3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby meccalli » October 20th, 2015, 6:51 am

It's actually cutting the scales off the skin without cutting into the flesh like the japanese do, not really scaling.

Postby pugboy » October 20th, 2015, 7:40 am

nice
that knife must be very sharp and the fish has to have a good shape and size to hold to do that

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » October 20th, 2015, 9:21 am

Japanese knives are sharpened on one side only depending on the use.

Postby meccalli » October 20th, 2015, 9:54 am

Nope, even single beveled knives like deba bocho and yanagiba need to go through the process of uraoshi push sharpening on the back of the blade in order to be maintained properly.

Postby pugboy » October 21st, 2015, 12:33 am

The pics of cubera from trip local thread is insane

Postby meccalli » October 21st, 2015, 8:13 am

Yeah, every year around this time those fellas cash in big sows. Cuberas are usually solitary, all those big females get together on a ledge and spawn on a full moon in a breeding and feeding frenzy. Makes them very vulnerable as they usually attack any fish/ baits out of pure aggression vs feeding. A similar thing occurs around centipede island with mangrove snappers for a couple months.

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 24th, 2015, 6:46 am

How d banking scene in d gulf right now fellas?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 24th, 2015, 10:24 am

proton17 wrote:How d banking scene in d gulf right now fellas?

I ent fish for a while, making a DDI tonight.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 24th, 2015, 10:50 am

Offshore game gd these days...wahoo biting gd outside here rite now...these pics are from ah couple trips...

This morning haul so far...9 head ah mahi...

Trip on thursday...10 mahi, 2 king, 4 carite an ah triple tail

From last week by d rigs...some jigging...
ImageImage

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 24th, 2015, 12:56 pm

real nice fish bai.

kalashnikov

Postby kalashnikov » October 24th, 2015, 1:29 pm

Mahi 4 sale?

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 24th, 2015, 6:23 pm

Anybody fish today.? Post a lil pic nah fellas....

Postby *KRONIK* » October 24th, 2015, 6:34 pm

Whey the pics from the competition today?

Postby meccalli » October 24th, 2015, 7:01 pm

In for comp pics.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 24th, 2015, 11:49 pm

Pics posted bro...previous posts...hold d first wahoo for d season an ah few more dollies after d post...

proton17

Postby proton17 » October 25th, 2015, 8:53 pm

Boat gv trouble today, so only fished right behind constradt. Plenty cro cro between 2-4 pounds.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1445820794.668041.jpg

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » October 25th, 2015, 9:03 pm

proton17 wrote:Boat gv trouble today, so only fished right behind constradt. Plenty cro cro between 2-4 pounds.
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1445820794.668041.jpg

Nice catch buddy.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 26th, 2015, 4:04 pm

Down d islands Saturday night into Sunday morning. This is my portion, the other 2 men get the same amount.

Catch most of this on the rising tide Saturday evening. After was small bite, was hoping to meet the fish on the rising tide in the morning but a piece of real bad weather pass through at 3:00 a.m., everybody was wearing rain gear and still get soak, not nice getting wet that hour in the morning. Plenty lightning, thunder and high winds with horizontal rain. After the bad weather pass the fish refuse to bite.
IMG-20151026-00750-1.jpg

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 26th, 2015, 4:25 pm

Ryan, I willing to exchange ALL my nice fresh reds for just 1 dolphin lol.

Postby meccalli » October 26th, 2015, 6:59 pm

lol, fish trade yes. Too bad we don't have beaches like mexico with open currents passing 250ft from shore. Guys landing mahi from the beach yes.

Chin man *

Postby Chin man * » October 26th, 2015, 7:34 pm

[quote="Hyperion"]Down d islands Saturday night into Sunday morning. This is my portion, the other 2 men get the same amount.

Catch most of this on the rising tide Saturday evening. After was small bite, was hoping to meet the fish on the rising tide in the morning but a piece of real bad weather pass through at 3:00 a.m., everybody was wearing rain gear and still get soak, not nice getting wet that hour in the morning. Plenty lightning, thunder and high winds with horizontal rain. After the bad weather pass the fish refuse to bite.

Bro wat island you all went,?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 27th, 2015, 6:20 am

no island, Scotland Bay on a boat.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 27th, 2015, 6:26 am

meccalli wrote:lol, fish trade yes. Too bad we don't have beaches like mexico with open currents passing 250ft from shore. Guys landing mahi from the beach yes.

I see dolphin and blackfin tuna from shore already. under the wireless station on the North Coast, Diego side. The dolphin was running down a flying fish. I also know a man who caught a wahoo throwing a giant white jig from the same rock. People don't really fish on them rocks during wahoo season though, the rough water does wash the rocks and it easy to get swept away.

Usually is king, carite, cavalli and bonito from them rocks, but I guess depending on how the bait run the deepwater fish come in close sometimes.

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » October 27th, 2015, 9:34 am

Hyperion wrote:
meccalli wrote:lol, fish trade yes. Too bad we don't have beaches like mexico with open currents passing 250ft from shore. Guys landing mahi from the beach yes.

I see dolphin and blackfin tuna from shore already. under the wireless station on the North Coast, Diego side. The dolphin was running down a flying fish. I also know a man who caught a wahoo throwing a giant white jig from the same rock. People don't really fish on them rocks during wahoo season though, the rough water does wash the rocks and it easy to get swept away.

Usually is king, carite, cavalli and bonito from them rocks, but I guess depending on how the bait run the deepwater fish come in close sometimes.

i keep hearing of these rocks , but i also keep hearing about how dangerous it can be. I even heard of someone getting swept off and drowned.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » October 27th, 2015, 9:35 am

Dem rocks too dangerous to get down there...i rather be on ah boat...

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 27th, 2015, 11:42 am

Where are these rocks ?

Postby meccalli » October 27th, 2015, 12:12 pm

Patna.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » October 27th, 2015, 12:25 pm

Yes these ricks are dangerous because they are basically cliffs so if you fall in there is nothing to hold on to, the big waves and strong currents will either slam you into the barnacle covered rocks or suck you under into the reef. The rocks have patois names, some are inside bays and some are points, they stretch from Macqueripe all the way to almost Saut Deau.

You have to be fit because is a hike up and down, and you cannot be afraid of heights, I see big men sit down and freeze with fright, cling on to balata tree for their life when they look down and see the height off the water.

There is also a big danger in getting robbed, especially in the Bagatelle area.

Most of the people who drown are from out of Diego Martin, who end up on low lying rocks at the wrong time of the year, when ground swells could wash you away easy.

I know 3 men who drown over the years, all experienced seamen, 2 were divers. None of the 3 were ever found.

i stop fishing up there when I got married, too much risk.

Postby dougla_boy » October 27th, 2015, 12:40 pm

heard about those rocks before....nuh risking that nah....btw...allyuh know of a place up on maracas side a boat have to take you to fish? a brethren of mine went wit his youth...said he caught 1-2 lb cavali and some small reds.....

Postby meccalli » October 27th, 2015, 1:39 pm

My father used to regular up north post spots with fellas from patna, story is the same as hyperion put it. Guys who fishing there 30+ years end up going under, round the start of the year in the wash and their friends just never bother going back because of the memories and danger. It's quite calm later on in the year, but the sea is unpredictable and there's always that single moment of lapse and and that one rogue wave.