Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby sMASH » November 9th, 2021, 4:07 pm

i know i over posting again, but

after the internal BP board meeting minutes got leaked, the meeting that said that there wasnt goig to be gas. bp came out and said that the leak was a mistake. but they didnt say the info was fake, jus taht the details was not supposed to be made public

they not laffing, they all over the world, dealing with politicians all over the world, wheeling and dealing them to sign contracts. they know the type, they know exactly what growlers what doing. they know funding the whole TAR was just rouse to funnel money out the treasury/ngc. growlers knew, they understood what he was doing.
rowley knew what he was doing, bp knew what rowley was doing, rowley knew that bp knew what he was doing

but the politics and economy of a shithole country is not their concern. once their profit margin large, every ting else matters not.

Postby Redman » November 9th, 2021, 4:07 pm

sMASH wrote:problem is, the pnm modis operandi : spend/waste the money out the treasury, apologize after the sheit hit the fan and u cant recoup the monies.

If it is that they made the decision for political reasons against the business info available then it's wrong

If they made the decisions in good faith and on what information they had then and it turned out wrong then that's different.

Postby sMASH » November 9th, 2021, 4:08 pm

Redman wrote:
sMASH wrote:problem is, the pnm modis operandi : spend/waste the money out the treasury, apologize after the sheit hit the fan and u cant recoup the monies.

If it is that they made the decision for political reasons against the business info available then it's wrong

If they made the decisions in good faith and on what information they had then and it turned out wrong then that's different.

the road to hell is paved with good faith decisions. like emailgate. modis operandi.
*oops, i did it again*

Postby De Dragon » November 9th, 2021, 4:14 pm

wtf wrote:BP and Shell Executives probably laughing at Rowley behind his back for going against them and Investing in train 1 when they had more facts than him that showed train 1 was dead.
PNM supporters to brain dead to comprehend the magnitude of this loss.
NGC board should be made to pay back every cent.

Especially when he shows up in his dotish scarf :roll:
Imagine being TOLD by the gas supplier, that there is NO but still plunging headlong into a hundreds of millions of dollars in debt :? It looks like the backlash/fallout wasn't anticipated though, because Goebbels and Enill still saying Train 1 negotiations in progress :roll: Only fully dunced like Red Colostomy Bag, Tunts7, Tokesy and the rest of the lame brain squad falling for that.

Postby The_Honourable » November 9th, 2021, 4:18 pm

Redman wrote:

The wettest of all steupz!!! :lol:

Postby De Dragon » November 9th, 2021, 4:20 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Redman wrote:

Typical dotish brainwashed LFD RFD PNM acolyte answer :lol:

Postby sMASH » November 9th, 2021, 4:22 pm

*in shamfa not-the-mama voice*
NO BODY BELIEVE DAT!!!

Postby The_Honourable » November 9th, 2021, 4:35 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Redman wrote:

Typical dotish brainwashed LFD RFD PNM acolyte answer :lol:

Hear nah... dey different yuh know.

So Redman why the board ask for personal indemnity? Simple, they know the decision made by Growlers was sheet and don't want to be part of that fan in case they get sued down the road. Just like the sheet decision he made playing big businessman during the houston energy negotiations in 2017. Ah tell allyuh already PNM can't do business.

Attempting to give red party a pass eh? UDFR with that good faith argument.

Postby Redman » November 9th, 2021, 4:41 pm

Lol
So not jumping up and down is trying to give them a pass?
Not wanting to hang everything PNM is giving a pass.

If they made the decision for crap reasons then jam them.
If not then don't.

Postby De Dragon » November 9th, 2021, 4:48 pm

Redman wrote:Lol

If not then don't.

Disingenuous thy name is Colos :roll:
You know fully well NONE of them can be held accountable, NGC got their indemnity, and JUHN Scarfy, Impsy and Goebbels will blame them. Or even nastier, they will pull a Malcolm Jones.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 9th, 2021, 4:52 pm

Their were lots of red flags made by observers before Rowley made the decision to invest in train 1. He ignored because he feel he is boss of everything.
I feel he will blame this blunder on dead man Franklyn Khan.
Rowley age getting to him. He making costly mistakes.

