The | US Embassy | Thread

pj15

Re: The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby pj15 » August 25th, 2014, 5:11 pm

konartis wrote:just some info, i filled out the online DS160 visa application form today for myself/wife/son, but how long after can i wait to make the payment to the bank to pay the fees before the form becomes invalid?

Once you've finalized and submitted the form DS-160 it remains valid indefinitely ( as long as the info you entered hasn't changed).
You then have to print out a deposit slip (in duplicate) which you take to Scotia Bank to make the payment...this slip has a validity period ( about 4 days if I recall correctly) .You have to make the payment by the deadline indicated on the slip, if not it becomes invalid and you'll have to print another one.

konartis

Postby konartis » August 25th, 2014, 5:42 pm

pj15 wrote:
konartis wrote:just some info, i filled out the online DS160 visa application form today for myself/wife/son, but how long after can i wait to make the payment to the bank to pay the fees before the form becomes invalid?

Once you've finalized and submitted the form DS-160 it remains valid indefinitely ( as long as the info you entered hasn't changed).
You then have to print out a deposit slip (in duplicate) which you take to Scotia Bank to make the payment...this slip has a validity period ( about 4 days if I recall correctly) .You have to make the payment by the deadline indicated on the slip, if not it becomes invalid and you'll have to print another one.

K thanks, i didnt print the slip as yet...when i saw 1032. Per person...im going to get the bank statement first then take out that money to pay for it...mabe by mnday
Last edited by konartis on August 26th, 2014, 12:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pete » August 25th, 2014, 8:24 pm

Strong username to post..

jsr

Postby jsr » August 25th, 2014, 10:09 pm

i am having trouble checking the dv lottery 2015
not sure why an error message is resulting

SurGTR

Postby SurGTR » September 2nd, 2014, 10:09 am

professor

Postby professor » September 2nd, 2014, 12:45 pm

I am filling out the DS-160 form for a friend, and experiencing difficulty with getting the photo to be exactly 600 x 600 pixels, and fitting in the face in the template.
I tried several different programmes to edit, resize etc, before going on the site.

How is that done successfully ?

Postby cinco » September 2nd, 2014, 12:50 pm

take a pic with shoulders up crop and resize using windows picture manager

Postby 16 cycles » September 2nd, 2014, 12:56 pm

i was able to do it in picasa (free) by specifying the size of the output jpeg...iirc

air wick

Postby air wick » September 2nd, 2014, 1:14 pm

professor wrote:I am filling out the DS-160 form for a friend, and experiencing difficulty with getting the photo to be exactly 600 x 600 pixels, and fitting in the face in the template.
I tried several different programmes to edit, resize etc, before going on the site.

How is that done successfully ?

there is an online photo tool:

http://travel.state.gov/content/visas/e ... hotos.html

Postby pete » September 2nd, 2014, 1:25 pm

With the online photo tool you can zoom in/out and move around the person's head so if falls within the lines. I did it for 4 applications over the past month. Worked fine.

professor

Postby professor » September 2nd, 2014, 2:33 pm

pete wrote:With the online photo tool you can zoom in/out and move around the person's head so if falls within the lines. I did it for 4 applications over the past month. Worked fine.

I tried that about with about 6 different pics, either it's too small, too big, or head not centred in circle. Tried editing in Roxio, and about three other programmes. Would continue trying, Thanks.

Postby pete » September 2nd, 2014, 2:41 pm

Weird. Also, you should get a picture done in a photo studio to send with the application/carry to the interview so maybe you could get an electronic copy of the photo as well.

My daughter's (18months) photo was accepted by the website but they ended up using the photo studio picture for the visa. Two of the other applications they actually used the photos I took with my camera.

konartis

Postby konartis » September 5th, 2014, 4:42 pm

i did mines for me and family at the studio, the man put it on a flash drive, the print out also has to be 5cmX5cm,

also i would like to to know if you have to pay for the UPS delivery for the documents?

air wick

Postby air wick » September 5th, 2014, 5:14 pm

konartis wrote:i did mines for me and family at the studio, the man put it on a flash drive, the print out also has to be 5cmX5cm,

also i would like to to know if you have to pay for the UPS delivery for the documents?

it's DHL that picks up at the embassy and sends to TTPOST for delivery (you will get an email with tracking info) and no it's included in the fee that you pay at Scotiabank

Postby pioneer » September 5th, 2014, 7:04 pm

Umm DHL actually does the delivery.

