Robbers/Con-artists in Chaguanas

slick

Robbers/Con-artists in Chaguanas

Postby slick » August 29th, 2009, 1:09 am

Happened to my friend yesterday evening in Chaguanas.

Mih pardna and some fella bump into each other in Chaguanas, the fella had some bottle in he hand and it fall and break.
Mih pardna tell d man sorry and walk off. The man follow him and brace him, start to tell him bout how he brothers woulda beat him up and how it had medicine in dem bottles for he children so 'what we going to do about it'.

Mih pardna ask him how much for d medicine, he start to call figures and then tell him bout transport and ting. Mih pardna had some cash on him and just hand it to him and leave.

Well a similar incident happened to a classmate a few years ago but I remember he said this guy had some sort of 'bush medicine' in a container and when he bumped into him the container fell and the contents leaked out.
Same thing happen where the man brace him for money, but mih classmate tell him he is ah student and he eh working an all he have is ah twenty so take dat. Then he start to tell him bout how he hada reach in d mosque and ting and he now coming from Mucurapo Mosque and like d robber get frighten and let him go.

Now I know some ppl working in the vicinity of these 'incidents' and it so happen they tell me it have ah man who does bump into ppl regular and he does drop ah cell phone and it does 'mash up in pieces' and then he does tell dem how he go hada get some money from dem to buy ah new cellphone. They see they see it happen on numerous occasions.

Now these incidents happened between the chaguanas flyover and busy corner. And it look like these fellas does 'attack' well dressed youthmen who look like they quiet and might not want to fight.

If it was up to me I would firetruck up dey MC right on the street cause shiet like this just disgusts me. On top ah that too it seems like a racial crime as well, because all incidents that I have gotten info about were victims of a certain descent.

So just letting you tuners know, be careful when you on the streets, if someone look like they going to bump into you, try to avoid them.

Postby st7 » August 29th, 2009, 1:15 am

thanks for the heads up

Aphrodite
Location: living my life ....and loving it every step off the way :)

Postby Aphrodite » August 29th, 2009, 1:27 am

went shopping in chaguanas today it was so scary..the crowd was insane..

richardg1976

Postby richardg1976 » August 29th, 2009, 1:34 am

Actually, this exact incident happened to me recently when I was walking down one of the streets in Port of Spain. The guy started to get aggressive and since I didn't want any trouble, I gave him $40 since he said that the medicines were for his sick children. However, something told me that the entire incident seemed fishy but I just couldn't figure it out at the time. People look out for these scammers.

SEVin

Postby SEVin » August 29th, 2009, 1:40 am

Can anyone describe their perpetrators so that everyone can keep an eye out for them -just a thought

richardg1976

Postby richardg1976 » August 29th, 2009, 1:43 am

Sure thing, the perp was medium height (about 5'5 or so), dark brown, African descent, very short hair, scraggly teeth.. was dressed like any ordinary person (meaning not looking like ah piper).

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » August 29th, 2009, 2:10 am

guntas or guntress

slick

Postby slick » August 29th, 2009, 3:36 am

The guy that operates regularly in the Chaguanas area with the broken cellphone was described as always carrying a bike helmet in one hand.

The one from yesterday was a little over 6 feet tall, african descent, short hair, beard.

The one from a few years aback was maybe 5'6, african descent, short unkempt dredlocks, beard.

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 29th, 2009, 9:35 am

i goin an walk wit mih own medicine bottle. leh we see who payin for what :?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 29th, 2009, 9:40 am

if ppl eh robbbing others with gun\knife is some flickin sheit lie this eh .... :x

so i wonder if d police never hear about this ? ... :?

also , avoid walking down d back street (Eleanor street) at night - i hear it have some muggers lurking around ....

