AbstractPoetic

New York City Tuners...

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 26th, 2009, 9:35 am

...and visitors.

Subway/MTA prices have gone up. :evil:

With its final vote on Wednesday to impose sharp transit fare increases and service cuts, the Metropolitan Transportation Authority pushed the debate over its $1.2 billion budget deficit squarely back to Albany, urging a weakened governor and fractious Senate to revive talks over a rescue package.

Under the plan approved Wednesday, the base subway and bus fare rises to $2.50 from $2, with the change taking effect May 31. A monthly MetroCard would cost $103, up from $81. Riders on the Metro-North Railroad and the Long Island Rail Road would see increases of at least 20 to 30 percent, beginning June 1. The fare on Long Island Bus, which serves Nassau County, would rise to $3.50 from $2.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/26/nyreg ... f=nyregion

And services will be cut. A total of 35 bus routes would be eliminated, along with the W and Z subway lines.

Tolls will also be effected. One-way E-ZPass tolls on the major crossings, such as the Robert F. Kennedy Bridge (formerly the Triborough), would go to $5.26 from $4.15. Cash tolls would go to $6.50 from $5. Effective mid-July.

Just in time for the summer. Now I have no choice but to get a bike or just walk the 10 blocks to work. :evil: :evil: :evil:

Tough times.

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » March 26th, 2009, 9:43 am

tough times for real, and it's getting worse. better get used to the taste of salt cuz everybody go be sucking it just now.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » March 26th, 2009, 9:46 am

Well how else you expect all yuh presidente to justify a 7 TRILLION dollar budget????

tigerlily

Postby tigerlily » March 26th, 2009, 9:59 am

Ever notice the couple of cents tax on every utility bill u recieve goes to the MTA?
now do the math...
i guess you just have to give up some of the wants to get the needs....

Postby RASC » March 26th, 2009, 10:09 am

Ha, that still cheap...DC's metro is ALOT more expensive...not to mention it is NOT 24/7 :evil:

tigerlily

Postby tigerlily » March 26th, 2009, 10:14 am

RASC wrote:Ha, that still cheap...DC's metro is ALOT more expensive...not to mention it is NOT 24/7 :evil:

true given the price of gas during the summer...
a small price to pay..

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » March 26th, 2009, 12:54 pm

I take the train maybe once a year, so it don't really matter but do cross the bridges very regular. Toll increase plus a 35 gallon tank = me being broke for the summer :(

AP Are you in the city?

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 26th, 2009, 2:34 pm

RoTaRyBoYz,

Work in the city, live in Jersey. Regardless, this will still effect me as a result of poor budget planning.

And in other news, city unemployment rates reaches 8.1%......

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 26th, 2009, 2:39 pm

RASC,

DC's is alot more cleaner than the subway stations in NY. The MTA have not even proposed a plan to clean up the subway stations or have better more efficient trains. Moreover, not everyone living in DC depends on the subway system to get to work.

Millions of New Yorkers do. Everyday. Not to mention commuters from Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut, Long Island and other outlying districts.

This will only lead to more crowded subways, angry commuters and congested, dingy conditions. Can't wait for my summer! :roll:

tristanrules

Postby tristanrules » March 26th, 2009, 9:07 pm

De wusssss

I hate the frigging MTA, they raise rates every two years!

sorry for de people on de lines dey cut.

MTA can not be making a loss, impossible! People depend on the trains for travel everyday! Its a must, not like yuh can cut back and try to save on that.

Its BS to hear them saying all this crap about not making money, just like de dam post office WUSSSSS, they want to raise de rates also!

How de hell companies with monopolies can be getting losses? Thats total BS!

THey just taking advantage of de people

Postby RASC » March 26th, 2009, 9:11 pm

tristanrules, one word to answer your question: U-N-I-O-N-S

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 26th, 2009, 11:39 pm

RASC wrote:Ha, that still cheap...DC's metro is ALOT more expensive...not to mention it is NOT 24/7 :evil:

Best you move somewhere cheaper...for the family.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » March 26th, 2009, 11:59 pm

Remember when alyuh Trini pardner Roger tell MTA workers to strike?? This dam man caused stress when my workers couldn't get to work for ah week :roll:
Can't be mad at him though, because I have bus driver friends and they all support him. He even get jail in the tail after telling them to strike :shock:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/NeGI7EbTtTw&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 27th, 2009, 11:07 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:Remember when alyuh Trini pardner Roger tell MTA workers to strike?? This dam man caused stress when my workers couldn't get to work for ah week :roll:
Can't be mad at him though, because I have bus driver friends and they all support him. He even get jail in the tail after telling them to strike :shock:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/NeGI7EbTtTw&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Oh yes, Christmas of 2005. I remember returning to NY from college and only seeing yellow cabs as soon as I left Penn Station. LOL.

