The Great Pacific Garbage Patch (Serious Stuff)

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 6th, 2009, 8:02 am

Came across this article by chance recently - unbelievable...

Water covers more than 70 percent of the planet's surface, making our rivers, lakes and oceans the lifeblood of our planet. Many of these bodies of water may be out of sight and out of mind, but our health may depend on their protection.

Currently, scientists believe the world's largest garbage dump isn't on land…it's in the Pacific Ocean. The Great Pacific Garbage Patch stretches from the coast of California to Japan, and it's estimated to be twice the size of Texas. "This is the most shocking thing I have seen," Oprah says.

In some places, the floating debris—estimated to be about 90 percent plastic—goes 90 feet deep. Elsewhere, there are six times more pieces of plastic than plankton, the main food source for many sea animals.

Where did this trash come from? Marine biologists estimate that about 80 percent of the litter is from land, either dumped directly into waterways or blown into rivers and streams from states as far away as Iowa.

Like his grandfather, undersea explorer Jacques Cousteau, Fabien Cousteau has devoted his life to exploring and protecting the world's oceans and sea life.

Many of those affected by the enormous garbage swirl—like sea birds, turtles and beluga whales—can't speak for themselves. "They get caught in these nets, or they swallow some of these bottle caps," Fabien says. "Killer whales, which are kind of our mirror, our canary in the coal mine, so to speak, are ingesting all sorts of things that are affecting their health."

Experts say plastic trash has already killed millions of sea birds and marine mammals. In one case, pieces of plastic and a cigarette lighter were found in the stomach of a dead albatross.

Beluga whales are also suffering. Fabien says some of these marine mammals have been diagnosed with breast cancer, which may be caused by the chemicals they're ingesting.

If you don't care, you should. Fabien says this pollution will eventually come back to haunt humans and find its way onto our dinner plates.

"The pesticides that you spray on your dandelions run off into the oceans and end up in the food chain, which ends up back in our plates," he says. "It's a closed system. Everything's connected. We're all connected with the planet in very fundamental ways."

Fabien says the Pacific Ocean garbage swirl isn't unique. In fact, every ocean and many major rivers have them. "This one happens to be the largest one," he says.

Fabien says that when we protect the seas, we protect ourselves. "The ocean belongs to all of us, but there's no single entity or no single nation that's there to protect it," he says. "We need to be able to network and really all care about it and all protect the oceans."

If not for yourself, do it for your children. "You wouldn't let a child open up a cabinet under the sink and start tasting the chemicals down there," Fabien says. "So why would you dump those chemicals down the drain and have them end up on your plate, which you then feed to your child?"

source:
http://www.oprah.com/article/world/envi ... -pollution

my god, this thing larger than Trinidad... and 90 feet deep!!!!!

Firewall

Postby Firewall » May 6th, 2009, 8:17 am

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 6th, 2009, 8:19 am

video here...

<embed src="http://services.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f8/452319916" bgcolor="#FFFFFF" flashVars="videoId=1485308505&playerId=452319916&viewerSecureGatewayURL=https://services.brightcove.com/services/amfgateway&servicesURL=http://services.brightcove.com/services&cdnURL=http://admin.brightcove.com&domain=embed&autoStart=false&" base="http://admin.brightcove.com" name="flashObj" width="392" height="270" seamlesstabbing="false" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" swLiveConnect="true" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"></embed>

this is part 1 of a 12 part series

http://www.vbs.tv/shows.php?show=1154

DTAC

Postby DTAC » May 6th, 2009, 8:27 am

This was on Life After People the Series on The History Channel last night and the narrator on the show itself said that X amount of years after people, there would be a garbage island twice the size of Texas so I dunno who BSing who about there being one out there right now.

noobie

Postby noobie » May 6th, 2009, 9:45 am

Wouldn't something that large show up on google earth?
Has anyone found the co-ordinates of this thing?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 6th, 2009, 10:48 am

^^ It's not an island you can see with just large bottles and other plastic stuff. It is the remains of plastic that are broken down to very fine particles in a large mass that gathers in the Pacific Ocean !!! Jah man just look at the dam vids and educate your self. :x The particles are minute and is in an abundance. DAM THE HUMAN FOOT PRINT!! :x

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 6th, 2009, 10:49 am

ah wounder if it have any solo or busta bottles dey :mrgreen:

noobie

Postby noobie » May 6th, 2009, 10:55 am

Picasso wrote:^^ It's not an island you can see with just large bottles and other plastic stuff. It is the remains of plastic that are broken down to very fine particles in a large mass that gathers in the Pacific Ocean !!! Jah man just look at the dam vids and educate your self. :x The particles are minute and is in an abundance. DAM THE HUMAN FOOT PRINT!! :x

So then..the whole 'Island the size of texas' thing is a thief head.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 6th, 2009, 11:02 am

the whole 'Island the size of texas' thing is a thief head.

Man just look at the vid please ah begging you... :x :x :x

WD40

Postby WD40 » May 6th, 2009, 11:04 am

This video is disturbing and i'm the furtherest thing from the treehugger type.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » May 6th, 2009, 12:22 pm

dreeaaaaaaad we humans are a virus to this planet

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » May 6th, 2009, 12:27 pm

WD40 wrote:This video is disturbing and i'm the furtherest thing from the treehugger type.

Apparently you're pretty far away from an English majour too...

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » May 6th, 2009, 12:39 pm

^^ hey! ...

this sad.. and typical respone will be * flings kfc box out of windo* "so wah? dat not by we"... eh.. hmm

quote( paraphrase w/e) from bill waterson's calvin from "calvin an hobbes".. " the surest sign that inteligent life exists in the universe is that they havent tried to contact us yet"

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » May 6th, 2009, 12:53 pm

haven't u carenage/chagauramas the seaside it's full of garbage... people r constantly littering :?

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » May 6th, 2009, 1:20 pm

nos_specialist wrote:dreeaaaaaaad we humans are a virus to this planet

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 6th, 2009, 1:51 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Paci ... bage_Patch

The Great Pacific Garbage Patch, also described as the Eastern Garbage Patch or the Pacific Trash Vortex, is a gyre of marine litter in the central North Pacific Ocean located roughly between 135° to 155°W and 35° to 42°N

Not really finding any detailed sat images of that area.

zoomedic

dam white people always making rubbish

Postby zoomedic » May 6th, 2009, 2:10 pm

it is a need for a magician to make all that rubbish disappear , :lol:

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » May 6th, 2009, 2:19 pm

if watch the documentry you would understand. but its really messed up. i encourage to take the time and click the link posted by SmokeyGTi

http://www.vbs.tv/shows.php?show=1154

humans continue to f*** up the world

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 6th, 2009, 8:58 pm

^^ wellsaid brotha

Jedi Master

Postby Jedi Master » May 6th, 2009, 9:04 pm

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Postby buzz » May 6th, 2009, 9:20 pm

well i'll be :x

Postby Cjruckus » May 6th, 2009, 10:06 pm

doesn't exist.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » May 6th, 2009, 10:31 pm

There is a nice supplemental article on the major current systems, forgot what they are called, and how accumulated waste from the 12000 lost containers per year make their journeys

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » May 6th, 2009, 10:34 pm

Gyre.. thats its..
The Earth's oceans have the following major gyres:[2]

North Atlantic Subpolar Gyre
North Pacific Subpolar Gyre
Contains the smaller Alaska Gyre
North Atlantic Subtropical Gyre
Gulf Stream, Labrador Current, East Greenland Current, North Atlantic Current, North Atlantic Equatorial Current. Contains the Sargasso Sea.
North Pacific Subtropical Gyre also known as North Pacific Gyre
This gyre comprises most of the northern Pacific Ocean. It is located between the equator and 50º N latitude and occupies an area of approximately ten million square miles (34 million km²).[clarification needed] The North Pacific Gyre has a clockwise circular pattern and comprises four prevailing ocean currents: the North Pacific Current to the north, the California Current to the east, the North Equatorial Current to the south, and the Kuroshio Current to the west. An accumulation of man-made marine debris known as the "Great Pacific Garbage Patch" is collecting in the gyre.[3]
South Atlantic Subtropical Gyre
Contains the smaller Brazil Current System
South Pacific Subtropical Gyre
Contains the smaller East Australian Current System
Indian Ocean Subtropical Gyre (Southern Hemisphere)
Contains the smaller Agulhas Current System

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 6th, 2009, 11:06 pm

this pretty much sums it all up : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VqeADZgjtpY .... :(

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 7th, 2009, 8:11 am

not many people are aware that these things exist..