Container Flip....South (pics)

Dragsta

Container Flip....South (pics)

Postby Dragsta » July 24th, 2009, 11:54 pm

approx 4pm a Container flipped at the End of the Hiway by the Round abt....

looked like he took the corner too hard and caused the container to overturn....

luckly no one was hurt..

excuse d pics plz....windshield was Dirty :x

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 24th, 2009, 11:55 pm

Postby Damien » July 24th, 2009, 11:56 pm

Them blasted truck and them does always be in ah hurry *stueps*

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 25th, 2009, 12:05 am

like dem does feel they driving a sports car with Brembos...

they dont realize d weight and size of those things and the Disaster it could cause... but yet they on u bumper...

Yesterday i see an ERF write up big on front "UP IN YOUR BELLY" :shock: :? :roll:

Postby Damien » July 25th, 2009, 12:10 am

^ aye thaiz meh partner it was originally "anaconda up in yuh belly" but the police make him take off the anaconda :lol:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » July 25th, 2009, 12:14 am

wtf :lol:

Postby DFC » July 25th, 2009, 12:15 am

ohh guu..i get stick in dat traffic..and i see police mobile unit..i say..lord i dead today with my tint !!

how d ass that container flip?
coming out of claxton bay....traffic pile up for abt a hour...just because ah truck stall on the road..just before the flyover...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 25th, 2009, 12:50 am

man pull a hard corner with ah container truck - bwta ! ..... :lol:

Postby Maserati » July 25th, 2009, 12:51 am

Damien wrote:^ aye thaiz meh partner it was originally "anaconda up in yuh belly" but the police make him take off the anaconda :lol:

:lol: :lol: wtf

EarthQuake

Postby EarthQuake » July 25th, 2009, 2:41 am

that is why them container trucks is boss

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 25th, 2009, 5:59 am

One is all it takes I guess.

Cheak the tires on that trailer

cheak the locks

then measure the trailer and container individually.

Frm what was told 45ft container on a 40ft trailer.

southside crew

Postby southside crew » July 25th, 2009, 6:41 am

Yes it was a 45ft.. I was lookin to see if was a 45ft trailer.. but I think it was a 40ft trailer..

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » July 25th, 2009, 7:04 am

So it IS true when I was told in a Defensive Driving course I did in early June that these container drivers REMOVE the clips/bolts which secure the container to the skeleton tray. They usually do this right after leaving the compound where they collect the containers (and those bolts/clips are SECURED on the compound!)

Note that the cab itself did not flip, and the container is separated from the skeleton.

Were the clips secured, the cab would have been on its side too. That = loss of income for the driver of cab

My god! :shock:

MG Man, comments?

XtraHeavy

Postby XtraHeavy » July 25th, 2009, 7:43 am

saxman642 wrote:So it IS true when I was told in a Defensive Driving course I did in early June that these container drivers REMOVE the clips/bolts which secure the container to the skeleton tray. They usually do this right after leaving the compound where they collect the containers (and those bolts/clips are SECURED on the compound!)

Note that the cab itself did not flip, and the container is separated from the skeleton.

Were the clips secured, the cab would have been on its side too. That = loss of income for the driver of cab

MG Man, comments?

This would have more than likely resulted due too speed......They cannot remove the twist locks from the trailer they are made onto the skeleton...an observation is that some skeleton trailers have missing twist locks or non functional....the 45' container is not an issue on a 40' skelly trailer....the trailer leaving the fifth wheel coupling probably due to the weight of the container causing it to uncouple when tilting.

larafan

Postby larafan » July 25th, 2009, 8:16 am

cheak the locks

but check de cloud in de background nah.....

Postby Hook » July 25th, 2009, 8:43 am

^^^ Cumulonimbus Calvus....nice eh?

larafan

Postby larafan » July 25th, 2009, 8:49 am

yup...very!

JBL

Postby JBL » July 25th, 2009, 8:51 am

niceeeeeeeeeeee

GReddy23

Postby GReddy23 » July 25th, 2009, 9:13 am

forever speeding

xtech

Postby xtech » July 25th, 2009, 9:20 am

larafan wrote:

cheak the locks

but check de cloud in de background nah.....

Hook wrote:^^^ Cumulonimbus Calvus....nice eh?

I passed there before it happened and saw that cloud....I was like dont tell me that over Point Fortin.

When i reach point around 4PM the place was dark like 6pm real heavy rain............

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 25th, 2009, 4:02 pm

XtraHeavy wrote:
saxman642 wrote:So it IS true when I was told in a Defensive Driving course I did in early June that these container drivers REMOVE the clips/bolts which secure the container to the skeleton tray. They usually do this right after leaving the compound where they collect the containers (and those bolts/clips are SECURED on the compound!)

MG Man, comments?

This would have more than likely resulted due too speed......They cannot remove the twist locks from the trailer they are made onto the skeleton...an observation is that some skeleton trailers have missing twist locks or non functional....the 45' container is not an issue on a 40' skelly trailer....the trailer leaving the fifth wheel coupling probably due to the weight of the container causing it to uncouple when tilting.

LOL @ not having an issue with a extra 5ft off the trailer. Dude that container was basically just resting on the skeleton with MAYBE 2 locks worked because I cant see the other 2/4 being in place..

I saw them removing the container this morn, tied down the back of the container with cable or rope to the trailer :?

xtech

Postby xtech » July 25th, 2009, 4:16 pm

they does try the same stunt carrying 2 20ft on a 40ft trailer the last container does be held down by 2 pins

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 25th, 2009, 4:35 pm

xtech wrote:they does try the same stunt carrying 2 20ft on a 40ft trailer the last container does be held down by 2 pins

:lol: Ive been around the transport business since I was born, hell I spent 1st 3years of my life riding in a hino dumper lol...Ive seen it all man all.

Take notice of the condition 90% of these trailers are in, yet license officers are cracking down on tint.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 25th, 2009, 5:25 pm

Can someone here tell me is the law in regards to a cab and trailer having different license plates. I've always wondered if it was legal to do that.

Humes

Postby Humes » July 25th, 2009, 6:05 pm

Any children inside?

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 25th, 2009, 7:05 pm

DTAC wrote:Can someone here tell me is the law in regards to a cab and trailer having different license plates. I've always wondered if it was legal to do that.

Yes it is, simply one truck isnt going to be using one trailer permanently.

As for the law, I dont have a motor vehicles act, can someone link me one online?

legoRB

Postby legoRB » July 25th, 2009, 7:09 pm

pioneer wrote:since when hondahoe jivin truck :|

kiamotors

Postby kiamotors » July 25th, 2009, 7:12 pm

Most truck drivers drive like arses, so this is no surprise...

King2995

Postby King2995 » July 25th, 2009, 7:13 pm

Lawd Fadda!!!
Why people does go down this path EVERY time there is an accident?

Everybody feel they know it all....or is big investigator.
Bess allyuh work for National security and solve all them murders for the country..... Put allyuh skills to good use.

Only one man talk sense so far. Is speeding caused this....Nothing else.
This turnover have nothing to do with the locks.
Even IF the locks had managed to remain engaged, that still would not have prevented the loss of load. Do some research on what those locks are designed to do, people.
There is no safety issue with putting a 45' container on a 40' trailer. ALL 45' containers have interlock points at 0', 40' and 45'. (Just look at the pictures, you'll be woo-ing and waa-ing). Look again and you would see the locks on the back of the trailer still in their elevated positions.
The only difference in this scenario is the 5' overhang at the back....and before somebody chooses to raise an idiotic discussion about "Dey go have to put ah red flag on de back", there are provisions for these issues. All yuh keep in mind what the black 'S' in the yellow circle is about. (If allyuh don't know...research people, research).
One other thing....people should keep in mind that all that is heard in 'Defensive Driving' courses may not be factual. Some issues could be exaggerated so as to 'drive' home the risks we face on our roadways (pun was really unintended). Don't get me wrong, having done it I believe that Defensive driving does have tremendous merit, its just that we should learn from our Beetham brothers and be able to sift through the garbage!
I hope is not Brent and his cohorts spreading de propaganda.

Oh yeah, tractor units and trailers are considered separate vehicles and thus they would have separate registrations. (for the person who asked....I didn't see anyone else respond).

Thanks for the opportunity to comment, people. Let the bashing and 'noob-isms' begin.
Good night to all.

XtraHeavy

Postby XtraHeavy » July 25th, 2009, 7:19 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
XtraHeavy wrote:

MG Man, comments?

LOL @ not having an issue with a extra 5ft off the trailer. Dude that container was basically just resting on the skeleton with MAYBE 2 locks worked because I cant see the other 2/4 being in place..

I saw them removing the container this morn, tied down the back of the container with cable or rope to the trailer :?

Ok If you saw them moving it this morning you should have looked carefully that there were also FOUR TWIST LOCKS on the trailer that secured the container in FOUR positions. A 45 foot container has 8 areas for twist locks so it is normal too see a 40 trailer transporting a 45 foot container...once again it is secured in the FOUR positions which this one appeared too be look at the pics carefully. As for the extra 5 feet it is excessed 2.5 feet too the rear and 2.5 feet too the front ( which is allowed by law). Next time you are in traffic have a look so you can educate your self a little more. :) Removing it tied down with straps or whatever...well yuh right that might definitely be a problem.