Disney buys Marvel for 4bn

shaneelal

Disney buys Marvel for 4bn

Postby shaneelal » August 31st, 2009, 7:53 pm

I'm not sure if this is a good deal, most likely Disney will use Pixar to make a new series of cartoon movies using Marvel characters.

Hope the Marvel fans aren't disappointed.

source:
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090831/ap_ ... ertainment

Postby Cjruckus » August 31st, 2009, 7:59 pm

its a great deal.

but whats going to happen with Universal Studios rights to all the Marvel Merchandise and rides?

Humes

Postby Humes » August 31st, 2009, 8:02 pm

Disney won't be able to use most of Marvel's heavy hitters like Spider-Man, the X-Men or the Fantastic Four in movies for a good while, as those movie licenses are with other companies.

From what I've read, they have no interest in "Disneyfying" Marvel properties...it's kinda the other way around. They want properties that appeal more to young males, as their various movies and princess merchandise have mostly appealed to girls and young women. They intend to exploit and increase the visibility of lesser-known Marvel characters in film and television, and they want to add the Marvel line-up to their theme parks.

Pixar will definitely be doing something with Marvel, and most likely soon. Nothing specific rumored or confirmed, only speculated.

Disney doesn't intend to interfere with the comics in any way. They don't intend to interfere with Marvel videogames anytime soon either.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » August 31st, 2009, 8:04 pm

Cjruckus wrote:its a great deal.

but whats going to happen with Universal Studios rights to all the Marvel Merchandise and rides?

According to this link, the theme park won't be affected-

http://travel.latimes.com/daily-deal-bl ... eme--5246/

Humes

Postby Humes » August 31st, 2009, 8:04 pm

Cjruckus wrote:but whats going to happen with Universal Studios rights to all the Marvel Merchandise and rides?

Universal retains the rights to the Marvel characters in their theme parks, but will now be paying licensing fees directly to their competition, Disney.

Btw, Donald and Pluto joining the X-Men. Confirmed.

Postby st7 » August 31st, 2009, 10:54 pm

is marvel entertainment alone... so this should only affect the films and cartoons n watever else...

yuh not gonna see donald duck in wolverine comics!!!

Postby Cjruckus » August 31st, 2009, 10:55 pm

Well. Ironman 2 is still commin out next summer so im pumped.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » August 31st, 2009, 11:20 pm

i have mixed emotions on this one pixar would be a great studio to utilize the marvel franchise but i dont trust the ppl at disney and unless if they are gonna put the fact they not gonna disnify Marvel in writing into the deal. Whats to stop them from putting Duck dodgers into the xmen. there just tryna keep the tru marvel fans quiet long enough for the deal to go tru and the attn to shift to other things...

Postby SmokeyGTi » August 31st, 2009, 11:20 pm

Humes wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:but whats going to happen with Universal Studios rights to all the Marvel Merchandise and rides?

Universal retains the rights to the Marvel characters in their theme parks, but will now be paying licensing fees directly to their competition, Disney.

Btw, Donald and Pluto joining the X-Men. Confirmed.

wow. disney really playing hardball these days.

Humes

Postby Humes » August 31st, 2009, 11:32 pm

bigga514 wrote:Whats to stop them from putting Duck dodgers into the xmen.

Common sense. They will alienate the core market of the property. Their intent is not to mix their characters into the Marvel Universe. Doing so will hurt and dilute both properties and lose them money.

You didn't see Bugs Bunny and Elmer Fudd join the Justice League when Warner Bros bought DC a few decades ago.

The most you might see now is direct references to Disney products in Marvel comics. In fact you will definitely see that, as for the next few months, writer and artists will be sneaking references to Disney stuff into their work for kicks, and to tease people who feel, for example, that Duck Dodgers joining the X-Men...

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » August 31st, 2009, 11:54 pm

Um this is DISNEY we talking bout not Warn-a-brother lol

the same ppl who promoted racial hatred and coonery in their cartoons.
I aint say there gonna go that extreme but whats to stop them really, their target audience might not be the established marvel fan boys but the next young generation.
Not every idea turns out to be a bright one but that alone, wont stop them from making such a mistake at some point. Its not like you see them coming out with any fresh ideas (reason for the purchase).

Humes

Postby Humes » September 1st, 2009, 6:54 am

bigga514 wrote:Um this is DISNEY we talking bout not Warn-a-brother lol

You kidding, right? Yuh sounding like yuh haven't really read up on this issue. Do a search for banned cartoons on Google and Youtube and see which brothers WB was warnin.

