WTK:Flight Training

Darkseeker401

WTK:Flight Training

Postby Darkseeker401 » August 10th, 2009, 11:36 pm

I'd like to obtain a commercial pilots license(i.e. helicopters), does it have any school's locally in trini or the caribbean that you tuners would recommend, if it doesn't have any I'd like to know of some recognised schools in the US or Canada

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 10th, 2009, 11:46 pm

gunsmoke

Re: WTK:Flight Training

Postby gunsmoke » August 10th, 2009, 11:47 pm

Darkseeker401 wrote:I'd like to obtain a commercial pilots license(i.e. helicopters), does it have any school's locally in trini or the caribbean that you tuners would recommend, if it doesn't have any I'd like to know of some recognised schools in the US or Canada

embryriddle.edu

MX3

Postby MX3 » August 11th, 2009, 10:53 pm

U can go to briko and get FIxed wing licence (PPL) earn your hours on fixed wing locally (40aprox)28k...then u have to go abroad 2 get your Cpl heli liscence the hours you earned locally doin your PPL will transfer ...Check out CLOUD9HELICOPTERS.com online

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 11th, 2009, 11:02 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=247706

Thanks Duane, ah really ain't prepared to go through this again! :lol: 8-)

hot blue

Postby hot blue » August 13th, 2009, 12:04 am

^LOL
You said it!!

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » August 13th, 2009, 12:10 am

Call caribbean airlines and tell them give yuh a bly

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » August 13th, 2009, 12:40 pm

Check out this site:

http://www.helicopter-training.net/index.php

loads of schools there, email some to get info. I suggest doing a fixed wing licence first (which is the private AIRPLANE licence) as it costs less in the long run. And you'll also have a fixed wing licence in the end which will allow you to fart around to Tobago on weekends in a Cessna :)

therefore steps to take (the way i did it):
1. Call Briko Air services (only school on the island) Start training for a Fixed Wing PPL (private airplane licence)
2. Obtain PPL after months of flying and exams :)
3. Contact helicopter school in the states.
4. Start training at said school in the states.
5. Obtain CPL/H ( commercial pilots licence helicopter)
6. Start training for IR (instrument rating (allows you to fly in cloud and is a must for the local Trinidad licence) at the school in the states.
7. Obtain IR, congratulations!
8. Return to trinidad....sit local conversion exams.
9. Pass local conversion exams.....Congrats! you now have a Trinidad and Tobago Commercial Helicopter Licence with an Instrument Rating!
10. Start looking for jobs....

The entire process is going to cost A LOT of money, but in the end its worth it! The trick with the flight training, is that you have to do it regularly, at least 3 times a week. that way every thing stays fresh in your mind and you learn quicker.
If you dont have all the money to do a particular part all at once (especially the private) i dont recommend you start until you have all the cash. You'll just end up taking longer and spending more money.

Anymore questions, please PM me. Got loads of material for the conversion exams if anyone is looking for stuff. I'll sell you copies for a good price.

Cheers.
Hoverauto.