Way dred...she was livin large...

slick

Way dred...she was livin large...

Postby slick » May 3rd, 2009, 2:12 am

No wonder CLICO strapped for cash now :lol:

GITA SAKAL, who called it a day on April 30 after 15 years as CL Financial's general counsel and corporate secretary is claiming termination benefits in excess of US$5 million from the cash-starved conglomerate, now controlled in large part by the Government.

Sakal received a monthly salary of US$45,000
Fixed annual bonus of US$2 million

Sources say the separation was less than amicable. Group Executive Chairman, Lawrence Duprey, in a rare departure from standing practice is reported to have asked Sakal to hand over all of the company-owned assets in her possession, including a black BMW car, laptop and cellphone.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161472686

Postby Monk BANzai » May 3rd, 2009, 2:24 am

hahahahahahahahahah Duprey bummy we!! man wah he ting back!!!!....hahahahahahahahahaha

oh gaad!!!

Postby joker » May 3rd, 2009, 2:29 am

i'd hit it :|

Postby Monk BANzai » May 3rd, 2009, 2:40 am

greedy indian.... :?

Postby joker » May 3rd, 2009, 3:02 am

yuh blame us?

Postby Monk BANzai » May 3rd, 2009, 3:05 am

for being greedy? no. Is Natural.

Postby joker » May 3rd, 2009, 3:06 am

took you a while to find that out :|

DTAC

Postby DTAC » May 3rd, 2009, 4:35 am

Seriously. $1 million A MONTH as a bonus!!!!!!!!!! WTF!!!! :shock:

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » May 3rd, 2009, 6:40 am

.... and this is a major reason why big corporations fall so hard ....... if a corporate , hard working , after hours secretary getting $2,540,000 US a year .... one can just imagine how insane the salaries are as you go up the corporate ladder !!! ...... like corporate whores suckling on sweet honey , the more you get is the more you want and it will never be enough !! ...... taking everyone's hard earned money and using it for themselves seems to be the true nature of a big "corporation" these days ...... live the dream of having any and everything in this life , at the expense of others and then have the balls to say that you are worth it .... make no mistake friends !! the world is more cruel than ever before ...... so don't envy someone for what they have, because you don't know how they got it =]

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » May 3rd, 2009, 7:03 am

Executive compensation is executive compensation salaries are sky high ... Clico wasnt a small conglomerate if they were making money i wouldnt care how high the salaries were i am sure some of Clicos Agents and Brokers selling General Insurance where making big numbers also because they work off a percentage of the premium.

Now that the bottom fall out this woman bold face to want millions in tax payers money ... what i would do is prepare her bank draft and send inland revenue and the fraud squad after her ... threaten to file charges against her for professional misconduct also ... just like the bank executives in the US returned their bonuses or didnt collect them the big wigs at Clico should do the same cause it appears they have no shame but then again insurance is a shameless business.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » May 3rd, 2009, 7:32 am

^^^ , and you know my pops always says , that insurance is the biggest rip-off in the world .

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » May 3rd, 2009, 8:29 am

you live hard, you fall hard. No remorse :|

Postby eliteauto » May 3rd, 2009, 9:05 am

thais she own...she entitled under contract, no matter how bummy allyuh feel

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 3rd, 2009, 9:35 am

The BMW and laptop is not her own. I believe she is holding those company-assets as ransom until her contractual compensation is paid in full.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 3rd, 2009, 9:39 am

marcus8860 wrote:.... and this is a major reason why big corporations fall so hard ....... if a corporate , hard working , after hours secretary getting $2,540,000 US a year .... one can just imagine how insane the salaries are as you go up the corporate ladder !!! ......

Not to mention being General Counsel of the company. That's taking responsibility of all legal matters faced by the conglomerate. She's worked hard for her money.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » May 3rd, 2009, 9:42 am

I don't find this even remotely funny ... Tell me why is someone making over 10K tt a month paying 25% income tax and someone making facking 240000TT a month paying at the same rate???

That's just facked up! :evil: :evil: :evil:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 3rd, 2009, 9:45 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:I don't find this even remotely funny ... Tell me why is someone making over 10K tt a month paying 25% income tax and someone making facking 240000TT a month paying at the same rate???

Looks like you're in the wrong profession.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » May 3rd, 2009, 10:30 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:I don't find this even remotely funny ... Tell me why is someone making over 10K tt a month paying 25% income tax and someone making facking 240000TT a month paying at the same rate???

it could be 10-25k its still not denominated in US$ , a characteristic of the devaluation days has give some, a level of protection from the local economy

I also am not remotely amused , contracts have clauses in them , I am not sure but on the face of it ,there is a semblance to the AIG execs , who were reported as still living it up while the govt had bailed them out.

