Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby sMASH » November 30th, 2022, 10:11 pm

200mmscfpd,,, dat is like what, 4 plants? bit rusty on the consumptions

Postby De Dragon » November 30th, 2022, 10:16 pm

sMASH wrote:200mmscfpd,,, dat is like what, 4 plants? bit rusty on the consumptions

Yes, that is 4 plants roughly, BUT there is that pesky 1.1 BILLION SCFD shortfall to make up for first.

Postby sMASH » November 30th, 2022, 10:27 pm

they might leave that jess so, and either supply murica, or honor the green hydrogen deals they sign with eu or whoever. they gonna use one of the tringen to create hydrogen.

unless, they work out with biden to get dragon gas going.

Postby De Dragon » November 30th, 2022, 11:09 pm

sMASH wrote:they might leave that jess so, and either supply murica, or honor the green hydrogen deals they sign with eu or whoever. they gonna use one of the tringen to create hydrogen.

With falling domestic gas production in Trinidad & Tobago over the past few years, Trinidad’s total LNG exports have been decreasing with LNG production in the first 5 months of 2022 just 57% of the peak production achieved in 2009. While this decline in production means that Trinidad does not have the gas resources immediately available to deliver more gas to Europe, it does mean that there is significant underutilised midstream infrastructure and available LNG gasification facilities available. Unlike other producers, Trinidad does not need to secure significant investment in greenfield processing facilities to make more gas available for delivery to international markets. Train 1 of the Atlantic LNG export facility, with a processing capacity of 3 million tonnes per year of LNG, has been offline since 2020.

This underutilised LNG processing capacity represents a significant opportunity if Trinidad & Tobago could increase its domestic gas production. Major gas producers in Trinidad & Tobago, including Shell, bp and EOG Resources do have projects either in execution or under development that could help shore up falling gas production. However, these projects are unlikely to increase overall production and will just help offset natural reservoir decline. Woodside, who recently acquired the upstream petroleum assets of BHP, are reviewing the development options for the 3.,5 trillion cubic feet of natural gas resources announced for the Calypso Project along with their partner bp, but this gas is unlikely to be available until nearer the end of the decade.

Postby sMASH » November 30th, 2022, 11:19 pm

all that mean is we hadda fite to merely keep treading water with our feilds.

but, recent ease up on vene sanctions could mean we might get access to the dragon gas.

Postby nervewrecker » December 1st, 2022, 5:21 am

sMASH wrote:they might leave that jess so, and either supply murica, or honor the green hydrogen deals they sign with eu or whoever. they gonna use one of the tringen to create hydrogen.

Majority shares in TGU owned by those that wear green. New towers and lines being run from TGU cross country to minimise downtime incidents, have multiple feeders and have infrastructure that can accommodate the load.

We moving towards electrolysis like the other plants they have?

Also, they proposed recently that 4 - 5 new plants be built but to ship out if I'm not mistaken.

Postby sMASH » December 1st, 2022, 9:34 am

Majority shares in TGU owned by those that wear green. New towers and lines being run from TGU cross country to minimise downtime incidents, have multiple feeders and have infrastructure that can accommodate the load.

We moving towards electrolysis like the other plants they have?

Also, they proposed recently that 4 - 5 new plants be built but to ship out if I'm not mistaken.

some body say, those new plants is world wide, not necessarily trinidad.

electrolysis is inefficient compared to nat gas reforming.
so, burning nat gas to generate electricity, then to separate water to generate hydrogen is jess lying.
they will hadda wait till solar and wind turbine pumping to do that electrolysis ting,,,

Postby sMASH » February 18th, 2023, 4:38 pm

Any body coukd get a P&ID or process overview fir the wgtl plant?

Want to see how they make their diesel

wing

Postby wing » February 18th, 2023, 5:03 pm

They definitely won't give you any p&ids, that's proprietary information. However, you can search on this website: http://www.google.com and visit the niquan energy page and for more information, type "gas to liquids" and you will find a general process description. You're welcome.

Postby sMASH » February 18th, 2023, 6:03 pm

Them use my instrumentation drawings to retrofit the gauges and switches.

I should have taken arshad number when I saw him, oui.

Postby sMASH » February 18th, 2023, 6:06 pm

Dat?
Dat real jokey.
Screenshot_2023-02-18-18-06-05-837_org.mozilla.firefox.jpg

wing

Postby wing » February 18th, 2023, 6:09 pm

sMASH wrote:Them use my instrumentation drawings to retrofit the gauges and switches.

Arshad was only involved in construction and commissioning, his company's involvement is over. He shouldn't have those drawings in his possession. Of course I will not share his contact information with some stranger on tuner.
Also how in depth do you want to know the process? Unless you want to go work there. But apparently it's a PNM financier so you won't be interested.

Postby sMASH » February 18th, 2023, 6:14 pm

wing wrote:
sMASH wrote:Them use my instrumentation drawings to retrofit the gauges and switches.

Arshad was only involved in construction and commissioning, his company's involvement is over. He shouldn't have those drawings in his possession. Of course I will not share his contact information with some stranger on tuner.
All they ask for is the badge and one of the nsme tags on the coveralls, when u leaving . Lol

Oh gosh, Come nah man...
I wah see dat carbon capture.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » February 18th, 2023, 8:14 pm

Front-end, many steam headers, wax etc

Postby sMASH » February 18th, 2023, 8:32 pm

So they saying that co2 injection is carbon capture? Wow, lol okay.

