WTK: Roxy Roundabout

nes123

WTK: Roxy Roundabout

Postby nes123 » August 15th, 2009, 12:10 am

who have the right of way between those coming from st.james heading onto tragarete Rd. via the said roundabout, and ppl who already on the roundabout heading onto st. clair avenue?

just confirming...ah find men coming from direction of st. james does wanna bully men on the roundabout as if they have right of way....discuss :?

Postby Cjruckus » August 15th, 2009, 12:13 am

if you are entering the round about you must yield to all cars.

If you are heading into st clair from st james you need to keep left and bypass the roundabout completely.

No hard maths in that.

W2J

Postby W2J » August 15th, 2009, 12:15 am

once you on going around the roundabout you have the right away!

Postby bluesteel29 » August 15th, 2009, 12:19 am

Cjruckus wrote:If you are heading into st clair from st james you need to keep left and bypass the roundabout completely.

wah???? :?
ya still need to stop for the ppl that comin from the roundabout into st clair :|

Postby Cjruckus » August 15th, 2009, 12:27 am

bluesteel29 wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:If you are heading into st clair from st james you need to keep left and bypass the roundabout completely.

wah???? :?
ya still need to stop for the ppl that comin from the roundabout into st clair :|

who takes that roundabout into st clair anyway?

ignore that, go brave.

nickytoco

Postby nickytoco » August 15th, 2009, 4:46 am

You have the right-away once you going round.....all other traffic tryin to enter the round-a-bout supposed to wait....the catch with that roundabout is that when you coming from st. james it does be tricky tryin to figure out if a car coming round going towards st. james or going to continue coming round to go st. clair or to tragarete.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » August 15th, 2009, 5:31 am

^^^ X2

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » August 15th, 2009, 8:29 am

nickytoco wrote:You have the right-away once you going round.....all other traffic tryin to enter the round-a-bout supposed to wait....the catch with that roundabout is that when you coming from st. james it does be tricky tryin to figure out if a car coming round going towards st. james or going to continue coming round to go st. clair or to tragarete.

I learned this trick a couple months ago, and it's worked for me:

while ON the round about, keep your right indicator on... and just as you about to turn off the roundabout, use your left indicator...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/h2g2/A795567
Indicators

Left/right indicators should be used to clearly indicate all instances of going left and right. It's that simple. The worst place to decide not to bother is at a British roundabout, a traffic monstrosity that has most tourists quaking in their boots. On a roundabout you should indicate left only if you are taking an immediate left. If you do not indicate left or right, drivers will assume that you are going to take another left exit in the first 180 degrees of the roundabout. If you are planning on going further than 180 degrees - ie, anything other than left or straight ahead - you should indicate right and drive close to the island at the centre of the roundabout. Once you have passed the last exit before the one you plan to leave on you should indicate left to show that you plan to get off at the next exit. Tourists confused by the whole process may just want to indicate right and steer hard around the central island until they get their bearings on the third or fourth trip around.

There are exceptions to this use of the indicators on the roundabout, largely because of unusual roundabout shapes. You should judge the shape of the roundabout by the road signs that precede it. If your exit is indicated anywhere on the left of the route leading straight ahead, assume you should follow the 'left' procedure. If indicated right of straight ahead, use the 'right' procedure. Some roundabouts will also have multiple lanes, in which case you should try to judge the correct lane to be in from road signs prior to the roundabout and markings on the road. In the UK it is helpful to know:

What the official letter and the number of the road you are after is - eg, A34, B5036

What the most likely abbreviation is for the town you are going to - eg, Stkp for Stockport, G'hd for Gateshead

When using indicators to indicate your intention to switch lane, you should indicate long enough before making the manoeuvre to ensure that everyone knows what you're going to do. This does not mean that you should allow the indicator to flash once or indicate while you are completing the manoeuvre - or, worse still, after you've started. Indicators are there to make your intentions clear, not as a means to fanfare your skills during the event!

The info in the document below will certainly apply here in
TT... an should be used

http://www.tams.act.gov.au/__data/asset ... sement.pdf

neoise

Postby neoise » August 15th, 2009, 8:42 am

not pink?

nes123

Postby nes123 » August 15th, 2009, 12:06 pm

nickytoco wrote:You have the right-away once you going round.....all other traffic tryin to enter the round-a-bout supposed to wait....the catch with that roundabout is that when you coming from st. james it does be tricky tryin to figure out if a car coming round going towards st. james or going to continue coming round to go st. clair or to tragarete.

to be honest that is what I remember from regulations 12+ yrs ago....funny most ppl don't utilize what they learnt yes...the amount of almost horrendous accidents I have seen this year alone on that roundabout....