There is a small note in this.Those who promote the private sector as the model of efficiency. why depend on the bureaucratic public sector for funds and expertise? To me the ideal professional for any large company should have some version of a mixture of both the private and public sector

dsaint

Postby dsaint » May 3rd, 2009, 10:34 am

marcus8860 wrote:.... and this is a major reason why big corporations fall so hard ....... if a corporate , hard working , after hours secretary getting $2,540,000 US a year .... one can just imagine how insane the salaries are as you go up the corporate ladder !!! ...... like corporate whores suckling on sweet honey , the more you get is the more you want and it will never be enough !! ...... taking everyone's hard earned money and using it for themselves seems to be the true nature of a big "corporation" these days ...... live the dream of having any and everything in this life , at the expense of others and then have the balls to say that you are worth it .... make no mistake friends !! the world is more cruel than ever before ...... so don't envy someone for what they have, because you don't know how they got it =]

She is not a secretary. She is the company's corporate secretary.
I do agree though, that salary is ridiculous ...

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 3rd, 2009, 10:44 am

dsaint wrote:
marcus8860 wrote:.... and this is a major reason why big corporations fall so hard ....... if a corporate , hard working , after hours secretary getting $2,540,000 US a year .... one can just imagine how insane the salaries are as you go up the corporate ladder !!! ...... like corporate whores suckling on sweet honey , the more you get is the more you want and it will never be enough !! ...... taking everyone's hard earned money and using it for themselves seems to be the true nature of a big "corporation" these days ...... live the dream of having any and everything in this life , at the expense of others and then have the balls to say that you are worth it .... make no mistake friends !! the world is more cruel than ever before ...... so don't envy someone for what they have, because you don't know how they got it =]

She is not a secretary. She is the company's corporate secretary.
I do agree though, that salary is ridiculous ...

You'd be surprised of the kind of salaries some people in big companies get, it baffles me what these people could be doing to have such a high salary, and to top it off they get bonus at the end of the financial year and Christmas!

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » May 3rd, 2009, 10:45 am

lol ..... we must all look at the bright side of this ...... she is kinda sexy , a yummy mummy =]

Postby Damien » May 3rd, 2009, 10:46 am

D phoq US45k/month it good kidnapp they mc

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » May 3rd, 2009, 10:47 am

this woman real stupid, not so much that she demanding her money but the fact that she leaving a job during uncertain times and still want everything she supposed to get. I hope she gets in in Small payments and she spends it all

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » May 3rd, 2009, 10:49 am

"That's taking responsibility of all legal matters faced by the conglomerate. She's worked hard for her money."

But wait, should she also have not given proper directives and advice to her management team that the way they were doing business was dangerous, thus the debacle they now find themselves in???

So who is responsible for this? Over and over we read that funds from one cash cow were taken to be used in other subsidiaries, and those going belly up, have now affected the entire group, but said funds are now untouchable.

Seems as though taking responsibility of all legal matters faced by the conglomerate only works one way.

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » May 3rd, 2009, 10:58 am

she leaving a job during uncertain times

PPL like them dont be affected by "uncertain times". They are well connected,have huge cash reserves and can change jobs at will. They dont live under the same rules and regualtions as the rest of us. Trust me on this one.

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » May 3rd, 2009, 10:59 am

... so she worked hard to sink the company =]

Postby cinco » May 3rd, 2009, 11:22 am

haha if allyuh only know the salaries inside clico
wait it will start coming out
its so hilarious that the company could have sustained her salary for sooooo many years and now people about how much money she was making because the company in financial peril due to bad decisions of the top brass...
Go Gita!

Postby Monk BANzai » May 3rd, 2009, 11:28 am

i still say she's a Greedy Indian.....

Postby Damien » May 3rd, 2009, 11:33 am

All Indian greedy for money and power

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 3rd, 2009, 11:38 am

Zeriam wrote:this woman real stupid, not so much that she demanding her money but the fact that she leaving a job during uncertain times and still want everything she supposed to get. I hope she gets in in Small payments and she spends it all

Zeriam is not we small money she talking about is 5 million us that is 30million tt
her salary is 2.5 million tt a month
the interest alone from this kind of money is more than enough to live with
and is 15 years she working there
just imagine what her bank account looks like
remember on top of the 2.5 million a month she received 12million tt at the end of the year. how many years she received this ?
she and the rest of her family doh have to work another day in their life

hope manning doh see this he might want to increase his salary