Postby timelapse » November 9th, 2021, 4:59 pm

Aye ! Is Kyamala fault!!

Postby Redman » November 9th, 2021, 6:02 pm

If not then don't.

You know fully well NONE of them can be held accountable, NGC got their indemnity, and JUHN Scarfy, Impsy and Goebbels will blame them. Or even nastier, they will pull a Malcolm Jones.

Lol
I say if they do wrong jam them
Smash say hang them
Honourable say UDFR with anything except guilty
You blathered.

Yet Im disingenuous.
Steups

Postby De Dragon » November 9th, 2021, 6:24 pm

Redman wrote:

If not then don't.

Lol
Smash say hang them
You blathered.

Yet Im disingenuous.
Steups

Yes, but they know that a hanging is impossible. You however, fully well know how LFD RFD PNM clowns JUHN Scarfy and Impsy stacked the deck, but coming to talk dotishness about "jam them" Did you ever say "jam them" for Malcolm Jones and Ken Julien?

Postby The_Honourable » November 9th, 2021, 6:54 pm

$230m Train 1 wreck

Express Editorial

Almost as an aside to his report on COP26, Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley all but pronounced the death of Atlantic LNG’s Train 1. His admission has come ten months after majority owners, Shell and BP pulled their plugs on Train 1, indicating there was no gas to support its continued operation and no business case to support its continuation.

To the astonishment of some, State-owned National Gas Company which has a 10 per cent stake in Train 1, countered with a rescue plan under which NGC would fund 100 per cent of the cost of keeping Train 1 alive for the duration of 2021.

Where Shell and BP saw no gas, NGC saw a potential supply line drawing gas diverted from its downstream clients at Point Lisas. These were clients engaged in active and advanced gas price negotiations and were resisting NGC’s attempt to pass on the price increase to which it was committed following the agreement struck between Dr Rowley and producers during his 2017 trip to Houston.

NGC’s Train 1 rescue plan was based on the calculation that the Covid-hit ammonia and methanol market would remain depressed and would prompt its downstream clients into “economic shutdown” which is an option contractually available to them when product prices fall below a defined threshold.

Unlike NGC which has a take-or-pay contract with the upstreamers, the downstream companies have no such obligation and can stop the clock on gas payments to NGC by invoking economic shutdowns.

As it turned out, NGC’s Train 1 high-risk rescue plan backfired when the gas that NGC was counting on failed to materialise. By the end of May, the State enterprise had thrown US$32.9 million (roughly TT$230 million) behind Train 1 with no sign of gas. Another US$6 million is said to have been racked up for the period June-July which was not paid as scheduled.

In early August, Atlantic terminated the funding arrangements giving the requisite two days’ notice to NGC effective August 5, 2021.

Throughout it all, and for months thereafter, the Government denied reports of the disastrous outcome of NGC’s investment in keeping Train 1 alive, insisting it was the subject of ongoing confidential negotiations. Not satisfied with pulling wool over the public’s eyes, a campaign was unleashed against journalist Curtis Williams seeking to undermine the credibility of his reporting. No less a personage than the prime minister threw words from a political platform.

Given Dr Rowley’s staunch support for the president of NGC the public has no reason to expect accountability in this matter. Perhaps, because the train of events started with Dr Rowley’s 2017 agreement to the payment of higher gas prices.

A notable aspect of the Train 1 misadventure is the role of the NGC board which was at first not convinced by the management’s plan but eventually approved the risky venture while securing itself with a personal and questionable indemnity.

The wastage of $230 million at a publicly-owned enterprise should trigger a full and independent investigation. However, given the governance failure and collapse of check-and-balances, there may be no one to bell this cat.

