Lifestyle Changes - Part Deux

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 10th, 2009, 7:35 pm

After great difficulty, i finally stopped smoking after 14 years of blissful ignorance. I have also cut down drinking alco considerably (almost never).

However, I have another huge stumbling block where I need some advice.
I was always overweight, and have decided that it is time to get in shape, get healthy.
Timeframe is not the issue, just need some tips on how i can shed about 50 lbs and KEEP IT OFF!!!
I will not deny it, i have been neglecting physical exercise for some time, but i guess i need to get the ball rolling, i am thinking cardio (exerise bike ) for a hour or more each day?

Any exercise/diet/supplement tips?

ummm also, WTB: one exercise bike (really) where can I get a good one NEW?

thanks guys.

Postby Maserati » June 10th, 2009, 7:38 pm

cardio man, running out doors is the real thing if possible.

diet very important too.
avoid soft drinks etc.

neoise

Postby neoise » June 10th, 2009, 8:02 pm

Dog .... u stop drinkin :shock: Why would u do such a thing :twisted:

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » June 10th, 2009, 8:16 pm

:grouphug: that's Excellent that u quit smoking'' ... u just added 10 more yrs to your life... :)

join a gym if u can & do lots of cardio ...
what really works & makes u stick to the plan is to allow the instructor to guide u 100% & realy work with u... it'll give u lots of motivation & momentum...

massages & stretching after workouts help lots in the begining & get a full 8-10 hrs of sleep every night ...

little fat/fried foods, less sugary stuff, less carbs for now...
more protien, meats, fruits & vegetables, greens, whole grains; like peas, beans, rice, porrige, oats etc
If u don't buy it then u won't eat it' ... if fattening foods aren't in the fridge or the house u r less likely to consume it.

:wiggle:

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » June 10th, 2009, 8:18 pm

dont eat after 7 and eat about 4 or 5 small meals for the day instead of 3 big meals....and no soft drink, i start too :(

Postby buzz » June 10th, 2009, 8:18 pm

If u don't buy it then u won't eat it' ... if fattening foods aren't in the fridge or the house u r less likely to consume it.

true

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2009, 10:02 pm

losing weight is not hard once you know how and have the right tools to do so
by definition to drop a pound per week you need to drop 3500 calories in that week

signup with fitday.com
log your typical approx calorie intake
see how you can cut back a couple hundred calories or so
usually by reducing some items like less bread/starch/rice/soft drinks

join a gym and start using an exercise bike, forget about running if you have no fitness
running is tough since you can't really adjust the difficulty level

make sure the bikes have the heart rate monitoring thing on the handles
and figure out a good target heart rate/speed to start with
usually just about slight breathing hard

the newer bikes usually have an approx calorie burned counter also
make sure the seat height is correct and comfortable

aim for reducing your daily calories by at least 300-400
eg reduce food by 200 and burn 200 in the gym
for a lot of people they could just stop drinking soft drinks and drop the 200
and you can burn 200 calories in 30 mins on an exercise bike
Last edited by pugboy on June 10th, 2009, 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » June 10th, 2009, 10:07 pm

buy a Total Gym
jed Chuck Norris din lie..........best piece of home equipment ever
The only thing they left out is a Chuck Norris poster for inspiration

Postby Damien » June 10th, 2009, 10:27 pm

VexXx Dogg, i in your position to is just that i put on the 50lbs when i stop smoking :| just watch what you eating now your apetite is going to increase

Postby MG Man » June 10th, 2009, 10:35 pm

LOGIC

Postby brams112 » June 10th, 2009, 11:16 pm

exercise a lot,do some weight training,eat less at dinner or a light meal in the afternoon,and get advise from a doctor it is wise :P

Postby MG Man » June 10th, 2009, 11:19 pm

Postby Damien » June 10th, 2009, 11:20 pm

:| :| :| :lol:

Postby Country_Bookie » June 10th, 2009, 11:49 pm

Invest in purchasing either a stationary bike or an elliptical machine (depending on your preference) to have at home. I prefer the elliptical since it works both arms and legs. Use this to supplement gym work and running.

Eliminate or significantly reduce high carb foods (roti, bread etc) and high fat foods.
Btw, congrats on the lifestyle change.

