doggal

INFO NEEDED ON 3 SCHOOLS

Postby doggal » May 14th, 2009, 7:50 am

Specialist Learning Center, Wilson Street , St. Augustine

The University School, Baker Street, St. Augustine

St. Xavier Private School, Richmond Street, St. Joseph

Any reviews from past students, parents of past or current students or past teachers will be appreciated.

and yes I will call and ask myself but it will help be decide if I get inside info since the school itself will not say ' we not good teachers '.

NO SPAMMERS PLEASE!
Last edited by doggal on May 14th, 2009, 9:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » May 14th, 2009, 9:00 am

that is 3 schools eh boss not 2

doggal

Postby doggal » May 14th, 2009, 9:58 am

yeah...sorry 'bout that...added St. Xavier's at the last moment... :)

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 14th, 2009, 10:11 am

pioneer wrote:can i spam? :fadein:

I know plenty people went St. Xavier's....that was in the early 90's doh...dunno how they are now

TML ftw

still pretty good
buh a chupid chile is still a chupid chile... no matter where yuh send them

university school is good too

but Xaviers is very well rounded imo

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » May 14th, 2009, 10:58 am

Specialist Learning Center is owned and run by Mrs. Chote.. a real hardarse of a woman. She taught me while I was at Curepe Presbyterian School in std 4 and would've been std 5 as well if my mother didn't pull me out and send me to University School for all of std 5.

The woman torments children into learning with fear tactics and abusive words. She doesn't hide the fact and will call your child stupid if that's what she thinks. She's 100% based on academics and does not believe children need to learn extra-curricular stuff.

University School, for the one year that I was there, was a dream, the classes were a controlled number, the teachers had patience to deal with you ( I was not a problem child eh), used to be we would leanr swimming every Wednesday. and we had a lot of extra stuff in school sports wise to occupy our minds during recess and lunch, plus the music program was tops.

doggal

Postby doggal » May 14th, 2009, 12:31 pm

heard she was strict...of course I did not hear what u just said...tnx for the heads up :wink:

Postby M_2NR » May 14th, 2009, 12:31 pm

i know some people (ok, quite close) who went xavier's, seems an ok place, just their hand writing is... lets just say... anyway :lol:

I know plenty people went St. Xavier's....that was in the early 90's doh...dunno how they are now

TML ftw

jameel and kayum beat yuh orrr

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 14th, 2009, 12:48 pm

xaviers and university school are good schools - they ave their fair share of dunceyheads, but at least the level of discipline is supposed to be good

Postby bluefete » May 14th, 2009, 1:02 pm

My son went St. Xaviers'. It graduates well rounded students. The school curriculum uses some strange method (colours, if I remember well) to teach math & reading. Your child will be able to read quite well but will have a serious problem with comprehension.

Math was okay.

Handwriting was a problem (as mentioned earlier). I used to make him redo assignments so many time until ... oh well....

Anyways, he had some pretty good teachers - Mrs. Modeste, Mrs Farinha and then the std.5 class had Mrs. George and Mrs. Gonsalez (2 excellent and very committed teachers). His year had one of the most successful pass rates for St. Xavier's.

There is a music programme led by Mrs. Garnes (an excellent teacher for "spoilt" children and those who could take a good "boof" as well ) that is top notch. :D :D

The football coach is Mr. Cumberbatch.

All children learn to swim and take part in other activities as well.

I heard the University School is good as well.

Postby SR » May 14th, 2009, 1:24 pm

St xaviers
best out of the 3
:mrgreen:

thats from personal experience

doggal

Postby doggal » May 14th, 2009, 1:43 pm

tnx for the comments...I also will like to get them into St. Xavier's or the University School but as many things is who yuh know and they give preference to their own people etc...

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » May 14th, 2009, 2:02 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:i know some people (ok, quite close) who went xavier's, seems an ok place, just their hand writing is... lets just say... anyway :lol:

TML ftw

Is there anyone them never beat who pass thru tht school ?

alco never laid a hand on me which was wierd coz now he does wanna boof meh up a lil too much :?

doggal I heard some good things about the canadian school in chagunas .

Postby bluefete » May 14th, 2009, 2:03 pm

St. Xavier's admission forms must be submitted on May 1 ONLY. You do not need to know anyone special. Why not go talk to the principal and find out for yourself what they are looking for in a child?

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » May 14th, 2009, 2:09 pm

doggal,
I know University School used to give preference to the children of UWI professors and lecturers. Don't know how much that has changed.

Postby SR » May 14th, 2009, 2:13 pm

they still give prefference

ramischand

Postby ramischand » May 15th, 2009, 2:02 am

I went to specialist learning center along with all 4 of my siblings when the school was located in valsayn....... i must admit ms.chote is a hardass but it's not true that she doesn't believe in extra curricular activities as it is a requirement for her students to actively take part in curricular activities such as lawn tennis, swimming, pan and other musical instruments, karate etc...security is tight as well ... her school has a 99% pass rate.... it's a bit strict but the school delivers.....

out of the 3 schools you've listed ms.chote school, specialist learning center is the only one to have been recognized and awarded several prizes from different well established institutions for the school's ability to educate..... most recently she and her school was honored by the government for her achievements..... the president handed her the award.. i was invited to the ceremony... it was in the papers about 2 months ago....

specialist learning center all the way......

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » May 15th, 2009, 2:19 am

I went UWI Prep!!!! :D :D :D :D Was just talkin about this actually, I was told tho that from the time you even think of being pregnant you need to put your kid on the waiting list.
The teachers are excellent, they're very well rounded, we had swimming, gym, Religious Knowledge classes (each religion)...computers, everything :D

doggal

Postby doggal » May 15th, 2009, 2:04 pm

Tnx Ramischand and Sumana.00

Eurogirl....that is where they are going...problem is that the Kindergarten has no qualified teachers and they giving meh son who cannot even write Grade 1 work! Water Cycle, Life Stages of a Butterfly of a Frog...and the kiddy just started 3 weeks ago...I mean he's not even 5...the staff has no experience and no qualifications...It's just simply wrong ! :evil:
My older one has been there for the past 3 years and is great..great teacher etc... but unfortunately I must decide to go in a different direction...no disrespect to public school eh...but all kinda things happening now and I trying to be safe...

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » May 15th, 2009, 5:02 pm

doggal wrote:Tnx Ramischand and Sumana.00

Eurogirl....that is where they are going...problem is that the Kindergarten has no qualified teachers and they giving meh son who cannot even write Grade 1 work! Water Cycle, Life Stages of a Butterfly of a Frog...and the kiddy just started 3 weeks ago...I mean he's not even 5...the staff has no experience and no qualifications...It's just simply wrong ! :evil:
My older one has been there for the past 3 years and is great..great teacher etc... but unfortunately I must decide to go in a different direction...no disrespect to public school eh...but all kinda things happening now and I trying to be safe...

oooooooooooooooooooooo

I know this dude, his grandson is going there and he said they going good . So that's why i asked why not candian school ?

form5boy

Postby form5boy » May 15th, 2009, 10:30 pm

i went to st xaviers the teachers rel bes there i was struggling right before sea and my teacher gave me xtra classes for one week before sea and i was able to get 82% in maths from getting like 25% in sea pass papers to 82%and all teachers are willing to help students no matter what the will push your child/children to succeed

doggal

Postby doggal » May 16th, 2009, 7:08 am

LOL...

doggal

Postby doggal » May 19th, 2009, 4:50 pm

:bump:

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » May 19th, 2009, 7:15 pm

eurogirl wrote:
corolla_2nr wrote:i know some people (ok, quite close) who went xavier's, seems an ok place, just their hand writing is... lets just say... anyway :lol:

TML ftw

Is there anyone them never beat who pass thru tht school ?

alco never laid a hand on me which was wierd coz now he does wanna boof meh up a lil too much :?

doggal I heard some good things about the canadian school in chagunas .

ah man talkin bout teachers that use terror tactics...they clearly never has Ms. Zenora or Mr. Farouk

(sorry tk!)

she was one scaryyyy woman ...

doggal - I would seirously recomend TML go visit the school and talk to the principal he's a nice guy .. i'm sure if you need recommendations from past pupils you can get them ,there are alot of past students in here .