.:PROZAC:..

Remembrance Day.... Lest we Forget.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 11th, 2009, 10:05 am

Pic taken at Chaguaramas Air and War Museum

The significance of the Poppy:
The association of the red poppy — the Flanders Poppy — with battlefield deaths as a natural symbol of resurrection and remembrance dates back to the Napoleonic Wars when poppies were the first plant to grow in the churned up soil of soldiers' graves in the area of Flanders.

This connection between the red poppy and war dead was renewed over a century later on the Western Front during the First World War.

It was verses by Lieutenant-Colonel John McCrae (1872-1918), a Canadian Medical Officer, which began the intriguing process by which the Flanders Poppy became immortalised worldwide as the symbol of remembrance:

Postby DFC » November 11th, 2009, 10:09 am

who d ass cares?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 11th, 2009, 10:16 am

"History is an account mostly false, of events mostly unimportant, which are brought about by rulers, mostly knaves, and soldiers, mostly fools."

-- Ambrose Gwinett Bierce

Postby RASC » November 11th, 2009, 10:19 am

.:PROZAC:.., Good Post. Has anyone done any research on Trinbagonians that served in any of the World Wars???

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 11th, 2009, 10:46 am

who d ass cares?

Did you prefer to say "wer sorgt sich?".

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 11th, 2009, 10:55 am

Postby r3iXmann » November 11th, 2009, 10:55 am

the_DFC wrote:who d ass cares?

what a tool.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 11th, 2009, 10:57 am

Tell em check their spelling

Independently, not IndependAntly.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 11th, 2009, 10:58 am

I do my Grandfather fought in WWII with the English .

Postby buzz » November 11th, 2009, 10:58 am

reiXmann wrote:

what a tool.

a cnut is more like it

good post

Postby tr1ad » November 11th, 2009, 11:02 am

yuh mammy might yuh dum kant.....

one of the few good posts there are these days

d spike

Postby d spike » November 11th, 2009, 12:05 pm

"Those who fail to learn from the mistakes of the past are doomed to repeat them."

Obviously those who do not wish to repeat the blunders of the past.

Postby DFC » November 11th, 2009, 12:10 pm

i dont care..because...it doesnt affect me now!

it does not drop the price of flour or gas.

Its history and ..ok..thats nice!

Postby buzz » November 11th, 2009, 12:13 pm

the_DFC wrote:i dont care..because...it doesnt affect me now!

so when yuh mammy dead you doh care nah

its history and she not there to help you living conditions now

Postby RASC » November 11th, 2009, 12:16 pm

the_DFC

See ppl want to point fingers all over the place as to why the world and a lesser extent as to why the country is in the state it is in right now...take a look right here. Grade A _________________ (insert your choice of colourful adjective).

"It does not drop the price of flour or gas"

Ignorance is NOT BLISS :!:

Postby r3iXmann » November 11th, 2009, 12:18 pm

buzz,he obviously trolling..leave him :roll:

Postby tr1ad » November 11th, 2009, 12:18 pm

back then it did.. and may still continue to affect society on a whole......

carry on lil youth

Postby DFC » November 11th, 2009, 12:19 pm

when my mammy dead...she cannot help me.. she cant do nothing for me.

who dead bury.

Its who alive we must see about!

Postby 16 cycles » November 11th, 2009, 12:21 pm

sigh @ that comment....

hear what...how about imparting some knowledge to people can understand the significance of this war and why all of us still alive and not under the rule of a tyrant?

still remember pops and them talking about ration cards...

Postby RASC » November 11th, 2009, 12:23 pm

Please Ignore the Troll. Thank You.

ebonysweetness69

Postby ebonysweetness69 » November 11th, 2009, 12:23 pm

everyone has a right to an opinion but that does not mean you trample and hurt other peoples' feelings. had you known some tuners are affected by the past, you wouldnt have been so blatant, but it's too late to recant your statement. Lesson to learn: Be sensitive to others.

Postby DFC » November 11th, 2009, 12:23 pm

yes..i have no idea..what this was was about or whatever..
what happened?...what was it like?

enlighten me.....and maybe..i may remove my comment!

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 11th, 2009, 12:30 pm

the point is not to get you ro remove your comment. The fact of the matter is that the WI and all the colnies made a sgnificant contribution to the WAR effort to stop the NAZI regime.
You have to remmeber, he was bent on world domination. Had he not been stopped ,there would be so much more bloodshed. Grandma would tell me about them having to douse the light when they heard the air siren. They lived on the edge of the oil fields in Barrackpore.She spoke of the shortages of food and the yankee dollar.
WW1 and 2 are claled the only real wars-not prompting a debate on wars past or since or present but they foudn for freedom so that I could have it today.

Postby r3iXmann » November 11th, 2009, 12:31 pm

ebonysweetness69 wrote:

everyone has a right to an opinion but that does not mean you trample and hurt other peoples' feelings. had you known some tuners are affected by the past, you wouldnt have been so blatant, but it's too late to recant your statement. Lesson to learn: Be sensitive to others.

It ain't even about that.

This fella mussbe watching war movies/games and think war is fantastic and all gung ho. Knowing that all these folks violently lost their lives, while fighting to survive in the face of bullets, wet trenches, poison gas,artillery shells etc for MY freedom (indirectly) is enough to make me care,even if I had no family there.

Postby buzz » November 11th, 2009, 12:33 pm

Grandma would tell me about them having to douse the light when they heard the air siren. They lived on the edge of the oil fields in Barrackpore.She spoke of the shortages of food and the yankee dollar.
WW1 and 2 are claled the only real wars-not prompting a debate on wars past or since or present but they foudn for freedom so that I could have it today.

damn right

i remember those stories

douse the lights or get bombed

ebonysweetness69

Postby ebonysweetness69 » November 11th, 2009, 12:35 pm

the_DFC wrote:yes..i have no idea..what this was was about or whatever..
what happened?...what was it like?

enlighten me.....and maybe..i may remove my comment!

If you don't understand the implications of the war, you are tooooooooo far gone. You are beyond the point of no return

Postby DFC » November 11th, 2009, 12:37 pm

i'm totally against war.

i'm a humanist! and realist.

i believe in seeing about the future and present..not cling on to the past as if it gonna change

if allyuh want to get emo about it fine...go cry over all the wars that happen!

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 11th, 2009, 12:39 pm

dude this is a celebration of the victory and the lives of those that gave it.
Not a sad event by any means.

Postby buzz » November 11th, 2009, 12:43 pm

i'm totally against war.

that war is responsibe for your freedom today :arrow:

Postby DFC » November 11th, 2009, 12:43 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:dude this is a celebration of the victory and the lives of those that gave it.
Not a sad event by any means.

well then go ahead and celebrate!

leave my cynicism alone!
lol.

i personally rather celebrate life, those who alive, those who doing things to help our society NOW.