quick wireless question

besflickredo

quick wireless question

Postby besflickredo » September 18th, 2009, 4:41 pm

my bro recently purchase a linksys wireless wrt54g2 router,the router is currently at factory settings.all his wireless devices status says the signal strength is excellent but there's no internet connectivity.

he has blink isp and his uses vista os.is there any specific settings that he is not configuring?

Postby janfar » September 18th, 2009, 4:45 pm

What were you saying about posting the rest of pics from your avatar???

QG

Postby QG » September 18th, 2009, 4:47 pm

Did he correctly connected the linksys to the blink modem?

Once the internet was working before the linksys was purchased, you don't need to do any sort of configuration settings.

So let him double check the connections and follow the linksys manual directions.

OR
Unplug the power to the blink modem and plug it back to let it reboot itself.
Last edited by QG on September 18th, 2009, 4:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

besflickredo

Postby besflickredo » September 18th, 2009, 4:50 pm

internet works find,but when he connects it to the ethernet port,no connectivity.u seeing the wifi devices in the router settings.which includes his laptop,ipod touch and xbox 360

QG

Postby QG » September 18th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Try using the USB cable then.

You may have a bad Ethernet cable or bad ethernet port

Postby cinco » September 18th, 2009, 5:45 pm

reboot the wireless router then reboot the blink modem

QG

Postby QG » September 18th, 2009, 6:04 pm

I told her to do that lol.

foxhound

Postby foxhound » September 18th, 2009, 7:15 pm

i hav the same problem ,i reboot the blink modem an the router an still nothing.i also did a master reset on the router do over all the settings an nothing ....
u seeing it connected but no internet...

QG

Postby QG » September 18th, 2009, 7:16 pm

on Vista?

foxhound

Postby foxhound » September 18th, 2009, 7:19 pm

nah i using xp^^

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » September 18th, 2009, 7:24 pm

Linksys should burn their instructions and cd's....

Try this
1. connect the modem's ethernet port to the internet port of your WRT54G router
2. connect the pc to the regular port 1 2 3 or 4 on the back of your router
3. turn off the modem, hold the routers reset button for 30 seconds then release it
4. restart the computer
5. access the routers setup page by opening internet explorer, then type - http://192.168.1.1
6. once youre prompted with a login, leave username blank password "admin"
7. go to MAC ADDRESS CLONE tab, enable this option, click CLONE YOUR PC'S MAC, then save settings
8. go back to setup tab, make sure internet connection type is set to - Automatic Configuration - DHCP
9. change the part where it says LAN IP address to 192.168.2.1
10.power off the router, then the computer for 1 minute
11. power on the modem first, then the router, lastly the computer (make sure you have the lights stable on the device before turning ON the next one...
12. try to get online after that
Last edited by phreakazoid on September 18th, 2009, 9:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

foxhound

Postby foxhound » September 18th, 2009, 8:40 pm

Hey thanks alot phreakazoid it work...........
now i hav internet on my psp :D

Postby UML » September 18th, 2009, 8:46 pm

Linksys and Blink carry the same router settings....for it to work u need to contact Linksys chat help and they will reconfigure it. they will help u step by step through it...but the close at 9pm

mazda machine

Postby mazda machine » September 18th, 2009, 8:58 pm

i have the same router.u have to run the cd first for it to setup

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 18th, 2009, 9:56 pm

yes....

or jus change the ip of the router to 192.168.2.1

Terabyte

Postby Terabyte » September 18th, 2009, 9:57 pm

UML wrote:Linksys and Blink carry the same router settings....for it to work u need to contact Linksys chat help and they will reconfigure it. they will help u step by step through it...but the close at 9pm

192.168.1.1 is the default ip of both devices. Simply connect to the linksys via cable on one of the lan ports and login via the ip in a browser.

You can set it up two ways:
Change the linksys to an address on another network e.g. 192.168.2.1 with the same netmask and plug the blink back into the WAN (internet) port.

OR

Change the Linksys ip to an ip on the same network e.g. 192.168.1.2 and turn off the dhcp option. Then you will have to plug the blink into one of the LAN ports.

Be sure to secure you wireless using WPA

Postby bluesteel29 » September 18th, 2009, 10:19 pm

^
Correct....
it doesnt matter which security you choose(WPA/WEP)...both can be cracked with ease

besflickredo

Postby besflickredo » September 20th, 2009, 2:19 pm

Got true with the Internet my xbox gettin Internet wired and my iPod wirelessly but the laptop still says connected but no Internet any suggestions :?

Postby bluesteel29 » September 20th, 2009, 2:46 pm

my bad.....buh if the xbox gettin acess wired...why wouldnt the laptop get wired also :?....check the ip settings on the laptop yo
Last edited by bluesteel29 on September 20th, 2009, 2:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Sky » September 20th, 2009, 2:51 pm

I think.......um....
What?

besflickredo

Postby besflickredo » September 20th, 2009, 2:55 pm

Gettin Internet wired on the laptop but I want it wireless

Postby bluesteel29 » September 20th, 2009, 2:57 pm

its just the ipod connected wirelessly????
what security u using fuh the wifi router??....disable the security and try again to see if it can work fuh sure

besflickredo

Postby besflickredo » September 20th, 2009, 3:32 pm

I only configured the LAN ip an cloned the mac ip no security yet

Postby bluesteel29 » September 20th, 2009, 3:38 pm

so if u try to connect the laptop alone to the wifi router u still gettin limited connectivity??

"cloned the mac ip" = ?

TECH N FIZ

Postby TECH N FIZ » October 2nd, 2009, 2:31 pm

jus change the ip on the linksys to 192.168.2.1

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » October 2nd, 2009, 4:25 pm

I have the same router. The laptop isnt configured to use a LAN. You need to set up a Local Area Network Connection.