the Rapid rail- is it On or off?

neoise

Rapid Rail Project still on ...... WDMC

Postby neoise » April 29th, 2009, 7:09 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161471045

Speaking at the Breakfast with the Prime Minister at the Crowne Plaza hotel in Port of Spain yesterday, Works Minister Colm Imbert said Government was about to complete phase two of the Interchange.

Imbert, who detailed some of the plans for his Ministry under the Vision 2020 programme, highlighted a $17 billion road programme, consisting of 13 separate freeways and highways and 471 kilometres of road which, he said, would provide easy access to any part of Trinidad.

He also stated that construction of the Rapid Rail was due to start in mid-2010 and "within 36 to 39 months, the first train should roll out of Port of Spain".

Imbert said the Rapid Rail was needed because there were some 550,000 trips per day on the main roads of Trinidad and 275 trips per day from Port of Spain to other parts of the country. He said travel time (per individual) was in excess of four hours a day.

"The road system is overwhelmed," he said, adding that putting more buses on the road was a poor solution.

Contending that a different mass transit system was required, he said the Rapid Rail would provide 194 million trips annually by 2032.

Imbert said Government planned to construct two rail lines-the East-West line from Sangre Grande to Westmoorings, and the North-South line from UWI to San Fernando.

It also planned to establish a Mass Transit Authority, which would have a railway division, ferry division and omnibus division, and which would be responsible to all forms of mass transit, he said.

He said Government was now at the end of the phase one (early engineering and designing) of the system and was entering the second phase of the rail system, which involved detailed designs and construction. He said the rail system would be constructed in five segments and Government was hoping to construct all segments simultaneously.

The five segments would be: a. City Gate to Chaguanas; b. San Fernando to Chaguanas; c. UWI to Arima; d. City Gate to Westmoorings; e. Arima to Sangre Grande.

Imbert said a technical team from the Ministry and National Infrastructure Development Company (Nidco) visited France to witness how long it takes to load and offload one of the trains, and the results were very satisfactory.

The Rapid Rail would travel at 160 kilometres (100 miles) per hour and it would take 39 minutes to get from Port of Spain to San Fernando, he said. He added that it was the intention to have a train leaving every five to ten minutes during peak periods.

Imbert said the Rapid Rail would be built on a design/build/operate basis.

He noted that Government had been able to attract some of the largest contractors and consultants in the world. French firm Bouygues, the company that is leading the consortium for the Rapid Rail, is reputedly the second largest construction company in the world.

Vinci Construction Grands Projets, which is involved in the Interchange project, is the largest construction company in the world; while AECOM, the company which would be involved in the road network, was the probably the largest engineering consultancy firm in the world, he said. -Ria Taitt

....... Where we getting the money for this?

Postby RASC » April 29th, 2009, 7:11 am

Utter foolishness.

Rapid Rails can't even make a profit in the developed world(worse yet even BREAK EVEN)...they think they can sustain it in TT :roll:

neoise

Postby neoise » April 29th, 2009, 7:16 am

PPl losing they jobs ..... health service in disarray .... one of the highest murder rate per capita in the world ..... but no sweat we have we summit and a rapid rail - this go solve all we problems - Great is the PNM :evil:

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » April 29th, 2009, 7:34 am

We need a rail, but not necessary a ferrari..

i think some minister/government official made dat comment recently.... i stand to be corrected.

:? :?

xtech

Postby xtech » April 29th, 2009, 7:41 am

Very good this will create jobs for those struck down by the global down turn. Keeping workers working is the way to go.

America did this during the Great Depression building super hiways and bridges all over. When the people had no cars yet

neoise

Postby neoise » April 29th, 2009, 7:47 am

xtech wrote:Very good this will create jobs for those struck down by the global down turn. Keeping workers working is the way to go.

America did this during the Great Depression building super hiways and bridges all over. When the people had no cars yet

Good point bro but we already have this ..... its called URP .... or CEPEP or whatever incarnation the government decides lol

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » April 29th, 2009, 7:51 am

1970---1990---2010!!!.....that may be the straw that will break the camels back

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » April 29th, 2009, 8:10 am

Create jobs? Who do you think will get the contracts for this, and where do you think the workers will come from? From past examples, very few TT people will be involved. The fact is that money has passed and made by a few, so it can't be stopped even if good sense says otherwise. We live in a dream world here in TT.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » April 29th, 2009, 8:15 am

I don't see how it can start in mid 2010....also simultaneous work on all segments? This wasn't the approach before.