Postby AllTrac » June 11th, 2009, 12:41 am

walk through the beetham daily.

honda4life

Postby honda4life » June 11th, 2009, 12:42 am

AllTrac wrote:walk through the beetham daily.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 11th, 2009, 9:01 am

Country_Bookie wrote:Invest in purchasing either a stationary bike or an elliptical machine (depending on your preference) to have at home. I prefer the elliptical since it works both arms and legs. Use this to supplement gym work and running.

Eliminate or significantly reduce high carb foods (roti, bread etc) and high fat foods.
Btw, congrats on the lifestyle change.

stick to a diet .... roti, bread, patato pasta rice are your enemy.
drink lots of water and avoid softdrinks.

running/ biking .... forget stationary bikes ..... by a real bike and go riding.
swimming is also good.
i know what it feels like to look in the mirror and not be happy with what you see. i lost 80lbs in 1 1/2 years

just to give yuh an idea

Postby buzz » June 11th, 2009, 9:24 am

bread, patato pasta rice are your enemy.

so wuh tuh eat? :|

Postby buzz » June 11th, 2009, 9:25 am

serious question btw

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 11th, 2009, 10:21 am

Kudos to you for making the first step in living a healthier life. I won't go to the extreme and say stop eating heavy carbs but rather I suggest you NOT overconsume processed carbs like cereals, pasta, sodas, white rice, etc. Brown rice is a good substitution if you wish to include grain carb products in your diet. I also suggest eating grass-fed and/or free-range meats and dairy products or go organic. Healthy fats are also important in your diet (avocado, unsalted nuts, seeds, etc) and is a great substitute for bad carbs. As for potatoes, I prefer sweet potatoes and yams in my diet which is a more healthier carb than white potatoes. Its all in WHAT and HOW much you eat. Keep us posted and all the best!!!

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » June 11th, 2009, 10:26 am

Forgot to add, look at your ingredients when shopping at the grocery!!! Juices can also be unhealthy if the first three ingredients include any of the following: Sugar and/or High Fructose Corn Syrup.

Postby Damien » June 11th, 2009, 11:27 am

I thinking bout starting back smoking :|

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 11th, 2009, 3:46 pm

thanks for the great responses. will let you guys know if i find out any more.
supposed to be speaking to a nutritionist sometime soon.

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » June 11th, 2009, 4:06 pm

buzz wrote:

have brown rice instead; it's ok'..... not white rice, it's has less starch... do not steam the rice, boil it well & strain it, thereby u'll be consuming less starch.
u can get rice pastas in peppercorns west mall.
potatos r ok too once boiled or baked... not fried.
normal pasta / macaroni is really fattening so is bread, any bread/roti.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » June 11th, 2009, 4:15 pm

rice nooodleeesss me luvvvvvvvvvv :D don't eat potatoe eat sweet potatoe its more statisfying .

peppercorns cookies are freaking addictive

veexx dogg check u're pm :D

um buzzkill you can eat anything you want you know , just don't have it for the next mth if u know its gonna add 5 lbs lol :lol: :lol: that's my policy ..

or you can do like cheesepie and eat chicken only and subway .. :|

G-T

Postby G-T » June 11th, 2009, 6:53 pm

Drink plenty porridge, it helps reduces calories & also more vegetables the better.. :mrgreen:

Postby AllTrac » June 11th, 2009, 7:07 pm

eat what yuh want, how much time you want, just hit de gym hard, daily.

Postby buzz » June 12th, 2009, 12:13 pm

Mrs Peanut Punch wrote:
buzz wrote:

have brown rice instead; it's ok'..... not white rice, it's has less starch... do not steam the rice, boil it well & strain it, thereby u'll be consuming less starch.
u can get rice pastas in peppercorns west mall.
potatos r ok too once boiled or baked... not fried.
normal pasta / macaroni is really fattening so is bread, any bread/roti.

thx alot

tryin to nip the pot belly in the early stages :lol:

bean_head

Postby bean_head » June 12th, 2009, 12:35 pm

drink lots of water... eat lots of fruits and veggies. flour and sugar is the enemy lol. eat 5-6 small meals per day instead of 3 large ones. yogurt (fat free ones) and almonds make good snacks.

for your workout, a threadmill is also a good start.