Source: https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/edi ... 8414f.html

Postby sMASH » November 9th, 2021, 7:26 pm

bp bg shell, the people who search for oil/gas reserves, said there was no gas.

what information on earth did sh!tkicker use to contest those surveys, and say there was infact gas?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 9th, 2021, 8:22 pm

sMASH wrote:bp bg shell, the people who search for oil/gas reserves, said there was no gas.

what information on earth did sh!tkicker use to contest those surveys, and say there was infact gas?
I tell you the man getting old and senile.
He will blame smiley for the blunder.

Postby sMASH » November 9th, 2021, 8:31 pm

red plastic said he might have made that decision in good faith, what did he base his faith on? lecotto?

Postby timelapse » November 9th, 2021, 8:44 pm

sMASH wrote:bp bg shell, the people who search for oil/gas reserves, said there was no gas.

De man is a geologist

Postby zoom rader » November 9th, 2021, 8:58 pm

sMASH wrote:red plastic said he might have made that decision in good faith, what did he base his faith on? lecotto?
Habit 7 set up Redman and left tuner .

Postby Redman » November 10th, 2021, 6:49 am

Redman wrote:

If not then don't.

Lol
Smash say hang them
You blathered.

Yet Im disingenuous.
Steups

Yes, but they know that a hanging is impossible. You however, fully well know how LFD RFD PNM clowns JUHN Scarfy and Impsy stacked the deck, but coming to talk dotishness about "jam them" Did you ever say "jam them" for Malcolm Jones and Ken Julien?

Lol...your position is the definition of disingenuous...and crap.

Blather on.

The indemnities requested do what now?
Were they actually granted?
Don't the indemnities lay this at the feet of the political directorate?

Postby sMASH » November 10th, 2021, 1:23 pm

lewwe sponsor a TAR in mittal, nah.... operations ready mode to produce the solar panel supports for the 700acre solar farm

Postby The_Honourable » November 11th, 2021, 8:57 am

Curtis Williams unpatriotic today...

Stop the spin... for the sake of the children

National Gas Company (NGC) President Mark Loquan

Atlantic LNG Train 1 is dead. It is as simple as that. No amount of spin, no amount of stalling, no amount of attacking the media and citizens, no amount of blaming the multinationals, no amount of hand wringing will change that. The gas is simply not there, will not be there any time soon and the corollary of all of that is the National Gas Company’s ill-fated attempt to save Train 1 has failed and the money gone down the proverbial drain.

On Saturday a forlorn-looking Prime Minister, Dr Keith Christopher Rowley held a news conference upon his return from Glasgow and effectively said what this column and newspaper has reported for almost a year, that Train 1 is effectively dead and all that is left to be done is the zipping up the proverbial body bag.

He said; “It is not for the Government to just walk out of a situation on Train 1. Train 1 is integrally connected to Trains 2, 3 and 4 and it’s not that we own the business, we are only a ten per cent owner but as a country, we have a much larger interest than ten per cent so we would be the last person to walk away from the table on Train 1 but in the discussions that we have been having, we as a Government would have done and we continue to give hope for the breathing of life into Train 1 until the doctor says it’s dead.”

Rowley continued; “I think the doctor is putting on his coat right now and we had the kind of discussions where, with BP and Shell, particularly with BP, the largest gas producer, where, … initially we relied, Government relied, when we extended the life of Train 1 for five years and BP was engaged in an infield drilling programme, we anticipated a positive out-turn. As fate would have it, BP drilled a number of dry holes and had to, in the end, confirm that we don’t have the gas for Train 1.”

The Prime Minister said as a 10 per cent shareholder in the Train 1 project, T&T had to spend some money to keep its options open but now the discussion was more about how to salvage the projects going forward.

“We spent, I think it is about US$33 million to keep the Train 1 option open, not only for negotiation purposes but also for the possibility that if gas was available that we would continue. I think we can now conclude that the gas is not there because BP has not been successful,” the PM said.

“What we discussed is what BP is going to do going forward in terms of investing and again keep continuing to try to find more gas in the Columbus Basin and elsewhere. ... so that being so, the shareholders of Train 1 now have and we have agreed that by the end of the first quarter of 2022, we will take a definitive decision on how we together do what has to be done about Train 1 and attempt to conclude the restructuring of Trains 2, 3 and 4 where all the shareholders will have their interest well served in a restructured arrangement of the 2, 3 and 4 trains. So that is well underway and that was part of our discussions.”

It was in December last year that the Business Guardian broke the unfortunate news to the country that Train 1 would have to be shut down come January 2021.

The story was immediately seized upon by the Opposition United National Congress and it raised the issue in the Parliament.

From December 4, until last Sunday the government has tried to spin to the population that the Guardian’s reporting was false and misleading.

The former Energy Minister, the late Franklin Khan led the charge telling the Parliament that the story was inaccurate and Train 1 will be running all of 2021. History will show this was simply not accurate.

Khan told the Parliament; “Madam Speaker Atlantic Train One will not be shutting down in January 2021. Train One will continue to operate in 2021 and will be part of wider negotiations which have been taking place among the Atlantic LNG shareholders to form one unitised facility encompassing all four trains.”

It must be understood that while Khan was saying Train 1 would be saved at the same time the National Gas Company was committing itself to pay for the turnaround of the plant, and its maintenance for 2021 which, if it had kept to its contract, would have added up to well over $400 million. The Prime Minister appeared pleased that the loss of a quarter billion dollars was a reasonable gamble.

Based on documents the Business Guardian has we have confirmed that the government knew on December 3, 2020 that there would be no gas for Train 1 as the country’s largest natural gas supplier and the only supplier to Train 1, bpTT wrote to the NGC advising the state-owned company that it (bpTT) would not be delivering its full daily contracted quantities (DCQ) for contract year 2021. bpTT further advised NGC in that very December 3, 2020 email, that NGC should take this into consideration before making any decision to invest in Train 1.

NGC—led by its president Mark Loquan—was convinced that it could procure the required gas for Train 1 and advised the Board and the Keith Rowley government to pursue the unilateral funding of the Train 1 Turnaround (upgrade) and to fund the maintenance of the Train 1 operations.

New documents provided to the Business Guardian confirm Loquan and Verlier Quan Vie, the NGC’s Vice President Commercial, led the charge in the move by NGC to take advantage of the fact that Yara, Tringen and MHTL were all in active and advanced negotiations with NGC around December 2020. Due to COVID and the effects on methanol and ammonia prices, a couple of the plants at Point Lisas also invoked the “economic shutdown” option clause in their contracts which allowed them to unilaterally shutdown their plants for specific periods of time without any liability once methanol and ammonia prices dropped below a certain threshold. The “economic shutdown” option proved itself risky and not well thought out by Loquan and Quan Vie because while downstream plants can invoke it unilaterally, once the pricing threshold is reached, NGC had no coverage against this in its upstream contracts. In other words, NGC could not invoke “economic shutdown” in any of its upstream contracts but still offered this option to many of its downstream customers.

Under the failed plan, the gas would be “freed up” as it appeared that the Yara plant, the Tringen 1 plant and one of the then four operating MHTL methanol plants would continue and that methanol and ammonia prices would remain depressed for most of 2021 and therefore the plants that were involved “economic shutdown” would remain closed for all or most of 2021. They also assumed that the Methanex plant which was down, as they could not agree on a gas price in the renewal discussions with NGC, would remain down because the NGC had no plan to offer a better price to Methanex for the gas needed by Titan and Methanex was not prepared to budge on the issue. Even amidst high methanol prices, Titan remains closed.

The NGC’s chairman Conrad Enill admitted as much during an interview on I95.5fm when he explained what the situation was like in December 2020.

“We looked at the situation where we had gas, domestic gas, and yes Curtis is correct, BP wrote us and said to us, listen we have some shortages, we think it is going to be about a month or so, we understood that was normal and we could deal with that. So we were working on the basis that we had gas, and we had no takers. We had planned a Train 1 maintenance of which the NGC would pay some portion because we are part owners in Train 1,” Enill revealed.

He added, “Atlantic came to us and said, we need you to make a decision because by January 12th, 2021 if you do not commit to the maintenance on this plant, the next opportunity that you have is in a November of 2021, because immediately, as soon as your plant is maintained, we have to do shutdowns on two and then three in the normal course of things......

“We found ourselves in a situation therefore where, NGC took the decision that we are going to support the maintenance of the plant although the others (bpTT, Shell, the Chinese investors) decided that they were not going to so do, because we understood that we had gas that was available for domestic (use) which we were negotiating, which if it had been converted to LNG would have at least given us some revenue. That was in December.

Yet the government up to the Budget debate last month still tried to spin the issue and pretend the negotiations were live and too complex for ordinary citizens to understand.

Over the last year, the Business Guardian has kept faith with its readers and reported factually and with deep analysis on the situation.

For reporting on this major public interest issue and bringing the facts into the public domain, which is the essence of journalism, I have been attacked by the Prime Minister, the Minister of Energy and their proxies.

All have attempted to rubbish the reports while stoutly defending the NGC and, more specifically, its president.

Curiously, in performing the media’s role as watchdog, I have not only been vilified by a government that shows no appetite for holding the NGC to account but by individuals trading on their past in the profession of journalism or as Energy Experts who were prepared to ignore the truth.

I really wish it did not come to this. I wish our leaders had made better decisions because I know Aria, Che, Nathaniel, Makela, and Kalyise are counting on our leaders to do better and those of us entrusted with the responsibility of the fourth estate to speak truth to power and hold people to account.

It’s time the spin comes to an end.

Source: https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/sto ... 892ed09a29

Postby zoom rader » November 11th, 2021, 10:07 am

^^^ what a mess sadly the uneducated red government supporters won't understand these things.

All they know is to vote for Rowlee

Postby sMASH » November 11th, 2021, 10:17 am

big men bussing up other big men.. the rats fleeing. they trying to spin it as plausible that it would have gas. but the gas that MIGHT have been in consideration was that which was contracted to the other plants, just not being used because of the ekonomiks. as soon as they got their markets back, that gas woudl NEEED to be rerouted back to them, away from tr1.

all the spin they trying to pin it on loquan, it had no gas. what ever gas was jess borrow from the down plants.

same reason why the compressor project was a failure, that low pressure was due to no gas from off shore, the booster compressors cant boost gas pressure if it have no gas to boost with.

Postby zoom rader » November 11th, 2021, 10:25 am

^^^Soon you will hear Kams to blame

Postby MaxPower » November 11th, 2021, 10:47 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^Soon you will hear Kams to blame

Correct.

Postby De Dragon » November 11th, 2021, 7:38 pm

Redman wrote:

If not then don't.

Lol
Smash say hang them
You blathered.

Yet Im disingenuous.
Steups

Lol...your position is the definition of disingenuous...and crap.

Blather on.

The indemnities requested do what now?
Were they actually granted?

Don't the indemnities lay this at the feet of the political directorate?

Red Caca Fack, those indemnities were granted.
You're a cnut, a big dotish dingleberry cnut. This is what you're focussing on because you have absolutely no defense for you husband/God wasteful criminal spending on Train 1. Then again, like your coccoloks, you maintain that 500M is small ting :roll:

Postby De Dragon » November 11th, 2021, 7:43 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ what a mess sadly the uneducated red government supporters won't understand these things.

Then dotish cnuts like Red Colostomy Bag want to argue still after multiple people told him that no one with any kind of sense would NEVER spend 500M on a hopeless project, because he GOD JUHN say "eet have gyas" it jes coming out meh cacahole.

Postby zoom rader » November 11th, 2021, 8:54 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ what a mess sadly the uneducated red government supporters won't understand these things.

Then dotish cnuts like Red Colostomy Bag want to argue still after multiple people told him that no one with any kind of sense would NEVER spend 500M on a hopeless project, because he GOD JUHN say "eet have gyas" it jes coming out meh cacahole.
Redman silent last few days.