And the back.... Like,

I need a p n Id. The detsils is what I interested in.

I have an idea, just need a comparison.

Postby nervewrecker » February 18th, 2023, 9:54 pm

sMASH wrote:So they saying that co2 injection is carbon capture? Wow, lol okay.

And the back.... Like,

Isnt it? At any given time a volume of CO2 is contained.

Postby De Dragon » February 19th, 2023, 6:39 am

And the back.... Like,

Yes, and methanol plants have been doing it since the early nineties here.

Postby nervewrecker » February 19th, 2023, 7:45 am

And the back.... Like,

Yes, and methanol plants have been doing it since the early nineties here.

*starts daydreaming*

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2023, 8:29 am

Lol... REcapture, as it was the waste product from a previous process.

But where they getting their co2 from?
From an auto thermal like methanex?

Or do they have some other process that co2 is a waste?

If u have to generate it to use it. Then they really should not claim carbon capture..

If Dat is carbon capture, then. The process is also methane capture. Cause methane is a green house gas and also injected into the process.

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2023, 8:31 am

But I really interested in if the syngss is reacted directly into diesel, or Is it reacted into an intermediary material, that then is used to synthesize into diesel in a subsequent step.

Like how dme is done. Syngas > MeOH >dme

Postby nervewrecker » February 19th, 2023, 8:46 am

sMASH wrote:Lol... REcapture, as it was the waste product from a previous process.

If u have to generate it to use it. Then they really should not claim carbon capture..

If Dat is carbon capture, then. The process is also methane capture. Cause methane is a green house gas and also injected into the process.

Open to correction here but CO2 is removed from the atmosphere. I know for a fact massy sells CO2 because I asked about it for usage. Unsure if they purchase from massy or have their own plant. There is a nitrogen plant on site, compressor, condenser etc, cant recall seeing a CO2 plant.

CO2 increases efficiency and yield.

I think CGCL has their own CO2 plant to capture from the atmosphere.

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2023, 10:01 am

sMASH wrote:Lol... REcapture, as it was the waste product from a previous process.

Open to correction here but CO2 is removed from the atmosphere. I know for a fact massy sells CO2 because I asked about it for usage. Unsure if they purchase from massy or have their own plant. There is a nitrogen plant on site, compressor, condenser etc, cant recall seeing a CO2 plant.

CO2 increases efficiency and yield.

I think CGCL has their own CO2 plant to capture from the atmosphere.
Some process plants generate co2 by burning methane with air. The ammonia plants do so to remove carbon from the gas streams. Some methanol pants use the co2 waste from the ammonia pants, as feed stock for its process. It co2 makes the process more efficient as its brings it closer to stoichiometric.
Some methanol plants don't have access to co2, so add air to burn some of the methane feedstock. The waste products of that would be co2 and water, and the proportions get to be more stoichiometric that way.
The mass flow rates required for the big plants is significantly higher than what the gas distillers like Massey, could supply.

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2023, 10:05 am

Cgcl capturing co2 from the air is music to my ears. I was wondering of it is feasible to extract co2 from air, as it's a lot of air to process, to get the co2 in the quantities necessary for a process plant.

Now I want to know how THEY do it... Do they do like the ammonia pants and chemically scrub it from air, or would they do like what I thinking about doing and chill it from the air....

Postby nervewrecker » February 19th, 2023, 10:19 am

sMASH wrote:Cgcl capturing co2 from the air is music to my ears. I was wondering of it is feasible to extract co2 from air, as it's a lot of air to process, to get the co2 in the quantities necessary for a process plant.

Now I want to know how THEY do it... Do they do like the ammonia pants and chemically scrub it from air, or would they do like what I thinking about doing and chill it from the air....

I could ask but as of late I have come to the conclusion that some of these plants are populated with complete brain dead morons that have not one clue as to what is going on. The only way you sure to get accurate info is if you find an engineer and ask, even some of those got in by jumping over the back fence and wearing a nomex with company logo.

Classic example, if you none the wiser, people swear by the fact LNG is frozen for transport in marine vessels. This is to minimize the rocking movements from turbulence.

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2023, 12:29 pm

Wtf!!,
Bro...

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2023, 12:31 pm

It's INNN the name... Like boy scouts.
LIQUIFIED natural gas.

The ting about trini I can't stand is, they invent a reason to justify the bs.

*rocking of boats*.

Do they freeze the oils on tankers too....

Mc.

Postby nervewrecker » February 19th, 2023, 3:54 pm

sMASH wrote:It's INNN the name... Like boy scouts.
LIQUIFIED natural gas.

The ting about trini I can't stand is, they invent a reason to justify the bs.

*rocking of boats*.

Do they freeze the oils on tankers too....

Mc.

LNG is just the name of the place they said :roll:

i asked the same thing, if they freeze oil, fuel and methanol.

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2023, 4:47 pm

Mc

Postby nervewrecker » February 19th, 2023, 6:04 pm

From what I recall carbon is obtained from the syngas stream, plant can run without carbon from other sources but additional CO2 is welcome to increase yields. I really dont recall seeing a carbon dioxide plant on site.

Leme see what I dig up.

I also do recall seeing a tuner badge on someone ride there, if only the person will come forward.