Yellow cabs surely made a pretty penny during that strike. And wasn't Mayor Bloomberg charging MTA a million dollars+/day for every day that they continued with the strike?

LOL. I wish we can strike, but that would require walking/biking and not everyone would want to do that. :lol: :lol: :lol:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » March 28th, 2009, 12:59 am

I'll be visiting NY later in the year.

AbstractPoetic, yuh cud always get the shoes with little wheels attached to the bottom

Postby cinco » March 28th, 2009, 10:22 am

tristanrules wrote:De wusssss

I hate the frigging MTA, they raise rates every two years!

sorry for de people on de lines dey cut.

MTA can not be making a loss, impossible! People depend on the trains for travel everyday! Its a must, not like yuh can cut back and try to save on that.

Its BS to hear them saying all this crap about not making money, just like de dam post office WUSSSSS, they want to raise de rates also!

How de hell companies with monopolies can be getting losses? Thats total BS!

THey just taking advantage of de people

sorry to burst your bubble but do you have any idea on the cost of operating a transit service? the unions really are that bad but the fact of the matter is the government regulates what percentage of taxes earned are used for capital projects and what are used to day to day costs.
it is HEAVILY regulated industry stifled by the laws governing them.

Postby cinco » March 28th, 2009, 10:23 am

oh yeh
wait until they see what is going to happen to the Atlanta transit system when they are done with it they are already 67 million in the hole

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 28th, 2009, 10:23 am

rodfarva wrote:I'll be visiting NY later in the year.

AbstractPoetic, yuh cud always get the shoes with little wheels attached to the bottom

From Jersey to the city?

Uhhmmm, no thanks. :lol: :lol:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 28th, 2009, 10:25 am

cinco wrote:oh yeh
wait until they see what is going to happen to the Atlanta transit system when they are done with it they are already 67 million in the hole

Are residents of Atlanta as heavily dependent on the transit system as New Yorkers are of the MTA?

Postby cinco » March 28th, 2009, 10:26 am

yes
do you know how many "lower income" people depend on the transit system
especially the disabled patrons of atlanta

Postby RASC » March 28th, 2009, 10:48 am

cinco wrote:yes

You have got to be kidding me if you're comparing ATL's MARTA to NYC's MTA :lol:
There are more travelers, trains, stations, bus stops in mid-town Manhattan than ALL of Atlanta. Get real :roll:
Given the SIZE, and population of Atlanta, it can be safely concluded that persons are NOT as heavily dependent on the system ESPECIALLY when compared to other major U.S. cities.
ATL is HUGE...The ATL metropolitan area is larger than NYC's :? You could fit all the five boroughs, yonkers, jersey city and newark inside of Atlanta metro area and STILL have room.
Last edited by RASC on March 28th, 2009, 11:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » March 28th, 2009, 10:51 am

Postby cinco » March 28th, 2009, 11:03 am

im not comparing the ridership son calm down
i am comparing the usefullness of the system and the governments handling of the system and the grip they keep over it

Postby cinco » March 28th, 2009, 11:04 am

but seriously u quoting wikipedia???

Postby RASC » March 28th, 2009, 11:09 am

cinco wrote:but seriously u quoting wikipedia???

Oh my mistake, those figures are WEY off...you win, Atlanta's population rely more on MARTA than New York's does on MTA, what was I thinking using wikipedia as a guide to get a rough estimate to riders per-metro system :roll:
Last edited by RASC on March 28th, 2009, 11:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » March 28th, 2009, 11:20 am

cinco wrote:im not comparing the ridership son calm down
i am comparing the usefullness of the system and the governments handling of the system and the grip they keep over it

I'm referring to your response to AP. WRT dependency on the system by the population.
Otherwise everything else is subject to interpretation and relative.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » March 28th, 2009, 11:54 am

RASC wrote:
cinco wrote:yes

You have got to be kidding me if you're comparing ATL's MARTA to NYC's MTA :lol:
There are more travelers, trains, stations, bus stops in mid-town Manhattan than ALL of Atlanta. Get real :roll:
Given the SIZE, and population of Atlanta, it can be safely concluded that persons are NOT as heavily dependent on the system ESPECIALLY when compared to other major U.S. cities.

I wonder if he's ever experienced riding the NYC subways during rush hour...let alone any hour?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » March 28th, 2009, 12:50 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
rodfarva wrote:I'll be visiting NY later in the year.

From Jersey to the city?

Uhhmmm, no thanks. :lol: :lol:

That *is* far