Car alarms an theives

lastminuteaudio

Car alarms an theives

Postby lastminuteaudio » May 24th, 2009, 9:35 pm

after readin bout how Peanut Punch almost lost her car, i was talkin to a padna who installs alarms...
a lot of ppl usin viper or prestige alarms etc... so wat he waz explaining waz that all d harnesses for d respective brands are the same,
so all that is needed if ur car is broken into is to unhook the original alarm brain an replace it with another of the same brand an the new brain an remote will work... so all ur fuel an ignition cut or whatever the alarm does is useless... theives only need one of each kind an real cars stolen...

BTW, does anybody use d stickers u get wid ur alarm to advertise what brand u runnin? hope this useful an not a repost...(importance of an external kill switch)

Postby r3iXmann » May 24th, 2009, 9:40 pm

r.e the stickers

the previous owners put mine on the glass and then put the clear anti-glare tint over it,so i can't take them off :evil:

Postby Damien » May 24th, 2009, 9:41 pm

Good info :!:

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 24th, 2009, 9:49 pm

are all alarm harnesses really the same?
i doubt it.

lastminuteaudio

Postby lastminuteaudio » May 24th, 2009, 9:59 pm

for thier respective brands, thats the info given to me....anyone else care to verify??

dubplate

Postby dubplate » May 24th, 2009, 10:00 pm

best alarm system,

1) laptop with usb edvo from tstt and an ip camera,
2) motion detection software installed (comes with ip camera) ,
3) blackberry with internet to access email.

If any motion detected within the detection area set such as driver door. An email is sent immediately with a small recording clip . Which you can access via your phone.

:D :D :D , it works like a charm. Biggest flaw , laptop battery lasting longer than 2 hours. Always get an inverter and precharged car battery in your truck. :lol:

lastminuteaudio

Postby lastminuteaudio » May 24th, 2009, 10:18 pm

dubplate,what if they breakin in to steal ur laptop? jus curious, never leave anything valuable showing....

Postby brams112 » May 24th, 2009, 10:19 pm

^now man will break open for the laptop, :lol: :lol:

Postby bushwakka » May 24th, 2009, 10:19 pm

anybody kno of ppl stealin cars with factory immobilisers with the key recognition type? i.e. the microchipped key that is read by the ignition?

dubplate

Postby dubplate » May 24th, 2009, 10:28 pm

lastminuteaudio wrote:dubplate,what if they breakin in to steal ur laptop? jus curious, never leave anything valuable showing....

doesn't matter by the time the door opens , a piece of glass fall within the detection area , an email is sent out as fast as an sms txt . So by then you know somthing is up to check on your car. I rather they steal a cheap ass laptop that has a usb connection than my car. The motion sensor software is amazing. You simply highlight an area on the camera image such as the entire driver door , any change in the image , would be detected as "motion" and send an email out immediately.

Besides the laptop can be hidden. In the trunk, under the seat , doesn't matter . It's the camera placement that is the important factor and may be even a further deterent incase they want to break in.

dubplate

Postby dubplate » May 24th, 2009, 10:42 pm

sometimes if there is sunlight in the car , and a cloud goes over the sun and there is less light it sends out an email and u actually see the lighting on the door change from the recorded clip. We have the technology of wireless internet and cellphone frequencies , just need to use it to your advantage and you ger your own little wireless surveillance of you car :lol:

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » May 25th, 2009, 12:24 am

we need a paint bomb and a tear gas bomb to deploy upon forced entry for the MC :evil:

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 25th, 2009, 2:23 am

bess thing to do, remove the steering wheel or get a snap off boss kit and walk with ur steering most u might lose ur deck and speakers

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » May 25th, 2009, 8:28 am

PAGER ALARM- it works!

come out and check if it goes off, be prepared to KILL a car thief!

talk done!

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » May 25th, 2009, 9:28 am

GSM alarm FTW

nes123

Re: Car alarms an theives

Postby nes123 » May 25th, 2009, 10:31 am

lastminuteaudio wrote:after readin bout how Peanut Punch almost lost her car, i was talkin to a padna who installs alarms...
a lot of ppl usin viper or prestige alarms etc... so wat he waz explaining waz that all d harnesses for d respective brands are the same,
so all that is needed if ur car is broken into is to unhook the original alarm brain an replace it with another of the same brand an the new brain an remote will work... so all ur fuel an ignition cut or whatever the alarm does is useless... theives only need one of each kind an real cars stolen...