Warner Bros cartoons contained much, much more blatantly bigoted content than Disney ever even dreamed of. Other than Song of the South, Disney's non-PC stuff is mostly accidental and tame compared to WB and MGM. Warner Bros has a bunch of intentionally blackfaced minstrel toons based on nothing but racism.

Other than Song of the South, a questionable scene in Lion King and one scene in Fantasia, which popular Disney toons featured coonery?

And what are these Disney cartoons that promoted racial hatred?

nightwolf

Postby nightwolf » September 1st, 2009, 8:45 am

I aint say there gonna go that extreme but whats to stop them really, their target audience might not be the established marvel fan boys but the next young generation.
Not every idea turns out to be a bright one but that alone, wont stop them from making such a mistake at some point. Its not like you see them coming out with any fresh ideas (reason for the purchase).

Cid

Postby Cid » September 1st, 2009, 8:56 am

hmmm i wonder if they would grant CAPCOM the license to the marvel characters to make ah marvel vs capcom 3 now that would be great :lol: :lol:

Postby honda hoe » September 1st, 2009, 11:07 am

hmmmm

spiderman, hulk, wolverine, captain america an the flash in kingdom hearts 3?

:mrgreen:

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » September 1st, 2009, 1:34 pm

Humes wrote:

You kidding, right? Yuh sounding like yuh haven't really read up on this issue. Do a search for banned cartoons on Google and Youtube and see which brothers WB was warnin.
Warner Bros cartoons contained much, much more blatantly bigoted content than Disney ever even dreamed of.
Other than Song of the South, a questionable scene in Lion King and one scene in Fantasia, which popular Disney toons featured coonery?
And what are these Disney cartoons that promoted racial hatred?

Again this TOPIC IS ABOUT DISNEY I WAS TRYING TO STICK TO THE TOPIC ITS NOT A STORY ON WARNER BROTHERS.

tell ya what ima give you other examples of Disney on thier racist BS not just against black ppl and im gone after that.
how bout you google Disney your gonna find much more. :wink:

1. (DUMBO) The Crows (you know what jim crow laws are?) guess what the lead crows name is...no one recall the actual black MEN pitching the circus tents in the rain toward the beginning of the movie. The song they sing contains lyrics like, "We work all day, We work all night, We never learned to read or write; We work all night, we work all day; And can't wait to spend our pay away."

2.The jungle book, All animals in the jungle speak in proper British accents. Except, of course, for the jive-talking, gibberish-spouting monkeys. Who desperately want to become "real people?"

3. Mickey frickin Mouse (yea i said it) so many earlier episodes to pick from...

or how bout a white faced well spoken street urchin named Aladdin in the land of Arabia where everybody else is a Bandit who would "cut of your ear if they dont like your face"

bugz bunny in blackface..

Do you even know that walt disney was a fascist.

have a nice day.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » September 1st, 2009, 1:37 pm

Humes

Postby Humes » September 1st, 2009, 3:36 pm

Yeah, you're absolutely right about those other films. My bad.

But the point still stands...WB and MGM beat Disney easily with racist content. Easily. And blatantly racist business as well, not subtle or arguable like Disney. Even your example there notes Bugs Bunny in blackface. Bugs is a WB property.

Anyway, this going off-topic.

nightwolf

Postby nightwolf » September 1st, 2009, 3:40 pm

Honestly man, off all the crap that's happening today in the world and especially Trinidad. Why does Disney acquiring Marvel years after their racist cartoons, bother you. Wouldn't it be more worth the effort to vent about Sat Maharaj, Selwyn Cudjoe, Panday or Manning ?

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » September 1st, 2009, 6:52 pm

nightwolf wrote:Honestly man, off all the crap that's happening today in the world and especially Trinidad. Why does Disney acquiring Marvel years after their racist cartoons, bother you. Wouldn't it be more worth the effort to vent about Sat Maharaj, Selwyn Cudjoe, Panday or Manning ?

are you desperate for attn . try to dis me but cant contribute to whats being said i ignore you and all you could come talk bout is local politics?
what the phoq does manning, panday, Cudjoe or Maharaj have to do with this topic. Maybe if your dunb #$%@ were to bring up a topic on them id be glad to post me thoughts like i usually do , but seeing as this topic is about DISNEY BUYING MARVEL....

It bothers me cause they still do sheit thats fugged up and offensive, but thats for another topic. My kids dont watch disney for the same reason, pure sesame street for them. idk bout you but thats reason enough for me to be concerned. not to mention im a fan of marvel comics.

you must be one them muffler bearing who does drive on the shoulder :roll: