Trinidad's National Academy for the Performing Arts

Postby AllTrac » November 9th, 2009, 11:57 am

Such a majestic beauty, musicians now have a home, I am so proud to see this accomplishment, well done Udecott and Calder hart, money well spent Min of Culture, this would definitely help us all, it was finished on time and no over drafts, it stuck to the budget and within the quote. I feel so proud to see it, anyone else get to check it out?
This is one time I give the PNM administration big ups, they are on the right track. Anyone has pics?

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » November 9th, 2009, 12:00 pm

:wtf: :?: :? :|

Postby Maserati » November 9th, 2009, 12:04 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161554565
Is the new National Academy for the Performing Arts in Port of Spain like Godzilla trampling over the city or a beautiful gazelle poised gracefully above us?

The views of citizens are mixed.

Some stand in awe of it, while others dismiss it as a ghastly building, unfit for the architectural ambience of the capital city.

What we are told, however, is that Prime Minister Patrick Manning thinks it is more beautiful than the Sydney opera house in Australia.

Director and president of Overseas Business of the Shanghai Construction Group (SCG) Tong Ji Sheng, in an interview at his Shanghai headquarters last Wednesday, said Manning told him this.

Manning is apparently not the only one who is so enamoured.

Someone else described the Academy ’like a pearl in Trinidad and Tobago and the Caribbean area’, Sheng said.

This ’pearl’’ is apparently so precious to the Shanghai Construction Group that Sheng is visiting Trinidad and Tobago this weekend to inspect the Academy, which he described as a ’complicated project... using the most advanced technology’.

More Chinese workers were brought in by the SCG to finish the Academy on time for tomorrow’s handing over ceremony by the Urban Development Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago Ltd (UDeCOTT).

The grand opening ceremony of the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) is also set to take place at the Academy on November 27.

Sheng said work was being done on the electrical and gas supply as well as the plaza last week, and the mega project was nearing an end.

The construction period was shortened by six months and Sheng said he was confident the end cost would be quite low in the context of the local construction market.

A cost of $358 million was given by former culture minister Joan Yuille-Williams in response to a question by Opposition MP Dr Tim Gopeesingh in Parliament in 2007, but the final figure is not yet revealed.

The Academy is not the only building outside China built by the SCG that is causing a stir.

Sheng boasted that the SCG recently completed the Chinese Embassy in the United States, which is being marvelled at by many senior US officials.

This too was done at a low cost in a short time, he said.

In Shanghai, the SCG logo is plastered everywhere. The group is now building the Shanghai Tower, the tallest building in the world, in China at 630 metres; it just constructed the riveting red China pavilion for Expo 2010 in Shanghai; has built bridges over rivers and the sea and airport terminals.

Trinidad and Tobago’s relationship with the SCG started ten years ago-the first five an exploratory period of getting to know and understand the local construc- tion market.

It is, however, undeniably a somewhat strained relationship, with local contractors crying unfairness and lack of transparency in the awarding of contracts, an outcry so audible that an enquiry is taking place into UDeCOTT and the construction sector.

This has not fazed the SCG and it has no plans to exit the Trinidad and Tobago market.

Sheng has described the SCG as the most influential construction company in Trinidad and Tobago today.

’With our good quality, quick speed and low cost, we are competitive. Our success may contribute to the good image of China construction companies in Trinidad and Tobago,’ he added.

There are at least two more Chinese construction companies that are in charge of building projects in Trinidad and Tobago.

According to Sheng, the SCG has observed that Trinidad and Tobago has two 20-year development plans and since this country has a big influence in the Caribbean area, ’we hope to explore the neighbouring construction market’ and to ’turn our company into a local company based in Trinidad and Tobago’.

The company also plans to include local labourers and overcome the big problem of how to better employ local resources, such as engineers, in their projects here as well as offer contracts to good construction companies.

In the last five years, SCG has also built the Prime Minister’s residence and diplomatic centre, refurbished the old Piarco airport terminal in time for the Fifth Summit of the Americas last April, and is currently building the Ministry of Education Tower.

Asked whether he can guarantee the safety of all these buildings, Sheng said confidently that if a problem occurs ’you can put me in jail in Trinidad and Tobago’.

He cautioned, though, that the buildings should be maintained every three to five years, ’just as we should wash and iron our clothes’.

If there is no maintenance, he said the buildings won’t collapse, but would look ’miserable’.

Sheng hopes the SCG’s efforts in Trinidad and Tobago will better contribute to the country’s economic and social development and that citizens will not only see the bad side but the good image set by the Chinese group.

Features

The 429,093-square-foot Academy features the following:

- A 1,500-seat performance hall;

- Two practice halls;

- Teaching rooms;

- State-of-the-art lighting and sound features;

- Stages designed to showcase pannists and other artistes;

- A hotel;

- Landscaped surroundings, including seating areas, water features and greenery;

- Parking facilities.

Postby Greypatch » November 9th, 2009, 12:12 pm

so we cya have ah retro fete ?

d spike

Postby d spike » November 9th, 2009, 12:17 pm

I would love to share with you all the beauty and wonderment of that beautiful building, but my camera was stolen when my car was taken away at gunpoint. I went to the police, but I was told to find the car so it could be fingerprinted... I have to concern myself now with finding funds to go to a private doctor (tried the hospital, but the lines of swine flu sufferers had incapacitated the system) to treat a bite I received from a raving vagrant while I was standing on the street corner, trying to raise funds, both for my newly raised rent and for my neighbour's kidnapped daughter's ransom.

Sorry.
Last edited by d spike on November 9th, 2009, 12:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » November 9th, 2009, 12:17 pm

wonders how long before it turns into basically "emancipation performing arts academy"

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 9th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Trac you Inhaled did you :twisted:

evo-STI-k

Re: Trinidad's National Academy for the Performing Arts

Postby evo-STI-k » November 9th, 2009, 12:19 pm

AllTrac wrote:Such a majestic beauty, musicians now have a home, I am so proud to see this accomplishment, well done Udecott and Calder hart, money well spent Min of Culture, this would definitely help us all, it was finished on time and no over drafts, it stuck to the budget and within the quote. I feel so proud to see it, anyone else get to check it out?
This is one time I give the PNM administration big ups, they are on the right track. Anyone has pics?

:out: or please tell me your entire paragraph is a perfect example of Sarcasm!

That sutucture is a TOTAL waste of taxpayers money, and its a shame that no local input was utilitized !

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 9th, 2009, 12:22 pm

Freelander wrote:wonders how long before it turns into basically "emancipation performing arts academy"

will be interesting to see when they would like to use the venue for indian arrival day celebrations! :roll:

Postby AllTrac » November 9th, 2009, 12:24 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:
AllTrac wrote:Such a majestic beauty, musicians now have a home, I am so proud to see this accomplishment, well done Udecott and Calder hart, money well spent Min of Culture, this would definitely help us all, it was finished on time and no over drafts, it stuck to the budget and within the quote. I feel so proud to see it, anyone else get to check it out?

:out: or please tell me your entire paragraph is a perfect example of Sarcasm!

That sutucture is a TOTAL waste of taxpayers money, and its a shame that no local input was utilitized !

no sarcasm there, im really proud of it, crime, roads, hospitals etc is nto the only responsibility of the Government, the Ministry of Culture has delivered, they deserve the kudos. When they do sheit im with you all with the bashing, but give jack he jacket, this was a job well done, all the Udecott haters, take that in yuh rukung katungkung

Postby crazybalhead » November 9th, 2009, 12:25 pm

Every large project has its detractors. There is always something "better to spend the money on". My take on it is that sometimes the Gov't has to go beyond these naysayers to produce infrastructure of this type. The 2mil flag? WOFT. The Arts Center, lovely and national inspiration.

Postby AllTrac » November 9th, 2009, 12:26 pm

evo-STI-k wrote: and its a shame that no local input was utilitized !

thank god! if it was this project would of never be delivered.

