$12000 fine or jail time fuh buyin cigarette loose.

Postby sharkman121 » November 11th, 2009, 5:52 am

So d government bussin man throat now if yuh buying cigarette loose.
Dey also bussin yuh throat if yuh sellin a man a cigarette loose.
Better yuh buy d whole pack and done dey say. :shock:

If you buy or sell loose cigarettes you will have to pay a fine of $12,000 and be imprisoned for 6 months.

Speaking in debate in the senate, Opposition senator Wade Mark slammed this prohibition. THis is Draconian Legislation. It is legislation to imprison and kidnap the ordinary member of the population. How could it be a criminal offence for a small owner of a parlour to retail one cigarette to an ordinary member of the public? "So u can sell me a pack to smoke myself to death, but not one or two cigarettes he added.

Mark said, if someone was trying to kick the smoking habit by buying cigarettes one at a time, the bill would be discouraging this, and doing the exact opposite of what is was intended to do, which is to curb the use of tobacco.

He added that with many people working for a $9 a day minimum wage, they could not afford to buy cigarettes by the packs, but only singly and this practice was very prevalent at the grassroot level of society.

"When i tell people about this bill, they cannot believe that there is a bill before parliament banning poor people from buying one cigarette", Mark said. :?

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161555881

Re: $12000 fine or jail time fuh buyin cigarette loose.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 11th, 2009, 5:55 am

sharkman121 wrote:
"When i tell people about this bill, they cannot believe that there is a bill before parliament banning poor people from buying one cigarette", Mark said. :?

poor people should not be buying cigarettes, especially when my tax dollars minding their 10 children

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 11th, 2009, 6:09 am

buh wuh d jail iz dis :evil:

Postby janfar » November 11th, 2009, 6:12 am

Good move, if yuh cant afford $18 for a pack then you shouldn't be buying cigarettes period.

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2009, 6:18 am

good for them, they dont wash my clothes when they blow smoke in my direction
smoke related illnesses are a major burden on the govt health system

Postby sharkman121 » November 11th, 2009, 6:27 am

This is a prime example of myopic thinking, why do we always put the cart before the horse.
I have to disagree with this, it will only serve to make criminals out of common men and women. Think abt the average retailer, do u think they will stop.

I understand the position the govt is trying to take but i think the approach was meted out hastily.

Personally, i think if the govt really wants to curb smoking, they know what to do....START AT THE HEAD. But then again, thats if they really wanna curb it and not jus put on a facade.

BTW.....the head are the manufacturers of local and importers of foreign cigarettes.

Postby janfar » November 11th, 2009, 6:30 am

sharkman121, how should the government curb smoking by starting at the head? what would you do in this case?

Postby sharkman121 » November 11th, 2009, 6:43 am

I believe a start can be made by implementing an ENFORCING the public smoking act, u can raise prices to $100 for one or watever exorbitant price u feel like, u can increase taxes an levies on import duties, whatevr is possibly imaginable but how could one criminalize the selling of retail cigarettes. Think abt the possible backlashes n repercussions.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 11th, 2009, 6:51 am

I stop smoking an ting eh, but making retails illegal?
WTF, it really is a bit draconian.

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » November 11th, 2009, 7:00 am

man if yuh want to take a smoke> take a smoke. Is trinidad.

Postby RBphoto » November 11th, 2009, 7:06 am

There is only one upside to this legislation, and that is selling singles in unhygenic. people hand have to touch something that going in your mouth? With swine flu et all, and if the shopkeeper don't wash their hands afeter going to the washroom, could spread deadly disease. It is not in the manufacturer's packaging and they are altering the product as packaged by the manufacturer.

That said, the guys that buy singles usually have imune systems better than the average joe's.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 11th, 2009, 7:18 am

So now we live in a cuntry where the fine for buying a cigarette is GReater than the fine for driving on the shoulder or having the ILLEGAL tint.

Our govt aint play they really have their priorities FCUKED up!

Postby X_Factor » November 11th, 2009, 7:25 am

jus now they might say u cant buy one bottle of beer
buy a case!!

fine for buying a cigarette

is probably more than the fine for weed and small amts of cocaine

Skanky

Postby Skanky » November 11th, 2009, 7:28 am

About 20-30% of the people who buy loose buy to smoke weed.What kind of ripple effect this going to have on them,weed supplies etc?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » November 11th, 2009, 7:31 am

Skanky wrote:About 20-30% of the people who buy loose buy to smoke weed.What kind of ripple effect this going to have on them,weed supplies etc?
spliff for the win

zaria

Postby zaria » November 11th, 2009, 7:32 am

I don't smoke,but that is tooo drastic.
If they get away with this then they moving on to one child per household,only one tele per house not exceeding 21".

