Guardian to increase cover price

ray d saint

Guardian to increase cover price

Postby ray d saint » April 6th, 2009, 8:00 am

http://guardian.co.tt/news/general/2009 ... over-price

The cover price of the daily Guardian will be increased to $2 with effect from Monday April 13, 2009. The price of the Sunday paper will remain at $3. The cover price of the daily Guardian was increased from 60 cents to $1 in 1988 and has fluctuated between $1 and $1.50 over the last 20 years. Managing Director of Trinidad Publishing Co Ltd Grenfell Kissoon said spiralling newsprint costs over the last 12 months and reduced advertising demand industrywide had made it difficult to continue to subsidise the cover price. He said the average newspaper costs $1.90 to produce at current newsprint prices.

Over the past 20 years, salaries, wages, materials and general operating expenditures had increased significantly, Kissoon said. Referring to the cost of newspapers in the US, Canada and UK, Kissoon said although they paid lower prices for newsprint, their cover price, in relative terms, was five to eight times the price in T&T. Kissoon said that over the past seven years, the company had made heavy investments in the design, layout and print quality of the paper, resulting in a more attractive and colourful product, easier to navigate and assimilate and which did not rub off on the reader’s hands. He said the editorial content had also been progressively tailored to attract a wider readership and to be more relevant, interesting and substantial.

In essence, the reader had a more valuable product, he said. Kissoon said the company had plans to provide added value products. Currently, the TV guide, GIE Network, Business Guardian and WomanWise are included in the paper as added value for readers. The managing director advised that Internet readers of the newspaper could look forward to a full e-paper within the coming months. He said the company provided 5,000 newspapers to secondary school on Mondays, free of charge, and also supported the UWI by printing its monthly publication free of charge. Kissoon said the company proposed to maintain these initiatives in its literacy thrust despite rising costs.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » April 6th, 2009, 8:05 am

$2 is small thing for a bess newspaper!!
Guardian FTW!!! fire bun express (except the classifieds) and newsday!!

Postby noshownogo » April 6th, 2009, 8:14 am

Newsday is personally the worse...i doh think they have editors :lol:

I always wondered how they were able to print a paper and charge $1 and make money, especially Thursday's print where the business section is included :shock: I sure they had to be absorbing costs for awhile now.

larafan

Postby larafan » April 6th, 2009, 8:17 am

I always wondered how they were able to print a paper and charge $1 and make money,

advertising...

yuh feel dem full page bmobile ads used to be done for free?
Last edited by larafan on April 6th, 2009, 8:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » April 6th, 2009, 8:17 am

Guradian is the best newspaper IMO.... $2 is still good....

Humes

Postby Humes » April 6th, 2009, 8:18 am

Guardian will lose real business for this. Their sales have been going downhill for years now, and I think they're a notorious money-loser in the Ansa-McAl group.

A lot of their best staffers have left over the last few years. Looks more and more like a sinking ship.

stretch

Postby stretch » April 6th, 2009, 8:25 am

$2 is smalls

Postby noshownogo » April 6th, 2009, 8:28 am

Humes, i disagree, they have their clientele and trust me $2 is nothing

larafan, valid point, i overlooked advertising which is where most of their revenue would be generated anyways.

Iceman

Postby Iceman » April 6th, 2009, 8:36 am

Only in Trinidad would we welcome a 100% price increase with open arms. All Local papers print yesterdays news.

Who would want to pay extra for yesterday's news.

TK!

Postby TK! » April 6th, 2009, 8:41 am

this crappy.. guardian is the worst paper.. last to do everything..

advertising low.. lies... mismanagement.

at 2 .. they will sink.

proud

Postby proud » April 6th, 2009, 9:13 am

For $2.00 I would buy an Express and a Guardian, I will now buy an Express and a Newsday, same news just not as fancy... Guardian advertising rates are far too expensive also.

Postby wagon r » April 6th, 2009, 9:15 am

guardian is more of the business paper...

but express, more general, more ads, best comics and larger auto classified, guardian, more business and classifieds more to real estate....