I know they already selected and mapped out routes along with alternative routes for each.
Saw it when I met with Bouygues....but many people/houses will have to be relocated.

That is going to take a lot of time.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 29th, 2009, 8:47 am

its already in progress ppl.

i work for nidco :lol:

wait till allyuh see the plans for teh new highways :o :o that is already in motion

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 29th, 2009, 8:52 am

sigh, the coffers may soon be totally empty, like patrick's head.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 29th, 2009, 8:55 am

bribe money already collect to get contract
what u expect them to do

urabus

Postby urabus » April 29th, 2009, 8:59 am

RASC wrote:Utter foolishness.:roll:

what you expect from a man who God deprived of height?

seems as thou he was deprived of some brain cells too :lol:

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » April 29th, 2009, 9:05 am

xtech wrote:Very good this will create jobs for those struck down by the global down turn. Keeping workers working is the way to go.

What he said

Postby Greypatch » April 29th, 2009, 9:05 am

wait till allyuh see the plans for teh new highways that is already in motion

leggo ah draft nah crix...

why stop progress for a blip.

and since when de govt. care about making a profit :|

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 29th, 2009, 9:07 am

its about stimulating the economy lol

vinci hires local contractors
who hire local ppl,

jobs are made ect

neoise

Postby neoise » April 29th, 2009, 9:08 am

Greypatch wrote:
wait till allyuh see the plans for teh new highways that is already in motion

leggo ah draft nah crix...

Postby tr1ad » April 29th, 2009, 9:11 am

d crix stale

Postby Greypatch » April 29th, 2009, 9:16 am

stimulate the inflation rate and let it drop like ah rock.. :twisted:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 29th, 2009, 9:19 am

it still not released to the public so i can't show it yet as i did sign a non disclosure agreement :) and they movign dred with secrecy lol

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » April 29th, 2009, 9:23 am

MadCrix wrote:it still not released to the public so i can't show it yet as i did sign a non disclosure agreement :) and they movign dred with secrecy lol

D government..... secrecy..... you doh figure.... :? :? :?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 29th, 2009, 9:30 am

hey as long as it eh come from me, i happy like pappy lol

xtech

Postby xtech » April 29th, 2009, 9:46 am

MadCrix wrote:it still not released to the public so i can't show it yet as i did sign a non disclosure agreement :) and they movign dred with secrecy lol

Cause if the folks in d West find out that d train 1st stop/last right next to dem fancy towers they will blow a fuse an hire Ramesh to put a stop to that stupidness.

An the train lines that passing through empty lands at 1st survey will be all planted up with long crops or populated with 100 concrete shacks.

Or folks with homes air marked for demolition will sell it for big money to un-suspecting victims who will only be paid real market value for the property.
Last edited by xtech on April 29th, 2009, 9:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 29th, 2009, 9:47 am

i for one welcome the new infrastructure

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » April 29th, 2009, 9:52 am

MadCrix wrote:i for one welcome the new infrastructure

What he said...

adri 2nr

Re: Rapid Rail Project still on ...... WDMC

Postby adri 2nr » April 29th, 2009, 9:53 am

neoise wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161471045

"The road system is overwhelmed," he said, adding that putting more buses on the road was a poor solution.

But didnt they buy 30 new buses at 36 million :?

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2009 ... d-charters
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,98500.html

I guess he had his foot in his mouth again

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 29th, 2009, 9:59 am

ahh he di dnot say they were not gonna buy buses as it is a poor solution, he said doing what they did was a band aid. a poor solution

plus they cah have heads of states travelign in small maxis now coudl they lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 29th, 2009, 11:04 am

buh who say we care about your job? post the thing nah! :x

Postby Maserati » April 29th, 2009, 11:06 am

MadCrix wrote:i for one welcome the new infrastructure

well if you getting employment out of it! :lol:
MadCrix wrote:its already in progress ppl.

i work for nidco :lol:

I agree it'll create jobs but for how long?

usually the case with public transport is to provide a service for the people..it may not make a profit though..if you want to make a profit get a private contractor to run the operation like a business.
I would think the objective of the gov't is to help with the transportation issues that the country is currently facing.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 29th, 2009, 11:06 am

haha in time my young padawan in time.