes. You can carry the passive subwoofer with you.
Well give them a call first and ask for some technical help. Sometimes the person answering the phone can't help.

Postby paid_influencer » May 30th, 2023, 9:00 pm

comedy option: you already have an amp (the onkyo).

feed the sub-out (PRE) from your new Denon receiver
to one of the analog inputs on the old onkyo receiver
and connect your sub to that, as Onkyo intended.

out of pocket cost $0.00

better option: upgrade all your speakers when you get the money together, starting with a new bigger powered subwoofer.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 31st, 2023, 11:16 am

paid_influencer wrote:comedy option: you already have an amp (the onkyo).

feed the sub-out (PRE) from your new Denon receiver
to one of the analog inputs on the old onkyo receiver
and connect your sub to that, as Onkyo intended.

out of pocket cost $0.00

Messy but that might just work!

Postby X_Factor » May 31st, 2023, 2:39 pm

Not sure if there is a television thread but what is the "best" 65inch screen available for around 7-8k currently?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 31st, 2023, 3:42 pm

X_Factor wrote:Not sure if there is a television thread but what is the "best" 65inch screen available for around 7-8k currently?

CNET and Toms Guide says the TCL series 6 in that price range
https://www.cnet.com/tech/home-entertai ... 5-inch-tv/
https://www.tomsguide.com/best-picks/best-65-inch-tv

WhatHiFi says to check out the Samsung QE65QN85B
https://www.whathifi.com/best-buys/the- ... best-cheap
Amazon has the QN65Q7AAFXZA for around that price
https://www.amazon.com/SAMSUNG-65-Inch- ... 08WFQFK3M/

Add shipping and insurance

the model numbers we see locally at Courts, Standards and Pricesmart are latin-american market model numbers and so you may have to check online to see what matches or is similar

Postby maj. tom » May 31st, 2023, 3:58 pm

Postby Chimera » May 31st, 2023, 4:12 pm

Buy from courts with their supershield extended warranty .

Postby pugboy » May 31st, 2023, 4:14 pm

men buying based on warranty and ting now

a few years ago everybody was buying based on how much “p” and refresh rate :lol: :lol:

Humes

Postby Humes » May 31st, 2023, 6:09 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:get a powered sub.

Is this.

I called around to every major electronics/AV outlet, and passed through PriceSmart, Courts, Standard, PriceSmart, even Furniture Plus. Only higher grade subs and amps, or full speaker sets.

So Amazon. The Onkyo subwoofer is a 8" 130 watt model, so I'm looking for something similar power-wise, and for $150USD or less. I will do the reading up to look for a good choice, but as usual, any recommendations yall have will be appreciated.

Postby Gladiator » May 31st, 2023, 7:48 pm

Humes wrote:

Is this.

I called around to every major electronics/AV outlet, and passed through PriceSmart, Courts, Standard, PriceSmart, even Furniture Plus. Only higher grade subs and amps, or full speaker sets.

So Amazon. The Onkyo subwoofer is a 8" 130 watt model, so I'm looking for something similar power-wise, and for $150USD or less. I will do the reading up to look for a good choice, but as usual, any recommendations yall have will be appreciated.

Just get this... easy and cheapest solution.

https://www.parts-express.com/Dayton-Au ... quantity=1

Humes

Postby Humes » May 31st, 2023, 9:28 pm

Any reason I shouldn't get this Acoustic Audio PSW-8?

Or this Rockville Rock Shaker 6.5?

They both meet or surpass my old sub's specs.

(I frighten that this is the part where alyuh start tuh cuss mih)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 31st, 2023, 11:19 pm

Humes wrote:

Is this.

Check Sound and Security in Valpark
https://soundandsecurityexperience.com/ ... ome-audio/

Humes

Postby Humes » June 1st, 2023, 6:11 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Check Sound and Security in Valpark
https://soundandsecurityexperience.com/ ... ome-audio/

That was the last place I passed by. Their cheapest amp was around $1500, and they didn't have any lower-end subs. So then I checked Subway, but like they closed down their Valpark branch.

I called Circuit Zone, The Wizz, PRW, CET, Steve's, Gopaul, Montrose, Audio Express (or outlet?), and a few others.

Also checked the classifieds right here, but nothing recent. Checked Facebook marketplace, but...doh know about that...

Humes

Postby Humes » June 1st, 2023, 1:28 pm

Humes wrote:Any reason I shouldn't get this Acoustic Audio PSW-8?

Unless yall have any major technical objections, I think this is the one I'll be going with.

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 1st, 2023, 1:37 pm

Humes wrote:
Humes wrote:Any reason I shouldn't get this Acoustic Audio PSW-8?

Unless yall have any major technical objections, I think this is the one I'll be going with.

did two mins of googling and saw Goldwood owns this brand

it aight. Not sure on longevity but then again, nothing does really last long these days.

Should be okay SQ

Humes

Postby Humes » June 1st, 2023, 3:06 pm

Thanks. I read customer and professional reviews, watched a few videos, etc. It looking fine for my purpose and budget.

I just passing it by alyuh veterans in case I overlooking anything important on a technical level.