Postby RBphoto » April 6th, 2009, 9:16 am

ray786, you are the reason I have not bought a paper for the last few months.

Postby crazybalhead » April 6th, 2009, 9:17 am

Internet papahs FTW. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby teems1 » April 6th, 2009, 9:19 am

crazybalhead wrote:Internet papahs FTW. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

www.fark.com
www.digg.com
www.reddit.com

Postby RASC » April 6th, 2009, 9:21 am

noshownogo wrote:Newsday is personally the worse...i doh think they have editors :lol:

I would love to take a cross section study on Newsday Readership...somehow I doubt I'll be surprised.

Sensationalism and poor editing-the "peoples" paper indeed :idea:

enigma

Postby enigma » April 6th, 2009, 9:25 am

Iceman wrote:Only in Trinidad would we welcome a 100% price increase with open arms. All Local papers print yesterdays news.

Well, yeah. U cyar get today news in today's paper....

Iceman

Postby Iceman » April 6th, 2009, 9:38 am

enigma wrote:
Iceman wrote:Only in Trinidad would we welcome a 100% price increase with open arms. All Local papers print yesterdays news.

Well, yeah. U cyar get today news in today's paper....

Clearly you doh read papers when you travel. Cause ah cyar believe yuh doh travel.

Dude, the tv news and the papers news does be the same. Some papers even have a morning edition and an evening edition. Up to date stuff.

Postby foss » April 6th, 2009, 9:45 am

Tarantula wrote:$2 is small thing for a bess newspaper!!
Guardian FTW!!! fire bun express (except the classifieds) and newsday!!

daz all i buy express for :lol:

kingabdullah

Postby kingabdullah » April 6th, 2009, 9:52 am

All govt ministries buy guardian. das probably 80% of their sales. guardian go make man

BNR34GTR

Postby BNR34GTR » April 6th, 2009, 9:53 am

hmmmm, $2 isnt much for a nice read. guardian FTW, express classifieds FTW tho :oops: :lol:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 6th, 2009, 9:55 am

so wait , d other dailies still $1 & guardian want ppl to pay $2 ...well good luck remaining profitable ...they used to sell les when they had d big ass size but started getting back buyers with d smaller size so now thats a bad move especially when d competitors r 1\2 d price ...guardian surely uses d most color of all d papers so if they reduce that expense they cud keep d price low

does not affect me 1 bit since only papers i buy for d whole wk is saturday express 4 d cable guide ..... :mrgreen:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 6th, 2009, 10:05 am

Guardian hitting some sensational and inaccurate news these days, there is no way in hell I gonna pay $2 for that crap. I'm gonna stick to reading the news on their website

Postby foss » April 6th, 2009, 10:07 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Guardian hitting some sensational and inaccurate news these days, there is no way in hell I gonna pay $2 for that crap. I'm gonna stick to reading the news on their website

isn't that the same thing is buying the papers? :? :?

Postby wagonrunner » April 6th, 2009, 10:08 am

foss wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Guardian hitting some sensational and inaccurate news these days, there is no way in hell I gonna pay $2 for that crap. I'm gonna stick to reading the news on their website

who charging you for reading the online news?

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » April 6th, 2009, 10:10 am

congrats to ray 786, one of your threads actually reach 2 pages :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby foss » April 6th, 2009, 10:10 am

foss wrote:

did i say something offensive?

Postby wagonrunner » April 6th, 2009, 10:26 am

foss wrote:
foss wrote:

did i say something offensive?

yuh lost me there, but just in case.

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/74-UkUiaT-c&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby crazybalhead » April 6th, 2009, 10:29 am

Wagonrunner, you is a real MC yes. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 6th, 2009, 10:32 am

fack de guardian....$2 nah.......only thing I use to buy it for was the sudoku, and their delivery always late or sometimes never reach by me.......express has more interesting advertisements anyway.....