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 15th, 2009, 12:07 pm

saxman642 wrote:

I learned this trick a couple months ago, and it's worked for me:

while ON the round about, keep your right indicator on... and just as you about to turn off the roundabout, use your left indicator...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/h2g2/A795567
Indicators

Left/right indicators should be used to clearly indicate all instances of going left and right. It's that simple. The worst place to decide not to bother is at a British roundabout, a traffic monstrosity that has most tourists quaking in their boots. On a roundabout you should indicate left only if you are taking an immediate left. If you do not indicate left or right, drivers will assume that you are going to take another left exit in the first 180 degrees of the roundabout. If you are planning on going further than 180 degrees - ie, anything other than left or straight ahead - you should indicate right and drive close to the island at the centre of the roundabout. Once you have passed the last exit before the one you plan to leave on you should indicate left to show that you plan to get off at the next exit. Tourists confused by the whole process may just want to indicate right and steer hard around the central island until they get their bearings on the third or fourth trip around.

There are exceptions to this use of the indicators on the roundabout, largely because of unusual roundabout shapes. You should judge the shape of the roundabout by the road signs that precede it. If your exit is indicated anywhere on the left of the route leading straight ahead, assume you should follow the 'left' procedure. If indicated right of straight ahead, use the 'right' procedure. Some roundabouts will also have multiple lanes, in which case you should try to judge the correct lane to be in from road signs prior to the roundabout and markings on the road. In the UK it is helpful to know:

What the official letter and the number of the road you are after is - eg, A34, B5036

What the most likely abbreviation is for the town you are going to - eg, Stkp for Stockport, G'hd for Gateshead

When using indicators to indicate your intention to switch lane, you should indicate long enough before making the manoeuvre to ensure that everyone knows what you're going to do. This does not mean that you should allow the indicator to flash once or indicate while you are completing the manoeuvre - or, worse still, after you've started. Indicators are there to make your intentions clear, not as a means to fanfare your skills during the event!

The info in the document below will certainly apply here in
TT... an should be used

http://www.tams.act.gov.au/__data/asset ... sement.pdf

is either you keep going right or go straight..no hard maths there.

if you find that working for you is because you confusing the fcuk out of the other drivers.

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » August 15th, 2009, 1:39 pm

^^ whatever it takes.... once they ent rush out like a backside and hit me... :wink:

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » August 15th, 2009, 2:13 pm

First of all, when entering the round about you supposed to put on your right indicator so that all cars coming from st james will know to stop. Once on the you on the round about you have the right of way.

Now, this is how that particular round about was designed.

When the cars coming from st. james have stopped then the cars existing from st clair can exit one or two at a time depening on the direction of the car on the round about.

I live in st. james so i know. :mrgreen:

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 15th, 2009, 3:05 pm

saxman642 wrote:^^ whatever it takes.... once they ent rush out like a backside and hit me... :wink:

true eh.. :|

achillies

Postby achillies » August 15th, 2009, 9:15 pm

well as far as i know, those already on the roundabout has right of way, so u should always yeild to those coming from the right

JoeZwalez

Postby JoeZwalez » August 16th, 2009, 2:30 am

^^ x2....as far as i know this is how it works eh pple...you yield to all traffic coming from the right...that indicator nonsense is just that....nonsense!

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » August 16th, 2009, 9:19 am

That was not the case for me as I was headed to Lady Young road from the Savannah last night.

I done on the roundabout, and some ass with a Datsun 280C come flying through from St. Anns' side and never attempt to slow down. I had to pull to my right and 'kick down' and over take him to avoid a collision. I didn't even bother to us my horn. The noteworthy thing is he had flicking HID headlights... Both of us ended up passing over Lady Young...

Were it not for the fact I just get my car, and that I get sodomized by the insurance premium, I probably would have deliberately broadsided him, aiming for the driver himself, and turn round and tell him to pay to fix me MC car fro driving so stupid...

Now recalling the amount of times I seen drivers coming out St. Anns and entering that roundabout as though they have right of way (and boldface with it too), Is a wonder that no big accident en occur there yet..

Postby tr1ad » August 16th, 2009, 9:31 am

^^ dais why there i dont slow down and even if an arse decides to speed tru is level panic on he mc side

nes123

Postby nes123 » August 16th, 2009, 11:36 am

ZeroOne wrote:First of all, when entering the round about you supposed to put on your right indicator so that all cars coming from st james will know to stop. Once on the you on the round about you have the right of way.

Now, this is how that particular round about was designed.

When the cars coming from st. james have stopped then the cars existing from st clair can exit one or two at a time depening on the direction of the car on the round about.

I live in st. james so i know. :mrgreen:

This is what I knw...but why for de love of christ and all good within do trinis like to accelerate to try an beat the man already on the roundabout??I will never understand the sense....dem so should be jiving donkey cyart until they get enough sense to use a vehicle like a medium of transport and not a fcuking weapon... :x