"Sleeper" PC Build

ingalook

"Sleeper" PC Build

Postby ingalook » July 22nd, 2009, 3:53 pm

Hey guys, just got done cramming a lot of hardware into a "el cheapo" PC Case ($200) for a guy

I thought it turned out pretty good... definitely a "sleeper"

Specs:

AMD X2 7750 (Kuma)
Biostar Tforce 790GX Motherboard
4gb OCZ Blade Memory
Rosewill 700w Power Supply (plenty wires to hide)
2 XFX HD4850 Video Cards :shock:
500gb SATA Hard disk
DVD-Rw Drive

I know its a sleeper so it shouldn't have Blue LEDs... but its all I had lying around :D

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » July 22nd, 2009, 3:56 pm

but nobody seeing it besides you.

:D

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » July 22nd, 2009, 3:58 pm

Post benchmarks

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 22nd, 2009, 4:00 pm

will prefer a full case though... how is the heat management ?

Postby RBphoto » July 22nd, 2009, 4:02 pm

If it ws watercooled with those same dimensions, I would have given you props, but is just a ram cram box. Nothin unique, but good workmanship nonetheless.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 22nd, 2009, 4:02 pm

Noice build

one question tho, how come he managed to stay in the Athlon family? Customer choice?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » July 22nd, 2009, 4:03 pm

Looks like a clean install

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 22nd, 2009, 4:07 pm

crossdrilled wrote:If it ws watercooled with those same dimensions, I would have given you props, but is just a ram cram box. Nothin unique, but good workmanship nonetheless.

What water cooling kit you think could fit in there?

I am just asking

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 22nd, 2009, 4:07 pm

I built a system in a Thermaltake Armor 2 days ago and hated it... big and heavy for nothing... took 2 people to put in the car... this is MORE powerful and you could carry it easily under one arm.

Cooling... should be fine, its got 2 80mm exhast fans plus the power supply has a 120mm.

The videocards vent their heat out the back of the case, so I guess that would take care of any possible cooling deadzones that usually occur in that area... and the processor has a 92mm Heatpipe cooler

I'll be a while before I can get benchmarks, I just spent 2 hours building it :shock:

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 22nd, 2009, 4:10 pm

When I get home later tonight, I'll post some pics of my build and I will post some benchmarks.

Btw, which version of 3dmark you using to benchmark?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 22nd, 2009, 4:12 pm

^^ desktops are not made to be moved and sometimes they cannot be moved.. I have that thermaltake case heavy yes... but rel cooling

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 22nd, 2009, 4:19 pm

Usually in any sli or crossfire system the second card to the base always runs hotter than the first, usually the front lower case fan by the hard drives should help in bringing in cold air from outside to feed the videocards' air intake.

Have external watercooling systems for any system but since is just a 2.7ghz dual core amd an air cooler is just fine.

Nice build btw, most people usually opt for a more exoensive mid atx or even full tower case for build like this. (Yeah i is one). :D

If allyuh posting pics i'll post my two towers as well. :wink:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 22nd, 2009, 4:24 pm

If I was a reviewer I'd give that thermaltake case a 2 out of 5... one of the worst designed hard drive cages I've ever come across

Expensive garbage!

I'd give this case a 3, not because it better than the TT, but because it cost 200 and not $1300... it isn't pretending to be a enthusiast case like the TT... it is what it is

I like the Thermaltake Element S, Element G, and V9... there other stuff is usually bad

Cooler Master and Antec make much better cases IMHO

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 22nd, 2009, 4:25 pm

Now remembered I had pics online. Here are a few:

The case when I now bought it, fresh out the box

Yes I bought a green neon to go with it

Fitting everything in

Case closed, neon in, installing Vista

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 22nd, 2009, 4:30 pm

I'll probably bump the processor to 3.1 or 3.2ghz for the man, the cards will get a lil boost as well :D

Watercooling is impractical... I could fit it in this case if I had to but I wouldn't recommend it

A good air cooler is preferable to Watercooling... the watercooling may be quieter, but the cost and the possible risk aren't worth it

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 22nd, 2009, 4:33 pm

ingalook wrote:If I was a reviewer I'd give that thermaltake case a 2 out of 5... one of the worst designed hard drive cages I've ever come across

Expensive garbage!

I'd give this case a 3, not because it better than the TT, but because it cost 200 and not $1300... it isn't pretending to be a enthusiast case like the TT... it is what it is

I like the Thermaltake Element S, Element G, and V9... there other stuff is usually bad

Cooler Master and Antec make much better cases IMHO

Doh be hatin cuz u dunno how to use it :roll:

In this day and age you still have to use screws to secure a HD in a case? Get real... plus I know how to use it, but the only way to get a screw through the tiny opening without dropping it was to use a MAGNETIC screwdriver next to a hard drive :shock:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 22nd, 2009, 4:34 pm

ingalook wrote:I'll probably bump the processor to 3.1 or 3.2ghz for the man, the cards will get a lil boost as well :D

Watercooling is impractical... I could fit it in this case if I had to but I wouldn't recommend it

A good air cooler is preferable to Watercooling... the watercooling may be quieter, but the cost and the possible risk aren't worth it

Nuh all d time eh :twisted:

Good luck on ocing that cpu eh, most black edition amd don't really oc that well unless u throwing in some dry ice or liquid nitrogen in dey.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » July 22nd, 2009, 4:36 pm

what kinda monitor u running that sli with?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 22nd, 2009, 4:37 pm

At full tilt the case sounds like it turbocharged "whooosh" but it only sounds like that for 2 seconds or so when it boots up, the motherboard/videocard fan speed adjustment kicks in after that and its pretty quiet.

Nice install there Pablo... I could help you neaten up the wiring :D

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 22nd, 2009, 4:39 pm

ingalook, will give you call when I ready, just doh have the time :oops:

Postby M_2NR » July 22nd, 2009, 7:56 pm

pablo_tt, loving it man. Reminds me of my build.

ingalook, Tt...2... :lol: bahahahahahaahhahahhahahahaahhah *runs out of thread*

i should complain about my 900 then? how wiring is a beyotch.
still this Antec here.. id say.. worth the $ spent. might use screws and sheit to secure the HDD and my non-modular PSU bearly fits.. but hey... cooling like a mofo.. any weather.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 22nd, 2009, 8:11 pm

Full Specs of my rig:

Asus P5N-D Skt 775 Mainboard
4GB OCZ Gold DDR2 800 RAM
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Processor 2.4 GHz
EVGA Nvidia Geforce 9800GTX + 512MB GDDR3 Graphics Card
Seagate Baracuda 320GB SATA HDD 7200RPM
Thermaltake Toughpower 700watt PSU
Eagle All Aluminum ATX Case

Postby M_2NR » July 22nd, 2009, 8:18 pm

pablo_tt wrote:Full Specs of my rig:

ohh my, here's mine: (im a bit shy)
P5Q-E
4GB DDR2 OCZ HPC Reaper 1066 RAM
E8400 w/ zalman CNPS9700
BFG 9800GTX+
500GB
Corsair 750W
Antec 900

what do you get in 3dmark06? since basically your quad im dual..

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 22nd, 2009, 8:20 pm

yet to figure it out, will go and get it in a few..........

*looks at powered off PC*

*grumbles*

*wonders if to switch on or not*

Postby M_2NR » July 22nd, 2009, 8:26 pm

im vex my lil ole pc died :(
now this on right thru

Postby bushwakka » July 22nd, 2009, 8:29 pm

love the choice of graphics cards, i think an intel processor would have been a better choice however, core 2 duo e8500 maybe?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 22nd, 2009, 8:41 pm

Intel maybe... but everything is AMD there, CPU, Graphics Cards and Motherboard Chipset...

It should run man

I have a similar system but M-ATX so I running 1 4850 and it plays everything I throw at it...

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 22nd, 2009, 8:46 pm

alright, I turned it on. Will post a screenshot of the benchmark results

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 22nd, 2009, 9:00 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:
pablo_tt wrote:Full Specs of my rig:

ohh my, here's mine: (im a bit shy)
P5Q-E
4GB DDR2 OCZ HPC Reaper 1066 RAM
E8400 w/ zalman CNPS9700
BFG 9800GTX+
500GB
Corsair 750W
Antec 900

what do you get in 3dmark06? since basically your quad im dual..

Nice system there corolla_2nr, had that same board a time couple with a Q9300, was quite a beast of a system. The 9800gtx+ actually gets a little higher score in 3dmark06 than a ATI HD 4850 (had these cards as well). The Antec 900 does cool very well but with the lack of air filters on the intake fans dust is a problem, plus cable management is a joke in dey.

My updated system is this, who have quad core doh trounce meh eh:

Intel Xeon E3110 3ghz dual core
Biostar TPower I45
2 x 2GB Crucial Tracer 800MHz
Visiontek ATI HD 4870x2 2gb
640GB WD HDD
Samsung 18X DVDRW
Corsair Nautilus 500
PC Power and Cooling 750W silencer quad red
Thermaltake Armor Quad FX silver