air wick

Postby air wick » September 5th, 2014, 7:29 pm

pioneer wrote:Umm DHL actually does the delivery.

ummm must be #southpplproblems but TTPOST dropped of mines but it was in the DHL packaging and that was in August this year :|

konartis

Postby konartis » September 5th, 2014, 7:32 pm

k guys, thanks...i see DHL vehicles everyday down my side, so mabe they drop it off, mabe at the local TTPOST,

Postby pioneer » September 5th, 2014, 7:49 pm

they prolly don't deliver south of gb

Postby S_2NR » September 5th, 2014, 7:56 pm

pioneer wrote:they prolly don't deliver south of gb

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Gem_in_i » September 5th, 2014, 8:24 pm

They actually were not delivering South at one point in time so people had to collect at dhl. Some problem with the contractor for delivery.

You don't have to upload your pic. I had used some random pic just to get past tht section of form.

air wick

Postby air wick » September 6th, 2014, 7:50 pm

You brave yes, I will never upload a random pic just to bypass... the pic that i uploaded was used in my VISA...

Postby j.o.e » September 6th, 2014, 9:36 pm

air wick wrote:You brave yes, I will never upload a random pic just to bypass... the pic that i uploaded was used in my VISA...

this..... my Visa carries the pic i uploaded

konartis

Postby konartis » September 8th, 2014, 8:29 pm

went with the wife and son today, got tru in less than 5 mins, the officer asked us to scan our prints, my son BP, then asked where we were going, told him the mother in law, he laughed, told me good luck...then asked for bank statements and job letters, he didnt even look at it, just fliped tru it, then that was it, he gave me a slip telling me about the DHL delivery etc...less than 5 mins, had a couple of families before me, they left really sour, when i crossed the road to get to my vehicle, i saw a family that was there before me, man and wife, with 3 children...they woman asked my wife if we got tru, she said yes...the woman just blurted out "yea well allyuh so must get tru" apparently they got blanked....OH and it will be delivered by DHL at my home in princes town

Postby pioneer » September 8th, 2014, 8:51 pm

Yeah the sufferers usually congregate outside questioning everyone.

Postby pete » September 9th, 2014, 5:47 am

To me I wouldn't go with the whole family one time. That's $5k gone down the drain one shot.

Postby Gem_in_i » September 9th, 2014, 6:17 am

air wick wrote:You brave yes, I will never upload a random pic just to bypass... the pic that i uploaded was used in my VISA...

I had emailed the embassy to ask what to do because of problems to get the pic right and they suggested doing this.

DIESEL ROCKS

Postby DIESEL ROCKS » September 9th, 2014, 6:53 am

konartis wrote:went with the wife and son today, got tru in less than 5 mins, the officer asked us to scan our prints, my son BP, then asked where we were going, told him the mother in law, he laughed, told me good luck...then asked for bank statements and job letters, he didnt even look at it, just fliped tru it, then that was it, he gave me a slip telling me about the DHL delivery etc...less than 5 mins, had a couple of families before me, they left really sour, when i crossed the road to get to my vehicle, i saw a family that was there before me, man and wife, with 3 children...they woman asked my wife if we got tru, she said yes...the woman just blurted out "yea well allyuh so must get tru" apparently they got blanked....OH and it will be delivered by DHL at my home in princes town

Sounds like you boasting.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » September 9th, 2014, 7:11 am

DIESEL ROCKS wrote:
konartis wrote:went with the wife and son today, got tru in less than 5 mins, the officer asked us to scan our prints, my son BP, then asked where we were going, told him the mother in law, he laughed, told me good luck...then asked for bank statements and job letters, he didnt even look at it, just fliped tru it, then that was it, he gave me a slip telling me about the DHL delivery etc...less than 5 mins, had a couple of families before me, they left really sour, when i crossed the road to get to my vehicle, i saw a family that was there before me, man and wife, with 3 children...they woman asked my wife if we got tru, she said yes...the woman just blurted out "yea well allyuh so must get tru" apparently they got blanked....OH and it will be delivered by DHL at my home in princes town

Sounds like you boasting.

pioneer wrote:Yeah the sufferers usually congregate outside questioning everyone.

Sounds like you what pionner talking about "Diesel Rocks" it hurt when you got blank awwww.

Postby zoom rader » September 9th, 2014, 7:13 am

What did the woman mean by "allyuh so".

DIESEL ROCKS

Postby DIESEL ROCKS » September 9th, 2014, 7:52 am

Buttrider27, you like to white knight?