Trini Reverend arrested 4 teefing US$10m from church members

Postby Country_Bookie » April 22nd, 2009, 11:31 am

A minister at Christian Assembly in Forest Hills, Isaac Ovid, was arrested and charged with running a Ponzi scheme. (Photo by Jason DeCrow / April 7, 2009)

The minister also was a confidence man, according to federal officials.

FBI agents have arrested an ordained minister, Isaac Ovid, who operated out of a posh office in 2005 in what is now Reckson Plaza in Uniondale and fleeced 100 members of his Forest Hills church out of $9.3 million in a Ponzi scheme, federal officials say.
He used the money from congregants at the church, the Local Christian Assembly on 70th Avenue, to support a "lavish lifestyle," which included a $200,000 Bentley, jewelry, clothing and meals, according to court papers in the case and sources.

In addition, $2 million from congregants was spent on an upscale refurbishing of the Reckson Plaza office of Jadis Capital, an investment firm that Ovid also operated, federal officials said.

Many of the victims, who included elderly and disabled people, were from the Westbury area, according to the court papers and sources. They were promised returns of up to 75 percent.

Ovid was arrested by FBI agents in Tampa, Fla., last week, when he was returning from Trinidad, where he had been living. He is scheduled to be taken to New York next week by marshals, where he is to be arraigned on fraud charges in federal court, according to Robert Nardoza, a spokesman for the U.S. attorney's office in Brooklyn.

An attorney who had recently been representing Ovid did not return several calls seeking comment. Joseph Coleman, the senior pastor of the Assembly church, also did not return calls to his home and to the church.

Ovid set up Jadis in 2004 with "other senior members of the church," according to an FBI arrest warrant. The other church members were not identified in the warrant and have not been charged.

Initially, Ovid used $445,000 of his own money to fund Jadis Capital as an investment advisory business for private clients, including some church members, the court papers say. But he and his associates also set up an investment fund, named the Logos Fund, which they marketed to members of the church and others as a safe investment vehicle, the papers say.

Investors were not advised that Ovid secretly controlled the fund, which took in the $9.3 million, the court papers say. Officials declined to identify any victims.

When Ovid lost almost all of the $445,000 he had initially put up to start Jadis, he began using the Logos money to keep that business afloat, the court papers say.

At one point, $554,000 church members had paid into Logos was used to cover losses by private clients of Jadis, the papers say.

Eventually, the money from the church members was used almost solely to support Jadis, including its employees' salaries, rent, office equipment, utilities and Ovid's lifestyle, according to the court papers.

According to the arrest warrant, Ovid sent letters to some Logos investors, saying their investments were "now positioned to reap the benefits of the Jadis Capital prudent investment strategy. . . . Jadis is committed to the well-being of each shareholder and their families."

One victim who was promised a return of 75 percent on an investment of $500,000 received only $7,400, the court papers say.

http://www.chicagotribune.com/topic/ny-licon0812630777apr07,0,2728159.story?track=rss-topicgallery

Hellvue 2nrs mite remember the name. He wrote o’ levels in ’97…..not sure if he went on to Form 6. He tried starting a “hedge fundâ€

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 22nd, 2009, 11:38 am

i would have been in upper 6 when he write o's

don't remember the name though

Postby RBphoto » April 22nd, 2009, 11:40 am

A trinidadian pastor taking people money to fund their own lavish lifestyle? Say it ain't so.... say it ain't so.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 22nd, 2009, 11:49 am

Ponzi Scheme
n.
An investment swindle in which high profits are promised from fictitious sources and early investors are paid off with funds raised from later ones.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » April 22nd, 2009, 11:51 am

yes he will soon reach where he was going!

JAIL! :twisted:

Postby RBphoto » April 22nd, 2009, 11:54 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Ponzi Scheme
n.
An investment swindle in which high profits are promised from fictitious sources and early investors are paid off with funds raised from later ones.

This reminds me of the episode of "Dinosaurs" when the pastor was selling condo's in the after life:

"give dough...to the Ethel show
Give enough to cary you home"

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » April 22nd, 2009, 11:55 am

Guys..
Honestly tho.. I haven't spoken to him since this happened, but Isaac was a really nice guy. But maybe he was nice to me and my co-workers because we were broke! :? :lol:

But he is a genuine person, his father is even a pastor here in Trinidad.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » April 22nd, 2009, 12:51 pm

Country_Bookie, when did u write o's? I knew Isaac from school. He was in my class. short red skin fella. he was real into cadets in those days

Postby st7 » April 22nd, 2009, 2:07 pm

i was gonna ask if he was from hillview self. wheyyy boy.

the man was president of student council too.

first dat guy gorn england and now this. lol

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 22nd, 2009, 2:21 pm

~*§ãñCħїą*~ wrote:Guys..
Honestly tho.. I haven't spoken to him since this happened, but Isaac was a really nice guy. But maybe he was nice to me and my co-workers because we were broke! :? :lol:

But he is a genuine person, his father is even a pastor here in Trinidad.
the nicest person you could ever meet is a con man :wink:

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 22nd, 2009, 2:25 pm

Thats really sad, minster or not thats just plain wrong to swindle money from people.
but 9.3mil from 100... what an average to be had for.

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » April 22nd, 2009, 2:34 pm

don't think that's going to hold up in court though, You thinking about starting a temple/church/mosque or what boy?

joker385

Postby joker385 » April 22nd, 2009, 2:35 pm

wait nah..that was the alisharan march past fanatic?...after brooks that is..

Postby Dave » April 22nd, 2009, 2:54 pm

don't think that's going to hold up in court though, You thinking about starting a temple/church/mosque or what boy?

you know how long i want to start my own religion

Postby Country_Bookie » April 22nd, 2009, 4:15 pm

~*§ãñCħїą*~
With eyes like those, who wouldn't be nice to you? 8-)
Do u mean he was genuine as a pastor or as a financial advisor?

metalgear2095
Wrote O's in '96, same yr as Smokey gti above. Ovid was a year after us.

Who is dat fella that went England and wah he do?

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » April 22nd, 2009, 4:25 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Ponzi Scheme
n.

One name comes to mind... C***O

:? :? :?

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » April 22nd, 2009, 4:40 pm

pioneer wrote:God made him do it, it was the right thing to do.

good sarcasm.........Sad if he use God's name for justifying his greed...a little more complicated than that...
Last edited by slimshiney on April 22nd, 2009, 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby st7 » April 22nd, 2009, 4:40 pm

Country_Bookie, ah forget he name dred. but it make papers and thing. he went england to find he ex and murder she. den the police up dey ketch him when he crash he car

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » April 22nd, 2009, 5:00 pm

sad to admit but that pastor is my cousin tried the same sheit on me back in 07 but got a bailiff to sort out that matter, may he read his scriptures behind a cell
Last edited by Slow Poke on May 1st, 2009, 8:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » April 22nd, 2009, 5:05 pm

and trust me adding up what he did in trini as well looks more like 15million us

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » April 22nd, 2009, 5:24 pm

believe it or not got some dirt on him as well, so go on folks keep tithing away your money to buy sony record deals and print unnecessary anti obama abortion sheit in the news paper, why don't he mention Dr. biss@#$%^&h who killing babies right in sando. There is a place for these so called ordained hypocrites...... you go straight to jail, do not pass go, do not collect $200. Unfortunately they won"t see jail in trini

greenman

Postby greenman » April 22nd, 2009, 5:27 pm

I remember this guy from hillview.... he was one of the GOOD guys. Involved in extra curricular activities, student council president, very well spoken etc.

I heard about a woman who he convinced to invest 60K in trini and then disappeared. And i thought that was alot... n he's here dealing with 12million usd.

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » April 22nd, 2009, 5:54 pm

pioneer wrote:that good for him...they should investigate ALL pastors

pastor *cough cough* cuffy :roll:

I agree...in the end, u'll find that there are still lots of genuine people who sacrifice all they had to start a church for no self glory or gain but just to do the thing they were destined to do......I'm not for no "teefing pastor" who comes along and put a "dirty" stigma to all involved in church ministry!!! It's wrong and judgement will pass..

Pioneer, correct me if i'm wrong...buh i "pick out" that ur saying that all pastors are on one similar agenda i.e. to milk d church people of every last penny they have?

Postby DFC » April 22nd, 2009, 6:10 pm

crossdrilled wrote:A trinidadian pastor taking people money to fund their own lavish lifestyle? Say it ain't so.... say it ain't so.

hmmm i've hear that somewhere before....in couva maybe?...there is a guy there....living in a castle....built with money from God!

Postby bushwakka » April 22nd, 2009, 6:15 pm

woooooot de azzzzz i hearing here dreddd......OVID!!! dah man train me for marchpast when i was in form one!!!! he was a rell beast.....saw him a couple yrs ago, dint kno he was into this sheit

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » April 22nd, 2009, 6:16 pm

some people are just gullible yes. Then again most relig........... **smite**

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » April 22nd, 2009, 10:16 pm

good people always go bad when they reach somewhere where their character can't handle....lovin money too much does always lead to dead ends........much is required from those who get same......i'll still give..

Postby joker » April 22nd, 2009, 10:25 pm

Being from a street environment my immediate thoughts were to ....

Slow Poke, what is your take on the government's decision of you and other street dwellers? :skurred:

I do alot of questioning wrt to ppl wlking aroung with "5 dollar blocks for churches"

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » April 22nd, 2009, 11:33 pm

lol street as in hood hoss but i took the legal approach to it

Postby Sinister_Audio » April 23rd, 2009, 1:13 am

Dave wrote:

you know how long i want to start my own religion

turbos qualify? LOL