Postby SUPAstarr » November 9th, 2009, 12:28 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Every large project has its detractors. There is always something "better to spend the money on". My take on it is that sometimes the Gov't has to go beyond these naysayers to produce infrastructure of this type. The 2mil flag? WOFT. The Arts Center, lovely and national inspiration.

so when we ...err wait.. when yuh goin an do donuts in de driveway...see how wide eet is

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 9th, 2009, 12:30 pm

Um- AllTrac- check and inquire as to the tendering process of that entire project.
Check and see if there was a proper and equal process put in place for that.

that company that you mentioned in there deserves nothign but comdemnation for its ILLEGAL actions!

But feel free to go and take in the opening ceremony

Postby noshownogo » November 9th, 2009, 12:30 pm

last week Wednesday night i passed and opera music was blasting while lights lit the structure, i must say it was impressive. I suppose they were doing some tests but it did catch my attention, imagine how it would look lit at night from the Lady Young lookout.

God alone knows ah cyar stop there at night

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 9th, 2009, 12:31 pm

Man those fountains are very refreshing.. the water nice and cold in the night.

Postby AllTrac » November 9th, 2009, 12:32 pm

noshownogo, there is a fountain surrounding it, when it comes up, you hear music.

d spike

Postby d spike » November 9th, 2009, 12:37 pm

The tune of "Put another nickel in", no doubt.

Postby hydroep » November 9th, 2009, 12:46 pm

Looks can be deceiving.

During the UDECOTT enquiry there were a number of interest groups who said that it wasn't suitable for their disciplines.

The Pom Pek countered by saying that it was never intended to be a concert hall or a theater but an institution of learning. To house facilities for varying art forms certain compromises had to be made.

But say what? It does look pretty, don't it Sam?...:lol:

Oleander

Postby Oleander » November 9th, 2009, 12:48 pm

It is a beautiful structure.. One that I am proud of.. but it makes Trinidad no better than it was.
It's very bittersweet actually because it enhances our country but creates no real real value.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 9th, 2009, 12:56 pm

I'm with Trac on this!!!!!

Kudos and Applauds go out to those who saw it fit to initiate and see through a centre that would aim to provide an avenue for those who would wish to enjoy an eclectic culture that may may not be readily available live for locals.........

I for one never truly understood the big deal behind the steelpan until I heard it live.....that was one memorable occassion and through the provision of such a facility, not only would "hopefully" the citizeny be able to enjoy such melodies but also experience those of conventional instruments and music....as well as vocal interpretations!!!!

Well done!!!!! but somehow the stage in them pics I see in one of the dailies ain't looking all that smooth.....

DTAC

Postby DTAC » November 9th, 2009, 1:12 pm

They could have made a building with the exact same functionality for a fraction of the cost. But it alright because everyone in Trinidad is rich.

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » November 9th, 2009, 1:41 pm

only a certain segment of the society would have access 0X

btw, what is the ROI in this project?

Postby RBphoto » November 9th, 2009, 2:21 pm

DTAC wrote:They could have made a building with the exact same functionality for a fraction of the cost. But it alright because everyone in Trinidad is rich.

WTF? so they should just build a big square building without any artistic component?

I endorse this building AND the flag. I know it is unpopular to do so at this time, but they are both are aestheticly pleasing to the landscape of Port-of-Spain. There are some cars on the road that cost more than 2 mill.

Postby X2 » November 9th, 2009, 3:14 pm

crossdrilled wrote: There are some cars on the road that cost more than 2 mill.

Those cars are typically not paid for in tax dollars... PLUS they bringing IN REVENUE to the country.

I have no quams, the building looks really nice... but badly situated, will cause traffic nightmares and wait till they figure out where to put the parking lot...

*cough*museum*cough*

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 9th, 2009, 3:19 pm

gunsmoke wrote:only a certain segment of the society would have access 0X

once they have the following criteria then?

- PNM Membership Card
- Look, Speak and Smell like a GUNTA
- Not educated but know a thing or two about local, regional and international African music and associated instruments
- Own a compact Japanese roll-on roll-off car namely Sunny N16, B15, Altis, Lancer, Civic equipped with RICE, alot of ICE, CRIMS, illegal blue, green and red lights, fake leather interiors and lack of tint.

well GUNTAS are now officially HD like Machel.