Cid

Postby Cid » August 29th, 2009, 9:43 am

this should be made into a fwd and sent out.....there are too much unsuspecting ppl out there who would feel guilty and give these ppl whatever they ask for.

zaria

Postby zaria » August 29th, 2009, 10:01 am

This happened to me as well maybe 4-5 yrs ago in chaguanas(i guess I look the part)
the guy was standing on the west bound side of the main road a little after the flyover.
Bumped into me and his brown bag fell with a crash.I apologised,and he accepted,I continued on my way,he followed a few feet away from the store he was infont off and claimed I broke
his newly repaired lamp.I asked to see,but in the bag was some broken bulbs and an old lamp.
I asked how much,and he called some ridiculous price,so I refused.
Boy did he get upset,started cusiing and spinning and threating,I was sheiting bricks,but realised it was a scam.
While he was threating,I calmly walked straight up to him,and asked in the meanest voice I could muster "who the f@#$ yuh threating".That did it,he got more scared off me and left mumbling.

Now if it was not something off an electrical nature I might have been fooled.
If he had a partner,I probably would have gave in.
If I had a partner,all hell woulda break loose.
Since then I warned all my friends verbally and have even driven around looking for the guy.
If I had seen him he woulda get it,but now I kinda forget how he looks.
But from memory,ok dressed,medium built with glasses and I think a natty hair style down to shoulder.
I also remembered he had a T&TEC helmet on.

But to everyone,be careful,I am sure just as we learn and prepare for our
next encounter,so do these guys.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » August 29th, 2009, 10:34 am

A few years ago I was going home from school walking on the stretch by Marios, a guy reached out, grabbed my hand and asked for money, I looked at him in the eye and was like "this guy can't be for real" twisted my hand out of his grip and just walked off. All I really had in my pocket was a few dollars to get home. I always heard about people getting robbed but didn't occur that someone would try on a busy pavement in broad daylight.

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » August 29th, 2009, 10:59 am

^^^Similar incident happened to someone I know at the bottom of High Street San Fernando... the guy ( red man) walks up to the person ... grabs their arm and pretends he is their friend. He then demands money and starts searching the person's pockets while twisting his arm. Be on the lookout for him also ppl.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 29th, 2009, 11:51 am

Seems like they bumping into yuh on the roads too :lol:

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=266101

Mr. Wheeler

Postby Mr. Wheeler » August 30th, 2009, 5:15 pm

When i was a student back in the 90's this was all the rage in busy corner Chagunanas. Things still the same.....Well old school teef need old school plan@$$ :twisted:

slick

Postby slick » August 30th, 2009, 8:24 pm

pioneer wrote:chaguanas is the new laventille

you got that right pioneer

at nights around busy corner, there are a bunch of 'crims down' nissan b13, b14, b15 and almeras (among other cars) parked along the main road and around the corners and guntas hovering around.

they usually cause unnecessary traffic by interrupting the free flow of traffic because they block off one lane when they park on the corner and it is usually a dangerous situation when you want to turn off chaguanas main road onto the old southern main road to head south because you have to make the left turn from the right lane.

a heavy police presence is required in chaguanas at all times and even more so at night.

demented

Postby demented » August 30th, 2009, 8:39 pm

What is it with these types of gatherings at night in the middle of towns. I've noticed this is becoming a new trend. These ppl just park up and "lime". WTF! :?

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » August 30th, 2009, 10:01 pm

Trinidad priorities are so screwed up; people can't even defend themselves now.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 30th, 2009, 10:07 pm

pioneer wrote:wow...but banditry is legal :|

self defense isn't

"i know someone" that has one that doubles as a led flashlight.... and has even showed it to the police in a road block and it went undetected.
it also mad it through customs in Trinidad from Grenada :?

one end has has the led's and the other end has what looks like a screw cap for the batteries ... but it's actually just a plastic cap that covers the terminals

:wink: :wink:

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » August 30th, 2009, 10:42 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
pioneer wrote:wow...but banditry is legal :|

self defense isn't

"i know someone" that has one that doubles as a led flashlight.... and has even showed it to the police in a road block and it went undetected.
it also mad it through customs in Trinidad from Grenada :?

one end has has the led's and the other end has what looks like a screw cap for the batteries ... but it's actually just a plastic cap that covers the terminals

:wink: :wink:

hmmm...interesting

demented

Postby demented » August 30th, 2009, 11:21 pm

some guy had it for sale in the miscellaneous bargain center but I can't find the thread again.

Aphrodite
Location: living my life ....and loving it every step off the way :)

Postby Aphrodite » August 31st, 2009, 3:36 am

it comes in my colour too 8-)