BTW, does anybody use d stickers u get wid ur alarm to advertise what brand u runnin? hope this useful an not a repost...(importance of an external kill switch)

Invest in a multilock...all dem bandit doing after dey tief ya car is putting on chrome rims and driving it like is dem own :|

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » May 25th, 2009, 3:16 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:PAGER ALARM- it works!
come out and check if it goes off, be prepared to KILL a car thief!
talk done!

that sounds good'... do u have one in ur vehicle' ....who installing those man'

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 25th, 2009, 3:30 pm

yea but pager alarms have a certain radius to work wit...and they suck if there are a lot of buildings around you

Postby r3iXmann » May 25th, 2009, 3:58 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:yea but pager alarms have a certain radius to work wit...and they suck if there are a lot of buildings around you

esp. viper..overrated sheit :?

gsm alarm?

themotorsalon.com

11:11

Postby themotorsalon.com » May 25th, 2009, 4:00 pm

11:11
Last edited by themotorsalon.com on August 13th, 2011, 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eyephone

Postby eyephone » January 25th, 2010, 12:08 am

From all the threads I've read about vehicle security, it seems to be that the common consensus is to have an alarm, multilock and gsm / car search type system.

Deciding whether to go with Car search or the GSM alarm systems. Any advice?

BTW, which alarm is best these days? eg. viper model #?

Postby Sky » January 25th, 2010, 12:25 am

wiring harnesses aren't the same within brands, they are however the same with models obviously. This still does not make it ok to stick in another alarm module. I won't say why.
Multilock is also now useless when a thief has some time in the car. I won't say why.

eyephone

Postby eyephone » January 25th, 2010, 12:42 am

Sky wrote:Multilock is also now useless when a thief has some time in the car. I won't say why.

This includes the model with the pin at the side? :shock:

nes123

Postby nes123 » January 25th, 2010, 8:37 am

^^ I cyar see how he saying dat?at least dey won't be driving it around like is their car...I think its a good deterrent however...if one car have it, it easier for a bandit to move along to another car that doesn't have it installed

m6

Postby m6 » January 25th, 2010, 8:42 am

Alarms are ole school, easy to by-pass and nobody takes on the sound anymore.
GPS is the way to go :D Real time tracking via phone/PC with google maps(smart phone)..built-in immobilizer, entry alert,automobile type wiring harness (looks very original),very small and totally hidden. And oh yes!!.........there is an optional microphone, for people who want to use it as a "maco-meter"

:mrgreen:

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 25th, 2010, 8:47 am

Zeriam wrote:bess thing to do, remove the steering wheel or get a snap off boss kit and walk with ur steering most u might lose ur deck and speakers

^^^^^ fuh real .... lol

Postby Sky » January 25th, 2010, 8:49 am

nes123 wrote:^^ I cyar see how he saying dat?at least dey won't be driving it around like is their car...I think its a good deterrent however...if one car have it, it easier for a bandit to move along to another car that doesn't have it installed

Yea, Including the model with the pin at the side. You're right, it's a very good deterrent, and they'll most likely move along or just wait on the driver. All unmanned vehicle security is mostly useless these days. A man want the vehicle, just point a gun and take it with the keys and fully intact.

Best bet is to get CarSearch. I dunno about gavitrack, but if they're still around then they're doing something right too. There may be others, but the point is to not protect it, but to get it back when they take it.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 25th, 2010, 9:02 am

yeah i'm going to flame my viper and get this: Those bandits don't know anything about them:

This remote will send and receive up to 20 football fields long! So how do we do it? After countless hours of research our engineers were able to develop a unique type of Spread Spectrum 900Mhz technology that operates on 50 different frequencies. This technology minimizes interference and permits increased power output while maintaining FCC compliance. In addition to range, you get some of the same great features found in other PRO LCD remotes. These include a 2 year remote warranty, lifetime system warranty, vehicle temperature display, vehicle voltage display, CompuGlow backlight, protective case, run-time countdown, keyless entry, trunk release, remote start, auxiliary outputs and much much more.

http://www.compustar.com/remotestartalarm/

Re: Car alarms an theives

Postby SR » January 25th, 2010, 9:27 am

lastminuteaudio wrote:after readin bout how Peanut Punch almost lost her car, i was talkin to a padna who installs alarms...
so all that is needed if ur car is broken into is to unhook the original alarm brain an replace it with another of the same brand an the new brain an remote will work..
. so all ur fuel an ignition cut or whatever the alarm does is useless... theives only need one of each kind an real cars stolen...

BS

1 different model alarms even thought he same brand carry different harnesses

2 to change the alarm brain you must break into the car first thus activating the exisitng alarm

3 to know where the exisitng alar, brain is located so that you can swap over quickly you have had prior knowledge on its installation

bolis down to more than likley an inside job or conncetions with an installer

a properly installed alarm would take at least 5-10 min to access and would have been triggered during this process

higher end alarms use all black wires so wire tracing and tapping is almost impossible

a good alarm with fuel and ignition cut etc has to also be programmed for it and a simple swap of the "brain" will not disable those features

i'm afraid your source of info can only relate to alarm units being marketed under $1000
which are cheap basic units

eyephone

Postby eyephone » January 25th, 2010, 11:33 am

Sky wrote: the point is to not protect it, but to get it back when they take it.

Excellent point there.