****i went last night to see the place and the water have plastic bottles and empty chicken and chips boxes floating around, they walking all over the just planted plants and other decorative shrubs, the parking lot have "ah set of" oil leaks from them people Sunny's and other related nonsense they walking and touching what the cleaners just mop and wipe since in tiles and glass all over. So, like the new Tranquillity Gov't School that was opened 2 months ago these expensive structures will be destroyed by the said GUNTlets and GUNTAS in record time.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » November 9th, 2009, 3:43 pm

AllTrac wrote:noshownogo, there is a fountain surrounding it, when it comes up, you hear music.

finally the government is looking after the homeless by providing communal showers. and to include shower music extreemly thoughtfull

Logic42

Postby Logic42 » November 9th, 2009, 3:47 pm

i went sat. night, and it looked pretty clean to me, but i guess it doesn't stay that way for long. probably the most impressive thing i saw was that the fountains that surround the building is somewhat of a graphic EQ in sync with whatever is playing through the external speakers.

::Civic::

Postby ::Civic:: » November 9th, 2009, 4:48 pm

Kudos and Applauds go out to those who saw it fit to initiate and see through a centre that would aim to provide an avenue for those who would wish to enjoy an eclectic culture that may may not be readily available live for locals.........

~˜VëgŲ˜~
you kidding me right? Have you and others forgotten about places like Queens' Hall? No doubting the Performance Arts Academy is a beautiful architectural structure but what an unbelievable WASTE of my taxpayers' dollars. This is ridiculous when they could've simply upgraded Queen's Hall for a fraction of the cost of this?!

It is quite clear that the looks of this building was the priority just to soothe emperor Manning's ego when CHOGM going on. The man continues to rape my pocket every month, take money out to soothe his ego.

Given this building and Queens Hall near to his house why d france he needed to build a concert hall too on his residential compound?!

Give me a break! Allyuh jokin! :evil:

D citizens of this country need to take a serious look at how much taxes we paying from all over and ask ourselves if we really getting what we deserve!
Last edited by ::Civic:: on November 9th, 2009, 4:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » November 9th, 2009, 4:49 pm

For those who wanted pics, look here: http://phototrini.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=1295

x2floor wrote:
gunsmoke wrote:only a certain segment of the society would have access 0X

once they have the following criteria then?

- PNM Membership Card
- Look, Speak and Smell like a GUNTA
- Not educated but know a thing or two about local, regional and international African music and associated instruments
- Own a compact Japanese roll-on roll-off car namely Sunny N16, B15, Altis, Lancer, Civic equipped with RICE, alot of ICE, CRIMS, illegal blue, green and red lights, fake leather interiors and lack of tint.

well GUNTAS are now officially HD like Machel.

****i went last night to see the place and the water have plastic bottles and empty chicken and chips boxes floating around, they walking all over the just planted plants and other decorative shrubs, the parking lot have "ah set of" oil leaks from them people Sunny's and other related nonsense they walking and touching what the cleaners just mop and wipe since in tiles and glass all over. So, like the new Tranquillity Gov't School that was opened 2 months ago these expensive structures will be destroyed by the said GUNTlets and GUNTAS in record time.

Very unfortunate that you're limited to making a narrow-minded, racist remark like that but it takes all types to make the world go round...carry on...

As beautiful as the structure is, inside and out. There are a number of fundamental design flaws. (and I mean REAL screw-ups).

Not sure about the stage not looking smooth, but believe me it is, along with several hydraulically assisted portions that can be interchanged seamlessly during a production. The stage dwarfs Queen's Hall's stage in every dimension as well the rigging. It's really amazing. However, the stage also has it's flaws.

Seats are comfy, ample leg room, unlike Queen's Hall, and the sound is said to be incredible.

Pity the fountains outside aren't illuminated by RGB LEDs, as that would REALLY make a mind-blowing show.

Oleander wrote:

It is a beautiful structure.. One that I am proud of.. but it makes Trinidad no better than it was.
It's very bittersweet actually because it enhances our country but creates no real real value.

I'll assume you didn't read the part at the beginning of this thread that says that first and foremost, this is an ACADEMY.

How can you say that it "creates no real value"?