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 11th, 2009, 7:32 am

Actually One child or NO child per househole in certain Areas will do this country a GREAT BENEFIT!

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » November 11th, 2009, 7:52 am

You all are missing the point. The Government is opening up an opportunity for entrepreneurs here. You need to get onto a boat, head to Venezuela and bring back contraband cigarettes by the case load. Set up an underground distribution network and become a millionaire then run for Executive President and win.

The Kennedy family ran an illegal alcohol business for years and became richer off of it. We all know of the family connection in US politics so if the Government is opening up this opportunity, you should be out there encouraging them to raise prices and stop single unit sales while at the same time you pumping out contraband goods and driving a Porsche.

Who here have ah boat ?

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » November 11th, 2009, 8:04 am

All the tobacco companies have to do is wrap singles in a plastic bag or something and call it a product.

According to Clause 31 (2): ’No person shall sell single cigarettes or other smoked tobacco products, or sell any smoked tobacco product other than as part of a complete and intact package that meets minimum quantity requirements. Clause 31 (3) A person who contravenes this section commits an offence and is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $12,000 and to imprisonment for six months’.

However,

Government wrapped up debate on the bill after it became clear that it was not going to get the requisite support needed to pass the special majority legislation. Independent Senators each expressed problems with different clauses in the bill.

Postby buzz » November 11th, 2009, 8:15 am

janfar wrote:sharkman121, how should the government curb smoking by starting at the head? what would you do in this case?

since when its the gov't job to curb smoking?

and they do make a mint off of WITCO so its not about "caring about the citizen"

all these muffler bearings whining about "dem doh wash my clothes/hair" and "smoking related health probles", i guess its not a problem when some muffler bearing crosses a median drunk no fcuk and kills/permanantely injures you or your family...

make noise about it on TV6 and all dem go say is "driver lost control of his vehicle" case closed :arrow:

while i understand there must be restrictions from cnuts blowing second hand all over the place, a $100 000 fine AND a year imprisionment?

so you can get caught stealing a kit kat bar in a shop much faster than killing someone in this country. priorities FTL

its this one sided selfish thinking that would forever leave us in the crime ridden 3rd world state were in; "it doh affect me so i doh care"

so yeah fcuk dem cigerette smokers buh when price of say {insert hobby/vice of your choice here} raise doh come bawl "oh gad d gov't dis an dat"

oh well if wasn't for smoking and tint a youth wouldn't have gotten killed in trincity mall saturday ohh and car thefts would drop :arrow:

disclaimer:
my post wasn't intended to attack janfar's post but all posts of "it good fuh dem smokers, i can't think for myself" type posts in this thread

*lights cig*

ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Postby Chimera » November 11th, 2009, 8:22 am

Just now they guh ban hookah :(

Postby Damien » November 11th, 2009, 8:22 am

What a stupid law bannana republic yes

Postby buzz » November 11th, 2009, 8:24 am

Damien wrote:What a stupid law bannana republic yes

Postby hydroep » November 11th, 2009, 8:25 am

Red Herring.

Postby buzz » November 11th, 2009, 8:29 am

smoke weed instead oui :lol:

oh and what if i give someone a ciggerette :|

after all i've never bought a cigerette other than a shop and i've never sold anyone a cigerette :|

[smokers code of ethics]

mossman

Postby mossman » November 11th, 2009, 8:30 am

when is this suppose to be effective from?

Postby buzz » November 11th, 2009, 8:31 am

bill still kocking around parliment

Postby Chimera » November 11th, 2009, 8:32 am

Powermint for sale powermint for sale $2 for a powermint- Free cigarette with every powermint purchase

Postby sharkman121 » November 11th, 2009, 8:34 am

X_Factor wrote:jus now they might say u cant buy one bottle of beer
buy a case!!

:D :D :D

Postby buzz » November 11th, 2009, 8:34 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Powermint for sale powermint for sale $2 for a powermint- Free cigarette with every powermint purchase

ent :lol: