NBA Playoffs & NHL Stanley Cup Thread 2009

Postby foss » April 17th, 2009, 10:20 pm

who taking it in?

still learning the whole hockey thing..

very new to me.. :oops:

VIEWS....
Last edited by foss on April 18th, 2009, 1:17 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby foss » April 17th, 2009, 10:23 pm

fixed.. thanks

new like i said :oops:

Postby Cjruckus » April 17th, 2009, 10:27 pm

Detroit Red Wings has always been my team of choice.
They have been having some grind line issues and usually have piss poor goal tending in the playoffs. But they usually play better when they aren't a top seed.

The Sharks and Ducks are both dangerous teams in the post season. They benefit from "playoff ice." Its so hot in California that by the 3rd period the Ice starts to melt quicker causing sloppy play and a benefit for their players because they are used to it. I'm glad they are fighting it out in the first round.

If you really want to see some serious hockey, you should check out College Hockey. That is where its at.

Postby Cjruckus » April 17th, 2009, 10:30 pm

the Sharks do have Matt Carle though.
He was in a couple of my classes back in the day.

Postby foss » April 17th, 2009, 10:33 pm

well i in Vancouver, so Canucks FTW!!!

lol.. don't take me on eh..

they playing St. Louis now..

Postby Cjruckus » April 17th, 2009, 10:34 pm

Well you are going to get Canadian hockey beat into you for sure.

Make sure and Riot when they win, and riot harder when they lose!

Postby Cjruckus » April 17th, 2009, 10:36 pm

Make sure and grow a playoff beard too!

Postby foss » April 17th, 2009, 10:39 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Make sure and grow a playoff beard too!

hahha.. dem girls doh like it :? they say it looks like pubes :lol:

always have meh lil goatee tho :oops:

Postby Cjruckus » April 17th, 2009, 10:42 pm

Soundwave wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:the Sharks do have Matt Carle though.

if Thornton and the top line play the way they do during the regular season they should meet detroit in the conference finals, but watching them get oust in the 2nd rounds the last couple years I not so sure about that, anaheim on hot streak since they had to fight to get into the playoffs...

Ducks Goalies have a tendency of getting hot in April. Like Gigure a couple years ago... if Hiller keeps playing the way he is they will be a tough team to beat. Of couse Pronger and Neidermyer are old and they can't be holding the D together every game.

Being a Detroit fan I know first hand how tough the Ducks are to beat in the first round, especially when they are in the 8 spot.

Postby Cjruckus » April 17th, 2009, 10:42 pm

Soundwave wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:Make sure and grow a playoff beard too!

usually at this point Damien does come and cuss we for talking about US sports...

then i mention how i have pics of his sister in my Red Wings Sweater.

Postby Cjruckus » April 17th, 2009, 10:48 pm

Soundwave wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:
Soundwave wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:the Sharks do have Matt Carle though.

if Thornton and the top line play the way they do during the regular season they should meet detroit in the conference finals, but watching them get oust in the 2nd rounds the last couple years I not so sure about that, anaheim on hot streak since they had to fight to get into the playoffs...

Ducks Goalies have a tendency of getting hot in April. Like Gigure a couple years ago... if Hiller keeps playing the way he is they will be a tough team to beat. Of couse Pronger and Neidermyer are old and they can't be holding the D together every game.

Being a Detroit fan I know first hand how tough the Ducks are to beat in the first round, especially when they are in the 8 spot.

I am a fan since the Bowman era, Sergei Fedorov is one of my faves...

Vladimir Konstantinov was a favorite of mine back in the day. Solid defenseman.

You dont want to know how shitty it was being a Red Wings fan in Colorado. But it was sure as hell great watching them kick the sheit out of the Avs every year.

Postby Cjruckus » April 17th, 2009, 10:50 pm

one of the greatest checks... Ever
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/cO1uhorF5LA&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0&color1=0x5d1719&color2=0xcd311b" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Postby Cjruckus » April 17th, 2009, 10:56 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/C7DlAjrhm9s&hl=en&fs=1&rel=0&color1=0x5d1719&color2=0xcd311b" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

This is why you dont fcuk with the red wings

Man i like the islanders.. Rick DiPetro is a beast.

Postby teems1 » April 17th, 2009, 11:01 pm

Only thing I know about hockey, is some dude named Wayne Gretzky, whom the Canadians worship, I sheit you not...

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 17th, 2009, 11:18 pm

Gretzky is the head coach of phoenix...hasn't done near as good as he did as aplyer for the oilers and la...
Blackhawks are my team of choice, Canucks second...
Finally they're doing alot better in the last 2 yrs since wirtz son took over...in the playoffs so hopefuly they can make something of it... :|
Baet calrgary last night...tmrw is the second...

Postby Maserati » April 17th, 2009, 11:32 pm

*shrug* I guess I'll back the Flames as I living in Calgary :lol:

went to one of their games quite an atmosphere I'll say

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 17th, 2009, 11:32 pm

messier's attitude off the ice screwed him though...from the move to vancouver come forward, he lost more fans than he gained...

Postby foss » April 17th, 2009, 11:33 pm

GOALL!!!!... :D

Postby Cjruckus » April 17th, 2009, 11:37 pm

Soundwave wrote:Yuh goh beat meh, but I'm a Patrick Roy follower, ever since his montreal days, it was because of the Red Wings he got traded to the Avs, you had seen the game where Red Wings ress 8 on him for montreal? Last game he played as a Canadien...

you see the game where the Wings again laid 5 on him in the first period? That was his last playoff game as an Av... finished the game 7 - 2.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » April 17th, 2009, 11:53 pm

his second and last stint there before he retired wasnt very fruitful though...esp with the promises after alredy leaving them on bad terms the first time...

Roy was a helluva goalie...he fell out with the coach after the game you spoke about and asked to be traded i think...he prolly fought every red wings keeper of that era :roll: :lol: